Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Geforce GTX 200 Series
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Hardware
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
tkh_1001
the biggest DANG! ever.....

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

i wonder how BIIGGGGGGG the card n cooler is gonna be... they might as well free a casing doh.gif
xen0
the fotosop fail...even its a joke..try to do it properly.. lol laugh.gif

second clone card at the back so senget...

eh..GT280 die really that big? ..wow!!!

or is that IHS?? lol..hahah
AMDAthlon
What the hell the Chip at <<<??
Like Northbridge sia.Is it that connects the Core?
pikacu
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jun 19 2008, 10:40 PM)
What the hell the Chip at <<<??
Like Northbridge sia.Is it that connects the Core?

i read it somewhere, it deals with display,hdmi,dvi,vga,audio for hdmi,bla2...(not really sure the details)
AMDAthlon
AMD got?I seems cant see on AMD.
pikacu
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jun 19 2008, 10:43 PM)
AMD got?I seems cant see on AMD.

nope, geforce and radeon architecture is different sweat.gif
Demonic Wrath
Hmm, SLI GTX 280 also don't require 2000W power supply. Heck, even Tri-SLI doesn't require that much.

Single - 550W
SLI - 800W
Tri-SLI - 1000W
adliew
A quick test to see how GTX 280 SLI'd perform in Crysis - compared to my previous 9800GX2 QuadSLI:

9800GX2 QuadSLI: Overall Average FPS: 36.43 (Max fps: 58.18/ Min fps: 17.32)

GTX 280 SLI: Overall Average FPS: 47.92 (Max fps: 59.37/ Min fps: 30.74)

Playing the game with less stutters now (compare the min fps on GTX vs GX2), most probably due to its larger frame buffer (1gb vs 512mb) & mem bandwidth (512bit vs 256bit). Keeping fingers crossed, hopefully future driver updates could push its potential even further biggrin.gif
SlayerXT
Nice mr. adliew rclxms.gif Thats true capability of GTX280. The true competition is between 4870X2 and GTX280.
FoxNope
@adliew that the impressive result with comparing GTX280 and 9800GX2 notworthy.gif
but still abit expensive to get the result... blush.gif
NetRaid
Hi Adliew,

Thanks for the benchies. It was an eye-opener for us.

Just to share something, GTX 260 beat 9800GX2 when using 3DMark Vantage Extreme, according to Gainward lab test results. This is probably due to the additional stream processors of GTX 260, and bigger memory bandwidth for a single core.

But GTX 260 only cost a fraction of 9800GX2 and GTX 280, and consume less power too. So we think this model has the right balance of price/performance. icon_idea.gif

To see Gainward benchies of GTX260 and GTX280 vs 9800GX2 vs 9800GTX vs 8800GT vs 9600GT, please click here: http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-GTX260.pdf

Since 3DMark Vantage Extreme is considered the most accurate benchmark based on today's stream processing and shader technology, it's gives more accurate indication of users gaming experience compare to the more common 3DMark06.

PS. I salute your awesome rig!! notworthy.gif
pikacu
QUOTE(NetRaid @ Jun 20 2008, 10:34 PM)
Hi Adliew,

Thanks for the benchies. It was an eye-opener for us.

Just to share something, GTX 260 beat 9800GX2 when using 3DMark Vantage Extreme, according to Gainward lab test results. This is probably due to the additional stream processors of GTX 260, and bigger memory bandwidth for a single core.

err...i thought he use GTX 280 Sli? blink.gif
SlayerXT
Oops yeah its SLI, but crysis is just too much for us. Hope the sequel is not that heavy.
jinaun
QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Jun 21 2008, 01:08 AM)
Oops yeah its SLI, but crysis is just too much for us. Hope the sequel is not that heavy.

is crysis really that heavy... or not optimized enough/badly programmed???
pikacu
QUOTE(jinaun @ Jun 21 2008, 01:12 AM)
is crysis really that heavy... or not optimized enough/badly programmed???

