Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Sony Ericsson Cyber-Shot C905
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30
almattitude_v1

Shiho is the codename of the upcoming Cyber-shot flagship model from Sony Ericsson, and we’ve got everything about it! Its final name will be C905, and it’ll be announced along with some phones on the 17th of this month. In this post we’ll announce it for Sony Ericsson, and save them the trouble, plus give the competitors a little something to wee their pants about.

The C905 is the latest camera offering from Sony Ericsson featuring a fully spec’d 8.1 mega pixel camera with auto focus, face recognition, a new feature called Smart Contrast, image stabilization, BestPic, red-eye reduction, xenon flash as well as photoflash for both photos and videos. It’s got a video stabilizer feature as well. You can geo-tag your photos with the built-in GPS with further support for A-GPS, and the large camera resolution makes it possible to do prints in up to A3 sizes! Your photos will automatically flip to landscape mode, when you tilt your phone, as it’s got a built-in accelerometer. You’ll be able to watch your photos on a beautiful 2.4 inch QVGA-resolution scratch-resistant mineral glass TFT display. Feel like sharing your photos on a TV-set? That’s possible as well with the TV-Out Cable ITC-60, also to be announced on the 17th.

That’s not all, though… C905 will be the first feature phone by Sony Ericsson to sport built-in WiFi with DLNA-support, so all media in your home can be shared. It’s also got the latest in Bluetooth connections, supports USB 2.0 data transfers, and can be synchronized with Exchange ActiveSync.

The Sony Ericsson C905 measures 104 x 49 x 18 (19.5) millimetres, and weighs a massive 136 grams. It’ll be available in Copper Gold, Ice Silver & Night Black in early Q4, with a bundled 2 GB Memory Stick Micro M2. It comes in three variants, two with full support for UMTS and HSDPA in the certain regions (even America). The battery is good for 380 hours of standby or 9 hours of talk on GSM networks, or 360 hours of standby or 4 hours of talk on 3G networks.
panasonic88
don't like the design. makes me think of the old Nokia 6280.
squall_kay
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 11 2008, 01:01 PM)

quite old skool design...but somehow, the dpad area like those SE Japanese phones hmm.gif
even the beibei dpad area utilize se japs one
azmanzain79
QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jun 11 2008, 12:57 PM)

Shiho is the codename of the upcoming Cyber-shot flagship model from Sony Ericsson, and we’ve got everything about it! Its final name will be C905, and it’ll be announced along with some phones on the 17th of this month. In this post we’ll announce it for Sony Ericsson, and save them the trouble, plus give the competitors a little something to wee their pants about.

The C905 is the latest camera offering from Sony Ericsson featuring a fully spec’d 8.1 mega pixel camera with auto focus, face recognition, a new feature called Smart Contrast, image stabilization, BestPic, red-eye reduction, xenon flash as well as photoflash for both photos and videos. It’s got a video stabilizer feature as well. You can geo-tag your photos with the built-in GPS with further support for A-GPS, and the large camera resolution makes it possible to do prints in up to A3 sizes! Your photos will automatically flip to landscape mode, when you tilt your phone, as it’s got a built-in accelerometer. You’ll be able to watch your photos on a beautiful 2.4 inch QVGA-resolution scratch-resistant mineral glass TFT display. Feel like sharing your photos on a TV-set? That’s possible as well with the TV-Out Cable ITC-60, also to be announced on the 17th.

That’s not all, though… C905 will be the first feature phone by Sony Ericsson to sport built-in WiFi with DLNA-support, so all media in your home can be shared. It’s also got the latest in Bluetooth connections, supports USB 2.0 data transfers, and can be synchronized with Exchange ActiveSync.

The Sony Ericsson C905 measures 104 x 49 x 18 (19.5) millimetres, and weighs a massive 136 grams. It’ll be available in Copper Gold, Ice Silver & Night Black in early Q4, with a bundled 2 GB Memory Stick Micro M2. It comes in three variants, two with full support for UMTS and HSDPA in the certain regions (even America). The battery is good for 380 hours of standby or 9 hours of talk on GSM networks, or 360 hours of standby or 4 hours of talk on 3G networks.

The phone looks nice.. drool.gif
Gonna sell my E90 fast..lol
Being crazy to follow the flow of hp technology doh.gif
iRonTech
IMO, most slide phone will facing some difficulty pressing at key 1, 2, 3 sweat.gif

W850i is good example doh.gif
awong
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 11 2008, 12:01 AM)

it doesnt look as good as so905ics
iRonTech
QUOTE(awong @ Jun 11 2008, 01:46 PM)
it doesnt look as good as so905ics

Jap vs europe design ? laugh.gif
awong
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 11 2008, 12:50 AM)
Jap vs europe design ?  laugh.gif

too conservative euro design laugh.gif

I was expecting more of s700i, w900i japan influence on it than a w910i style look with a better cam

Added on June 11, 2008, 1:58 pmpics from howardforums I found
[img]http://photos-e.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-sf2p/v250/79/110/537325252/n537325252_3149188_8285.jpg[img]
squall_kay
haha...altthough for me bit very good looking but okla...js like n82, not so good looking (except the black) but hv good specs under its hood...
hope its camera will turn out well n can live up to cybershot name n customers expectations (after failure with k850, g900 n c902---base on smape review)
n lets hope this phone can outperform at least n82, n upcoming nokia high end cam phone...

