Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Whitening teeth
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Health & Fitness
peinsama
Hey guys, just need some feedbacks here...

How much does whitening teeth cost? I mean roughly. Any special requirement from the dentist before i go for it?

Besides, how do we normally maintain the whiteness after the teeth had been whitened? Any suggestion on the product? Any special method?
shanecross
I wouldnt recommend those that you see at the pharmacy and stuff, its a bleach and it will destroy your dentin overtime
peinsama
Oh....i mean i want to do it at dentist clinic actually. I've saw one advertisement before. Laser smile something like that. 1K plus..but at least i should know the rough figure.
raindrops
trhere is video guides on DIY whitening teeths by using lemon and stuff.
but whitening teeth is unhealthy for the teeth.
slight yellowish is better.

short term enjoyment cannot replace long term loss
elena_k
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 13 2008, 02:28 PM)
Oh....i mean i want to do it at dentist clinic actually. I've saw one advertisement before. Laser smile something like that. 1K plus..but at least i should know the rough figure.

it's about RM1.5k for britesmile.. the clinic is at the curve i think.
eventhou i haven't try it before but i did get some info on it..
there's another clinic in TTDI that is also doing teeth whitening but i can't remember the name of the clinic..
i think it's dr.kam something.. smile.gif
there are a few dentist there.. locums
you can either choose to do it at the clinic or a take home kit..

i think it will only last you a few months then you need to do touch-ups..
then how do you think celebs always have nice shiny pearly teeth? biggrin.gif
mukhlisz
u should also cut down on the cigarettes, tea, coffee & soft drinks. soft drinks are like acid to your teeth btw.. sweat.gif
peinsama
QUOTE(elena_k @ Jun 14 2008, 12:54 AM)
it's about RM1.5k for britesmile.. the clinic is at the curve i think.
eventhou i haven't try it before but i did get some info on it..
there's another clinic in TTDI that is also doing teeth whitening but i can't remember the name of the clinic..
i think it's dr.kam something.. smile.gif
there are a few dentist there.. locums
you can either choose to do it at the clinic or a take home kit..

i think it will only last you a few months then you need to do touch-ups..
then how do you think celebs always have nice shiny pearly teeth?  biggrin.gif

Yeah i think i'll just do it at orthodontists, because they know more than i do. Money is not an issue here, just need a bright white smile for a little perfection in confidence.

But the touch up that you mention, is there any DIY kit or perhaps i have to go back to see the doctor?

Added on June 14, 2008, 1:39 am
QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Jun 14 2008, 01:21 AM)
u should also cut down on the cigarettes, tea, coffee & soft drinks. soft drinks are like acid to your teeth btw..  sweat.gif

I don't smoke but i do drink. Yeah guess mineral water all the way to maintain the brightness.
advanced
QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Jun 14 2008, 01:21 AM)
u should also cut down on the cigarettes, tea, coffee & soft drinks. soft drinks are like acid to your teeth btw..  sweat.gif

yeah softdrink can do alot of damage to our teeth
peinsama
Am just wondering, before someone whiten the teeth, is there anything the dentist will do, perhaps check the teeth current status, check is there any enamel erosion, cavity and many more. Perhaps they will like to 'clean' the teeth first before the whitening process begun.
raindrops
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 14 2008, 07:06 PM)
Am just wondering, before someone whiten the teeth, is there anything the dentist will do, perhaps check the teeth current status, check is there any enamel erosion, cavity and many more. Perhaps they will like to 'clean' the teeth first before the whitening process begun.

and maybe charge more biggrin.gif
peinsama
QUOTE(raindrops @ Jun 14 2008, 08:45 PM)
and maybe charge more biggrin.gif

Well i don't mind actually....just that quite curious would it be that simple just going with the process. Haha..
ImUrDaddY
Whitening is only meant for those badly discolored teeth or those with flourosis.

As time past, our enamel (the outer layer of the tooth surface which give the white appearance) get thinner, So it looked slightly yellow. It's normal. I think it's not worth it to do bleaching if it's not that indicated.

