Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Need for Speed : Undercover
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Gamers Hideout
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47
chapree
NEED FOR SPEED: UNDERCOVER

Essential Info
Release Date: 18 Nov 2008 (US) / 21 Nov 2008 (EU) - Malaysian release date usually one day earlier than US date
Platform: Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Portable, Nintendo DS, Wii, Xbox 360, Mobile phone, Apple iPhone

Official Trailer

Storyline

The game's story mode sets the player in the story as a police officer going undercover into the criminal underground of Tri-city, a fictional city where the game is set. The player's only contact to the police is Chase Linh, played by Maggie Q. drool.gif drool.gif

sauce: Wikipedia

List of Retailers
-Offline Retailers-
Software Boutique, SS2, PJ - all versions
Gamer's Hideout, Cineleisure Mutiara Damansara - console version

-Online Retailers-
Software Boutique - http://www.tsb.com.my
PCGame.com.my - http://www.pcgames.com.my
ConsoleGame.com.my - http://www.consolegames.com.my

Cybercafes with NFSUC
TBC

4th September: 1st post re-wrote to include plot, trailer and screenshots, previous updates is below:

2kia
this is great! i spent barely few days wit pro street and nvr played at all ever since.
radkliler
With that name....does that mean we playing as cops now?
Cheesenium
Hope they keep their promise this time.Better have good story line and ai now.

Prostreet tuning was fun,IMO.
riku2replica
yay, new nfs... hoping for better control as nfs:ps sucks big time.
Cheesenium
The name sounds like Underwear to me.

Why did they choose strange names?
yeahan85
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 18 2008, 05:33 PM)
The name sounds like Underwear to me.

Why did they choose strange names?

Wasn't the name Carbon much stranger in the franchise 2 years ago? doh.gif At least it sounds cooler this time. smile.gif
Cheesenium
QUOTE(yeahan85 @ Jun 18 2008, 07:26 PM)
Wasn't the name Carbon much stranger in the franchise 2 years ago? doh.gif At least it sounds cooler this time. smile.gif

It's still strange to me but better than Carbon.

I was like:"WTF??? New NFS call carbon?".

My bro also didnt believe me when i told him about Carbon.
SpikeTwo
need for speed: wood.

yeah, hoping that this installment will revive the boring series.
T0MMY
this NFS sounds nice but hope they keep their promise and no stupid story
Cheesenium
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 18 2008, 08:30 PM)
need for speed: wood.

Yeah,instead of driving lambo and GTRs,we have to drive some hand crafted wooden cars. thumbup.gif
JackX
Hmm somehow Need for Speed High stakes and porsche unleased was way more addictive than NFS PS. rclxub.gif
yeahan85
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 18 2008, 08:43 PM)
Yeah,instead of driving lambo and GTRs,we have to drive some hand crafted wooden cars. thumbup.gif

You meant we had to drive those types of cars in ProStreet? blink.gif
riku2replica
more like flintstone prehistorical car LOL.....
Cheesenium
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jun 18 2008, 09:01 PM)
more like flintstone prehistorical car LOL.....

Who know,flintstone cars might revive the series.
T0MMY
seems like they says is something like transporter will we have gun fights?
colinwong89
This is the game I hope that the NFS series will turn for the better.
Luftwacko
So when are they going to name their game NFS: Oxygen?
linkinstreet
Prostreet was actually quite good. But some of the players are not used to track racing. Thus that's why so much hate.
yeahan85
QUOTE(T0MMY @ Jun 18 2008, 09:34 PM)
seems like they says is something like transporter will we have gun fights?

Elements of Hitman or Max Payne to be implemented in this game? brows.gif
JackX
Need for Speed : China anyone?

