jackyflc
May 18 2008, 01:44 PM
Here's some official specs for the trully next gen series of the Geforce family!
Geforce GTX 280 -
-512 bit
-1GB DDR3
-240 SP
-PhsyX ready
-CUDA technology
-Pure VideoHD Techonology
-Full MS DX10 support
-OpenGL 2.1 , SLI , PCIE 2.0 support
-2nd gen unified architecture delivers %50 more gaming perfomance over 1st generation through 240SPs.
Expected price - $500+

Better start saving.
Geforce GTX 260 -
-448 bit
-896 DDR3
-192 SP
-PhsyX ready
-CUDA technology
-Pure VideoHD Techonology
-Full MS DX10 support
-OpenGL 2.1 , SLI , PCIE 2.0 support
Expected price - $400+ Range
Finally something that is really new in the Geforce family. Unlike the *cough* 9800gtx *cough*. Introduction date at June 18. 2 days after the Ati 4000 series.
gamers maniac
May 18 2008, 01:49 PM
from what i see, it still uses yesterday's ram, ddr3. ati already implement ddr4 and ddr5 in their upcoming 4 series.. but maybe this one cost less than ATI, possible?
RegentCid
May 18 2008, 01:56 PM
Not bad...Looking forward for this card....targeting GeForce GTX260
johnkor
May 18 2008, 01:57 PM
so many gfx liao ! wtf ! how to compete ! buy 30 super system ! build some nice one !
raymond5105
May 18 2008, 02:35 PM
Any source for this article ?
Faith+1
May 18 2008, 02:48 PM
Geforce GTX 280 looks good!

But I think should be cheaper than ATI new upcoming series.
SourceBut does it support DirectX 10.1? I think not. Correct me If I'm wrong.
linkinstreet
May 18 2008, 02:53 PM
1GB of RAM??? all the more reason NOT TO use 4GB of ram in a 32bit OS. it will take the 1GB addressing space above the 3GB. Not only you can't get 4GB ram, even with hack, you can't even get 3.5GB XD
E-J@1
May 18 2008, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 18 2008, 02:53 PM)
1GB of RAM??? all the more reason NOT TO use 4GB of ram in a 32bit OS. it will take the 1GB addressing space above the 3GB. Not only you can't get 4GB ram, even with hack, you can't even get 3.5GB XD
& ur point is?
Nokia convert
May 18 2008, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ May 18 2008, 03:00 PM)
& ur point is?

what he means is the extra 1 gb of ram you installed on the system will go to waste.
32-bit system can only support a total memory of 4gb. Priority is given to other memory first before the ram. So if your GC already take up 1GB, the max ram the OS can utilize becomes 3gb only.
low98944
May 18 2008, 03:48 PM

Actually only 3070MB left if you installed 4GB in 32bit OS with 1GB ram for your GC.
This is what my RAM available now.
Mr.Lonely
May 18 2008, 03:54 PM
anyway another killer products... haha =D
Fields
May 18 2008, 04:48 PM
Which is why 64 bit os's are better than 32 bits hahahaaha.
zhinsara
May 18 2008, 05:02 PM
so uh, whens the mx440 coming out eh

well lets see how it comes up vs the 48xx series.
area61
May 21 2008, 10:49 AM
the pictures of the gt280
http://www.pczilla.net/en/post/13.htmllooks like the last true single gpu monster
AMDAthlon
May 21 2008, 11:49 AM
= = quite ex lolz.$400 maybe near to 4870X2 price edy..
Kataro
May 21 2008, 12:01 PM
it is $400 or RM400? kinda confuse here...
area61
May 21 2008, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Kataro @ May 21 2008, 12:01 PM)
it is $400 or RM400? kinda confuse here...