There is scientific research showed that bleaching can cause the teeth to become brittle. The immediate complication is sensitiveness. Therefore, have to close mouth to avoid air blow. Cant take cold or hot stuff..
To Maintain it, one have to avoid colored food.. Only can eat porridge, bread, skyjuice..

Added on June 14, 2008, 10:15 pmWhitening is only meant for those badly discolored teeth or those with flourosis.

As time past, our enamel (the outer layer of the tooth surface which give the white appearance) get thinner, So it looked slightly yellow. It's normal. I think it's not worth it to do bleaching if it's not that indicated.

There is scientific research showed that bleaching can cause the teeth to become brittle. The immediate complication is sensitiveness. Therefore, have to close mouth to avoid air blow. Cant take cold or hot stuff..
To Maintain it, one have to avoid colored food.. Only can eat porridge, bread, skyjuice..

elena_k
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 14 2008, 09:59 PM)
Well i don't mind actually....just that quite curious would it be that simple just going with the process. Haha..

i'm sure every dentist wants perfection.. sure they check this and that..
scaling will cost you bout RM80... hehe then if they tampal then sure add more..

they do sell the take home kit.. just inquire bout it.
then you don't have to go back to the dentist if you don't have the time.
you just can do it yourself at home.
plus buy it from a registered dentist @ verify the product first...
maybe u can do some research on it first..
don't go and buy those 'smart shop' and those 'as seen on tv' thingy.. i know they do sell the whitening teeth products too..
peinsama
QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Jun 14 2008, 10:06 PM)
Whitening is only meant for those badly discolored teeth or those with flourosis.

Added on June 14, 2008, 10:15 pmWhitening is only meant for those badly discolored teeth or those with flourosis.

Gotcha young fella. I just want a bright white smile. I don't mind maintaining it, since i'm hyped about whitening my teeth. Haha...thanks for the info.

Added on June 14, 2008, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(elena_k @ Jun 14 2008, 10:58 PM)
i'm sure every dentist wants perfection.. sure they check this and that..
scaling will cost you bout RM80... hehe then if they tampal then sure add more..

they do sell the take home kit.. just inquire bout it.
then you don't have to go back to the dentist if you don't have the time.
you just can do it yourself at home.
plus buy it from a registered dentist @ verify the product first...
maybe u can do some research on it first..
don't go and buy those 'smart shop' and those 'as seen on tv' thingy.. i know they do sell the whitening teeth products too..

Yup am doing research and survey thats y i ask in this forum. I mean, its better to gather more information and knowledge, weighing the pros and cons behind this whitening process. Besides, is it really bleaching anyway? Some using the 'light' technology and shine at your teeth, then poof instant bright.
bikz
sand paper can ar?? tongue.gif
elena_k
QUOTE(bikz @ Jun 14 2008, 11:11 PM)
sand paper can ar?? tongue.gif

haha
but i know chewing on sugar cane can help removing some stains...
like the old days people use sugar canes and charcoal..
but i guess it's easier to go to britesmile and have it done professionally and you'll get the results you desire..
if you have the $$$ then can...
peinsama
QUOTE(elena_k @ Jun 14 2008, 11:16 PM)
haha
but i know chewing on sugar cane can help removing some stains...
like the old days people use sugar canes and charcoal..
but i guess it's easier to go to britesmile and have it done professionally and you'll get the results you desire..
if you have the $$$ then can...

Charcoal? Wow, how they used charcoal to remove stains?
elena_k
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 18 2008, 08:14 PM)
Charcoal? Wow, how they used charcoal to remove stains?

i duno oh.. my grandma told me last time that's what they used...
elaineliew88
normal scaling how much??
SSY
QUOTE(elena_k @ Jun 19 2008, 01:51 PM)
i duno oh.. my grandma told me last time that's what they used...

u sure really is charcoal?
or the ashes whr they used to burn joss sticks or sumthing like tht?
my mum told me she did tht when she's a child.
haha...
old ppl hv their own ways without spending any... biggrin.gif
Tzlulu
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 13 2008, 01:59 PM)

How much does whitening teeth cost? I mean roughly. Any special requirement from the dentist before i go for it?