(ps: so many hope sweat.gif )
rayzrblade
OMG! How can you compare this to nokia n82? I think it looks much better than the recent leaks of Nokia (N79, N85, 5800 and 6260). All of the recent N-series is too N81-ish... Sort of reminded me of the moto's RAZR V3-ish-es.
chacamerba
allergic with the slider!!! HELPPPPPP>>>
squall_kay
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jun 11 2008, 03:35 PM)
OMG! How can you compare this to nokia n82? I think it looks much better than the recent leaks of Nokia (N79, N85,  5800 and 6260). All of the recent N-series is too N81-ish... Sort of reminded me of the moto's RAZR V3-ish-es.

haha...dont angry bro tongue.gif
what i mean, certain ppl find n thinks (including me) that this phone not so good looking..it js like when ppl 1st encountered the n82, all think its not so good looking..but in the end, many bought it coz it has good/excellence spec...so this c905 although certain ppls think not so beautiful but if it has the correct price, n its performance (especially the camera) n specs really like stated above...sure many ppls will bought it drool.gif

nway, i really agree on the last part...new nokia design really2 not nice sweat.gif sweat.gif ----> dunno how to say anymore doh.gif doh.gif
kizuro
quite nice design...yeah seems like Nokia 6280...i have use 3 slider phone so far, no major damaged regarding the slider...its depend on the user how they use the phone...nice effort from SE for the camera.
skylancer
not bad nor bad...plain design
felicious
The design can't make me "Wah!!"
The keypad looks like W910 a lot. laugh.gif

Wondering how is the camera quality smile.gif
sonic_cd
QUOTE(awong @ Jun 11 2008, 01:51 PM)
too conservative euro design  laugh.gif

I was expecting more of s700i, w900i japan influence on it than a w910i style look with a better cam

Added on June 11, 2008, 1:58 pmpics from howardforums I found

the last pic the sticker saying show off unit ... lol laugh.gif so that unit can only take to show off , haha tongue.gif

designs ok leh... now , when is it coming out .lol
Firdaus92
The design and spec looks promising but i had a bad time with slider phone..my samsung slider just broken..haiyaa..almost 6-7 time send to warranty within the 18 months FMG gave me.. sweat.gif
squall_kay
QUOTE(Firdaus92 @ Jun 11 2008, 07:59 PM)
The design and spec looks promising but i had a bad time with slider phone..my samsung slider just broken..haiyaa..almost 6-7 time send to warranty within the 18 months FMG gave me.. sweat.gif

so this slider c905 might be ur 1st SE slider for u to experienced it... brows.gif
it might perform well n meets ur expectations..who knows rite? tongue.gif

toughnut
if non-slider,i will consider. i dont like slider currently... candybar more robust...
almattitude_v1
Slider not bad wat... i used to think that also... then my Treo 650 cacat... started using my old Nokia 6600 again, and DAMN! LAG TO THE MAX! So slow! so i took my bro's LG Chocolate (he's using Nokia E90 now) and liking it so far... Its nice... But the phone itself is very basic la... What i mean is, it gave me a different feeling towards sliders after using the Chocolate...
Firdaus92
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 11 2008, 08:17 PM)
so this slider c905 might be ur 1st SE slider for u to experienced it... brows.gif
it might perform well n meets ur expectations..who knows rite?  tongue.gif

Yes..i buy that samsung before coz i don't have enough money for the W850i when it is 2-3 months had launched..by the way..LG Chocolate is nice but the function is quite limited..i haven't use a slider SE yet..so i can't give any comment about it..but i really² hope that this C905 will meet our expectation since the previous model (K850i n G900 n C902) had failed us horribly. blush.gif
rayzrblade
@ squall-kay
nah bro, i'm not angry... dont misunderstood.

anyway, this is really a big step up from SE, no? one of the biggest surprise is the inclusion of wifi in a feature phone, non smart-phone. i dont think any of the other major manufacturers have achieved this feat. but the question remains whether it'll support both b and g or just b.
squall_kay
c905 promo video....

forget c902, c905 is the leader/future biggrin.gif
Fighteden
White is sexy .. YUMMY !!!!
squall_kay
QUOTE(Fighteden @ Jun 12 2008, 08:03 AM)
White is sexy .. YUMMY !!!!

better start funding now bro tongue.gif
angelayen
wow, 8MP + wifi SE phone ya smile.gif
baby2000
heavy nokia 6280 feel
angelayen
QUOTE(baby2000 @ Jun 12 2008, 12:32 PM)
heavy nokia 6280 feel

same thought here
kyosuke86
camera wise it looks like the buttons are well placed.. but for other functions eg. sms navigating around menus...
Imagine the phone in your hand.
you slide the phone up and you'll have to stretch your thumb forward and upwards for the navigating buttons. You find yourself in the sms mode and upon completing your sms and ready to be sent, you move your finger upwards to press the "send" key only to find that the edge of the 'top sliding part' of the phone blocks your way forcing you to lift your thumb about 1cm high to reach the 'send' key....

