Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Has Service Pack 1 Made Your PC Run Better?
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
Pages: 1, 2
defaultname365

Three major areas of improvement with Service Pack 1:
1. Reliability and performance
2. Administration experience
3. Support for newer hardware and standards

Download the standalone version here :

32bit version
http://download.microsoft.com/download/3/a...0-X86-wave0.exe

64bit version
http://download.microsoft.com/download/8/3...0-X64-wave0.exe

CZero
Yup, mucccccccchhhhhhhhhhh betta. 'nuff said.
seiji_kun
depend on ur pc spec lo bt for smooth use sp1 lor...
Grand Inquisitor
no... just the same
seiji_kun
what the same??
Aoshi_88
My transfer speeds are better and much more stable. <3 But there isn't much difference elsewhere. Not that it's noticeable to me anyway.
AMDAthlon
For me yes,improved slightly and much more stable.
Skylinestar
Vista Ultimate (without any update) - my pc takes 2 minutes to start up, including those busy hdd activity (indexing) till hdd activity stop.

Now...with SP1 and Windows Search4, takes 1 minute only.
and the pc spec is just sempron 2GHz with 1GB DDR400 ram.
Cheesenium
Is it ok to update to SP1 when i still have uncertified drivers in my system?
FarCry3r
I'm quite happy with SP1, no more BSOD when running vLite on Vista. Only two problem though, Product (RED) screensaver isn't working and there's signed drivers enforcement with SP1, no matter X86 or X64...

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 18 2008, 10:33 AM)
Is it ok to update to SP1 when i still have uncertified drivers in my system?

I have replied on your thread, read there for a solution...
defaultname365
I'd say majority of users experience improvements, and currently the poll confirms this.

Service Pack 1 is all the more reasons to get Windows Vista today.
Core_Tracer
overall performance is better and stable.....only my sidebar still have problem,some gadgets didnt showed properly
ham_revilo
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 18 2008, 11:22 AM)
I'd say majority of users experience improvements, and currently the poll confirms this.

Service Pack 1 is all the more reasons to get Windows Vista today.

agree with u bro. sp1 is great if u get to install it witout any problem. i feel transfering files are faster than usual and less memory hogging with sp1
REDFlELD
Service Pack 1 did nothing to solve the problem I'm having... crash(BSoD) when playing videos.
Does anyone here have this problem or is it just me only?
dopodplaya
QUOTE(REDFlELD @ Jun 19 2008, 06:56 AM)
Service Pack 1 did nothing to solve the problem I'm having... crash(BSoD) when playing videos.
Does anyone here have this problem or is it just me only?

only you - because no details from you.
even with SP1 - playing video is smoothly even with H.264 video.
overmars
somehow i feel that shut down now gets so much longer with SP1...now it takes me close to 1 minute to shut down...i wonder why...last time shut down was only 15 seconds or so

Added on June 19, 2008, 1:24 pmother than that i dont really see any visible improvement...kind of a disappointment for me...no improvement yet shutting down takes longer time
FarCry3r
QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Jun 19 2008, 01:06 PM)
only you - because no details from you.
even with SP1 - playing video is smoothly even with H.264 video.

my Vista never have lagginess playing H.264 videos even not on SP1 before. Lesser application crashes too... thumbup.gif
juiced
i voted yes....a much more stable and less memory hogging environment since using sp1 with all the current updates...
Skylinestar
my video and audio playback are smoother. it solves my Quicktime BSOD issue.

but shut down takes longer time than before.
SilentE
SP1 is better, but still have issues.

Wait till SP2 comes and there should be no problem with it! ;D
pornstar
my startup/shutdown time decreased marginally but the vista experience feels pretty much the same. maybe my laptop specs is not that powerful enough to fully realize the improvements?
FarCry3r
QUOTE(SilentE @ Jun 19 2008, 08:54 PM)
SP1 is better, but still have issues.

Wait till SP2 comes and there should be no problem with it! ;D

why are you so sure that SP2 will solves all the problem? WinXP, even with SP3, still got lots of issues... unsure.gif
defaultname365
QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jun 20 2008, 09:32 AM)
why are you so sure that SP2 will solves all the problem? WinXP, even with SP3, still got lots of issues... unsure.gif

The problem with people (includes computer users) is that, when something new is released, the second released or the consequent releases are assumed to be better, and that's what they'll wait for.

Playing the waiting game in the computing world is rewarding, but heck, you got to be on something at some point.

I choose Windows Vista and SP1 as the choice of operating sytem today. I won't say "Nah, I don't want Vista, I'll wait for Windows 7." That's just plain silly.

Or...

"I don't think Vista SP1 is any better, I'll wait for SP2 and then I'll really get into Vista."

What I'm saying is that, Vista is now even more perfect than ever with SP1.

yvliew
400+ MB only? Is this Vista SP1????
tolong_saye
it just an update
not full bootable installation dvd
yvliew
i thought it would be bigger.. so u mean if i got the old vista installer.. after i install it i run this update.. i get vista sp1?

can post the link to download Vista Ultimate SP1 full bootable dvd image?? I try to download but seems cannot..

I have genuine vista ultimate retail..
defaultname365
QUOTE(yvliew @ Jun 20 2008, 04:28 PM)
i thought it would be bigger.. so u mean if i got the old vista installer.. after i install it i run this update.. i get vista sp1?

can post the link to download Vista Ultimate SP1 full bootable dvd image?? I try to download but seems cannot..

I have genuine vista ultimate retail..

Please stick to the topic.

If you want more information about SP1, go here :
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623655
wjfong
yaya, all my network issues clear d...happy with it...
scph50004
a lot less crashes, but there's still work to be done.
defaultname365
In May 2008 issue of The Official Windows Vista Magazine, they have an entire article on Service Pack 1.

In it, their results before and after SP1 is enough to prove than Vista SP1 is all the more reasons to get the operating system today.

However, in the test 'Crysis', the frame rate before SP1 was 30fps and after is 28fps.

File transfer to 'external hard drive' is slightly slower, but that's fine.

Overall, 80% of the tests conducted clearly showed that SP1 delivers better overall performance.
linkinstreet
2FPS difference is too little to be detected by the eyes. You need at least 5~6 FPS before you can see the difference lol
kokifung
i am some problem..
i do not know why this still occur although is SP1..

ForCe
no improvement
myee
correct me if i'm wrong....after update to vista ultimate service pack 1...my usb port seems to not function at all...it's detect but unable to open any of date in my any of thumb drive...so i just go back to normal vista ultimate...all of it back to normal again....
Kiemi
QUOTE(myee @ Jul 19 2008, 02:08 PM)
correct me if i'm wrong....after update to vista ultimate service pack 1...my usb port seems to not function at all...it's detect but unable to open any of date in my any of thumb drive...so i just go back to normal vista ultimate...all of it back to normal again....

Install latest driver first b4 install the sp nod.gif

Sp really got me some improvement. Cpu usage decreasing, ram usage decreasing, all things become more faster than b4. My laptop juz hve 1.8Ghz, 1Gb ram biggrin.gif
cloudstrife07
as for me, got huge improvement because i didnt update the original vista to SP1, but rather install vista that has been integrated with SP1.

more stable than before, however my winamp often crashes though sweat.gif
linkinstreet
WMP or Foobar >>>> winamp
cloudstrife07
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 22 2008, 12:55 PM)
WMP or Foobar >>>> winamp

i got some plugins to use, like leoslyric and that karaoke plugin.

and winamp's sound quality is much better than WMP and foober from my comparison.
DeLarafi
With 4GB of RAM... the diffrent is obvious.. much much more faster and smoother...

SeaMonster
It's Seem Like The Same..

Just The Ram Can Support 4Gb Nia..

Internet Explorer Still Have Terrible Issue..
Might Change To FireFox

FarCry3r
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jul 26 2008, 06:38 PM)

Might Change To FireFox

what kind of issues? I don't have any issues with IE except for Flashget IE plugin crashes whenever I hover my mouse over them... hmm.gif
defaultname365
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jul 26 2008, 06:38 PM)

Might Change To FireFox

32bit Vista only 'displays' 4Gb of memory if you have that much. It still uses only 3Gb memory.
Snuffykl
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 28 2008, 09:14 AM)
32bit Vista only 'displays' 4Gb of memory if you have that much. It still uses only 3Gb memory.

so if we change to 64bit Vista it detect 4Gb of memory?
fariz
QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jul 30 2008, 09:44 AM)

detect and fully use 4GB
akagidemon
sp1. i notice that vista is more stable,my lappy starts up a little sluggish but very fast shutting down (like the laptop very lazy to go to work but like to cabut early for rest.)

other then that i can;t see any noticeable improvement. some games plays better too.
username
Never really tried Vista until SP1 was released. So far so good with it. I'm very satisfied.
LEVIATHAN
One thing I don't like after SP1 is, Agnitum Outpost Firewall Pro 2009 Build 6.5 intermittently failed to start during startup. It causes drag to my system, and I need to log off and re-log on to make it correct. Nothing much, but it's a little irritating to waste some seconds just to make the thing works.
outdoorxplorer
yes it reports 4gb or more if installed.

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jul 30 2008, 09:44 AM)

QUOTE(fariz @ Jul 30 2008, 10:25 AM)
detect and fully use 4GB

it is stable on x64.

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Aug 15 2008, 11:56 PM)
sp1. i notice that vista is more stable,my lappy starts up a little sluggish but very fast shutting down (like the laptop very lazy to go to work but like to cabut early for rest.)

other then that i can;t see any noticeable improvement. some games plays better too.

another satified user.

QUOTE(username @ Aug 16 2008, 01:27 PM)
Never really tried Vista until SP1 was released. So far so good with it. I'm very satisfied.

cwk88
sp1 much betta for me ^^
whoknowz
i voted NO... as more of my hardware are having problems detecting...
both my epson cx3500 (multifunction printer) and canon mp140 drivers canot be installed...
tried downloading latest drivers and installing them but still the os wouldnt detect the printers/scanners...
whereas it used to work pre-sp1... shocking.gif

-just passing by......-
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.