there is no way you are going to get that moster for rm400

maybe after 2 years

coz after 18months ,still the800gtx have drop that low
NewbieBetta
May 21 2008, 12:48 PM
ok then we will hear GTX3..,4..5..6..7..8..9..then another new name
cstkl1
May 21 2008, 03:11 PM
hmm newsflash price for GTX 280 estimated 3k..
260 2k..
ulwan25
May 21 2008, 03:17 PM
why no detail on DirectX?? nvidia said to push DirectX 11, rather than Geforce 9 DX10.1.
and price? hoo my god. soooooo xpensive la.
wanna see more performance than ATi or i'll join ATi instead!!!!
riku2replica
May 21 2008, 03:34 PM
walao.. the card so long... sure cannot fit my cheap casing...
Liuteva
May 21 2008, 06:23 PM
Hmm.. 2 SLI connectors?
Terence573
May 21 2008, 06:34 PM
DX10, ddr3 and huge design......
Dissapointed.
AMDAthlon
May 21 2008, 07:03 PM
Plus very expensive than ATi Cards..= =
Liuteva
May 21 2008, 07:05 PM
With those price. Can grab 2 ATI cards and CF. But the performance win or lose compare to this GTX 200 series?
AMDAthlon
May 21 2008, 07:06 PM
No one know untill both has been released = =.
pikacu
May 21 2008, 07:32 PM
im pretty shock that there is rumor says that GTX 280? (the high end card, single core) is 50% faster than 98GX2.
PGV3910
May 21 2008, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(pikacu @ May 21 2008, 07:32 PM)
im pretty shock that there is rumor says that GTX 280? (the high end card, single core) is 50% faster than 98GX2.
i even touch 98GX2 yet..now this one edy 50% faster..
area61
May 21 2008, 07:54 PM
AMDAthlon
May 21 2008, 08:06 PM
GTX 280=X2 lehz.GTX 200 is the single core?= =
Terence573
May 22 2008, 12:28 AM
Like I said gx2 is just a temporary fastest card in the world record holder temporary....
Gtx out then gx2 is history again...haizzz.
jackyflc
May 22 2008, 03:23 AM
Gtx 280 and 260 both is all single core leh, but yes its rumoured to be faster then the GX2 alot. No DX10.1 support . Anyways GTX 280 is highest end , so have to wait for cheaper lower versions the g200 cores like what they did with the G92.
Liuteva
May 22 2008, 05:58 AM
What the.. 9800GX2 so fast go history.. Release no more than half years
PGV3910
May 22 2008, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(Liuteva @ May 22 2008, 05:58 AM)
What the.. 9800GX2 so fast go history.. Release no more than half years

now on GC=Handphone
amirisme
May 23 2008, 09:11 AM
Wow... Me likes! *in the background, hears faint scream from wallet*
jimmybcmy
May 23 2008, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 21 2008, 06:34 PM)
DX10, ddr3 and huge design......
Dissapointed.
Yeah, i bet this card can't last for a year.......DX10 !
low98944
May 23 2008, 05:24 PM
Of course can't last long lo since technology change in faster as the time go on. Pity myself. GTX200 series seem like PhysX ready bo. That is really nice!!!
amirisme
May 23 2008, 07:35 PM
wonder what happened to that physX software add on to the 8800 series... until now also tak sampai.....
Thunderbolt
May 24 2008, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(amirisme @ May 23 2008, 07:35 PM)
wonder what happened to that physX software add on to the 8800 series... until now also tak sampai.....
Yes, many 8 series users are waiting for the driver update from Nvidia, enabling the PhysX feature
SlayerXT
May 24 2008, 01:36 AM
pikacu
May 25 2008, 03:56 PM
Geforce GTX 280 und 260: Final specs? sos :
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=280105QUOTE
The Inquirer has the final specs of Geforce GTX 280 and 260.
http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/new...60-280-revealedQUOTE
Here is a nice overview of the specs, compared to 8800 ultra and 9800 GTX (table)
http://www.hardware-infos.com/news.php?news=2090
AMDAthlon
May 25 2008, 03:58 PM
The price so WTF...
The performance between the HD 4xxx series which 1 better?I mean regarding the clocks,shader..etc
pikacu
May 25 2008, 04:00 PM
read the Inquirer link

