Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Looking for New Camera? Undecided which to choose?
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51
vikingw2k
This is a special thread for everybody out there that need Professional recommendations on buying a new Point and Shoot cameras / Prosumer cameras / DSLRs / Video Recorder

To request recommendation, what u need to post:

Example:

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 400D, 350D, D40, D80
Any specific features u want? : Kelvin WB adjustable, more than 5 focusing points.

Use the template below

CODE

[B]Type of camera/lens/accesories[/B] :  
[B]Budget:[/B]
[B]Your Location: [/B]  
[B]Preferable brand :[/B]  
[B]Type of photography u want to do :[/B]  
[B]Any specific models in mind? :[/B]  
[B]Any specific features u want? :[/B]  
[Raven]
QUOTE(mybluesky @ Nov 22 2007, 10:49 AM)
May I knw where to get second hand but good condition dslr camera?
Im looking for nikon dslr cameras and nikon d80.

Garage sales section of Sungei Wang?
arshad
you don't need to create 2 threads though tongue.gif
mybluesky
QUOTE(arshad @ Nov 22 2007, 11:33 AM)
you don't need to create 2 threads though tongue.gif

internet problem...
goldfries
QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 22 2007, 01:54 PM)

yeah, and this is just one of the many.

you can also try

PhotoMalaysia
Photokaki
LensaMalaysia
Shutterasia

smile.gif oh and of course, lowyat.net, ebay and lelong.
harrychoo
Haha. I'm just on the way to open this thread..nvm

can use this template?

CODE

[B]Type of camera/lens/accesories[/B] : DSLR/Prosumer/Compact/Macro Lens/Prime Lens/etc
[B]Budget:[/B] Pls state whether body only/include lens or other accesories
[B]Your Location: [/B] KL/Sarawak/etc..
[B]Preferable brand :[/B] Canon/Nikon/Olympus/Sony/etc/any
[B]Type of photography u want to do :[/B] Macro/Landscape/Portrait/etc..
[B]Any specific models in mind? :[/B] 400D/D80/A200/etc..
[B]Any specific features u want? :[/B] Anti-shake/Dust reduction/etc...

Example:

Budget: RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 400D, 350D, D40, D80
Any specific features u want? : Kelvin WB adjustable, more than 5 focusing points.

Soony
Type of camera: Compact
Budget: around 1 k plus
Your Location: Penang
Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Anything
Any specific models in mind? : ixus 860 and ixus 75
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer , optical zoom at least 3.8 , Lcd display at least 3 inch
gogo2
Type of camera/lens/accesories : dSLR
Budget: No budget yet. Maybe RM4k?
Preferable brand : No preference
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait/in-door
Any specific models in mind? : 40d
Any specific features u want? :
Low noise as good as Canon 40d or better. Cannot be worse than Canon 40d. Have Shake Reduction like K10D which
the CMOD/CCD sensor will move in X/Y axis and also rotate. Sony A100 only do X and Y axis. Has dust reduction like
Olympus E-3 which is said to be effective. Have lifeview with autofocus is better but not a must. Have lens which cost RM700 for f1.4
50mm which I want to use in low light. Hopefully come with twin lens 18mm-70mm, 75mm-300mm. ISO at least 3200.
Autofocus must be fast. So at least 9point or 11autofocus or more. Perfect AWB. Maybe as good as Nikon in metering
with 420 segment metering. Separate light for low light focusing. Should not use the flash for low light focus. 3" LCD
preferable. Battery life must be excellent. Speed at least 6fps.
harrychoo
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 15 2008, 01:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dSLR
Budget: No budget yet. Maybe RM4k?
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  No preference
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait/in-door
Any specific models in mind? :  40d
Any specific features u want? : 
Low noise as good as Canon 40d or better. Cannot be worse than Canon 40d. Have Shake Reduction like K10D which
the CMOD/CCD sensor will move in X/Y axis and also rotate. Sony A100 only do X and Y axis. Has dust reduction like
Olympus E-3 which is said to be effective. Have lifeview with autofocus is better but not a must. Have lens which cost RM700 for f1.4
50mm which I want to use in low light. Hopefully come with twin lens 18mm-70mm, 75mm-300mm. ISO at least 3200.
Autofocus must be fast. So at least 9point or 11autofocus or more. Perfect AWB. Maybe as good as Nikon in metering
with 420 segment metering. Separate light for low light focusing. Should not use the flash for low light focus. 3" LCD
preferable. Battery life must be excellent. Speed at least 6fps.

