Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Umobile Broadband
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Broadband User-2-User
NfscarbonRoX
Please leave ur experience here if u got experience of it , my thought is it sux
idhammuchtar
actually, umobile is same with celcom broadband.
it is a subsidiary of celcom.
and celcom is subsidiary of TM who provide screamyx for us.

QUOTE(NfscarbonRoX @ Jun 17 2008, 03:31 PM)
Please leave ur experience here if u got experience of it , my thought is it sux

NfscarbonRoX
QUOTE(idhammuchtar @ Jun 17 2008, 03:37 PM)

ic ... did u use b4 , coz i thinking to get one ..
idhammuchtar
QUOTE(NfscarbonRoX @ Jun 17 2008, 03:40 PM)
ic ... did u use b4 , coz i thinking to get one ..

yeah i'm using it b4.but already give it back to provider coz not satisfied with the service.
i only get below than 100kbps.
my area is section7 shah alam.
maybe in certain area it will doing well.
if 3g coverage in ur area is strong,maybe u can consider to subscribe it.
dont worry u can test it before u continue to subscribe right...so,get try it.
CheeSeong
it is a subsidiary of celcom

Dude, this statement is TOTALLY FALSE. Check before you shares. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
wenhui100
well that thing is bull ... my friend got one ... and connecting at 53.6kbp most of the time in butterworth ... may be we could all wait for wimax or something
samurai1337

umobile has got totally nothing to do with celcom except their domestic roaming agreement. And you cant compare Streamyx network with Celcom broadband either as they are on totally different networks
guardioo
did u know umobile broadband backbone is under timenet and ntt docomo?

they just having roaming agreement.
KKKRD
my trial period started last saturday, i'd give them 8/10. BT speeds with overseas seeds up to 170kbs.

only problem is that the service totally died from evening till about 10.45 pm.

i'm located at damansara heights. any other users around here?
K for Ketamine
QUOTE(guardioo @ Jun 17 2008, 08:01 PM)
did u know umobile broadband backbone is under timenet and ntt docomo?

they just having roaming agreement.

whatever we request have go thru HK gateway(HGC) afaik
KKKRD
it has deteriorated rapidly..... BT speeds down to 5-10kbs, and intermittent signal.. damn.

Added on June 20, 2008, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(KKKRD @ Jun 19 2008, 12:32 AM)
it has deteriorated rapidly..... BT speeds down to 5-10kbs, and intermittent signal.. damn.

speed at wangsa maju today.. but intermittent HSDPA. UMTS doenst work at all here !

lowyard
If u use umobile to download stuff with DAP, it will help a lot. I can reach 2.++mbps speed.
The pix below showing me downloading xp sp3 isos using DAP.

But if u wanna browse thru pages by pages, its juz ok.

If u wanna watch youtube, its pretty sux.

My comment was based on a day with umobile data plan. Tomorrow will b my second day.

oh btw, umobile only use celcom network coverage for their postpaid user only. Hsdpa networks are on their own. Only klang valley is covered but of course not 100%. They're expanding.

Added on June 24, 2008, 12:57 amSo far streaming youtube is totally doesnt make any sense. Web browsing is not very reliable.
paultantk
stupid umobile decided to block ssh on their network for some apparent reason... now i cannot login to my servers anymore.
lowyard
this is my second day...

its getting sucker...

cant torrent in high speed...
KKKRD
i kept modem after the trial period. speed has deteriorated rapidly, cant surf at all during the day, BT seems to be throttled or totally blocked at times, cant do sh1t before midnight!!! wtf...

i didnt sign any agreement for this crap, any way out?
ukiya
plan to use it de... but seen like my decision getting off ... somore my area is not cover by 3G ...
lowyard
this is my third day with u mobile and so far, the highest speed i can get when downloading torrent with bitcomet is 30kb and it even dont last for 10 secs.. most of the time, i get 10kb or lower speed.. this is pathetic.
skannloh
I have seriously considered using u mobile to replace streamyx as I am very unhappy with the latter. Having read all these comments, I probably have to wait and see. U mobile actually promises 3 Mbps downloading speed in their brochure, but when I called, they could not even tell whether bukit antarabangsa is covered with their footprint.
xpresside
[attachmentid=527718]

i dont use umobile for online game and torrent..just for rapidshare and ddl icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
area ttdi