Besides, how do we normally maintain the whiteness after the teeth had been whitened? Any suggestion on the product? Any special method?

I went for Britesmile last year at a clinic in Bangsar. I opted for this method as it's much better than the conventional one. It was developed by some people in NASA and the use some sort of blue light for it. Plus you get to see instant results. It cost me RM 1,500. The total bill was RM 1640 (RM 40 for consultation, RM 50 for the Britesmile toothpaste and another RM 50 for the mouthwash). I do not smoke, take coffee or tea but used have yellowish teeth. My dentist told me that people with fairer skin face this problem sometimes (sounded weird to me but might be true? i've seen a lot of black with super white teeth smile.gif)

The process itself took an hour. It is done in three 20 minute intervals. The only side effect I experienced was sensitive teeth which lasted for a day plus. I had to drive home with the car air-con switched off, haha. Also, you can't take 'colored' food or wear lipstick for a few days after that in case you stain your teeth.

You can see instant whitening after 1 hour. They will take a before and after picture for you and count the shades you've gone down. The dentist informed me that the results wll last for 1-3 years. HOWEVER, that was not the case for me:( 2 weeks after that, I noticed that the shade of my teeth had darkened (but not back to the original). I intend to go back for a touch up very soon. Touch -ups are RM 1000 only.

All in all, I highly recommend this. Brighter teeth and you'll be more confident.

Perhaps you could consider coating your teeth with veneer. The dentist recommended this to me too. It will costs RM1,500 for one tooth and you get paper white teeth which will last a lifetime. They will coat 10 teeth only and not the whole set of teeth as the rest can't be seen when you smile I suppose. Most of the celebrities opt for this method. So the choice is really up to you smile.gif
peinsama
QUOTE(Tzlulu @ Jul 8 2008, 04:58 AM)

I went for Britesmile last year at a clinic in Bangsar. I opted for this method as it's much better than the conventional one. It was developed by some people in NASA and the use some sort of blue light for it. Plus you get to see instant results. It cost me RM 1,500. The total bill was RM 1640 (RM 40 for consultation, RM 50 for the Britesmile toothpaste and another RM 50 for the mouthwash). I do not smoke, take coffee or tea but used have yellowish teeth. My dentist told me that people with fairer skin face this problem sometimes (sounded weird to me but might be true? i've seen a lot of black with super white teeth smile.gif)

The process itself took an hour. It is done in three 20 minute intervals. The only side effect I experienced was sensitive teeth which lasted for a day plus. I had to drive home with the car air-con switched off, haha. Also, you can't take 'colored' food or wear lipstick for a few days after that in case you stain your teeth.

You can see instant whitening after 1 hour. They will take a before and after picture for you and count the shades you've gone down. The dentist informed me that the results wll last for 1-3 years. HOWEVER, that was not the case for me:( 2 weeks after that, I noticed that the shade of my teeth had darkened (but not back to the original). I intend to go back for a touch up very soon. Touch -ups are RM 1000 only.

All in all, I highly recommend this. Brighter teeth and you'll be more confident.

Perhaps you could consider coating your teeth with veneer. The dentist recommended this to me too. It will costs RM1,500 for one tooth and you get paper white teeth which will last a lifetime. They will coat 10 teeth only and not the whole set of teeth as the rest can't be seen when you smile I suppose. Most of the celebrities opt for this method. So the choice is really up to you smile.gif

I seriously appreciate your effort and sorry if i didn't thank you earlier. I will definitely go for brite smile. And the information that you gave me was huge to accept. I sincerely thank you with my heart.