Can race tricycles and cars that "look" like other cars.
old_calculator
QUOTE(JackX @ Jun 18 2008, 08:45 PM)
Hmm somehow Need for Speed High stakes and porsche unleased was way more addictive than NFS PS.  rclxub.gif

these two i think the king of NFS series.Porsche Unleased hv more realistic physics than PS
likito
new NFS series . i hvn finish prostreet . hehe~~
Luftwacko
QUOTE(likito @ Jun 19 2008, 12:50 AM)
new NFS series . i hvn finish prostreet . hehe~~

I also haven't finish the game... and I probably never ever will. The game is too boring for me to continue playing it. Hope the next NFS will bring back the glory of the old days.
Enclave Recruit
QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jun 19 2008, 12:58 AM)
I also haven't finish the game... and I probably never ever will. The game is too boring for me to continue playing it. Hope the next NFS will bring back the glory of the old days.

NFS franchise lost it's shine after Most Wanted...

It all went downhill from there

I only played Prostreet for a few hours...

frags
Something i found at shacknews:

http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/53197

EA CEO: We Were Torturing Need for Speed Devs
by Maarten Goldstein Jun 18, 2008 7:20am CST tags: Need for Speed ProStreet, Electronic Arts

Speaking at an investors meeting, Electronic Arts CEO John Riccitiello noted his disappointment with Need for Speed: ProStreet, and said that EA had been "torturing a very talented group of people" at EA Vancouver with rigorous 12 month development cycles reports GamesIndustry.biz.

Though Need for Speed: Most Wanted was a recent series highlight, newer games like Carbon and ProStreet were not received as well.

Electronic Arts attributes this to the fact that EA Vancouver had been producing a new Need for Speed game every single year for the past eight years. That changed last summer, when EA split the company into two teams, hired more people, and put both teams on two year development cycles.

Though it won't have the benefit of the full two year cycle, the first game to come out of this changed development philosophy will be this year's Need For Speed: Undercover. The game is described as a mission-based one with a strong story, with Riccitiello likening the general feel of the game to that of the The Transporter movies.

"I'm confident that Undercover is a much better game than Pro Street, and I expect that from this point forward they will do a lot better," Riccitiello is quoted as saying.

I certainly hope so Mr Riccitiello...

EDIT : nvm its the same story on the first post doh.gif but imho it was kinda obvious wasn't it?
Cheesenium
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jun 18 2008, 09:49 PM)
This is the game I hope that the NFS series will turn for the better.

Isnt this what we say every year?
swhung
Most Wanted is the best NFS installation i can think so far.
M1X
Why care about the name? Gameplay please..... Whatever it called NFSNTFS@(*#&(@#&(# as long as the gameplay is fun and have highly replayable value.
skylinegtr34rule4life
4 the 1st time, i dont think i will ever get excited with the new announced NFS yawn.gif
D-Zire
i've been a big fan of NFS eversince NFS 2...played almost everything series but not prostreet...Most Wanted was fun and carbon was boring...hopefully undercover comes with new playing concept and brings back the entertainment value
claxxion
I think carbon was the biggest flop of all the nfs series. It was dark. And nfs most wanted was too dull.

Nfs porsche is still the best one imo. Too bad it cannot be played in xp. Hope this new one is better than the sucky prostreet. Too much simulation would make the game no fun at all to play.
Cheesenium
QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jun 19 2008, 11:13 AM)
4 the 1st time, i dont think i will ever get excited with the new announced NFS yawn.gif

Me too.

Disappointed with NFS adi.Every year they promise something but never come true.

Just gonna buy a*hem and see how bad is it.
Enclave Recruit
I want some Ferraris in NFS Undercover!!!

Do you realize that Ferrari has been omitted from recent NFS installments. Perhaps there is a licensing issue...

bulibulizaimon
Played prostreet for a short time but not loving it as other previous NFS series.. Hope this new NFS will attracting me coz im starting to fall in love to GRID wub.gif
M1X
I start to love mobile game instead... Though, why Porche Unleashed kinda real laggy running on XP? Competible problems? But Hot Pursuit and HP2 sun with no prob around.
2kia
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 18 2008, 03:58 PM)
Hope they keep their promise this time.Better have good story line and ai now.