Now imagine having the same problems else where.....
squall_kay
QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Jun 12 2008, 03:04 PM)
camera wise it looks like the buttons are well placed.. but for other functions eg. sms navigating around menus...
Imagine the phone in your hand.
you slide the phone up and you'll have to stretch your thumb forward and upwards for the navigating buttons. You find yourself in the sms mode and upon completing your sms and ready to be sent, you move your finger upwards to press the "send" key only to find that the edge of the 'top sliding part' of the phone blocks your way forcing you to lift your thumb about 1cm high to reach the 'send' key....

Now imagine having the same problems else where.....

i think this quite common problems among slider phone...nway, this phone not launch yet, when it launch u try it out n do let us know.. smile.gif
Firdaus92
Typing sms on slider phone is quite easy and not as hard as u describe up there..i really² damn hope this phone will be great in picture quality which will beat all other camera phones now..SE..please make us proud! blush.gif
kyosuke86
http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_sony_e...ed-news-523.php

some sample pictures taken by the c905....
doesnt look good.....
iRonTech
its prototype software/FW, by http://blog.se-nse.net/
awong
looks like the the tester is in the United States with the cars and the plates in the background, cali
squall_kay
QUOTE(kyosuke86 @ Jun 13 2008, 08:38 AM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_sony_e...ed-news-523.php

some sample pictures taken by the c905....
doesnt look good.....

it mention there, SE still not address the color issue yet...so hope in final retail FW before launch will iron out all those probs
iRonTech
laugh.gif seem like everyone putting a big hope on SE next gen 8MP
daruma
QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jun 11 2008, 12:57 PM)

perfect phone rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
1zR4eL
cool ive been waiting for se to comeout with cybershot slider. finally! cant hide myself slider fan hehe
teikwing
looks like W910i's design to me. looks is just so-so but kinda happy with the specs eg. 8.1MP + Xenon & WiFi. not too bad for a slider.
iRonTech
QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 13 2008, 01:16 PM)
looks like W910i's design to me. looks is just so-so but kinda happy with the specs eg. 8.1MP + Xenon & WiFi. not too bad for a slider.

nod.gif nod.gif I would say its consider BIG Revolution WiFi built at feature phone, thanks to the A200 platform? biggrin.gif
squall_kay
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 13 2008, 10:48 AM)
laugh.gif seem like everyone putting a big hope on SE next gen 8MP

yerp...but if this time they let their customers down...then dunno la tongue.gif
iRonTech
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 13 2008, 02:30 PM)
yerp...but if this time they let their customers down...then dunno la  tongue.gif

Ericsson kick Sony out biggrin.gif
squall_kay
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 13 2008, 02:47 PM)
Ericsson kick Sony out  biggrin.gif

how they wanna kick sony out? i thought sony owned them biggrin.gif
teikwing
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 13 2008, 01:28 PM)
nod.gif  nod.gif I would say its consider BIG Revolution WiFi built at feature phone, thanks to the A200 platform? biggrin.gif

yeah. revolutionary. plus, it's on a SLIDER with 8.1MP!! rclxm9.gif laugh.gif
angelayen
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 13 2008, 03:51 PM)
how they wanna kick sony out? i thought sony owned them  biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif Ericsson disappointed at Sony 5MP cam

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 13 2008, 04:25 PM)
yeah. revolutionary. plus, it's on a SLIDER with 8.1MP!!  rclxm9.gif  laugh.gif

rclxms.gif will see more & more feature phones built with wifi too
squall_kay
QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 13 2008, 04:25 PM)
yeah. revolutionary. plus, it's on a SLIDER with 8.1MP!!  rclxm9.gif  laugh.gif

after this sure other manufacturer will roll out more high end cameraphone in their line up in order to counter SE's move
so, as a customers, we will benefit from this... thumbup.gif
teikwing
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 13 2008, 05:10 PM)
after this sure other manufacturer will roll out more high end cameraphone in their line up in order to counter SE's move
so, as a customers, we will benefit from this... thumbup.gif

yeah. i think currently this is the first 8.1MP phone launching right? is Nokia launching any similar MP phones? we will benefit as customers of course, but that's is if the price tag didn't kill us. laugh.gif
zac1
hahaha ,k800 + 6288 = C905
dlwl
looks like a black version of w910i to me..laugh.giflaugh.gif 8.1mp camera is crazy..now it makes my k810i camera looks so small and weak...haha
Hinika
aisek, why slider, still prefer flip or candy bar phone for me, lol...
c905i in silver/white look better than black one definitely~
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.