there is comparison at there
AMDAthlon
May 25 2008, 05:21 PM
Do you meant this one?
"The 260 will be priced at $449 and go up against the ATI 770/4870 costing MUCH less. The 280 will be about 25 per cent faster and quite likely lose badly to the R700, very badly, but cost more, $600+."
likito
May 25 2008, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 25 2008, 03:58 PM)
The price so WTF...
The performance between the HD 4xxx series which 1 better?I mean regarding the clocks,shader..etc
we do have enough info from nvidia site especially actual performance . since we know 4870 performance better than 9800GTX 25% , AMD 4x00 oc to 3.1ghz score 18xxxk in 3dmark06 without oc gc . i believe if use quad core give more point ..
pikacu
May 25 2008, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 25 2008, 05:21 PM)
Do you meant this one?
"The 260 will be priced at $449 and go up against the ATI 770/4870 costing MUCH less. The 280 will be about 25 per cent faster and
quite likely lose badly to the R700, very badly, but cost more, $600+."
Yeah, GTX280 will beat RV770XT, but base on the specs, they will lose badly to R700, but it still
unconfirmed until the launch date and tested by reviewer.
=========================================================
Nvidia: Geforce GTX 280 a quantum jump sos :
http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?opti...ask=view&id=178QUOTE
Nvidia says at the Editor's Day 2008:
"Just wait until June 17th when the newest series of GeForce GPU's launch, and you'll start asking yourself when you last witnessed such a dramatic technology improvement. If you thought the GeForce 8 series blew the 7-series out of the water, this is going to leave you in shock. That's not my own marketing spin... Benchmark Reviews is presently testing the new GeForce video card."
pikacu
May 26 2008, 10:09 AM
Nvidia Geforce 280/260 specs are finalQUOTE
On the NVIDIa's #Editors' Day", the final specification and prices in the coming GeForce GTX 280 and 260.
The GeForece 280GTX is based on the GT200 graphic chip, and clocked with 602/1,296/1,107 Mhz (Core/Shader/Memory).
In addition, it will be 240 stream processors , 512 bit memory interface and GDDR3 graphic memory.
It requires 6-pin and 8-pin power connector.
The maximum consumption is 236 watts.
The GeForce 260 GTX is also the GT200 GPU to use and stroke rates are 576/999/896 MHz (chip / shader / memory)
The little "brother" of the GTX 280 should be with "only" 192 stream processors and a 448 bit wide memory interface constraints - sets but also on GDDR3 graphics memory.
The maximum consumption is 182 watts NVIDIA.
The prices are at 449 U.S. dollars for the GTX 260 and more than 600 dollars for the GeForce 280 GTX
sos :
http://translate.google.com/translate?u=ht...TF8&sl=de&tl=enhttp://www.gamezoom.net/artikel/show/0,notused,1,19210.htmlhttp://www.hardware-infos.com/news.php?news=2092
SlayerXT
May 26 2008, 10:24 AM
Yeah there is no way nvidia can do 280GX2 in the near future. And hopefully R700 will give serious fight to GTX280
AMDAthlon
May 26 2008, 10:30 AM
OMG..the price really amazing.IF the HD 4850 and / or the 4870 can beat GTX 260 and or / 280 easily,i am sure ATi cards is great choice since it is cheaper.Currently,ATi can only fight with price = =
Furthermore,ATi HD 4850/4870 around 480 Stream Processor right?nVidia only 240 stream processor..
Based on the specs i would say ATi 4850/4870 is better..i hope it is
pikacu
May 26 2008, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 26 2008, 10:30 AM)
OMG..the price really amazing.IF the HD 4850 and / or the 4870 can beat GTX 260 and or / 280 easily,i am sure ATi cards is great choice since it is cheaper.Currently,ATi can only fight with price = =
Well, u got PhysX and CUDA tech card on single board.. ...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.