Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Geforce GTX 200 Series
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Hardware
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
xen0
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Jun 18 2008, 03:39 PM)
with current drivers and current game the gtx 280 even lose to the 88gt sli.. not to mention 4850 cf
but the prob is that intel sli mobo is expensive  sweat.gif

gtx260/280 seems got same fate like 9series..nvidia so rush on this gt200..
DaIdiot
I wonder why is everyone bashing the GTX280?

Especially comparing it against Dual GPU's? Like SLI or Xfire? or the 9800GX2?

THIS IS A SINGLE GPU, and thats that, find another SINGLE GPU card that can beat it...and the answer is NONE.

ramli sarip
QUOTE(DaIdiot @ Jun 18 2008, 03:49 PM)

THIS IS A SINGLE GPU, and thats that, find another SINGLE GPU card that can beat it...and the answer is NONE.

i think that base on price and performance?
sukhoi37

most of the people won't care about the single core or dual core.
as long as it runs perfectly with similar or better performance, consumer will take the cheaper one.
FoxNope

if GTX280 selling on Rm1.2k and can perform as HD4870 ... then people will go on Nvidia...
because... even tho is single card... but double card are cheaper than one card and performing the same... why dump more money on that?

if u going to tri-sli... then u got to get a single card... else u got no space to chuck 6 card into the mobo...

bijak consumer... icon_rolleyes.gif

Question: are 2 4870 going to use alot more power than one GTX280 ?
DaIdiot
Yes, price of course will be an issue, it IS meant to be a top end card, the best of the best single GPU card.

Its the same like the intel Quad core CPU's

why would anyone pay 3.5k for a QX9650, when they can pay 1.2k for a Q9450 and the performance difference is barely 20-30% more than stock yet costs almost 3 times as much?

This is not really a meant for your everyday user, its probably for benchmark junkies and for those rich gamers who want the best of the best
choyster
QUOTE(DaIdiot @ Jun 18 2008, 05:04 PM)
Yes, price of course will be an issue, it IS meant to be a top end card, the best of the best single GPU card.

Its the same like the intel Quad core CPU's

why would anyone pay 3.5k for a QX9650, when they can pay 1.2k for a Q9450 and the performance difference is barely 20-30% more than stock yet costs almost 3 times as much?

This is not really a meant for your everyday user, its probably for benchmark junkies and for those rich gamers who want the best of the best

in other words rich people
Demonic Wrath
Yep, this card is meant for those who wants to be at the top.

There's no GPU solution out there that's faster than this monster. There's no doubt on this.
pikacu

GTX 280 = ~RM2500

88GT SLi = ~RM1.3
4850 CF = ~RM1.3

GTX 280 SLi = ~RM5000

88GT SLi > GTX280
4850 CF > GTX280

for rich /b/, the price,electric bill,power consumption, green peace and heat does not matter.

for mainstream user, yes, this we take these thing as consideration.
FoxNope
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 18 2008, 06:02 PM)
GTX 280 = ~RM2500

88GT SLi = ~RM1.3
4850 CFX = ~RM1.3

GTX 280 SLi = ~RM5000

88GT SLi > GTX280
4850 CFX > GTX280
for rich /b/, the price,electric bill,power consumption, green peace and heat does not matter.

blink.gif 2 x 4850 CFX = ~RM2600 (4)
shocking.gif 1 x GTX280 = ~RM2500
pikacu
QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jun 18 2008, 06:35 PM)
blink.gif    2 x 4850 CFX = ~RM2600   (4)
shocking.gif   1 x GTX280 = ~RM2500

sorry, ops-add "X"

>_<

CFX already smoke GTX280 away tongue.gif
FoxNope
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 18 2008, 06:38 PM)
sorry, ops-add "X"

>_<

CFX already smoke GTX280 away tongue.gif

what the "sorry, ops-add "X" means ?

