Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: External HDD for PS3
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
devanbrat
Im not sure if im posting this at the correct section..my question is i used my external HDD to fix to the PS3 to download some songs and movies but it can't detect the HDD..its in NTFS format..does the HDD need to be in FAT32 format so that the PS3 can detect it?

I do know that the internal HDD must be in FAT32..what about external ones fixed by USB to the console? Thanks!
ruztynail
yup fat32.. same whn i connect my ipod to it or thumbdrive. all fat 32
devanbrat
Thanks man. Appreciated..means i need to use a diff HDD with FAT32 format...Y so leceh one Sony..just make it NTFS compatible la..zzz..
ruztynail
its not about leceh.. thy are smart to negate the usage of piracy if it comes. fat32 has got a limit of 4gb or so (if not mistaken).. ntfs has its own. forgot the amount. in short.. if it come where u can duplicate a BD.. the fat32 would be a security means of not allowing to copy into the HDD
allen96713
QUOTE(devanbrat @ Jun 23 2008, 01:12 AM)
Im not sure if im posting this at the correct section..my question is i used my external HDD to fix to the PS3 to download some songs and movies but it can't detect the HDD..its in NTFS format..does the HDD need to be in FAT32 format so that the PS3 can detect it?

I do know that the internal HDD must be in FAT32..what about external ones fixed by USB to the console? Thanks!

i try to Used NTFS external.. but cannot use also
so i format the size to 32000, using fat32.
then can detech on p3 already
hope can help u lah
willgan
the 4gb limit is only applicable in external hard drive...
I bet IF the ps3 can be hacked, this limitation sure can be remove...
Internal drive doesn't have this limitation though.. since its not using that FAT filesystem
myxery
QUOTE(devanbrat @ Jun 23 2008, 01:16 AM)
Thanks man. Appreciated..means i need to use a diff HDD with FAT32 format...Y so leceh one Sony..just make it NTFS compatible la..zzz..

IINM, FAT32 is open format meaning that every system (UNIX, Linux, Windows, Macs, etc) can access but NTFS (NT Files System) is belong to Microsoft only so why Sony bother to support it?

i successfully format my 160GB to FAT32GB in a single partition. All the information regarding to this issue already hightlighted in PS3 FAQ For Beginner, please DO READ, DUDE!!
Ninja
^ Continue discussion in the above mentioned link.

Thread closed.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.