yeelin04
May 30 2008, 11:33 AM
what is your opinion of using guys money when the guy is not working and just studying?
i have a best fren..she is just graduate from diploma..and her bf doing degree and not working..i invited her to join me for 6 days part time job..1stly she wanted and her bf told her..he will gives her $$ to spend every month and the guy is not rich also..i told my frens for my opinion its not good to use bf's money coz come to the end the $$ is from the guys parents..n he is not working will burden him..and ppl will gossip..(if the bf's parents finds out!)
i mean if use his $$ for movies and stuff its alright..but use it for montly allowance? will u all "sampai hati" to use it?
feyhime
May 30 2008, 11:49 AM
Thread Approved.
However everyone posting here will be heavily moderated in accordance to the new rule.
3) Any person who posts sexist or degrading posts will be suspended for 7 days without warning.
Flizzardo
May 30 2008, 12:01 PM
haha i now a guy who give allowance to gf .. desperate guy end up get nothign
and the girl ... a b****
vkeong
May 30 2008, 12:06 PM
The guy is just tak sampai hati see his gf go work part time la.. so he gives her monthly allowance. Use or not is up to the girl, but she must find a job and support herself as soon as possible. Time has changed, gender equality. Our money is not easy to earn too, and we have family to support, house and car loan to pay etc.
WaCKy-Angel
May 30 2008, 12:09 PM
There's no right nor wrong...Its just personal preferences.
If the girl doesnt mind to take money from her bf, and her bf willingly give her money to use then whats wrong about that?
U cant satisfy everyone u know?
If u say the girl is a biatch coz not working and use bf money, another person can say the guy is a loser cant afford to spend money on his gf if he let her gf work.
This goes the same for married couple.
Either way, u cant satisfy everybody...
The only thing is to choose what is the best comfortable choice to you.
kokanchai
May 30 2008, 12:15 PM

people say what is up to them...is thier mouth..
the only thing is what u know,what are you suppose to do..
for me?i will eventually lend her $$$ when she needs..
if she is mature enought,she is not willing to wan your money to spend on them..
papillon
May 30 2008, 01:25 PM
I dont know about other religion, but as a muslim, to me , it is the responsibility of the girl's father to support the girl before she is married, but after she marries, it is the responsibility of the husband.
So in reference to your question, my personal opinion, it is not wrong or right to accept when you are still courting. But for me, I will not take it, as I prefer to be independent. But if he will be offended if yuo dont take the money, or maybe to jaga his hati, you can take the money but save for your future together. And work at the same time, to earn your money to support yourself.
just my 2 cents worth..
Cas
May 30 2008, 01:37 PM
I will not take it. I think it's so wrong to do that esp to someone you love. Poeple need to live within their means and make and spend their own money !
alanyuppie
May 30 2008, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Cas @ May 30 2008, 02:37 PM)
I will not take it. I think it's so wrong to do that esp to someone you love. Poeple need to live within their means and make and spend their own money !
yeah, and he's still unemployed for gods sake. if any guy who insist of giving his gf $$$, while he himself is still studying and not working, and he will be angry if she rejects it, means he's egoistic and not prudent at all. I bet all of you girls would prefer he kept that $$ of his, or find some way to utilise it , for the sake of both their future.
vey99
May 30 2008, 04:43 PM
i think the guy dont want her to work because they are spending less time together becos of that. maybe.
N's
May 30 2008, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ May 30 2008, 04:43 PM)
i think the guy dont want her to work because they are spending less time together becos of that. maybe.
what rule is that? One day one of them sure have to work.
hmchan911
May 30 2008, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ May 30 2008, 11:33 AM)
what is your opinion of using guys money when the guy is not working and just studying?
i have a best fren..she is just graduate from diploma..and her bf doing degree and not working..i invited her to join me for 6 days part time job..1stly she wanted and her bf told her..he will gives her $$ to spend every month and the guy is not rich also..i told my frens for my opinion its not good to use bf's money coz come to the end the $$ is from the guys parents..n he is not working will burden him..and ppl will gossip..(if the bf's parents finds out!)
i mean if use his $$ for movies and stuff its alright..but use it for montly allowance? will u all "sampai hati" to use it?
Maybe the BF parent loaded???
vey99
May 30 2008, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(N's @ May 30 2008, 05:02 PM)
what rule is that? One day one of them sure have to work.
yeah but until that time comes, there is possible of selfish in a way, and duwan her to work for now...
bler
May 31 2008, 03:36 PM
for me...im not dare 2 use ya..even ppl parent's money oso earn it by hard..
for buying stuff..except bday present or valentine days lo...
if normaly go shopping...not quite gud lah..4 a guy who is not so rich..yet still studying...but seen tat...dis is oso consider as a couple probelm lah..
let them communicate themselves...coz thr's some guys realy wanna pay 4 their gf...dun wan their gf pay 4 it...rite ???
alexandrak
Jun 1 2008, 06:59 PM
gee, i don't even allow my bf to pay for me when we got out dating.
i don't like to "owe" anyone anything.
especially since he's not working. don't take the money

its not his to give.
but of course, depends on the girl's opinion lah.
lots of my friends treat their bf like atms which i think is very mean. =X
aimanida
Jun 1 2008, 09:12 PM
well... for me, wat me and my gf usually do is that we sometimes split 50-50.. wat i mean is that, when we go out (dating), i usually pay for the food, and she pays for the movie, or something like... and sometimes, if im short of $$, she support me and if she is short of $$, i'll support her, if i have any $$ left. it all depends on how you work out with your partner.. but i dont know. thats how i do it.
kingkong81
Jun 2 2008, 12:53 AM
I do not have any problems of gals using guys money, if and only if the guy can really afford it.
Wat i see here, is the bf is egoistic. He refuse to let her gf work most probably he do not wan ppl to say that he cannot support his gf & his gf hv to work. This is all about 'face'...which is ridiculous. Worst thing is the guy can't even support himself & have to use his parents' money to support himself & his gf. This is definitely stupid & chauvinist idea.
Definitely I think it will be better for the gal can go out & earn some $$ & experience instead of rotting at home or shopping all day round... This make the gal look useless & materialistic. Able to support yourself without depending on others r good
Gametaipan
Jun 2 2008, 01:25 AM
Guys like to give and Girls like to take, DONT mess with the mother nature.
zephyrus9999
Jun 2 2008, 09:15 AM
i pay everything for my gf, but dislike it when she accepts as if im a robot with no feelings.. i mean, i dont mind paying but i just wanna witness some keberatan or guilt expression on her face when i do so.. it prooves that she still cares for me

like when buying movie ticket she will not hesitate to take out her purse and pass me the note, although ill still belanja her

instead of thick skinned gals who leech completely without any remorse and then dump her bf
yeelin04
Jun 3 2008, 09:55 AM
vey 99:
they are spending their time together everyday...coz toldya the gal is not working n the guy studying..i just felt like its not very good to use ppl's money coz he also not working..
hmchan911:
their family is just moderate only the financial..
aimanida:
i strongly agree with u...the best is to split 50-50 so that money issue wont appear next time
kingkong81:
true lah what u said..he memang wan FACE type..that y he dont let the gal to work altough that part time is only a 6 days job..what type of guys is that?
AtMostFear
Jun 3 2008, 10:23 AM
well like a quote from Meet Joe Black, "what's wrong with taking care of a woman? she takes care of you."
gracechew
Jun 4 2008, 09:51 AM
monthly allowance??erm..my mum say if they willing 2 pay..den jus take it hahaha!!but i think ur fren shouldnt depend on the bf..sumore the guy is not rich s u say...ur fren can work n gain working experience 2..i regreted that i din work n now i dun have working experience compare 2 my frens..i oni work 1day at pc fair..den i sick whole week...guess i need 2 find a rich husband...hahahaha!!!
spunkberry
Jun 4 2008, 11:36 AM
If my boyfriend's money is his money, I'm fine. If it's his parents, I don't allow it.
alexandrak
Jun 4 2008, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jun 4 2008, 11:36 AM)
If my boyfriend's money is his money, I'm fine. If it's his parents, I don't allow it.
yup, i agree with this.
if its not his, then its not his to give.
only when he starts working den he should start giving her money.
Allowance? if my bf is working n he is able to manage all things or high salary until got extra money then i accept it but if he is still studying n getting money from his parents, me won't accept his money.. i don't want burden his financial part since i also manage to cover up myself, wat for need bf's allowance? if his parents found out tat they give money to their son, n their son spend those money on gf, sure give bad impression to tat girl.
Like me n my bf now also studying in college, when we hang out have meal, sometimes he pays sometimes i pay, it's depends...
bout movies usually he pays 1.. both of us also got vehicles, we also take turn to drive either his or my car to go out, not always use his car..
since both of us also getting money from our parents, so, when i go out shopping with him, i usually didn't asked him buy things for me, i pay it by myself, except those celebrations like birthday, aniversary, valentine..those days, he usually treat me nice meal n buy those gift which i love it..
then of cause, im love to accept it
spunkberry
Jun 5 2008, 02:28 PM
I wouldn't accept an allowance from my boyfriend even if he's working. That's not for him to give. He's only allowed to buy me meals, but we take turns buying each other meals anyway.
xmsa666
Jun 5 2008, 08:27 PM
haha aslong as you can be creative in your recompensation