haha ... so u can put 4850 CFX on 2 RIG !! thumbup.gif
pikacu
QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jun 18 2008, 06:42 PM)
what the "sorry, ops-add "X" means ?

haha ... so u can put 4850 CFX on 2 RIG !! thumbup.gif

it means i want to type CF..but ends up type CFX
SlayerXT
GTX280 for 30" LCD gamer. cool.gif
pikacu
QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Jun 18 2008, 07:07 PM)
GTX280 for 30" LCD gamer. cool.gif

umm really? i see some news that GTX280 will not support two (or more) type widescreen resolution...i forgot what resolution it is..
cyberfly
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 18 2008, 06:02 PM)
GTX 280 = ~RM2500

88GT SLi = ~RM1.3
4850 CF = ~RM1.3

GTX 280 SLi = ~RM5000

88GT SLi > GTX280
4850 CF > GTX280

since GTX280 beat 9800gx2,how come 8800gt Sli beat GTX280?
Since we all know 9800gx2 beat 8800gts Sli.

and for GTX280 review,plz read the one that use newest driver.
pikacu
QUOTE(cyberfly @ Jun 18 2008, 07:27 PM)
since GTX280 beat 9800gx2,how come 8800gt Sli beat GTX280?

not at all cases, 98GX2 still shines tongue.gif
ezinger
the gtx280 is seriously silly and overrated.

since someone is arguing on a single core instead of price performance ratio =_=

HD4870X2 > GTX 280 at price/performance ratio, period.
pikacu
YES! A reason to own the GTX 280! : http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...d=7977&Itemid=1 , http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=290451

You asked for it, you got it

If you've just bought a GTX 200 series card from EVGA, or if you plan to do so, you'll be pleased to learn that the company is offering a free HDMI dongle to all GTX 200 card owners.

This news made my day biggrin.gif
SlayerXT
Aiya VR-Zone benchies tells different stories. Anyway it seems that single 1GB and 512bit does increase performance to highly resolution and setting. Basically for ultra gamers. Im sure most of us will not benefit much of it.
squall_12
ok for those rich guy who buy a GTX 280 card u can enjoy the demo provided by nvidia....u should download and enjoy it....
http://downloads.guru3d.com/NVIDIA-Medusa-...nload-1950.html

Source: guru3d.
tech3910
QUOTE(ezinger @ Jun 18 2008, 08:33 PM)
the gtx280 is seriously silly and overrated.

since someone is arguing on a single core instead of price performance ratio =_=

HD4870X2 > GTX 280 at price/performance ratio, period.

who knows?
4870x2 might beat GTX 280 @ at price/performance ratio, bt also raw performance..................

gtx280 shud b better, it is basically on par wit (barely beating) 9800gx2................

its like, 9800gx2 is 2 gpu & gtx 280 huge gpu r 2 GPU fused into 1........................
ha ha ha biggrin.gif jk
ezinger
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 18 2008, 07:55 PM)
who knows?
4870x2 might beat GTX 280 @ at price/performance ratio, bt also raw performance..................

gtx280 shud b better, it is basically on par wit (barely beating) 9800gx2................

its like, 9800gx2 is 2 gpu & gtx 280 huge gpu r 2 GPU fused into 1........................
ha ha ha  biggrin.gif  jk

sorry i needed to correct myself, apparently 4850 CFX has pwnt GTX 280.

so gg nvidia
StratOS
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 18 2008, 07:55 PM)
who knows?

ha ha ha  biggrin.gif  jk

oredy say 2 core VS 1core lor.. sure 2 core better.. if dual-core 4870x2 still lose, i got nth much to say.. haha.. XD

in some factors 9800GX2 wins over GTX280 la.. can see the benchmark anywhere now.. in www.legitreviews.com got.. icon_rolleyes.gif
tech3910
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jun 18 2008, 10:14 PM)
oredy say 2 core VS 1core lor.. sure 2 core better.. if dual-core 4870x2 still lose, i got nth much to say.. haha.. XD

in some factors 9800GX2 wins over GTX280 la.. can see the benchmark anywhere now.. in www.legitreviews.com got.. icon_rolleyes.gif

2 core vs 1 core might sounds a bit unfair bt the price of single gtx280 is well enough 2 buy 2 4850.
also, the die size of gtx280 is gigantic, its like overweight vs heavyweight. ha ha ha ha laugh.gif
pikacu
GTX 280GX2 !!! : Link

kmarc
Look at this review on the GTX 200 : http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3334&p=22

Looks like 8800GT SLI is comparable or even sometimes pwn the GTX 200 series.....

For those with 8800GT, it would be cheaper just to get another 8800GT card.... and those with only 2x 6-pin PCI-E PSU connector don't have to change their PSU (as the GTX needs a 6-pin AND a 8-pin PCI-E connector)....

Of course, there's the hassle of SLI.... wink.gif

But then we have the question of whether or not you should buy one of these things. As impressive as the GT200 is, the GeForce GTX 280 is simply overpriced for the performance it delivers. It is NVIDIA's fastest single-card, single-GPU solution, but for $150 less than a GTX 280 you get a faster graphics card with NVIDIA's own GeForce 9800 GX2. The obvious downside to the GX2 over the GTX 280 is that it is a multi-GPU card and there are going to be some situations where it doesn't scale well, but overall it is a far better buy than the GTX 280.

Even looking to the comparison of four and two card SLI, the GTX 280 doesn't deliver $300 more in value today. NVIDIA's position is that in the future games will have higher compute and bandwidth requirements and that the GTX 280 will have more logevity. While that may or may not be true depending on what actually happens in the industry, we can't recommend something based on possible future performance. It just doesn't make sense to buy something today that won't give you better performance on the software that's currently available. Especially when it costs so much more than a faster solution.

The GeForce GTX 260 is a bit more reasonable. At $400 it is generally equal to if not faster than the Radeon HD 3870 X2, and with no other NVIDIA cards occupying the $400 pricepoint it is without a competitor within its own family. Unfortunately, 8800 GT SLI is much cheaper and many people already have an 8800 GT they could augment.
tech3910
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 18 2008, 10:30 PM)
GTX 280GX2 !!! : Link

no way dey could hav done it.
its 65nm & the die is way big.
xen0
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 18 2008, 09:38 PM)
no way dey could hav done it.
its 65nm & the die is way big.

OMG...u take it seriously....lol... laugh.gif
tech3910
QUOTE(xen0 @ Jun 18 2008, 10:48 PM)
OMG...u take it seriously....lol...  laugh.gif

no la, i know it was a joke.....
is just dat no way nvidia can do GTX x2 yet wit current technologies. laugh.gif
skylinelover
OMG i lol'd so hard on this super crazy creation laugh.gif bravo if that was real although i doubt it is laugh.gif
tech3910
WOW!!!

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=7985&Itemid=1

COOL!!!
i wonder how much it will cost?

btw
@skylinelover
its u gain...........
xen0
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 19 2008, 01:40 AM)

hmm..tri-sli..weird keyboard..2kW..

looks like it has nano suit...kinda tranformers with nano suit..lol..

sigheart
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 18 2008, 09:37 PM)
Look at this review on the GTX 200 : http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3334&p=22

Looks like 8800GT SLI is comparable or even sometimes pwn the GTX 200 series.....

For those with 8800GT, it would be cheaper just to get another 8800GT card.... and those with only 2x 6-pin PCI-E PSU connector don't have to change their PSU (as the GTX needs a 6-pin AND a 8-pin PCI-E connector)....

Of course, there's the hassle of SLI....  wink.gif

Well I feel that those with an existing 9600GT can just get another and SLI as reviews has already shown it comes close to and 8800GT in SLI as well. Then again as mentioned, the hassle of SLI .
zeustronic
QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jun 18 2008, 08:52 PM)
ok for those rich guy who buy a GTX 280 card u can enjoy the demo provided by nvidia....u should download and enjoy it....
http://downloads.guru3d.com/NVIDIA-Medusa-...nload-1950.html

Source: guru3d.

doesn't mean u have to buy GTX200 cards, u can download it in WMVHD format tongue.gif .
pikacu
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 19 2008, 01:40 AM)
WOW!!!

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=7985&Itemid=1

COOL!!!
i wonder how much it will cost?

btw
@skylinelover
its u gain...........

for those who wants their electric bill to rise to RM4xx++... can buy those and run it 24/7 tongue.gif
SlayerXT
Middle class malaysian will only dream of it, unless u want to eat 'paser'
LExus65
9600GT SLI has about 70 ~ 80% of 8800GT SLI performance, so does this comparable with GX280 ?

Eoma
QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 19 2008, 07:57 AM)
doesn't mean u have to buy GTX200 cards, u can download it in WMVHD format tongue.gif .

The demo works fine on my 8800GTX.
sigheart
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:35 AM)
9600GT SLI has about 70 ~ 80% of 8800GT SLI performance, so does this comparable with GX280 ?

This is for those who already own a 9600GT already but if you are getting a new system by all means you can get a GTX 280 IMO. I don't think there is a need to sell it off cheap and lose money for those who already have a 9600GT. Just get another 9600GT for ~RM500 OC both 9600GTs and your proc and you will get a decent 3DMark06 score with decent frame rates for most games. I've got a friend who has an OCed Q6600 and 2 OCed 9600GTs in SLI setup and he gets 16k - 17k easily in 3DMark06. A more than decent enough score IMO. But then again, the hassle of needing an SLI board
pikacu
QUOTE(sigheart @ Jun 19 2008, 03:23 PM)
This is for those who already own a 9600GT already but if you are getting a new system by all means you can get a GTX 280 IMO.

Mindset of rich /b/... haha.

for mainstream user. they still go for 9600gt/8800gt smile.gif
lehteck
gainward GTX260 price out de.~!~

Price sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
hafiez
QUOTE(lehteck @ Jun 19 2008, 03:45 PM)
gainward GTX260 price out de.~!~

Price  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
"ini semua keja org gila punya lah", Dato' Seri S. Samy Vellu.
SlayerXT
If 4850 CF can make GTX280 a little sweat, what can GTX260 do...? Its the rise of the RED
pikacu
Over 670MHz with GTX280 is dangerous : http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...=8004&Itemid=34
Some partners pushing it

We've asked around how far can you push and issue a warranty on Geforce GTX 280 as most of the partners stops at 670MHz and one dares to go for magical 700MHz.

Geforce GTX 280 is a very hot card even at its default clock and we've learned that 670MHz is something that Nvidia recommends and anything higher than that is pushing your luck.

Zotac on the other hand clocked its card to 700MHz, while XFX and EVGA, both daring overclockers, have decided to stick around with 670MHz on air.

EVGA plans to ship the cards at 670MHz and it is up to you to overclock it further but we are not sure that you will gain that much performance with that overclock and at the same time you are risking to kill your super expensive graphics card.

The choice is always yours.

It seems G92 core already reached its limit? laugh.gif
tech3910
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 19 2008, 08:15 PM)
Over 670MHz with GTX280 is dangerous : http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...=8004&Itemid=34
It seems G92 core already reached its limit? laugh.gif

of course la......
dat die is huge & hot laugh.gif
AMDAthlon
~.~
But Zotac one is with Water Cooling if i not wrong.
pikacu
NVIDIA to Release GTX 280 GX2 : http://news.softpedia.com/news/NVIDIA-to-R...GX2-88376.shtml
Dual-core power for the company's flagship model

p/s: it is a long news, click spoiler to read..
likito
GTX 280 X2 . =.=!!! rm4999 (guess)
AMDAthlon
..Sure require 2k W PSU? doh.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.