Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Lighter Socket MP3 Player
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > The Fast & The Furious > ICE
CGLegacy
hi... i came across many type of mp3 player which u can "cucuk" into the lighter port/socket...

some are rm59... some are rm49.... is it really worth it??? how about the sound quality... i just got my car today... and i think its too soon to buy a normal mp3 player for the car.... so i think just want to go for the cheap one now....
so anyone used it before....???

please comment ur experience...
bafukie
LOUSY
driftmeister
worse then FM radio i would say
halia_merah
actually not bad at all.it depend on ur song quality.the way u conert the song to mp3.it will be best if u got hq song and clear radio channel.And can fix 1000+++ song depend ur thumbrive or memory card.kuantan kl the song still not finish oooo.. sweat.gif
dirsly
its guud if budget wise...
one0202
im using one too......
not bad at all if have very tight budget.....
audio quality like fm radio.......
i buy this usb fm transmitter coz tired on burning new cd audio when want to hear new song......... no place to keep my cd in my car anymore....
using this n keep saving my money to buy HU with usb port........
CGLegacy
what u mean with radio quality??? the mp3 also sounds like that???
driftmeister
u duno how it functions do u?

first it read from ur usb drive
then generate the signal in fm freq
ur car HU/player will receive the radio frequency e.g. 99.9hz FM and play it
so no matter how good ur source is FLAC, WAV, MP3 320khz or 128khz
it will sound the same
halia_merah
thumbup.gif very good for budget,bro..! thumbup.gif
Shawnzz
just dont blast your speakers, the sounds.. ZZZZzzZ
gkl83
use RedFox brand...
the quality almost 95% same with CD quality or what u can hear from ur PC...
and dont get the cheap and chapalang brand, some of them having bad quality...
my gf's colleague using a cheap mp3 modulator, she unsatisfied about the music quality and she drive same car with me, i have no issues found on music quality... then i bought the RedFox brand for her, she can hear the difference, better quality and thumbup.gif up...
bafukie
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 14 2008, 11:38 PM)
use RedFox brand...
my gf's colleague using a cheap mp3 modulator, she unsatisfied about the music quality and she drive same car with me, i have no issues found on music quality... then i bought the RedFox brand for her, she can hear the difference, better quality and  thumbup.gif up...

u can hear difference of 95%? blink.gif wat about the 5%?
dirsly
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 15 2008, 12:38 AM)
use RedFox brand...
my gf's colleague using a cheap mp3 modulator, she unsatisfied about the music quality and she drive same car with me, i have no issues found on music quality... then i bought the RedFox brand for her, she can hear the difference, better quality and  thumbup.gif up...

hmm....guud item...where to find bro??
Shawnzz
Digital mall in pj got sell. Lowyat plaza also got . Sg wang also got.
dirsly
range price pls...wantto intro to my fren soon....thx for info again..
Seaedge
erm... there is also one thing will affect the quality... its the fm signal reception. no matter what brand you use;lauya or super geng fm modulator, if your car's fm reception is poor (eg my proton satria neo), the quality is awful. but when i use it in other car like my citroen or swift.. it sounds better than neo. if your car has fm booster, the better.

mind you, i use Harman Kardon, Belkin, Griffin, and chinabrand before. now i stick to aux in<-- which is out of topic.
Shawnzz
QUOTE(dirsly @ Jun 15 2008, 09:29 PM)

rm 55-75 .
dirsly
thx for info mate...
nordingh
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 14 2008, 11:38 PM)
use RedFox brand...

This is one of the best. Tested myself. Most shop recommended this brand. I think same manufacture as VZTEC. The different is the design. I prefer VZTEC because it has better built quality and look smaller.

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jun 15 2008, 09:09 PM)
Digital mall in pj got sell. Lowyat plaza also got . Sg wang also got.

Sri Comp at lowyat can test before buy. They have HU and lighter socket for testing.