crysis engine just not well-optimized thou..
darude87
i always wonder as well, the designer/programmer create it without testing it? even if he test it, what kind of rig he uses to test it? biggrin.gif
anyway adliew, how you got your GTX 280? blink.gif
SkywalkerxX
QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 21 2008, 01:22 AM)
i always wonder as well, the designer/programmer create it without testing it? even if he test it, what kind of rig he uses to test it?  biggrin.gif
anyway adliew, how you got your GTX 280?  blink.gif

Cyrsis is really bloody hell heavy,the heaviest game of 2007 if i'm not wrong sweat.gif
as long as the game runs well, they dun care,just like my company testing our prototype products.. sweat.gif
LYP already sell the GC la..first day sell at ALL IT,3 ppl grabs GTX280..that one was detected buyer,undetected duno how many..
Thunderbolt
QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Jun 21 2008, 01:08 AM)

Based to Cevat, the expansion pack will be more optimized for mid-end rig. When they are done, in future they will release the patch for the original title, which will boost the fps much further.
skcs1985
wow adliew so fast post ur graphic card result d.
satisfied ma?? wan get 1 more to tri- sli?? haha

oo btw xfx gtx 260 and zotac gtx 260 reach d

price is around RM1.5k to RM1.6k
SlayerXT
Thats too expensive, anyway lehtek already sell it at RM1.35k
RegentCid
9800GX2 SLI sure lose to GTX280 SLI cause Crysis still cannot fully utilize all 4 Cores...that games max is utilize 3 cores only(Tri SLI each Core Card) 280GTX Tri SLI should be VEry VEry High FPS at all very high setting
zeustronic
QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Jun 21 2008, 03:27 AM)
Based to Cevat, the expansion pack will be more optimized for mid-end rig. When they are done, in future they will release the patch for the original title, which will boost the fps much further.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 21 2008, 10:15 AM)
9800GX2 SLI sure lose to GTX280 SLI cause Crysis still cannot fully utilize all 4 Cores...that games max is utilize 3 cores only(Tri SLI each Core Card) 280GTX Tri SLI should be VEry VEry High FPS at all very high setting

I had enough of Crysis, 1 heck of lousy game engine. spend invest thousand ringgit still cant play the game well. This year i'm looking forward FRY CRY 2 maybe juz another eye candy game or WIC Soviet Assault.
RegentCid
Crysis we just used for Benchmarking the Cards only....ANd WIC Soviet Assault just for PS3 and Xbox360 Only.....Far Cry 2 still have't release so best way is Crysis Benchmarking or 3Dmark Vantage
mois
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 21 2008, 10:28 AM)
Crysis we just used for Benchmarking the Cards only....ANd WIC Soviet Assault  just for PS3 and Xbox360 Only.....Far Cry 2 still have't release so best way is Crysis Benchmarking or 3Dmark Vantage

i think far cry 2 will be released on ps3 first...
SkywalkerxX
QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 21 2008, 09:22 AM)
I had enough of Crysis, 1 heck of lousy game engine. spend invest thousand ringgit still cant play the game well. This year i'm looking forward FRY CRY 2 maybe juz another eye candy game or WIC Soviet Assault.

what rig r using?so sad to hear invested thousands ringgit but still cant play crysis sweat.gif playing far cry 1,i really hate to find potion for health sweat.gif

yalar..Crysis is good to benchmark GPU and CPU since they got utility there..
ben_panced
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 21 2008, 09:28 AM)
Crysis we just used for Benchmarking the Cards only....ANd WIC Soviet Assault  just for PS3 and Xbox360 Only.....Far Cry 2 still have't release so best way is Crysis Benchmarking or 3Dmark Vantage

urm yes crysis is use for benchmarking only as it's the heaviest most shader intensive game ever,
and about wic soviet assault is for ps3 and x360 only, u're dead wrong, it's on pc too doh.gif
about far cry 2, im not too sure la, because it's being develop for consoles too, i think they cannot push the game graphics as the console gpu are weak
RegentCid
For PC just a misson pack only to let us play Soviet Union Mission and it like Expansion nia...So want to benchmaking it just used original WIC benchmarking it
OC4/3
I want to see some result of GTX260 on a 4.2ghz+ E8400 or QX.
I only need 3dmark01-06,with or without lod. tongue.gif Vantage and game benchmark is crap,not really needed laugh.gif
juine
Mini-Review of MSI GTX280 - Some efforts indeed from the TS.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2004569