Lol, if u find this camera in 4k-5k range, pls let me know too.

Even without considering the price tag, no camera (yet) can fulfill all the requirements above.

Be realistic shall we?
gogo2
QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jan 15 2008, 01:32 PM)
Lol, if u find this camera in 4k-5k range, pls let me know too.

Even without considering the price tag, no camera (yet) can fulfill all the requirements above.

Be realistic shall we?

I'm a perfectionist. I'll wait until such camera come out. Price
must be in 4-5k range la. Don't wanna pay so much for camera.
I hope it come out this year or next year.
skyzz2
My friend is looking for a camera for her travel to Korea during CNY, hope to get some advices on this...

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact
Budget: less than RM400
Preferable brand : any
Type of photography u want to do : people, landscape (of winter)
Any specific models in mind? : no...
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, suitable for travel to foreign country, 5-7MP

thanks for your advices....
gogo2
QUOTE(skyzz2 @ Jan 16 2008, 11:08 AM)
My friend is looking for a camera for her travel to Korea during CNY, hope to get some advices on this...

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Compact
Budget: less than RM400
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  any
Type of photography u want to do :  people, landscape (of winter)
Any specific models in mind? :  no...
Any specific features u want? :  image stabilizer, suitable for travel to foreign country, 5-7MP

thanks for your advices....

A560 IS.
skyzz2
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 16 2008, 12:42 PM)
A560 IS.

Thanks for the advice....
but just checked the price from canon site... this camera cost around RM800 ~_~
gogo2
QUOTE(skyzz2 @ Jan 16 2008, 01:44 PM)
Thanks for the advice....
but just checked the price from canon site... this camera cost around RM800 ~_~

Sorry, I just said A560 IS. There's no A560 IS. There's A570IS, A650IS, A720IS...
All this got image stabilizer. Canon is the most famous for Point and Shoot camera.

You can get cheaper with other brand though smile.gif
DiCalto

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 2k to 3k. Okay less than 3k
Your Location: KL PJ
Preferable brand : Canon Nikon Sony any other good brand do recommend me. =)
Type of photography u want to do : I'm still a noob. So i take every kind of picture. lol
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 400d, a200? d40 or d40x but i heard not recommended.
Any specific features u want? : nothing. Just give me some advice. and recommended reliable place to buy a dslr. And price and things included if possible. =)

thanks!
vikingw2k
QUOTE(DiCalto @ Jan 16 2008, 07:28 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: 2k to 3k. Okay less than 3k
Your Location:   KL PJ
Preferable brand :  Canon Nikon Sony any other good brand do recommend me. =)
Type of photography u want to do :  I'm still a noob. So i take every kind of picture. lol
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 400d, a200? d40 or d40x but i heard not recommended.
Any specific features u want? : nothing. Just give me some advice. and recommended reliable place to buy a dslr. And price and things included if possible. =)
thanks!

How about 400D kit + Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro?

You'll get wide angle, telezoom, and macro in one package smile.gif
Good start for beginner
gogo2
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 16 2008, 08:02 PM)
How about 400D kit + Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro?

You'll get wide angle, telezoom, and macro in one package smile.gif
Good start for beginner

Wait until 24 January. I heard 450d come out with 5dmkII...
vikingw2k
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 17 2008, 07:58 AM)
Wait until 24 January. I heard 450d come out with 5dmkII...

Obviously that's above his budget which is around 3k. Even if it's slightly cheaper than 3k, he can only get himself a body.
death_nite
i am scouting camera digital for my dad...

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: RM800+
Your Location: JB/Melaka
Preferable brand : Anything. but prefer well known brand.
Type of photography u want to do : Have no idea. tongue.gif
Any specific models in mind? : nope.
Any specific features u want? : at least 5-7mp. got a lot of functions/features. with image stabilizer if possible...

thanks!
kazasho

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr or prosumer
Budget: 1.5k
Your Location: klang valley
Preferable brand : nikkon, canon eos
Type of photography u want to do : architectural photo
Any specific models in mind? : d40, 350d, s5is
Any specific features u want? : manual function!!!
nuox
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: RM3000
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur, Melaka, Penang
Preferable brand : Sony Alpha, Nikon, Canon
Type of photography u want to do : candid, landscape, events.
Any specific models in mind? : sony a100 twin lens, sony a200 twin lens, 400d, d80
Any specific features u want? : at least 9af

heard that singapore can get d80 for rm3200. should i wait and save money first. a200 look intersting since it got twin lens. my priority is candid.
vikingw2k
QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 18 2008, 11:52 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dslr or prosumer
Budget: 1.5k
Your Location:   klang valley
Preferable brand :  nikkon, canon eos
Type of photography u want to do :  architectural photo
Any specific models in mind? :  d40, 350d, s5is
Any specific features u want? :  manual function!!!