Take good care and yeah smile bright too. biggrin.gif
alps_guides
QUOTE(peinsama @ Jun 13 2008, 01:59 PM)

teeth whitening doesn't suits ur ugly face noob nod.gif u need facial cosmetics more drool.gif
misayew
lol, what does that mean?? hmm.gif
ku_maria
Wah, quite expensive also to have bright teeth. I'm using whitening tooth paste only. icon_rolleyes.gif
alanyuppie
QUOTE(Tzlulu @ Jul 8 2008, 05:58 AM)

if the dentist said the effect will last at least year, but yours started to turn a lil dark after 2 weeks, means its not worth the price of spending 1k++ for just 2 weeks (or let's say best case scenario of 2 months maybe) sparkling teeth. U sure is a rich gal, willing to spend 1k again for touch up after few weeks.
lummy
I've also considered getting my teeth whitened, from the few places where i've enquired its about RM800 - RM2000 ++..

however, heard about many saying that after a much shorter time that the doctor stated (for instance last 2 years, but only lasted less then 1 year) i've decided not to go for it. used to wear braces so even after scaling, still look a littleeee yellow.

peinsama
QUOTE(alps_guides @ Jul 24 2008, 10:13 PM)
teeth whitening doesn't suits ur ugly face noob  nod.gif u need facial cosmetics more drool.gif

LMAO.....you mad at me cos i flamed you at kopitiam is it? Tak apa....budak kecik mmg cepat panas. laugh.gif

Orang hensem pun mau jeles.....grumble.gif

QUOTE(misayew @ Jul 24 2008, 11:06 PM)
lol, what does that mean?? hmm.gif

I flamed him the other day....so i guess he try to find and flame my thread. You can't blame him though. After all, i flamed him first biggrin.gif

Added on July 26, 2008, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(ku_maria @ Jul 25 2008, 05:29 AM)
Wah, quite expensive also to have bright teeth. I'm using whitening tooth paste only.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, it does come with a price smile.gif

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jul 25 2008, 10:19 AM)
if the dentist said the effect will last at least year, but yours started to turn a lil dark after 2 weeks, means its not worth the price of spending 1k++ for just 2 weeks (or let's say best case scenario of 2 months maybe) sparkling teeth. U sure is a rich gal, willing to spend 1k again for touch up after few weeks.

I will say maintaining white teeth is costly as well smile.gif

QUOTE(lummy @ Jul 25 2008, 11:43 AM)
I've also considered getting my teeth whitened, from the few places where i've enquired its about RM800 - RM2000 ++..

however, heard about many saying that after a much shorter time that the doctor stated (for instance last 2 years, but only lasted less then 1 year) i've decided not to go for it. used to wear braces so even after scaling, still look a littleeee yellow.

800 - 2000 ++? What's with the big margin?

I think just like i say before, i think its about maintaining the white teeth as well. It's very important to touch up and at the same time uses teeth whitening product ranging from tooth paste, floss and tooth brush.
vincentlee
QUOTE(Tzlulu @ Jul 8 2008, 04:58 AM)

the "lifetime" part sounds so nice. but RM1500 for ONE tooth? 10 is already RM15000 rclxub.gif

QUOTE(peinsama @ Jul 26 2008, 08:14 PM)
I think just like i say before, i think its about maintaining the white teeth as well. It's very important to touch up and at the same time uses teeth whitening product ranging from tooth paste, floss and tooth brush.

so what did you opt for? porcelain veneer? hmm.gif
jchong
Many years ago I used a whitening toothpaste called Topol Plus. Found it at Guardian. It did whiten my teeth after about 2 weeks usage - even my friend noticed it. Sadly, Guardian stopped carrying it some time back.