Added on July 14, 2008, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(skannloh @ Jun 26 2008, 01:36 PM)
I have seriously considered using u mobile to replace streamyx as I am very unhappy with the latter. Having read all these comments, I probably have to wait and see. U mobile actually promises 3 Mbps downloading speed in their brochure, but when I called, they could not even tell whether bukit antarabangsa is covered with their footprint.

they nvr promist for everyone to get 3mbps..it's say when conditions are right, u can get UP to..that speed..but on average they did put there 1.8mbps which i doubt many of us can get that
i can get this speed when i put the modem on tv indoor antenna LOL!
4ns
How are you able to get full bar (5 bars)

The most I get is only 2 bars, after trying to place the device near my window. Without strong signal, even though I can get 1.2Mbps, my ping sucks alot.

I went to Umobile's shop at Times Square, went around lowyat looking for an external antenna, and I only see people getting maximum signal sad.gif but no antenna. That's why I returned my device.
xpresside
wireless not good for online gaming
4ns
As long as signal is strong and there's no overloading of the base station (like I experienced before with Izzi), ping should be good. Generally speaking, yes a wired connection will be better than wireless for lower pings, but for my purpose...it isn't THAT high.
polturgiest
hi, need advice here

im new to wireless broadband and just subscribed to umobile

just wondering, is there any different between using phone and hsdpa modem??

my phone model is z610i...connection sux at equine park sad.gif...is this because of my phone??

if hsdpa modem, i think im gonna have one
sharpman
QUOTE(polturgiest @ Aug 15 2008, 09:39 PM)
hi, need advice here

my phone model is z610i...connection sux at equine park sad.gif...is this because of my phone??

It depends on your phone and also the signal strength in your area. If I am not mistaken your phone supports 3G speed up to 384kbps.
I dont know how is the actual signal speed in Equine Park but maybe u can try a speedtest to see your current speed first.
polturgiest
QUOTE(sharpman @ Aug 16 2008, 01:09 AM)
It depends on your phone and also the signal strength in your area. If I am not mistaken your phone supports 3G speed up to 384kbps.
I dont know how is the actual signal speed in Equine Park but maybe u can try a speedtest to see your current speed first.

test to singapore

test to ny

mcm tipu je hmm.gif

i've tried to open umbile website, and its takes around 4-5min to finish loading blink.gif
MarcoYee
i think we just put our hope at P1...
cos i dun want the half cup of teh tarik...XD
p4n6
QUOTE(xpresside @ Jul 16 2008, 12:10 AM)

Please elaborate on your claim.

Added on August 16, 2008, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(polturgiest @ Aug 15 2008, 09:39 PM)
hi, need advice here

For phone, voice is priority, data will be dropped when there is incoming call.

If you are using your phone for data, and your speed is slow, I bet using a modem will be slow as well.
badtz_mark
I just did an Online test with a Umobile HSDPA Sim card to test its speed.....
U mobile HSDPA speed<-------
was very mad.gif and when tested,we were near the Umobile network department i assume in Subang Hi-tech.

Speed was tested using P1 Speed test site,Because http://www.speedtest.net/ take ages to load with Umobile HSDPA

elves
use bout 3 month. average spped is around 50kbs.. damn low, but current just father use for see toto result only.
MakNok
to use Umobile....1stly,
u must understand that it is still wireless and it do sometimes do disconnected.

for me...the perfomance almost like SiowCom but for average speed i get fluctuate from 300kbps to 2.8Mbps and average 1Mbps most of the time..

At nite....surfing is slow but so do Celcom...

It good to download using rapidshare and megaupload..

so my vote so far will be UMobile,then Digi Edge(for stability but ping is horrendeous) and Celcom last for Telco industry.

P1 Max and Izzi....not for me...bloody expensive.
mitodna
QUOTE(paultantk @ Jun 24 2008, 11:31 PM)
stupid umobile decided to block ssh on their network for some apparent reason... now i cannot login to my servers anymore.

I can SSH wor, you can't
asfiezul
but i think u mobile blocked rapidshare... today cannot even access the website... i just can if i use proxy bypass... but download with proxybypass is..tooo~~~slow..
cherasbabe
i think my modem is capped at 1200kbps, anybody's area got 2000kbps can tell me.. wanna go there & test w/ laptop

update: found my gspot oredi... now >2mbps !! sony ericsson phone roxs rclxms.gif
-oc-gassa

Added on December 1, 2008, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(xpresside @ Jul 16 2008, 12:10 AM)

not to me...yes for before october..since then i can play dota(gg client) with no lag at all( of course host ping 1 bar )while download some time ( rapidshare 100++ kbps)..some time cant even surf but can log in gg client and play dota...haha..quite amaze with Umobile service..
cherasbabe
I can ssh & vnc and speed is around 2.2mbps & ping steady around 90ms. i'm using SE G502 phone as modem

but in the night 8pm onwards problem will start, maybank2u can't load or load very slowly like 5mins/take a few refresh. kennot watch youtube, ntv3, 8tv... after 3am they're ok..

maybe due to all user sharing 1 IP address (123.136.101.197) & limited by 64k nat connections?? when u load the website www.cnbc.com, it will take 20+ connections, so 64k / 20 conn. = around 3,000 user/IP ???

3,000user x RM68 = RM204k/mth, please get a few class C ip lor...
narong
ok.... now someone teach us , how to download at rapidshare using umobile, and use VNC.
how to increase torrent speed ??? teach us
peter kay
been using umobile for months now. speed is good, if not the best. average i got around 1mbps now. highest speed is around 2mbps. reception is good eventhough sometimes got 1 bar only. btw, i live in klang and my hostel is at batu caves. but one thing weirds me, when using it at my friend's house in klang, i got 5Megabyte/s download (not megabit as 1 byte = 8 bit) and decrease to about 3Megabyte/s for a few seconds. regret coz i forgot to take screen capture. and last time, forgot when, it only takes 1 second to download a 1.45MB of file, but that only happened once. hmm.gif
cherasbabe
there are ppl get > 3.6mbps if u look at the speedtest.net database

5Mbyte/s = 40Mbit/s !!! wat modem u using?
cherasbabe
Just now 9:30-9:45pm kennot connect! Last 2 IP 10.21.9.197 & 10.21.8.118 no reply.
peter kay
QUOTE(cherasbabe @ Dec 15 2008, 02:47 AM)
there are ppl get > 3.6mbps if u look at the speedtest.net database

5Mbyte/s = 40Mbit/s !!! wat modem u using?

that's why i said it's strange. but it only happened few times. my fren oso weird y it only takes 1 second to download half 4MB file when he borrow my umobile. hmm.gif i'm using the ZTE modem they (umobile) provided.

edit: here's the proof
[attachmentid=718843]
cherasbabe
oh, i think part of the file is oredi inside the browser cache.
the reliable way is to test with speedtest.net

btw, yesterday 2am-4am i can't login to umobile net, anyone?
peter kay
QUOTE(cherasbabe @ Dec 17 2008, 07:55 AM)
oh, i think part of the file is oredi inside the browser cache.
the reliable way is to test with speedtest.net

btw, yesterday 2am-4am i can't login to umobile net, anyone?

really? that's possible ar? huh.gif
nvm, i'll test with speedtest later. nod.gif
ya lor, i oso can't connect. frustrated, then shut down my laptop. mad.gif
ronnie85

where got subsidiary from celcom oooo

umobile is under Berjaya Group de
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.