If you are serious into photography and you don't mind invest more money to get better lens to produce better results in future, get a Canon 350D.

If your budget is tight and all you want is just an all rounder camera in between RM1.5k, go for S5 IS.

neems
Type of camera/lens/accesories: Prosumer
Budget:Less than RM2,000
Preferable brand :Panasonic or FUJI
Type of photography u want to do :Anything
Any specific models in mind? :Panasonic FZ50 and FUJI S9600

I'm just trying to choose between those 2 cameras. I have no idea which one is better.
Kyl3
Type of camera/lens/accesories : point and shoot
Budget: 500-600
Your Location: kl,Ipoh
Preferable brand : Canon or nikon
Type of photography u want to do : outdoor, landscape, potrait
Any specific models in mind? : nope
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, 6mps? user friendly

it's for my father, he's going to china soon and he needs a dc.
AlterFx

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: RM500-RM600
Your Location: KK,Sabah
Preferable brand : anything as long its good
Type of photography u want to do : snap tattoo artwork, landscape, outdoor,
Any specific models in mind? : any models
Any specific features u want? : good for close-up , image stabilizer

gogo2
So many people asking about low price compact with IS. I check out a review:
http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/content/P...ion-Tested-.htm

It seems Canon perform the best. So just get Canon.
andychee81
Budget: RM2200+ include kitlens
Preferable brand : Sony / Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 350D, D40, Alpha200
Any specific features u want? : would be great if comes with image stabiliser and low noise at low light condition.

which has the best bang for bucks?
gogo2
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Jan 21 2008, 01:56 PM)
Budget: RM2200+ include kitlens
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 350D, D40, Alpha200
Any specific features u want? : would be great if comes with image stabiliser and low noise at low light condition.

which has the best bang for bucks?

Alpha200 of course the most bang for buck la. With image stabilize, it increase a few F stop which
neither 350D and D40 can do. And the high ISO noise seems to be so far so good based on preview
and some photo taken by our forumer. RM2499 with twin lens seems to be a good deal.

But if you want the best package, I think you should get K100D. This camera can have low noise
with this three prong approach:

a)High ISO noise is very low (because its 6MP only)
b)Image stabilizer
c)50mm f1.4 prime lens

Pentax 50mm f1.4 prime lens is only RM600 compare to other brand which is RM1200.

K100D + 50mm = 1700+600 = RM2300 only.

You'll get super low light camera for RM2300 which is very good deal smile.gif
Zyker
Budget: 2.5~3k
Your Location: Alor Star, Penang, Ipoh
Type of photography u want to do : everything
Any specific models in mind? : d40x, 400D, e-510
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, manual setting, anything a dslr should has
gogo2
QUOTE(Zyker @ Jan 21 2008, 09:25 PM)
Budget: 2.5~3k
Your Location: Alor Star, Penang, Ipoh
Any specific models in mind? : d40x, 400D, e-510
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, manual setting, anything a dslr should has

e-510 is dropping price. The last time before drop price is RM2900 with twin lens.
e510 kit lens is the best in the market.

If you read dpreview.com now, you'll see Olympus is dropping price. So it should be lower than RM2900 for twin lens now. So the best bang for the buck is e510. It has a lot of feature compare to 400D and d40x. Some more, only e510 has image stabilizer.

But of course, since u prefer Canon/Nikon, I suggest 400D since you can buy cheaper lens. For d40x, you need to buy AF-S lens which is more expensive.

Conclusion:
Get e510. But if you really want to be in safe side (more new/second hand lens), get Canon.
tadasu
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 22 2008, 08:55 AM)
e-510 is dropping price. The last time before drop price is RM2900 with twin lens.