QUOTE(dirsly @ Jun 15 2008, 09:29 PM)

RM40 - 70 (the price below than this got worst signal)

Mine is vztec - signal can be receive by 3 car side to side

Sell here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/490222

Based on my test, if use ipod connected to the fm, I can get the best quality ever. The internal decoder in FM cannot produce a very good sound quality.

kenny1807
vztec tat wan good wei..got srs wan
nordingh
You mean DBB right.... I use NORMAL and set the sound in my HU.
dirsly
bcoz it using fm modulation to detect ur music,sound quality decrease... not guud..
bengchua
QUOTE(dirsly @ Jul 14 2008, 07:13 AM)
bcoz it using fm modulation to detect ur music,sound quality decrease... not guud..

Will a proper mp3 + cd player set have better quality compared to these plugged in versions?
Vervain
yes. But depends on brand. China brand normally fairs bad. Branded ones like pioneer, eclipse, kenwood, sony, jvc should sound better than china brand
nordingh
I use both in my car. MP3 in the CD player itself way better that FM modulator. FM modulator use to play some new song before I burn to CD.

I use JVC HU.
CGLegacy
so far my redfox player fairs well... nice sound... even my friend who got himself a sony HU mp3 player priced at rm300++ said that my one sound preety good... i didnt add-in new speaker/woofer/tweeter yet... just my standard wira sound system...
nordingh
mine also work fine now.

My friend bought redfox old version (can show only 8.3 format for song not the LFN), he said not OK with his player but when I test in my car, work like charm.
blackpc
as long as there's minimal or no outside interference, the sound from the modulator will be good. Another challenge is to find an 'unoccupied' frequency.

One available frequency in Kajang might not be available in KL, so it's really a hassle to keep looking for the right frequency. Should u wish to get the modulator, make sure u can select any frequency available. Some cheaper version out there has preset 5 frequencies only. icon_idea.gif

I can say the airwaves in KL is very 'polluted' with 1 station occupying few frequencies. Once your modulator's frequency 'bumped' into this occupied frequency, u'll get mix signals... which is not nice. sweat.gif

My brother using a modulator in his Myvi, which sounds good but once I use it in my proton saga, there's a lot of interference. Finally ditched the product and get a real usb mp3 HU. No regret ever since. thumbup.gif

P/S: Try to keep and play mp3 files with 128kbps bitrate at most. Anything more that that, the song will be skipped and distorted intermittently. icon_rolleyes.gif
nordingh
QUOTE(blackpc @ Aug 8 2008, 10:44 AM)
as long as there's minimal or no outside interference, the sound from the modulator will be good. Another challenge is to find an 'unoccupied' frequency.

One available frequency in Kajang might not be available in KL, so it's really a hassle to keep looking for the right frequency. Should u wish to get the modulator, make sure u can select any frequency available. Some cheaper version out there has preset 5 frequencies only.  icon_idea.gif

I can say the airwaves in KL is very 'polluted' with 1 station occupying few frequencies. Once your modulator's frequency 'bumped' into this occupied frequency, u'll get mix signals... which is not nice.  sweat.gif

My brother using a modulator in his Myvi, which sounds good but once I use it in my proton saga, there's a lot of interference. Finally ditched the product and get a real usb mp3 HU. No regret ever since.  thumbup.gif

P/S: Try to keep and play mp3 files with 128kbps bitrate at most. Anything more that that, the song will be skipped and distorted intermittently.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Current modulator can use the whole range of frequency. So far I never get interference with any local station or any bypass car.

You can check what frequency use in your area here.Radio Station in Malaysia

About using modulator in different car..... mine so far... work in Kancil, proton Iswara, proton BLM...

I play 192kbps or higher bitrate with my modulator, no skipping or distortion. You should try the latest version of MP3 modulator. I know the old model not so good as new one. Some older model will stop working after 2 hours, must let it cold first before it works again.

The latest (bought last week), Redfox MP3 modulator with bluetooth. Can play song from USB, SD, AUX in, bluetooth A2DP and also use as handsfree.

blackpc
QUOTE(nordingh @ Aug 8 2008, 04:30 PM)
Current modulator can use the whole range of frequency. So far I never get interference with any local station or any bypass car.

