Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Insurance: How much is sufficient?
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Finance, Business and Investment House
Pages: 1, 2
Yzene
I'm 24 years old this year.

Recently, I was advised by a financial analyst to buy MAA's life insurance which need Monthly investment of Rm 180. What attract me was the sum assured is high compare to other company which is Rm 180k for immediate estate or 36 critical illness. Price is lower at younger age. She also suggested to buy MAA's medical card which will cost 622 per annum and the coverage is up to 100k per year, whole life is Rm 300k.

Currently, I am holding Prudential Investment link which incorporate every benefit such as medical card, life, accident & dread decease. It was actually promoted by my relative who is working as a prudential agent. I knew it is expensive and cost me about Rm 170 monthly. The immediate estate is only Rm50k, dread decease 30k, medical coverage up to Rm187,500 whole life and max is Rm 62,500 each year.

I'm in dilemma now. Frankly, I already signed (but haven't pay yet) for both MAA products. However, the Prudential agent is very close to me, I can't simply drop the investment link and bucket all the money to MAA. Also, MAA holding is losing money now, I am kinda worry about the stability of its subsidiary, the company doesn't give me confidence at all, although the financial analyst will take care of my claim instead of the MAA agent. But still, it is under MAA system.

If I bought MAA life and medical card, and don't let go the investment link. It could be a burden for me monthly, approximately 5k annually (approximately 400 per month). It is about 15% of my annual salary. Is it a wise move? Or i should re-consider of MAA? rclxub.gif

Headache~
lil`pumpkinz
Try ING. Benefits are more or less like what MAA offers you, but monthly instalment is much lower.
yewkhuay
u have just signed but haven;t paid, so u can just say NO. even if u hav piad, u hav 30days cooling period whereby u can cancel the policy n get refunded with some minimal charges.

it seems ur question here is more about the premium than the coverage. smile.gif
cuebiz
For investment linked product, you can increase the investment part, lower the insurance side and also lower the premium. Ask your agent if this is possible. Then you can consider MAA which provide higher coverage.
bbjslee
For medical card, you can't claim from both Insurance Company, unlike Death or TPD.

So think properly and your budget to decide on one.

Things to ponder
- Panel Clinics/Hospital
- Claim records
- Claim procedures

If you think RM170/month is expensive, aren't MAA's RM180/month more expensive?
mphpopular
it depends on how much is your budjet. For me, I will be ok for giving such amount for insurance. But i buy life insurance, i nvr buy investment link insurance. Cause i think when is about investment, that is not their proffesion.
But i think its ok to have more insurance. But make sure one thing, you muz undertstand all the things insdie. Example, medical cards, how much you can claim for each disease, We nid to pay first when we go in hospital? those details is very important. And remember, insurance is long term investment, so u muz expect in future, you are going to be able to pay for this money as well
dr2k3
no point to buy so many type(company) of insurance....if ur in trouble only 1 company will pay you....or both company share share....

1 company at a time
b00n
If you're still be able to pay for the prudential, do not drop it....unless it's less than 1 year and you take it as losses. If not, you've paid so many months for nothing unless your investment portion already gave you such returns to cover for all.

Again, may I ask....who's this financial planner you're talking about? Someone who works for MAA? Anyway, if he/she is really a financial planner than let him/her check your Prudential policy and see what can be done without terminating it.

Also, there's nothing as sufficient. It's all about your budget.
lemon_girl
Think what you want, once you buy the insurance, better keep for at least 15 years to 20 years. Better return.

If you go for ING or prudential, I would rather to recommend you to go to Hong Leong Assurance. It is a local bank assurance where you no need to pay for government tax 10-15% p.a. Quite a lots of money o. And they emphasis on greater coverage with lower premium. I just bought from them, I feel it's quite good.

And for insurance, I agreed that not to go for investment link coz when the market went down, you have to pump in more money to keep your insurance coverage.
mtsen
in your case, tell your prudential agent you get better offer from MAA. the goal is hoping him to counter offer you but normally there aren't much different at the end. From the data you have given, your prudential contract should have higher cash value comparing to your MAA in long run.

you should NOT pay the MAA and just said you changed your mind due to cash flow problem. Unless the sum of both MAA and Prudential premium payment is less than 10% of your current salary, then you may feel tough now but actually its ok, because in future it will be HARDER to buy biggrin.gif

15% is also not a bad contribution to insurance neither unless you think your salary will never increase. In this case, you should probably go for an endowment that may ends in 15 or 20 years. You should only buy one whole life products, is your Prudential and MAA wholelife products ?

finally for RM 180 a month, you can get 200k sum assured on life, critical illness, accient and 100k medical with immediate cash value of a few hundred ringgits even at the first year

or

400k on life, tpd, critical and pa alone without medical

or

300k on medical alone (annual limit)

MAA is not a bad company, it has its up and down and now is its down moment. either way, it wouldn't affect your insurance policy. But I am eyeing on its stock now .... we buy stocks when its down ...
Y_yz
Ur MAA's friend idea not bad, i think tat also investment-linked product. Just beware the medical card charges is not static, will be increase. And check-up whether u need to pay co-insurance with MAA?
Colaboy
Please be advise to continue with ur Prudential plan . . . . .
as different company structure the policy in different way so that it can provide bigger coverage by reducing some other benefits

you will need to go through many of the clauses in the policy
to find out why it's cheaper for some company out there in the market,

the question is:

1)the premium is it guarenteed or will increase as you grow old?
2)is the medical card renewable after any claims made & what are the terms . . .
3)how much is the returns/cash value/units after 10 or 20 years,
if yes how much will it be???

If I bought MAA life and medical card, and don't let go the investment link. It could be a burden for me monthly, approximately 5k annually (approximately 400 per month). It is about 15% of my annual salary. Is it a wise move? Or i should re-consider of MAA?

you alreaddy have the answer

anyway its adviceable to have an insurance coverage of around 7-10% of ur anually income
that's the benchmark for an average income person . . . of course many factors will have to be consider as well
If you have extra cash, put it in FD, buy some unit thrust, have a savings or endowment plan, invest in stock market, or etc
that will be much better
dr2k3
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 15 2008, 01:54 PM)
as different company structure the policy in different way so that it can provide bigger coverage by reducing some other benefits

the question is:

2)is the medical card renewable after any claims made & what are the  terms . . .

If I bought MAA life and medical card, and don't let go the investment link. It could be a burden for me monthly, approximately 5k annually (approximately 400 per month). It is about 15% of my annual salary. Is it a wise move? Or i should re-consider of MAA?

anyway its adviceable to have an insurance coverage of around 7-10% of ur anually income
that's the benchmark for an average income person . . . of course many factors will have to be consider as well

lol...abit funny when an insurance agent popup

anyway...its not worth to put ur money in 2 insurance company.....choose 1
Colaboy
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ May 15 2008, 02:00 PM)
lol...abit funny when an insurance agent popup

anyway...its not worth to put ur money in 2 insurance company.....choose 1

this is customer service ma. . . . . have to provide knowledge to people out here in LYN
we are living under one roof thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

b00n
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 15 2008, 02:02 PM)
this is customer service ma. . . . . have to provide knowledge to people out here in LYN
we are living under one roof  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Just wondering if TS already have MAA and is thinking of Prudential, than what's your answer?
Would it still be the same?
dr2k3
QUOTE(b00n @ May 15 2008, 02:05 PM)
Just wondering if TS already have MAA and is thinking of Prudential, than what's your answer?
Would it still be the same?

lol...i doubt so....it will be another way round xD
Colaboy
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ May 15 2008, 02:11 PM)
lol...i doubt so....it will be another way round xD

lol . . . . . i had nothing else to say if you guys are thinking that way
lemon_girl
never knows..... in year 2008........modern city..people still prejudice on sales & insurance people.......
b00n
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 15 2008, 02:14 PM)
lol  . . . . . i had nothing else to say if you guys are thinking that way

No, I just want an honest opinion from agents in this field.
As I would not ask anyone to let go of their insurance policy especially those that have paid for years. (I'm not insurance agent).
But probably I would advise the guy to cut down on the premium paid towards investment linked portion, thus cutting down his "expenses".

Added on May 15, 2008, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(lemon_girl @ May 15 2008, 03:35 PM)
never knows..... in year 2008........modern city..people still prejudice on sales & insurance people.......

Especially in modern time when information is easily available. This is attributed to the hard sales tactics some insurance agents are on. So you can't blame consumers to have a prejudiced view.
lemon_girl
QUOTE(lemon_girl @ May 15 2008, 03:35 PM)
No, I just want an honest opinion from agents in this field.
As I would not ask anyone to let go of their insurance policy especially those that have paid for years. (I'm not insurance agent).
But probably I would advise the guy to cut down on the premium paid towards investment linked portion, thus cutting down his "expenses".

I agreed with this point of view...... thumbup.gif
Yzene
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 14 2008, 11:49 PM)
u have just signed but haven;t paid, so u can just say NO. even if u hav piad, u hav 30days cooling period whereby u can cancel the policy n get refunded with some minimal charges.

it seems ur question here is more about the premium than the coverage. smile.gif

The coverage of MAA is higher than Prudential investment link. Thinking of Premium efficiency, if I have no insurance in hand, of course, I will go for MAA. Prudential investment link is expensive as the coverage is only 50k for death and 30k for dread decease. On the other hand, MAA coverage is much higher. I don't know whether I am too greedy to buy so much of protection at this age?

Added on May 15, 2008, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(cuebiz @ May 15 2008, 12:42 AM)
For investment linked product, you can increase the investment part, lower the insurance side and also lower the premium. Ask your agent if this is possible. Then you can consider MAA which provide higher coverage.

I had asked my financial analyst's advice on this matter. She told me the max. I can lower the monthly investment to Rm150 by reducing the premium. For MAA, if I pay annually, I can save about Rm10 each month. Plus MAA medical card, the total investment of each month is Rm 380.

Added on May 15, 2008, 5:50 pm
QUOTE(bbjslee @ May 15 2008, 12:51 AM)
For medical card, you can't claim from both Insurance Company, unlike Death or TPD.

So think properly and your budget to decide on one.

Things to ponder
- Panel Clinics/Hospital
- Claim records
- Claim procedures

If you think RM170/month is expensive, aren't MAA's RM180/month more expensive?

Frankly, I will stick to the plan to buy MAA medical card. It is cheap w/o attaching with other protection. 622 per annum and the coverage is high. The premium will increase every 10 years after 30 and every 5 years after 50-year old. It is guarantee renewal and accept the claim up to 80 years old!

I said expensive is because of the coverage. With 180/month, the MAA sum assured is 3x more than prudential investment link.

Added on May 15, 2008, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ May 15 2008, 09:33 AM)
If you're still be able to pay for the prudential, do not drop it....unless it's less than 1 year and you take it as losses. If not, you've paid so many months for nothing unless your investment portion already gave you such returns to cover for all.

Again, may I ask....who's this financial planner you're talking about? Someone who works for MAA? Anyway, if he/she is really a financial planner than let him/her check your Prudential policy and see what can be done without terminating it.

Also, there's nothing as sufficient. It's all about your budget.

Yes, I have been paying prudential for almost 3 years. If the investment did not make money, there's a risk i need to top up more to cover my medical monthly. I dunno whether the investment is performing at least it doesn't show negative in the annual report that Prudential sent to me lately (only worth 1k++ for all the units i have in 3years)

She is from a new financial planning company, Golden Wealth. Let me know if you heard about this company.

That's right.. At 1st i thought to have Rm400 each month for insurance.. when come to 2nd thought, it is about 15% of my salary after deduct EPF & monthly income tax. rclxub.gif

Added on May 15, 2008, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(lemon_girl @ May 15 2008, 09:45 AM)
Think what you want, once you buy the insurance, better keep for at least 15 years to 20 years. Better return.

If you go for ING or prudential, I would rather to recommend you to go to Hong Leong Assurance. It is a local bank assurance where you no need to pay for government tax 10-15% p.a. Quite a lots of money o. And they emphasis on greater coverage with lower premium. I just bought from them, I feel it's  quite good.

And for insurance, I agreed that not to go for investment link coz when the market went down, you have to pump in more money to keep your insurance coverage.

Hi lemon gal, may i know more about Hong Leong Assurance in terms of coverage?
Death, critical illness, medical etc..

Added on May 15, 2008, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(mtsen @ May 15 2008, 09:54 AM)
in your case, tell your prudential agent you get better offer from MAA.  the goal is hoping him to counter offer you but normally there aren't much different at the end.  From the data you have given, your prudential contract should have higher cash value comparing to your MAA in long run.

you should NOT pay the MAA and just said you changed your mind due to cash flow problem.  Unless the sum of both MAA and Prudential premium payment is less than 10% of your current salary, then you may feel tough now but actually its ok, because in future it will be HARDER to buy biggrin.gif

15% is also not a bad contribution to insurance neither unless you think your salary will never increase.  In this case, you should probably go for an endowment that may ends in 15 or 20 years.  You should only buy one whole life products, is your Prudential and MAA wholelife products ?

finally for RM 180 a month, you can get 200k sum assured on life, critical illness, accient and 100k medical with immediate cash value of a few hundred ringgits even at the first year

or

400k on life, tpd, critical and pa alone without medical

or

300k on medical alone (annual limit)
MAA is not a bad company, it has its up and down and now is its down moment.  either way, it wouldn't affect your insurance policy.  But I am eyeing on its stock now .... we buy stocks when its down ...

May I know why you've a feel that the investment link has higher cash value in long run? Because Investment link quite similar to saving? I think I can do my own saving in FD and other Fund too. So, I don't think is a concern to me at this moment.

Yesyes.. U understand my dilemma very well. laugh.gif
Yes, both are whole life product.

My financial planner recommend me to invest more on critical illness as women have the tendency to get sick easier than men.. cry.gif So, i will not buy the life insurance as currently i don't have family burden (Guy should buy it for the sake of his family tongue.gif )

Added on May 15, 2008, 6:30 pm
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 15 2008, 01:54 PM)

the question is:

2)is the medical card renewable after any claims made & what are the   terms . . .

If you have extra cash, put it in FD, buy some unit thrust, have a savings or endowment plan, invest in stock market, or etc
that will be much better

the premium is fix
2)is the medical card renewable after any claims made & what are the terms . . .
Yes
3)how much is the returns/cash value/units after 10 or 20 years, if yes how much will it be???
It is a life insurance. I can only claim the sum assured once die or fall sick of any critical illness

************************************************************************************************
Thanks for all of your advice! It's great to listen to you guys' opinion!
howeijie
I am fresh graduate, going to work soon.

I plan to buy some insurance to protect myself.

Any recommend from forumer here ?
dr2k3
My financial planner recommend me to invest more on critical illness as women have the tendency to get sick easier than men.. cry.gif So, i will not buy the life insurance as currently i don't have family burden (Guy should buy it for the sake of his family tongue.gif )

ur financial planner is not that good if he/she tells you that women are more tendency to get sick

there has been so many research being done that shows women has longer lifespan (in another word women are more healthy than man)
b00n
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ May 15 2008, 09:24 PM)
ur financial planner is not that good if he/she tells you that women are more tendency to get sick

there has been so many research being done that shows women has longer lifespan (in another word women are more healthy than man)

But her financial planner is right in not buying life insurance yet as there's no need for it now. Maybe selections of words and example might be different. PA comes first for young grads or young ppl. Than life when one wants to start a marriage or commitment life.
Yzene
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ May 15 2008, 09:24 PM)

Yes, female's lifespan is longer. However, woman has some special organ which male don't have, 1 of them is womb disease. No matter the female deliver or not, women always have higher risk get suffer with cancer. I think with longer lifespan, woman need more coverage to protect them from being suffer of this kind disease. blush.gif
dr2k3
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 09:41 PM)
Yes, female's lifespan is longer. However, woman has some special organ which male don't have, 1 of them is womb disease. No matter the female deliver or not, women always have higher risk get suffer with cancer. I think with longer lifespan, woman need more coverage to protect them from being suffer of this kind disease. blush.gif

erm....... i watch so many education type shows all tell me women are more resistant to disease than man are

especially when they explain

XX = women

Xy = man....notice the y tongue.gif
Gen-X
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 14 2008, 11:36 PM)

Recently, I was advised by a financial analyst to buy MAA's life insurance which need Monthly investment of Rm 180. What attract me was the sum assured is high compare to other company which is Rm 180k for immediate estate or 36 critical illness. Price is lower at younger age. She also suggested to buy MAA's medical card which will cost 622 per annum and the coverage is up to 100k per year, whole life is Rm 300k.

Currently, I am holding Prudential Investment link which incorporate every benefit such as medical card, life, accident & dread decease. It was actually promoted by my relative who is working as a prudential agent. I knew it is expensive and cost me about Rm 170 monthly. The immediate estate is only Rm50k, dread decease 30k, medical coverage up to Rm187,500 whole life and max is Rm 62,500 each year.

If I bought MAA life and medical card, and don't let go the investment link. It could be a burden for me monthly, approximately 5k annually (approximately 400 per month). It is about 15% of my annual salary. Is it a wise move? Or i should re-consider of MAA? rclxub.gif

I a bit blur, you mentioned MAA monthly payment for life is RM180 and MAA medical RM622 or RM622/12 = RM51.83. Add up RM231.83/month. How come it can add up to about RM400/month which is RM230 more than your present Prudential.

My suggestion are as follows:

1) Do you need RM180K for life insurance. Do you have dependants? If not why want so high life insurance?
You said that you paying RM170/month for 50K life insurance and Critical Illness RM30K and Medical up to RM187.5K whole life presently, go ask you Prudential agent, tell him you want increase you life insurance/critical illness from RM50K/30K to RM180K, how much more premium to pay?

3) Alternatively, go tell the prudential agent you are considering paying another RM200/month to existing policy, what options to have? I tell you, he/she can work out more than 5 different options, i.e. higher life or higher medical whole life or both or include PA or more towards investment link and etc.

Nowadays, when i buy insurance, i ask the agent go work out various options if let say i want to only pay RM200/month. I ask them email me the options so i dont have to waste time listening to thier biase opinions smile.gif Another thing, different agent from same company will give you different options. It all depends how much time the agent want to spend inputing the data into their computer to churn out different options. Also, maybe they make more from certain product so they will "advise" you to allocate more of your money there.

QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 05:29 PM)
I had asked my financial analyst's advice on this matter. She told me the max. I can lower the monthly investment  to Rm150 by reducing the premium. For MAA, if I pay annually, I can save about Rm10 each month. Plus MAA medical card, the total investment of each month is Rm 380.

Yes, I have been paying prudential for almost 3 years. If the investment did not make money, there's a risk i need to top up more  to cover my medical monthly. I dunno whether the investment is performing at least it doesn't show negative in the annual report that Prudential sent to me lately (only worth 1k++ for all the units i have in 3years)

May I know why you've a feel that the investment link has higher cash value in long run? Because Investment link quite similar to saving? I think I can do my own saving in FD and other Fund too. So, I don't think is a concern to me at this moment.

I still dont understand how the RM380 come about.

You have been paying for 3 years and that's where most of your premium paid has gone to the agent. It'll be a waste to stop your prudential policy now as most of your premiums next year onwards will be allocated to investment link. Prudential agent please confirm this.

I also just got my Prudential Statement. You only got RM1K after 3 years? That's kind of low. I guess the performance of the Prulink investment is dependant on which fund you asked you agent to invest it - i.e. Managed Fund, Equity Fund, etc.

My children's amount is almost RM4.7K (Prulink Equity Fund) and their policy also about 3 years old with RM20K life insurance, whole life medical RM150K and premium RM200/each. Based on the Prulink Equity Fund value of RM4.7K, it is like i got 2 years free insurance but of course this value will reduce once our market crash, however if the market is on uptrend by the time they go college, it will at least fund partial of their educational cost. Another thing, once the investment amount in your fund is above RM4K, you can cash out the balance amount. Prudential agent, please confirm this also.

Yah, if you think you can invest better on your own, then no need to add to the investment link but use the RM210 (RM380 MAA - RM170 Prudential) to increase your life insurance or get PA or increase you medical whole life. Talk to your Prudential agent.

Just for you info, tomorrow call up Prudential Customer Service at 03-21160228 to check how much is your actual Investment Fund units by simply telling them your policy number and then check the unit value in the newspaper (The Star) or in Prudential website.

Another thing, you are a woman, Prudential have a policy for woman i.e. Prulady Term which cover illness not covered in Critical Illness. However is not "cheap" either but it refunds your premiums paid end of the day. Lastly, if your present insurance does not have Personal Accident, do add it as it it cheap and now covers snatch thief cases if not mistaken. Agents here please confirm this.
bbjslee
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 09:41 PM)

Correct. Longer lifespan doesn't mean lower risk of suffering from diseases.

Anyway, Insurance cover 5 major prospect of life.

- Death & Terminal Permanent Disability
- Major Illness
- Accident
- Medical & Hospitalisation
- Saving (If you live long enough)

As a young grad without any dependent, get an Insurance Policy that provides high coverage on
- Major Illness
- Accident
If your parents depend on you for income, then you need high coverage on Death & TPD as well.

Lots of people in the forum has asked, how much is enough? Over-insured? Under-insured? There is no right or wrong answer. It depend on various factors.

- How much you can afford?
- How much are you spending a month? And if you cannot work due to illness or accident, how long you plan to survive without any income?
- Who are depending on you? Parents? Wife? Children? How much do they need?
- How much are the medical bills now? You want to go government hospital or 1st class private hospital?
Colaboy
Brother Gen-X, totally agree with you
Gen-X
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 15 2008, 10:00 PM)
Brother Gen-X, totally agree with you

agree what? confirm lah PA now cover snatch theif or not and can the investment link fund be cashed out after it reach RM4K.
Yzene
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 15 2008, 09:54 PM)
I a bit blur, you mentioned MAA monthly payment for life is RM180 and MAA medical RM622 or RM622/12 = RM51.83. Add up RM231.83/month. How come it can add up to about RM400/month which is RM230 more than your present Prudential.

My suggestion are as follows:

1) Do you need RM180K for life insurance. Do you have dependants? If not why want so high life insurance?
You said that you paying RM170/month for 50K life insurance and Critical Illness RM30K and Medical up to RM187.5K whole life presently, go ask you Prudential agent, tell him you want increase you life insurance/critical illness from RM50K/30K to RM180K, how much more premium to pay?

3) Alternatively, go tell the prudential agent you are considering paying another RM200/month to existing policy, what options to have? I tell you, he/she can work out more than 5 different options, i.e. higher life or higher medical whole life or both or include PA or more towards investment link and etc.

Nowadays, when i buy insurance, i ask the agent go work out various options if let say i want to only pay RM200/month. I ask them email me the options so i dont have to waste time listening to thier biase opinions smile.gif Another thing, different agent from same company will give you different options. It all depends how much time the agent want to spend inputing the data into their computer to churn out different options. Also, maybe they make more from certain product so they will "advise" you to allocate more of your money there.
I still dont understand how the RM380 come about.

You have been paying for 3 years and that's where most of your premium paid has gone to the agent. It'll  be a waste to stop your prudential policy now as most of your premiums next year onwards will be allocated to investment link. Prudential agent please confirm this.

I also just got my Prudential Statement. You only got RM1K after 3 years? That's kind of low. I guess the performance of the Prulink investment is dependant on which fund you asked you agent to invest it - i.e. Managed Fund, Equity Fund, etc.

My children's amount is almost RM4.7K (Prulink Equity Fund) and their policy also about 3 years old with RM20K life insurance, whole life medical RM150K and premium RM200/each. Based on the Prulink Equity Fund value of RM4.7K, it is like i got 2 years free insurance but of course this value will reduce once our market crash, however if the market is on uptrend by the time they go college, it will at least fund partial of their educational cost. Another thing, once the investment amount in your fund is above RM4K, you can cash out the balance amount. Prudential agent, please confirm this also.

Yah, if you think you can invest better on your own, then no need to add to the investment link but use the RM210 (RM380 MAA - RM170 Prudential) to increase your life insurance or get PA or increase you medical whole life. Talk to your Prudential agent.

Just for you info, tomorrow call up Prudential Customer Service at 03-21160228 to check how much is your actual Investment Fund units by simply telling them your policy number and then check the unit value in the newspaper (The Star) or in Prudential website.

Another thing, you are a woman, Prudential have a policy for woman i.e. Prulady Term which cover illness not covered in Critical Illness. However is not "cheap" either but it refunds your premiums paid end of the day. Lastly, if your present insurance does not have Personal Accident, do add it as it it cheap and now covers snatch thief cases if not mistaken. Agents here please confirm this.

Sorry, I've to clarify here.
With current prudential I am holding, my financial planner advise me to buy MAA to have better protection in coverage. By adding up 231.83 (MAA) + 170(Prudential) = Rm 400++

Thanks for the suggestion.
1) 180k is either for decease or critical illness. If I (touch wood) were diagnosed with 1 of the critical illness, I'll get 180 immediately but if I died after that, I can't claim it anymore. So, the sum assured is actually allocated for either 1.
2) Your 2nd suggestion is appealing. But I don't think Prudential have such a "cheap" product in terms of premium efficiency (pay low get better coverage)

I was undergraduate when bought this prudential plan in 2004. Sorry is 4 years. I don know about the fund and how she helped me to allocated too. From the statement, I know the investment is in Equity Fund. Or, because she helped me to allocate higher % in medical rather than investment??? Thanks for the numbers.. I will call them up tomorrow.. I'm curious too
Total units = 696.25 Value of units= