Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Quantum of Solace: 007 (November 6th, 2008)
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > Movies & Music
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
firedauz
Official Bond Website: http://www.007.com/

Plot Summary: "Quantum of Solace" continues the high octane adventures of James Bond (Daniel Craig) in "Casino Royale."

Betrayed by Vesper, the woman he loved, 007 fights the urge to make his latest mission personal. Pursuing his determination to uncover the truth, Bond and M (Judi Dench) interrogate Mr White (Jesper Christensen) who reveals the organisation which blackmailed Vesper is far more complex and dangerous than anyone had imagined.

Forensic intelligence links an Mi6 traitor to a bank account in Haiti where a case of mistaken identity introduces Bond to the beautiful but feisty Camille (Olga Kurylenko), a woman who has her own vendetta. Camille leads Bond straight to Dominic Greene (Mathieu Amalric), a ruthless business man and major force within the mysterious organisation.

On a mission that leads him to Austria, Italy and South America, Bond discovers that Greene, conspiring to take total control of one of the world's most important natural resources, is forging a deal with the exiled General Medrano (Joaquin Cosio). Using his associates in the organisation, and manipulating his powerful contacts within the CIA and the British government, Greene promises to overthrow the existing regime in a Latin American country, giving the General control of the country in exchange for a seemingly barren piece of land.

In a minefield of treachery, murder and deceit, Bond allies with old friends in a battle to uncover the truth. As he gets closer to finding the man responsible for the betrayal of Vesper, 007 must keep one step ahead of the CIA, the terrorists and even M, to unravel Greene's sinister plan and stop his organisation.

Clip of Olga as new Bond Girl:
raindrops
get annasophia robb as the new bond girl.

oh wai-
vivienne85
cant wait for the movie...

blush.gif put daniel craig in baby blue briefs anytime@@ brows.gif
screech
Trailer's out.

kobe8byrant
Kissing her bare back was the best part tongue.gif

But seriously, the hand combat looks very Bourne Ultimatum-ish
QuickFire
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 30 2008, 08:48 PM)

the first movie was already bourne-ish.

I think the trailer looks cool, but could have been edited better. havent seen much of the new bond girls, but I think they are hot.
JonSpark
Love Casino Royale, love the Aston DBS.
vivienne85
finally the trailer is out!!

cant wait for the movie!! rclxms.gif
ifer
OMFG!
it's my birthday
skylinegtr34rule4life
awesome rclxms.gif thats what i call ORIGINAL unlike most hollywood movie remake rclxms.gif
almattitude_v1
The trailer is OUT alright...
incognito
woot, teaser looks promising, im glad they managed to retain the gritty, realistic tone of casino royale. really hope they wont go OTT ala pierce brosnan era.
mikelee
It also looks like there will be more Aston Martin DBS in action!
firedauz
Action-wise, Bond films had always delivered something better than its previous movies.

With the introduction of Daniel Craig, we get to see an even darker side of Bond, which is even awesome biggrin.gif
mikelee
QUOTE(firedauz @ Jul 1 2008, 10:16 PM)
Action-wise, Bond films had always delivered something better than its previous movies.

With the introduction of Daniel Craig, we get to see an even darker side of Bond, which is even awesome biggrin.gif

And the lack of fancy gadgets really brings a fresh outlook to the Bond series.
farique
the trailer is out.. literally.

Not available. sad.gif
QuickFire
QUOTE(farique @ Jul 2 2008, 08:10 AM)
the trailer is out.. literally.

Not available. sad.gif

try here.

http://www.mi6.co.uk/sections/articles/bon...&s=qos&id=01943
-= Virgil =-
Seen the trailer in Hancock this morning, and seems like I am starting to get a feel of Daniel as Bond. Yes, i have never been at ease since Daniel take over.

As expected the movie is very Bond-like with him doing sophisticated impossible things and high end gadgets and not forgetting the lovely ladies. Not sure who the new Bond girl but you know you wont be disappointed with it.
JonSpark
QUOTE(mikelee @ Jul 1 2008, 09:53 PM)
It also looks like there will be more Aston Martin DBS in action!

in CR, they use 3 Aston DB9 with DBS bodywork cuz i think DBS still in pre-production during that time

dunno if the DBS that crash-landed in the lake when filming QoS (hey QoS packets laugh.gif) is a DB9 or not

kobe8byrant
1) TDK
2) Quantum
3) Eagle Eye
4) Tropic Thunder
alanyuppie
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 30 2008, 09:48 PM)

obviously, since both scenes uses bare hands tongue.gif
mikelee
HD trailers are up:
http://www.hd-trailers.net/preview.php?id=quantum_of_solace
ifer
the trailer was up in the cinema edi but instead of 7th nov, it's 6th nov in malaysia
firedauz
Sauce: http://www.variety.com/article/VR111799058...egoryid=13&cs=1

Brands line up for Bond sequel

James Bond is bringing back some familiar brands in "Quantum of Solace."