You can check what frequency use in your area here.Radio Station in Malaysia

About using modulator in different car..... mine so far... work in Kancil, proton Iswara, proton BLM...

I play 192kbps or higher bitrate with my modulator, no skipping or distortion. You should try the latest version of MP3 modulator. I know the old model not so good as new one. Some older model will stop working after 2 hours, must let it cold first before it works again.

The latest (bought last week), Redfox MP3 modulator with bluetooth. Can play song from USB, SD, AUX in, bluetooth A2DP and also use as handsfree.

i was talking about the latest version of modulators. One of my friend selling a few in his computer shops, so we had the pleasure of testing them. According to my friend, Redfox is just another brand made by the same factory, hence u can see the same design of different brands on the shelves.

Consider yourself lucky mate. I'm just dissipating some informations based on my experience.

With regards to the higher bitrate being played, 192kbps is still acceptable. Just that I suggest 128kbps to be made standard. If you are able to play 320kbps mp3 file, I think the mp3 file was originally of lower bitrate, hence when it was converted to higher bitrate there's actually not much change. FYI, even branded mp3 player warns its user not to listen to mp3 of high bitrate, particularly 320kbps.
nordingh
QUOTE(blackpc @ Aug 8 2008, 06:26 PM)
i was talking about the latest version of modulators. One of my friend selling a few in his computer shops, so we had the pleasure of testing them. According to my friend, Redfox is just another brand made by the same factory, hence u can see the same design of different brands on the shelves.

Consider yourself lucky mate. I'm just dissipating some informations based on my experience.

With regards to the higher bitrate being played, 192kbps is still acceptable. Just that I suggest 128kbps to be made standard. If you are able to play 320kbps mp3 file, I think the mp3 file was originally of lower bitrate, hence when it was converted to higher bitrate there's actually not much change. FYI, even branded mp3 player warns its user not to listen to mp3 of high bitrate, particularly 320kbps.

I know it's from same factory, the design look the same for few model but with some different firmware and chip inside. The circuit for power also different. I open to look inside already for some of the model.

For model with said only MP3, when ON there no logo come out but for Redfox/VZTEC you can see HELLO logo. The equalizer setting also have some different setting.

I test 5 model already, only 1 need to send back to the shop so far.

I going to test again 2 of my modulator with 200kbps - 320kbps mp3 files to see if there a skip or not.

Added on August 9, 2008, 12:55 pm@blackpc,
So far I played 20 320kbps MP3 file without skipping, jumping or distortion in my MP3 FM Modulator.
blackpc
QUOTE(nordingh @ Aug 8 2008, 08:22 PM)
I know it's from same factory, the design look the same for few model but with some different firmware and chip inside. The circuit for power also different. I open to look inside already for some of the model.

For model with said only MP3, when ON there no logo come out but for Redfox/VZTEC you can see HELLO logo. The equalizer setting also have some different setting.

I test 5 model already, only 1 need to send back to the shop so far.

I going to test again 2 of my modulator with 200kbps - 320kbps mp3 files to see if there a skip or not.

Added on August 9, 2008, 12:55 pm@blackpc,
So far I played 20 320kbps MP3 file without skipping, jumping or distortion in my MP3 FM Modulator.

good for u. thumbup.gif

still, better save some money and get the real deal.
nordingh
QUOTE(blackpc @ Aug 9 2008, 07:57 PM)
good for u.  thumbup.gif

still, better save some money and get the real deal.

There is one FM modulator sell in LowYat plaza which cost RM75+ that have better sound than others. I forgot the model already.
nordingh
@blackpc
So far so good. Play more that 50 320kps MP3 on 2 of my MP3 FM modulator, all good.

I test using Pendrive 1GB SD card, Sandisk 2GB microsd card (both last year model), Sony Vault 512MB thumbdrive (nov 2004), Kingston DataTraveler 256MB thumbdrive (july 2004) and Adata 4GB thumbdrive (last year model).

Even slower year 2004 thumbdrive work fine for 320kbps MP3.
dattebayo
no matter how good is the modulator, FM broadcast is still FM, only having 15khz [or is it 18khz?] dynamic range

nordingh
New HU can cost you... local car normally don't come with MP3 CD HU. At least can save a lot with this way... that the point using the modulator. I will go for cost saving method rather than buy a new HU.

If change car or drive someone else car, just plug-in to the socket and ready to roll.

SD card use for media also really convenient, just plug-in to a card reader and transfer a new songs. Use thumbdrive even better.

Cheap and convenient.

I have iPod but none of my HU have AUX-IN for iPod.

If you talking about the song quality, better don't think about MP3 at all (either use MP3 HU or modulator). The pure and original CD audio still the best for quality.
yhtan
my friend using one china brand as well
the sound is so terrible when i blast it
nordingh
@yhtan,
Not all brand are same quality. Some model will have a cracked sound and hissing. Changing the equalizer will help a bit but not still cannot give the best sound.

I bought one last time, but ex-change to a different model at the shop.
blackpc
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 18 2008, 10:10 PM)
no matter how good is the modulator, FM broadcast is still FM, only having 15khz [or is it 18khz?] dynamic range

true. thumbup.gif

my advice is go for the a real mp3 head unit. Yes, MP3 will not sound as good as cd audio, but if u use mp3 modulator, u'll make it even worse right??

Nowadays a good korean/china brand HU cost only rm250~280 complete with usb socket. All HU nowadays comes with some signal processor and built-in mosfet which will improve your audio experience.
yhtan
QUOTE(nordingh @ Aug 19 2008, 08:59 AM)
@yhtan,
Not all brand are same quality. Some model will have a cracked sound and hissing. Changing the equalizer will help a bit but not still cannot give the best sound.

I bought one last time, but ex-change to a different model at the shop.

China brand, what do u expect? laugh.gif
nordingh
QUOTE(blackpc @ Aug 19 2008, 04:59 PM)
true.  thumbup.gif

my advice is go for the a real mp3 head unit. Yes, MP3 will not sound as good as cd audio, but if u use mp3 modulator, u'll make it even worse right??

Nowadays a good korean/china brand HU cost only rm250~280 complete with usb socket. All HU nowadays comes with some signal processor and built-in mosfet which will improve your audio experience.

Got 3 Malaysian car, still cost more for me. I only change to JVC HU to one of my car.

QUOTE(yhtan @ Aug 19 2008, 05:33 PM)
China brand, what do u expect? laugh.gif

If no China brand sure thing won't get cheaper.
matchonion2
no bad la....like better than FMradio my the mp3 file in good quality........around rm30 in lowyat plaza....wit remote control
zad78
just got an FM Modulator brand REDFOX at digitall pj, cost about RM50...overall just like u all said...the sound quality is abit better than radio but lesser quality than an audio cd....well for my ears it went well so far and can put 1000+ song in a 4g thumbdrive...so...ok what....
nordingh
Good choice....
ckmoy007
my fren using one of the radio mp3, sounds ok if u r not the demanding type, for daily use, it's gud. But sometimes i find it too bulky depending on the position of the lighter socket.
nordingh
Use in both old and Saga, position just right because the neck can be turn to become L shape.
pky
just got the red fox mp3 fm modulator. I was expecting sound quality compatible to those of from our FM radio station, but it's nothing near it. the modulated signal is kinda too in trebble. Is my unit faulty or what?
gkl83
QUOTE(pky @ Sep 8 2008, 10:15 PM)
just got the red fox mp3 fm modulator. I was expecting sound quality compatible to those of from our FM radio station, but it's nothing near it. the modulated signal is kinda too in trebble. Is my unit faulty or what?

trebble? or treble?
chiewwl
Redfox user here...attached wit 4GB pendrive.. sound is radio quality.. no distortion...value for money n long distance companion...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.