Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Case modding tools, materials & supplies
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Casings and Modifications
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
zooloo
i find it very common ppl asking what to use to mod,where to get,how much it cost.maybe this thread could help make it an easier reference.here goes...correct me if im wrong smile.gif

Tools:
drill
rotary tool;dremel/able
jigsaw

reference sites:
|Bosch|Dremel|Black&Decker|

where to get?:
hardware shop
fellow forummers smile.gif

HINTS:
hardware shops along Jalan Pasar tongue.gif
------------------------------------------------
ACE Hardware:
-MidValley Megamal
-Ikano Power Center
Home-Fix Hardware:
1 Utama Shopping Centre
LG305 Lower Ground Floor
1 Utama Shopping Centre (New Wing) No. 1 Leboh Bandar Utama
47800 P.J. Selangor, Malaysia
Tel: 03-7729 1829
Fax: 03-7727 1828

Bangsar Village
LG1 Lower Ground Floor
No.1 Jalan Telawi
59100 Bangsar Baru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: 03-2283 1628
Fax: 03-2283 1826

Great Eastern Mall
Lot 2 Lower Ground Floor
No. 303 Jalan Ampang
Great Eastern Mall
50450 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: 03-4252 1828
Fax: 03-4251 1829
Jaya Shopping Complex(SS14 PJ; beside Popular bookstore)->ori Dremel n a whole range of other tools wink.gif
Tel: 03-79540509(Mr. Eddy Ng)
some info here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=215338
======================================================
Items:
arcrylic/plexi glass
spray paint
rubber trimming
some screws/rivets
sand paper

where to get?:
art shop
hardware shop
fellow forummers biggrin.gif

HINTS:
jalan pasar.row behind asia park carpark(tinted arcrylic thumbup.gif )
======================================================
Price range:
drill- RM70-RM200+
rotary tool- RM90-RM500+
jigsaw- RM??
arcrylic- depend on size(+- RM20 per meter²)
spray paint(normal)- RM5-RM7+
spray paint(florescent)- slightly more expensive than normal paint tongue.gif
rubber trimming- depend on length(+- RM2.50 per meter)

P/S: please post the locations near ur place that sells these tools/items n pm me ur post#.i'l update this post if there's more info biggrin.gif
Sim (2)
nice info... thanks dude...
Xrossfire
since we're on the topic, i might as well do some promo, hehe laugh.gif tongue.gif
i supply:
- rubber lining/trimming
- acrylic/plexiglass (whatever u want to call it laugh.gif )
- rotary
and last but not least, i provide case-modding service sweat.gif
lotsa forum-members has seen my workz and i did many of their cases as well blush.gif
if interested in any of the above, do send me a PM wink.gif
iZuDeeN
xross...got sample design ?
ceo684
Well.. for sidepanel use i can supply the clear plastic. Thick enough for DIY sidepanel yet easy to cut/drill, wont crack
Xrossfire
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jul 2 2005, 12:14 PM)
xross...got sample design ?

samples, yes i do. simple ones or complex? laugh.gif

sample of simple mod:

jack, if u're seeing this, hope u like it...and batterries... oops.gif ...fangrill not included tongue.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
iZuDeeN
i have a sidepanel casing...

wanna get quote for cutting case fan at the side and design an Intel TAC funnel
Criptonox89
okie...the com shop selling this tools or not?
zooloo
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Jul 3 2005, 09:55 PM)
okie...the com shop selling this tools or not?

i dont think comp shop sells this tools...some in lyp offer case mod services though
zooloo
QUOTE(Sim (2) @ Jul 2 2005, 11:51 AM)
nice info... thanks dude...

no prob smile.gif happy modding thumbup.gif
pilotHans
zooloo,

can update on ur list :-

places to buy the Dremel rotary tool.....n dremel stuff...ACE dont have these..even people in ACE(midV) never eva heard about dremel shocking.gif doh.gif
zooloo
@pilotHans
ok.sorry.list updated.no dremel but have bosch n other tools smile.gif
SonyNony
nice info really help me tongue.gif
AlamakLor
thread pinned. biggrin.gif
zooloo
QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jul 6 2005, 12:09 AM)
thread pinned. biggrin.gif

tongue.gif just helpin out biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
oh btw, if u wanna manage this thread, do it this way:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=137253

i might amend 2 simple rules for this section later:
1) Before posting anything, read the pinned threads.
2) If your thread is deleted, read the point "#1"