So expensive > <
ir1z
well it should be juine for what it is capable off.....
Federer
No discussion for this card eh. Bye2 Nvidia
daze
sigh.. look like GTX260 price is kinda high too...
comparing HD4850 only 10%-20% behind it's performance
but 50%+ less in price.
but...running at pretty hot temp...
sukhoi37
HD4870 cost around RM1.1k, it's better than GTX260 in most games doh.gif
naq_saviola
apesal nvidia leh klh ngan ati? mad.gif
baru nak wat sli, xkan pkai n680 nak wat crossfre lak doh.gif
daze
looking into HD 4870 also..
but need to wait how long only available??
cant wait to upgrade my graphic card...
dos
4870 pwns gtx260. It is official, Nvidia created the next 2900xt.
nelienuxe_sara
aiyo compare 4870 with 280gtx la
4850 with 260gtx
btw the gtx2 series card quite ugly+so damn pricey...
i wont go 4 nvidia anymore ^^
tech3910
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jun 26 2008, 01:19 PM)
aiyo compare 4870 with 280gtx la
4850 with 260gtx
btw the gtx2 series card quite ugly+so damn pricey...
i wont go 4 nvidia anymore ^^

u're dead wrong...........
4870 - GTX 260
4850 - 9800GTX+

GTX 280 is suppose 2 go against 4870X2..............
OC4/3
GTX260 and GTX280 need new driver and a 45nm core before thing will be good.
zhinsara
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 26 2008, 12:30 PM)
GTX260 and GTX280 need new driver and a 45nm core before thing will be good.

and that won't be for a while more, i'm afraid. nvidia's arrogance kinda screwed themselves over.
azxel
This month's PCGamer (US) showed some benchmarks... I gotta say that I'm really impressed with it..
AMDAthlon
AMD is coming with 45nm by the end of the year..Is this some kind of..?
Its 5k series i think.nVidia maybe GTX300 series?
tech3910
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jun 26 2008, 08:45 PM)
AMD is coming with 45nm by the end of the year..Is this some kind of..?
Its 5k series i think.nVidia maybe GTX300 series?

nVidia will need more den die shrink 2 mek more powerful VGA card..............
dey will need a better architecture.........
GT200 series brute force architecture was powerful, bt @ the same time very costly..........

not likely GTX300 will com by d end of dis year..............
dey will need more time 2 work on the next gen........
bt perhaps dey will b upgraded version of GT200...........
AMDAthlon
I not say its coming at the end of the year for GTX300.But the 45nm from AMD is true i think.
Upgraded version of GT200 i think is GT200b
OC4/3
I am still waiting for the killer mid end Nvida G200 base graphic card.G80 GTS PCB with 640MB Vram,45nm or 55nm 144SP G200 core and dual slot cooler,price at ~RM800 like 8800GT used to,i am sure will be 4870 killer when driver mature. biggrin.gif
X.E.D
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 26 2008, 08:27 PM)
I am still waiting for the killer mid end Nvida G200 base graphic card.G80 GTS PCB with 640MB Vram,45nm or 55nm 144SP G200 core and dual slot cooler,price at ~RM800 like 8800GT used to,i am sure will be 4870 killer when driver mature. biggrin.gif

If the 4870 can sometimes win over a 192SP and even in some games > 240SP, the 144SP part seems like anal ra*e game for the 4870.
tech3910
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 26 2008, 09:27 PM)

very unlikely.
dis gigantic chip cost is sky high..............
by the looks of current line up, there is not much space 2 squeeze in............
RegentCid
one good thing in XFX GTX280 is Free Assasin Creed Games..LOL
tech_frix
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 27 2008, 10:55 AM)
one good thing in XFX GTX280 is Free Assasin Creed Games..LOL

dats a great news to NV fanboy but i really laugh.gif laugh.gif for that....
will this thread gonna be like this r??
no one owned dis card edy??
post some screenies pls....
cool.gif
Demonic Wrath
Hohoho, it's rare to find someone with so much money to spend on graphic card.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.