Prostreet tuning was fun,IMO.

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 18 2008, 10:04 PM)
Prostreet was actually quite good. But some of the players are not used to track racing. Thus that's why so much hate.

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Jun 19 2008, 01:39 PM)
Played prostreet for a short time but not loving it as other previous NFS series.. Hope this new NFS will attracting me coz im starting to fall in love to GRID  wub.gif

guess most of the NFS players just want some arcade actions and not simulation therefore nfs:ps just not quite 'there' imo.

hopefully nfs:undercover or whatever could bring back the hype n fun!
MarHazK
If u guys notices (nfsu fan), Prostreet is easy, carbon and mostwanted quite easy/hard. But NFSU 1 and 2 were hard lol (since after days they were released to public/markets). I hope this one (nfsu: undercover) no longer easy for me....

Why?
Prostreet: Easy drift, less challenges.
Carbon & Mostwanted: Less challenges, but mostwanted quite ok, but still quite easy/hard tho. (Less tunings)
NFSU 1 & 2: More challenges, less speeds, more tunings, and big map, many roads/ways.

hehe tongue.gif
jayhan

Second that.

I know around June or July the first teaser video or screenshots will come out, but this year i'm not really looking forward to it. Better don't. Stay with GRID first tongue.gif
radkliler

Bah...I just won't buy NFS games anymore....be it ahem or ori...not worth 20 bucks grumble.gif
chapree
Well, I guess you guys already started to throw tantrums...personally, NFS series are yet to disappoint me. Sure, there are lots of shortcoming in the recent incarnation but hey, it still far better than Juiced IMHO muwahahahahahhahahah brows.gif

Anyway, the NFS Undercover is already confirmed according to NFSunlimited's EA sources. It just lack an official announcement or/and a teaser video. So what should we call the game then? NFSU again? or NFSUC perhaps? laugh.gif
gM | Mutsumi-san
NFSUNCLE <3
ulwan25
please bring the cop gameplay! i wanna be cop! chasing da rempit guys will be exhausted! and cool

since undercover is the title, it sures sounds like the cops back, and we're gonna do a baaad thing, i don't know how, but EA got ideas.

ready for the gfx??
skylinegtr34rule4life
wah looks like a lot of people fall in love with my nfs bashing fest eh laugh.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(claxxion @ Jun 19 2008, 12:19 PM)
Nfs porsche is still the best one imo. Too bad it cannot be played in xp.

it can be played in XP with enhanced patch but the alphabet/number font will be super fugly as hell as i cant see how much cash balance left doh.gif rclxub.gif
FarCry3r
since fuel prices are so high right now, I would recommend them to change it to Need for Speed: NGV, bwahahahahahahahahahaha icon_idea.gif
coolkwc
i hope undercover will retain the Prostreet car mod section, give back the street racing, no cop please and more cars...
dadurtyz
yayaya.. prostreet so sucks, i hate it..

i want to see new version of NFS series more fun o not
Luftwacko
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 20 2008, 06:11 PM)
i hope undercover will retain the Prostreet car mod section, give back the street racing, no cop please and more cars...

I won't play if there's no cops.

In "Pro"street, they successfully removed the fun by removing the cops.
coolkwc
QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jun 20 2008, 08:42 PM)
I won't play if there's no cops.

In "Pro"street, they successfully removed the fun by removing the cops.

i think prostreet are more tended to simulation rather than fun, thats why the player who love the cops series such as most wanted, carbon will hate it...another reason ppl not like prostreet because they feel can't win the game, damn hard, but not for me... whistling.gif
Luftwacko
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 20 2008, 08:47 PM)
i think prostreet are more tended to simulation rather than fun, thats why the player who love the cops series such as most wanted, carbon will hate it...another reason ppl not like prostreet because they feel can't win the game, damn hard, but not for me... whistling.gif

I also hate the game because the cars handle like a fully loaded shopping trolley. It doesn't feed realistic...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.