If you read dpreview.com now, you'll see Olympus is dropping price. So it should be lower than RM2900 for twin lens now. So the best bang for the buck is e510. It has a lot of feature compare to 400D and d40x. Some more, only e510 has image stabilizer.

But of course, since u prefer Canon/Nikon, I suggest 400D since you can buy cheaper lens. For d40x, you need to buy AF-S lens which is more expensive.

Conclusion:
Get e510. But if you really want to be in safe side (more new/second hand lens), get Canon.

what about sony? like a200, worth it? read some pros and cons about it. since im completely new to DSLR, which of them is suitable for me?

Added on January 22, 2008, 5:25 pmto add more info to my above post:

Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony
Any specific models in mind? : not really since im new
Any specific features u want? : preferably with image stabilizer

once again, im completely new, only started reading about DSLR few days ago. im wondering if it's better for newbie like me to get a body+kitlens, or just body+other good lens? thx smile.gif
gogo2
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 22 2008, 05:14 PM)
what about sony? like a200, worth it? read some pros and cons about it. since im completely new to DSLR, which of them is suitable for me?

Added on January 22, 2008, 5:25 pmto add more info to my above post:

Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony
Any specific models in mind? : not really since im new
Any specific features u want? : no

once again, im completely new, only started reading about DSLR few days ago. im wondering if it's better for newbie like me to get a body+kitlens, or just body+other good lens? thx smile.gif

A200 is a good deal. Its new generation of newbie dSLR. Something like PS3 is new generation of PS2. A200 is new generation of A100.

The brand out there is Sony, Canon, Nikon, Pentax, and Olympus. Only Sony come out with new generation newbie dSLR which is A200. Other brand is expected to come out also soon.

To know whether A200 is the best deal, all the other brand need to come out first with their new generation of camera. Then only we can do a comparison. If just look at the price now, A200 is actually an extremely good deal camera since its new.

About whether you should buy kit lens or good lens, hey, it depends on your budget and your seriousness in photography. For taking photo for fun, good lens or kit lens is not important coz I dun think you'll mind. But for those really want the best for their pic, they'll go for better lens (or more zoom, fast etc) and for this people, buying kit lens is a no no. However, Olympus E-510 kit lens is very good. And personally, I'll just buy a kitlens. I never know if I'll go far in photography. smile.gif
tadasu
icic, thanks for the info biggrin.gif

just 1 more Q, how much is e510??

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:50 pmoh ya, and how's a200's kitlens?
gogo2
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 22 2008, 06:46 PM)
icic, thanks for the info biggrin.gif

just 1 more Q, how much is e510??

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:50 pmoh ya, and how's a200's kitlens?

e510 is below RM2900. Now maybe reaching RM2700 I guess.

A200 kitlens is same as other brand. Ok enough for normal shooting. Not as famous
as e510 twin lens. If you buy A200 twin lens at RM2499, it give you 18-70, and 75-300mm.
That's a lot of optical zoom. Very wide range. It actually cover everything you ever need.
Even e510 lens does not cover that much (but quality of e510 kitlens is better).

What I can say, if buy A200 twin lens, it enough to fulfil ur newbie photography for a
very long long time.
ashraful
Type of camera: Compact
Budget: around less thatn RM800
Your Location: KL, Ipoh
Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Olympus/Casio
Type of photography u want to do : Outdoor, Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Casio EX-z75
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer , 7megapixel and above, userfriendly?
The Wonder
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 22 2008, 08:55 AM)

Actually how to define best kit lens in the current market? IQ? Widest / longest zoom?
gogo2
QUOTE(The Wonder @ Jan 24 2008, 08:43 PM)
Actually how to define best kit lens in the current market? IQ? Widest / longest zoom?

This is according to review and forum. Its based on IQ, not widest/longest since A200 twin lens can do more than Olympus one.
kktan9812
I'm thinking of getting a new DSLR and a new lense.
Already have something in mind but would like to know what is the currrent price for

Canon EOS 40D + EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM
Is there any similar lense on the market which is cheaper? I know the lense that I wanted is kinda expensive.
lelongkidd
i'm thinking of getting a digital camera for myself. travel purpose.
perhaps budget around 1500. i considered before sony T series... or Olympus-the one tat having shock proof, water proof, etc...

pls advise.
ernest82
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 19 2008, 01:16 AM)
If you are serious into photography and you don't mind invest more money to get better lens to produce better results in future, get a Canon 350D.