Tried the Colgate whitening toothpaste before but didn't find it effective. I'll be trying another product in the coming few weeks and see if it works.
Ahsin1987
I heard about soda baking works for whitening teeth but never try it before, any 1 already tried mind to share the result? biggrin.gif

fashionista
if you want to see instant result, you gotta go to a dentist...they will perform a whitening procedure for you and it takes a few hours...but this procedure is very expensive...close to rm1k or more...

they have another type where by you buy the kit from the dentist and apply it yourself at night...you ahev to diligent and consistent otherwise it will be a waste of money...
old newspaper
should be around +-RM800 for the teeth whitening treatment, i asked before at 1 of the dental clinic in sri petaling not long ago.
aindejeje
TS prefer go to dentist or DIY thing? smile.gif
if prefer dentist one, just go to any clinic
pay them...
if your teeth still yellow
sue them brows.gif
seyuripa
try puttin some salts into ur toothpaste and start brushin ur teeth
tis is a tip i got from a dentist
ianchaiz
try to photoshop your pictures.

kidding !

teeth whitening cost rm1500 and need to touch up every now and then at rm1000 ??? interesting. not everyone can afford that... oO.

old newspaper
QUOTE(ianchaiz @ Sep 3 2008, 11:51 PM)
teeth whitening cost rm1500 and need to touch up every now and then at rm1000 ??? interesting. not everyone can afford that... oO.

that's expensive for the teeth whitening ! does it guarantee a good result? probably you should check out some dental clinic in sri petaling, it's slightly cheaper there.
peinsama
QUOTE(fashionista @ Aug 28 2008, 05:46 PM)
if you want to see instant result, you gotta go to a dentist...they will perform a whitening procedure for you and it takes a few hours...but this procedure is very expensive...close to rm1k or more...

they have another type where by you buy the kit from the dentist and apply it yourself at night...you ahev to diligent and consistent otherwise it will be a waste of money...

I think i'll take the take home kit which cost about RM 1000 according to dentists....its easier and more effective they said.

Chair site...is expensive and at the same time had limited cycles though the result is instantaneous.

What you guys think?
toner_world
use the ash to brush ur teeth
geb_b
Tooth Whitening using Homemade Teeth Whiteners

1.) Whitener / Cleanser

*Baking soda, 1 teaspoon
*Hydrogen peroxide, a few drops

Mix the two ingredients and use as a paste on your teeth and gums two times a week.

2.) Tooth Whitener / Cleanser

*Baking soda, 3 teaspoon
*Table salt, 1 teaspoon

Mix the two ingredients and use as a tooth powder.

3.) Tooth Whitener / Cleanser - 3

After brushing your teeth gargle with some fruit grade hydrogen peroxide and rinse with water or brush again with a toothpaste.

4.) Tooth Whitener / Cleanser - 4

Take a piece of aluminium foil sheet and wrap it around your teeth to make a tray. Mix some baking soda in your toothpaste and spread it in the aluminium tray. Put the tray around your teeth so that paste comes in contact with your teeth. Keep it there for some time, then brush. Do it two times a week.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

http://www.fatfreekitchen.com/teeth/tooth-whitening.html

never try them before tongue.gif biggrin.gif but whoever tries them, pls share the result brows.gif biggrin.gif
determinism
hahahaha,

i think most of us want to have white teeth, and willing to do anything and bare all the risk.

as for me, im a smoker and i smoke quite a lot, but i dont drink coffee at all. i havent touch coffee for more then 20 years now.

I dont really have a pearl white teeth though but im happy with the light yellowish color. I brush my teeth every morning and before sleep. sometimes after a heavy meal.

last time i use the colgate triple action and i can see my teeth getting brighter after sometimes. somehow, i think colgate is the reliable toothpaste brand.
wheelq
there's a lot of way to whiten ur teeth. the best way is to consult ur dentist. different ppl may hav different needs, hence different treatment and cost. frankly speaking, most of the celebrities' hav a 'modified' smile. how do u think almost all celebs hav straight, shiny teeth when they do not even wear any braces?
alip5225
i heard scaling can whiten our teeth.i my self not sure how scaling being perform actually.. tongue.gif
firstbread2794
its called scaling..it cost around 200 ringgit.

but i recommend not to do it.

it destroys the enamel covering[enamel is the outer layer of your teeth]

make your teeth more prone to cavity.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.