I couldnt care how much of my money you spend
culexbite
Jun 9 2008, 08:36 PM
wah, so good la bf can give allowance though not married yet! i wish can get those 'kind' bf too...
of course take it la, why want to reject? haha, if not u use money buy stuff for him, sure he love you more..
SadGuy2
Jun 10 2008, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jun 5 2008, 02:28 PM)
I wouldn't accept an allowance from my boyfriend even if he's working. That's not for him to give. He's only allowed to buy me meals, but we take turns buying each other meals anyway.
gals... you all should learn from this gal. this is the best answer. Too bad it is not Yahoo ANswer otherwise i sure vote you the best answer.
spunk... u got bf liau ar? sad lo.. otherwise sure i tackle u.
spunkberry
Jun 10 2008, 02:13 PM
we could always just be friends, y'know? lol
PureGeek
Jun 11 2008, 08:53 PM
i used to give 30% of my salary to my ex-gf last time every month, put in share a/c... now shes gone to another bf with the money
Added on June 11, 2008, 8:55 pmnot to mention used my year bonus to pay for her car downpayment
MSA
Jun 11 2008, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(PureGeek @ Jun 11 2008, 08:53 PM)
i used to give 30% of my salary to my ex-gf last time every month, put in share a/c... now shes gone to another bf with the money
Added on June 11, 2008, 8:55 pmnot to mention used my year bonus to pay for her car downpayment
Wow you've been played hard.
In the end it really depends on different people's opinion and view. This is a very subjective matter.
Twiggy
Jun 11 2008, 09:15 PM
Haha yeah my ex would usually pay for me when I pay but I always slip back the money that he paid for me into his bag/pocket when he isnt paying attention =D
PureGeek
Jun 11 2008, 09:27 PM
but seriously i didnt mind about that, coz that time real love
Added on June 11, 2008, 9:29 pmactually now i feel uneasy coz theres no person i can give my money to, and its flooding my bank a/c
Nujie
Jun 11 2008, 11:44 PM
hmm i think if that guy no working better is dun use lo, if work then can spend as much as can
~Curious~
Jun 12 2008, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jun 5 2008, 02:28 PM)
true true..aree so much with spunkberry
TS u two not married then what for he give allowance rite?if during breakup,he ask for the money with interest then how?plus u sorta supporting him thru his edu?
QUOTE(PureGeek @ Jun 11 2008, 09:27 PM)
but seriously i didnt mind about that, coz that time real love
Added on June 11, 2008, 9:29 pmactually now i feel uneasy coz theres no person i can give my money to, and its flooding my bank a/c 
OMG r u bragging that u earn alot that's y money flooding bank a/c??give the excess to ur parents ler?or buy a house with themoney,then u''ll have not enough to spend.
shikuzika
Jun 12 2008, 01:39 AM
I'm always uncomfortable when taking money from my bf... Even if he belanja... Call me old fashion, but I always feel that I deserve that money only after we're married
yeelin04
Jun 12 2008, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(shikuzika @ Jun 12 2008, 01:39 AM)
I'm always uncomfortable when taking money from my bf... Even if he belanja... Call me old fashion, but I always feel that I deserve that money only after we're married