Sequel to "Casino Royale" will again be backed by Ford Motor Co., Heineken beer, Smirnoff vodka, Omega watches, Virgin Atlantic, Sony Ericsson cell phones and other Sony electronics. These brands all have products placed in the film and each will shell out tens of millions of dollars as a promotional partner of the pic.

Sony Pictures, which is distribbing the movie, declined to disclose how much the brands are ponying up, but returning partners spent up to $100 million worldwide on ad efforts around "Casino Royale," industryites estimate. The same is expected this time around.

As was the case then, Daniel Craig, who reprises his role as 007, won’t be the sole face to promote the products. Bond girl Olga Kurylenko, who plays feisty 007 ally Camille in the pic, is being used to push Heineken beer and the latest version of Ford’s small European car, the Ka.

The 22nd film in the franchise will mark the fifth time that the beer company has co-promoted a Bond adventure.

"Our long association with James Bond has helped enhance the profile of the Heineken brand across the world," said Stefan Orlowski, group commerce director for Heineken, which used Eva Green in its ads associated with "Casino Royale." Bond will again drive his signature Aston Martin in the pic. Ford brands Volvo and Range Rover and other Ford vehicles also make prominent appearances with characters behind the wheels.

The redesigned version of the Ka will roll out in European dealerships around the Nov. 7 release of the film. A special-edition "Solace"-themed Ka will be sold that features metallic gold paint and exterior graphics. Ford is spending most of its movie tie-in coin in Europe.

Sony Ericsson will release a limited edition Titanium Silver C902 Cyber-shot phone, also seen in the film, around the release of the pic. Company’s products appeared in the previous two outings.

Virgin Atlantic began its relationship with Bond’s producers with "Casino Royale," in which the airline’s planes were shown and company prexy Richard Branson made a cameo.

The Bond franchise has long been a magnet for marketers looking to associate their wares with a character who favors high-end products. Property has proved so valuable that brands have returned to the films year after year, locking out rivals.

Smirnoff vodka made its original appearance in Bond’s first outing, 1962’s "Dr. No."

Sony and the franchise’s EON Prods. have opted to limit the number of promo partners to about seven, the same as for "Casino Royale." The 2002 Bond installment "Die Another Day" was packed with some 20 tie-ins — so much so that critics dubbed it "Buy Another Day."

Fewer deals enable the brands to stand out more and keep marketers happy, especially when they’re ponying up millions of dollars to tout their association with 007.

And studios are only happy to keep partners pleased considering that the dollars they’re spending often double a pic’s marketing budget and expand the reach of a film’s campaign.

Brand-backed pushes will include TV, print, radio, online and other advertising to launch in 40 countries.

Campaigns start rolling out in October, a month before the pic unspools.
spartacvs
With the ending of [Casino Royale], I suppose Bond is going to get personal in this sequel.

By the way, did one of the bond girl acted in [Hitman]? She look familiar though.
cyclonekid
I was going to my office today. Saw a big poster of this movie. Coming out November 6. Can't wait.
andriel
Wats James Bond without hot girls?
Clerks
QUOTE(spartacvs @ Aug 17 2008, 04:48 PM)
With the ending of [Casino Royale], I suppose Bond is going to get personal in this sequel.

By the way, did one of the bond girl acted in [Hitman]? She look familiar though.

Yes. Olga Kurylenko.
firedauz
Sauce: http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=48142

Update: Quantum of Solace Moved Back a Week

Columbia Pictures and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures, announced today that it will release Quantum of Solace on November 14th in North America. "The strategic move places the highly-anticipated James Bond adventure one week closer to the prime movie-going holiday window and takes advantage of last week's decision to move the release date of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince,'" said the studios.
skylinegtr34rule4life
hmm i wonder how cool is james bond with C902 brows.gif the k800i in casino royale is pretty cool laugh.gif
Cheesenium
Looking forward to this.