If your budget is tight and all you want is just an all rounder camera in between RM1.5k, go for S5 IS.

Hi All,

I am looking for a dslr around that range also, prob a d40 or a eos 350d, but i was told that 350d was discontinued, so what will happen to the after sales service after the warranty for a discontinued product from canon? or even other manufacturers?

soulfly
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 24 2008, 11:55 AM)
e510 is below RM2900. Now maybe reaching RM2700 I guess.

A200 kitlens is same as other brand. Ok enough for normal shooting. Not as famous
as e510 twin lens. If you buy A200 twin lens at RM2499, it give you 18-70, and 75-300mm.
That's a lot of optical zoom. Very wide range. It actually cover everything you ever need.
Even e510 lens does not cover that much (but quality of e510 kitlens is better).

What I can say, if buy A200 twin lens, it enough to fulfil ur newbie photography for a
very long long time.

Sony kit lens has good bokeh quality albeit it's not a fast lens. Creamy bokeh with pleasant round OOF highlights
jack_sparrow85
i tot of buying a 2nd hand fujifilm s5600. as im still amateur, i tot i can have a good start to photography. is this camera can produce good image quality? need advice from pro pls.
ibrick
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DLSR
Budget:3K
Preferable brand :Nikon, Lumix, Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Outdoor, Indoor, Portrait, Modeling (more to advertising purposes)
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix DMC-L1, Nikon D80, Canon EOS 350D ( I only know this 3 camera. Please recommend others)
Any specific features u want? : Not really but more towards dam good quality pictures with any photoshop involve (sound crazy!!! But near good pic. That all)

Please recommend me which one is better because previous time i using Canon EOS 350D. I want something more power, not to advance and a not beginner camera. Just slightly between those two. biggrin.gif
hornetEJ
QUOTE(ibrick @ Jan 29 2008, 07:10 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DLSR
Budget:3K
Preferable brand :Nikon, Lumix, Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape, Outdoor, Indoor, Portrait, Modeling (more to advertising purposes)
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix DMC-L1, Nikon D80, Canon EOS 350D ( I only know this 3 camera. Please recommend others) 
Any specific features u want? : Not really but more towards dam good quality pictures with any photoshop involve (sound crazy!!! But near good pic. That all)

Please recommend me which one is better because previous time i using Canon EOS 350D. I want something more power, not to advance and a not beginner camera. Just slightly between those two.  biggrin.gif

Canon EOS400D? Should be within your budget. Or maybe wait for EOS450D?
ibrick
QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Jan 29 2008, 08:56 AM)
Canon EOS400D? Should be within your budget. Or maybe wait for EOS450D?

THx man! rclxms.gif
kiachan
Type of camera/lens/accesories : point&shoot
Budget: rm1000
Your Location:
Preferable brand : canon or sony
Type of photography u want to do : casual
Any specific models in mind? : ixus 70 dsc w80 w90
Any specific features u want? : nice photos both in bright n low light with flash off
gogo2
QUOTE(kiachan @ Jan 29 2008, 02:41 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  point&shoot
Budget: rm1000
Your Location:  
Preferable brand :  canon or sony
Type of photography u want to do :  casual
Any specific models in mind? :  ixus 70 dsc w80 w90
Any specific features u want? :  nice photos both in bright n low light with flash off

Canon has been providing best picture quality. So just go with Canon.
But in low light, only Fuji can give u best image quality with flash off.
Fuji - F20, F50fd or F100fd
Kennyv
Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget:2k +-
Your Location: Subang
Preferable brand :Canon, Nikon... others also can consider
Type of photography u want to do : more for indoor (event,concert) and some out doors
Any specific models in mind? : 350d, 400d, A200
Any specific features u want? : Image Stabilizer would be an extra, but anything that is good enough for beginner will do

still a newbie in photography so wanna ask opinions from sifu what is the best package to get around 2k.. dun mind new/used...
i'll be using the dslr more for indoor events..
should i get a 400d with kit lens or spend it on a 350d body with a better lens?
any advice would be great!
thx in advance smile.gif

is a100 with kit lens n 2gb @rm1400 a good buy?
dannygoh
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Upgrade from Point & Shoot Camera
Budget: RM2500+
Your Location: Selangor
Type of photography u want to do : Multi purpose
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D40
Any specific features u want? : Great for newbies for upgrade from Point & Shoot
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.