yeah...me too...hahah
PureGreek: then put downpayment or FD lor...can get interest...if not then give me....muahahahahahaha..,..jkjkjk
vey99
Jun 12 2008, 10:17 AM
i prefer earn and spend my own money. important is not to grow too dependent on partners financial
SadGuy2
Jun 15 2008, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(PureGeek @ Jun 11 2008, 08:53 PM)
Like old ppl says.... NO PAIN NO GAIN. so now u PAY TO LEARN huh?
well it will never be to late to change now. You can of course spend for your loves one. but filter it which one can and which one cannot until you marry her.
dachlain
Jun 16 2008, 04:41 PM
There's always a catch. If your bf give you monthly allowance for sure he will want something in return. Guys are very cunning...
StrikeZ
Jun 16 2008, 05:04 PM
You know you girls shouldn't really take money from someone who're not working ... They've got no income except the pocket money that they get from their parents which is some hard earned money. Whats more ? When break up then you get some money issue ... Treating GFs on food/movie ticket is not much of a big deal ... But buying clothes and ladies stuff ... you know.
olman
Jun 16 2008, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(dachlain @ Jun 16 2008, 04:41 PM)
There's always a catch. If your bf give you monthly allowance for sure he will want something in return. Guys are very cunning...
everyone to their own agenda,
there is no angel, it is just a matter of who is the lesser evil
spunkberry
Jun 16 2008, 05:26 PM
I repeat with changes: You shouldn't accept an allowance from your boyfriend even if he's working because that's not for him to give.
aoibhealFae
Jun 17 2008, 01:14 AM
well.. it was interesting to see it on perspective that a girl use up the guy's money.. this is because, to me... the guy always have some agenda to extort the girls money.. I happens, I don't know why....
get this, it get worst when you are married to the person who does not know how to handle financially, extort yours and finish the money off and then to depend on in-laws for more money...
I get this one as a brother in law.... its very very irritating on seeing how irresponsible he is. My sister also a stupid one who don't limit their family's spending.
Now?
Riding a Gen-2 car (on loan and buy it immediately after it was sold out to public)
Have a Nokia N78 (also switch handphones monthly)
Steal/Sell off my dad's expensive stuff (The home theater/amplifier) (My dad turns blind eye on this actually)
Finish off my first sister's savings (on the car and not using his money)
Smoke in front of his 4weeks old baby and 3 years old daughter (finish 2-4 box of cigarettes daily)
has a questionable income (no longer work at the car factory.. I notice.. but since he had no degree nor diploma nor a STPM cert... his income were basically under RM1000 but live like someone who had an income of RM5000..)
calls himself as a salesperson who go out at 7am and come home at 4am and have no sleeping disorder (curious..)
can't afford the bills (which my dad pays for 3 years worth of bills - electric, water, ASTRO, housephone and ect)
have a debt of RM8000
and pull off a big fight about "how poor he is and how poor his family is and how ungrateful it is my family is" to my third sister.
hahah... how disgust I am to people who acted like they are rich when they aren't.
=====================
In my case, I was flattered when my BF offer to pay but then, it makes me feel degraded on some moral level... lol
yeelin04
Jun 17 2008, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(SadGuy2 @ Jun 15 2008, 11:58 PM)
Like old ppl says.... NO PAIN NO GAIN. so now u PAY TO LEARN huh?
well it will never be to late to change now. You can of course spend for your loves one. but filter it which one can and which one cannot until you marry her.
yeah..u r rite...not like what "pure greek"...give 30%..omg!!...
dachlain
Jun 17 2008, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(culexbite @ Jun 9 2008, 08:36 PM)
wah, so good la bf can give allowance though not married yet! i wish can get those 'kind' bf too...
of course take it la, why want to reject? haha, if not u use money buy stuff for him, sure he love you more..

QUOTE(aoibhealFae @ Jun 17 2008, 01:14 AM)
well.. it was interesting to see it on perspective that a girl use up the guy's money.. this is because, to me... the guy always have some agenda to extort the girls money.. I happens, I don't know why....
get this, it get worst when you are married to the person who does not know how to handle financially, extort yours and finish the money off and then to depend on in-laws for more money...
I get this one as a brother in law.... its very very irritating on seeing how irresponsible he is. My sister also a stupid one who don't limit their family's spending.
Now?
Riding a Gen-2 car (on loan and buy it immediately after it was sold out to public)
Have a Nokia N78 (also switch handphones monthly)
Steal/Sell off my dad's expensive stuff (The home theater/amplifier) (My dad turns blind eye on this actually)
Finish off my first sister's savings (on the car and not using his money)
Smoke in front of his 4weeks old baby and 3 years old daughter (finish 2-4 box of cigarettes daily)
has a questionable income (no longer work at the car factory.. I notice.. but since he had no degree nor diploma nor a STPM cert... his income were basically under RM1000 but live like someone who had an income of RM5000..)
calls himself as a salesperson who go out at 7am and come home at 4am and have no sleeping disorder (curious..)
can't afford the bills (which my dad pays for 3 years worth of bills - electric, water, ASTRO, housephone and ect)
have a debt of RM8000
and pull off a big fight about "how poor he is and how poor his family is and how ungrateful it is my family is" to my third sister.
hahah... how disgust I am to people who acted like they are rich when they aren't.
=====================
In my case, I was flattered when my BF offer to pay but then, it makes me feel degraded on some moral level... lol
Your brother in-law is so terrible.
kornelius
Jun 17 2008, 09:46 AM
I got this friend back in hometown is totally the other way around... the chick work and the guy lepak dota... both age 23. His gf sometime work at bintang walk some cafe there b4. Quite cun but dono why she work and support her bf.... her bf jobless for more thn few years. I see also walau eh...
squido24
Jun 17 2008, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(alexandrak @ Jun 1 2008, 06:59 PM)
gee, i don't even allow my bf to pay for me when we got out dating.
i don't like to "owe" anyone anything.
especially since he's not working. don't take the money

its not his to give.
but of course, depends on the girl's opinion lah.
lots of my friends treat their bf like atms which i think is very mean. =X
i agree wid u lehh, alexandrak!
as a GaL, shuldn't be too RELY on ppl..
GOTTA be independent n' STRONG!!
rotigal
Jun 17 2008, 11:03 PM
Well that depends lah... if you are close to the guy/ he is your bf, once in awhile oso no problem... but I dont really agree on bfs giving money allowance to gf lah... got such thing huh? I agree with StrikeZ, if he is not working then A-A - go on dutch ker... or he belanja this time, then u belanja next time... but I know some guys love to shower the gfs with things... So depending on the relationship...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.