XD
zooloo
alright.will do that wink.gif noob here.guide me biggrin.gif
beehawk
good good.........finally this thread got pinned!!
Sim (2)
i wanna ask a question... how to cut a big hole on the case?? using what kind of tools?
zooloo
what type of hole r u referring?if a blowhole u could use a rotarytool or just attach a hole saw to a drill.if u r cutting ur panel to put arcrylic,u can still use rotary or use jigsaw
SonyNony
waaa... how can i cut a nice hole for blow hole ???
Addario
juz wanna share..
i bought 2.5mm thick clear acrylic from jalan pasar..the row behind asiapark carpark to be exact. approx 1ft x 1ft costs me rm7 only
there's also other thickness..for example 4mm thick sized 1ft x 1ft is around rm 10..there are more colors and thickness to choose from (clear to tinted acrylic) normally sold in big size (door size), costs around rm 90 or less...
pilotHans
QUOTE(Addario @ Jul 13 2005, 02:35 AM)
juz wanna share..
i bought 2.5mm thick clear acrylic from jalan pasar..the row behind asiapark carpark to be exact. approx 1ft x 1ft costs me rm7 only
there's also other thickness..for example 4mm thick sized 1ft x 1ft is around rm 10..there are more colors and thickness to choose from (clear to tinted acrylic) normally sold in big size (door size), costs around rm 90 or less...

thumbup.gif thanx for sharing.........so, ur working on a project? i bet u figured out all the measurement.......sure will be tough designing from scratch.. waaaaaa.......must have a lot of tools too...... notworthy.gif

just wondering.......the acylic, u said they come in diff colours rite? so, do they also have like UV reactive acylic, those like the SunBeams? rolleyes.gif
Addario
welkam..
just finished doing my sidepanel...tools?? ahaha no la..drill + file(kikir) + sand paper only..hell of a job without the proper tools (dremel or jigsaw)..for measurement..just bring the sidepanel there smile.gif

diff colors in terms of white..blue...red..which is not transparent one...more like what they use for signboards..the tinted also got various level...light dark till very dark one (saw black color only)..asked already about the uv reactive acrylic but that guy like blur2 one..so i guess no then..u could try ur luck tho smile.gif
zooloo
@Addario
tinted arcrylic u say?cool! thumbup.gif thanx for the info smile.gif do u remember what is the name of the shop?
Addario
yerp..tinted ones..various level also..but unfortunately they only sell in big pieces..u can only but the whole sheet or 1/2 of it..
i cant remember the name...will state here nex time i go there
its the 4th or 5th shop from the asiapark carpark...if ur facing towards the main road..the shop row is behind u..u wont get lost there smile.gif
MetalZone
There's also ACE hardware in Ikana Power Centre. got another one which i'm not sure of the name other than Midvalley.

Below are the list of Home-Fix hardware shops that carry the B&D RTX also. Numbers included so u can call to check for availability 1st. =)

1 Utama Shopping Centre
LG305 Lower Ground Floor
1 Utama Shopping Centre (New Wing) No. 1 Leboh Bandar Utama
47800 P.J. Selangor, Malaysia
Tel: 03-7729 1829
Fax: 03-7727 1828

Bangsar Village
LG1 Lower Ground Floor
No.1 Jalan Telawi
59100 Bangsar Baru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: 03-2283 1628
Fax: 03-2283 1826

Great Eastern Mall
Lot 2 Lower Ground Floor
No. 303 Jalan Ampang
Great Eastern Mall
50450 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: 03-4252 1828
Fax: 03-4251 1829

I also know of a shop that carries ORIGINAL DREMEL tools. its in Jaya shopping complex in Section 14 PJ. its a small hardware shop but carries some really CUN stuff.

The tools i use for my modding:

1. Black & Decker RTX with Flexshaft

2. Bosch Jigsaw

3. Bosch Drill

4. Emco Unimat1 (A multi purpose power tool kit, can assemble into several different types of machines for different purposes. ie, Milling, Drilling, Lathe, Precision jigsaw, Orbital sander. Not available in Malaysia, my dad bought for me several years back at some exibition. My model is older but is exactly the same as the Unimat 1 Classic seen here plus some extra accessories: http://www.thecooltool.com/produktgruppe.p...uage=e&pg_id=1)

5. Coping Saw

6. Hand Drill
zooloo
list updated smile.gif coolstuff->the UNIMAT notworthy.gif
skyballmaster
wow great topic, what a great modification n information side
KeonG118
Hmm.. or maybe we can have a gathering for the DIY job? then can share share the tools ma.. thumbup.gif
moderno
the event can be named as MOD Party....hehe biggrin.gif
pizzaboy
wow!!! just what I needed had I not found out something about my uncle. Hehe, he actually owns a "precision engineering" company! LoLX!!

So can get him to help me cut my casing and even have acrlyic! Senang kerja aku. Now all I haf to do is paint! Hehe...

One cool stuff I found out is that, to make the cuts so precise they use water. Annen they run this weird looking thing that rotates and cuts the metal sheet.
Awesome stuff!

ijan
those are waterjet cutter, more preferred than laser cut. expensive...
pizzaboy
QUOTE(ijan @ Jul 18 2005, 11:35 PM)
those are waterjet cutter, more preferred than laser cut. expensive...

oic! They're rather precise aren't they? I believe MNPCTECH used those to cut his casings....or was it some dude in bit-tech.net?

no wonder he told me usually if customers ask, he'll charge. tongue.gif
Anybody wanna do it here? I can get it done for a cheaper price than shops like...OP? Precise too. Is this considered adveritsing? I dunno, cuz I'd just feel it benefits LYN members.
jaya_pc87
pizza boy contact me lol , add me to msn & i know you are spb member also & modding service - need one also
zooloo
QUOTE(skyballmaster @ Jul 18 2005, 06:02 PM)
wow great topic, what a great modification n information side

good to know it served itz purpose smile.gif
QUOTE(KeonG118 @ Jul 18 2005, 06:13 PM)
Hmm.. or maybe we can have a gathering for the DIY job? then can share share the tools ma.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(moderno @ Jul 18 2005, 06:17 PM)
the event can be named as MOD Party....hehe biggrin.gif

laugh.gif not a bad idea.then all modders can get to know n exchange ideas first hand thumbup.gif meet all the sifus biggrin.gif
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 18 2005, 11:46 PM)
oic! They're rather precise aren't they? I believe MNPCTECH used those to cut his casings....or was it some dude in bit-tech.net?
no wonder he told me usually if customers ask, he'll charge. tongue.gif
Anybody wanna do it here? I can get it done for a cheaper price than shops like...OP? Precise too. Is this considered adveritsing? I dunno, cuz I'd just feel it benefits LYN members.

advertise...still in "where to get" topic i suppose.heh tongue.gif give us the quotation for it wink.gif
pizzaboy
hehe...quotation. I ikut overclocker's paradise la.

Fan blowhole = Rm25 (RM20)
Normal side panel window = Rm85 (RM70)
Normal top panel window = Rm50 (40)
Side panel window(Own design) = Rm100++ (Currently Unavailable,except special request)
Case painting = Rm150++ (120)
Internal case painting=RM100

My harga is in the bracket.
Don't come bising-bising if the harga mahal arh.
I suggest to my uncle and he agrees that's all. Itu spray-spray semua bukan gua buat. That one I send to an apek to do. He more skill.

edit=Typo~
ikan_semilang
Isn't good replace acrylic with glass?I want to make laser cutting just design like this:- thumbup.gif

zooloo
wouldnt it be heavier if use glass?im not a glass person.lol.anyway where did u get ur glass?can update list smile.gif
tsg
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 26 2005, 08:34 PM)
Isn't good replace acrylic with glass?I want to make laser cutting just design like this:- thumbup.gif

im fobia accidently hit the glass sweat.gif nway where r u going 2 get the laser cutting + glass? rolleyes.gif
i love mac OS
y can't just put plastic??
zooloo
heheh smile.gif who sayz cant put plastic?but what plastic r we discussing here?arcrylic or those plastic bags? ohmy.gif lol
itz up to ppls' preferences.some prefer glass to arcrylic smile.gif
hobbit
Hi..I'm looking for 5.25" faceplate grills similar to those on the new CM STacker casing...

where can I find them?
zooloo
i dont think there's shops selling those.u can try make urself or ask around at garage sales.put it in ur sig... [WTB]... smile.gif
Snoy
Anyone knows where to get the rubber strip shown in the attached picture?

Is it an UV rubber strip? I don't want a normal black strip.
Cloudx
Um...some newbie quiestion...wad type of casing dat is recommended for modding?
Do i need to buy a good alu frame casing?
Or juz any normal cheap casing?
GoldenHawk
QUOTE(Cloudx @ Aug 16 2005, 12:52 PM)
Um...some newbie quiestion...wad type of casing dat is recommended for  modding?
Do i need to buy a good alu frame casing?
Or juz any normal cheap casing?

If you're just starting, get something cheap (...and expendable tongue.gif ).
Start with small mods & work your way up. Try not to make this case your main casing. Just use it for modding "experiments". biggrin.gif
zooloo
QUOTE(Snoy @ Aug 15 2005, 09:13 PM)
Anyone knows where to get the rubber strip shown in the attached picture?
Is it an UV rubber strip? I don't want a normal black strip.

anybody can help him??i have nooo idea... tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Aug 16 2005, 02:21 PM)
If you're just starting, get something cheap (...and expendable tongue.gif ).
Start with small mods & work your way up. Try not to make this case your main casing. Just use it for modding "experiments". biggrin.gif

like he said...try only...not necessarily mean u have to get another case to use smile.gif but for first timer/noob or any other categories alike,DO NOT mod on expensive case.
anyway...PLAN well b4 u start.start with simple mods.good luck! biggrin.gif
bahgger
I started out my first ever modifications on my old beige case that came with the system I bought. I knew if I messed up I wouldn't have to pay through my nose. Same goes for everyone. Start on more expensive items the better your skills are smile.gif Practice always makes perfect especially in this hobby.

EDIT: I think that piece of rubber in your picture is just transparent/ slightly translucent rubber Snoy. It jusy so happens to light up under UV, just like white plastic cable-ties.
uglyvamp
For case mod always prepare filing tools such as rounded file, flat file, semi-circle file. and tiny file to work on edges smile.gif

im sure these are the cheapest mod tool around

For case mod always prepare filing tools such as rounded file, flat file, semi-circle file. and tiny file to work on edges smile.gif

im sure these are the cheapest mod tool around

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.