Casino Royale was really good.

At least James Bond can get injured now.Dun have power overwhelming cheats. laugh.gif
ifer
why november 14th?
november 7th is my birthday leh!!!
firedauz
2nd Trailer: EVEN BETTER rclxms.gif
spartacvs
Cool action-packed trailer.
angelic-x
my youtube streaming like a Turtle = ="
mosai
Cool looking trailer, he is definitely on my top two Bond after Connery.
firedauz
Remember how people say Christian Bale's Batman brings back the glory of Micheal Keaton's Batman, especially in the mega-monster box office sequel, Dark Knight?

I'd say the same for Daniel Craig's Bond, especially for this sequel biggrin.gif
perverdz
sh!tz...the trailers looks good.

Initially i was quite skeptical about Daniel Craig being the new Bond (What? a blond Bond??) but he pull it off quite well.
love the refreshing Casino Royale, hope this Quantom of Solace will be better!

But theme song Another Way To Die, by Alicia Keys + Jack White of White Stripes..
Can top Chris Cornell's You Know My Name? hmm.gif
ifer
ooohhh!
it's a very nice trailer
can't wait to watch this trailer in the cinema
vivienne85
QUOTE(mosai @ Sep 10 2008, 10:30 PM)
Cool looking trailer, he is definitely on my top two Bond after Connery.

totally agree with you on that
best bond since connery...
skylinegtr34rule4life
ouch new bond theme kena blast gao gao by bond fanatics laugh.gif sweat.gif

Fans Blast New Bond Theme

Movie fans have branded the theme song for Quantum Of Solace the worst Bond theme ever.

The opening track for the hotly anticipated follow-up to Casino Royale, starring Daniel Craig, was unveiled on several British radio stations earlier this week (15Sep08).

But it has been mauled my fans and music critics alike.

Written by White Stripes frontman Jack White and singer Alicia Keys, the song, Another Way To Die, was blasted by one fan as sounding like a "shopping list" of violence.

Another said White and Keys' different singing styles "don't gel" on the track, while music critic Todd Martens added: "The first mistake was mimicking an iconic score with some electric guitars and modern effects, which is always, always, always a bad idea."

Even Oasis rocker Noel Gallagher waded into the row earlier this week - telling fans it was a "p**s-take" that a movie featuring the archetypal English spy was to be soundtracked by "a bunch of f**king Americans".

http://www.imdb.com/news/ns0000002/#ni0569874
vivienne85
i heard the tune and IMO, it is not epic enough,when compared to previous bond movies like Goldeneye, You Know My Name in Casino Royale and From Russia with Love....
Calvin871989
Driving the Aston Martin DBS at 120 MPH!
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=49173

Quantum of Solace's "Another Way to Die" Music Video
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=49241
ifer
for some reason, i kinda like the song.

it's different. just like how daniel is different from the other bonds.
skylinegtr34rule4life
lolz probably the fans are sadistic anti american i guess laugh.gif doh.gif imagine sepet soundtrack is sung by american, wouldn't you feel very awkward...lolz laugh.gif rclxms.gif
ifer
but i agree that the MTV looks super sucky.
try listening to the song only... or wait till november when the film is here... then we judge it again.

i am pretty sure the song will go nicely with the visuals of the film
defaultname365
QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 1 2008, 10:33 PM)
but i agree that the MTV looks super sucky.
try listening to the song only... or wait till november when the film is here... then we judge it again.

i am pretty sure the song will go nicely with the visuals of the film

yeah... dude... its like a total mess !

This is a Bond theme ???!!!! R u kidding ?

OK, there is a small possibility the visuals may go with this song...
skylinegtr34rule4life
bond fan buys wrecked movie car

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni0576813/

woah laugh.gif wrecked aston martin appreciates more WTF laugh.gif
Calvin871989

sweat.gif
Calvin871989
http://www.joblo.com/bond-bloopers

Bond bloopers

While we count down the days until 007 returns in QUANTUM OF SOLACE, the error-collecting site Movie Mistakes has rounded up a few of the past screw-ups from the series.

Most of the flubs are technical or continuity issues -- and not one mention of Roger Moore's hair! Click to check 'em all.

Extra Tidbit: Couldn't all of MOONRAKER really be considered a "mistake"?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.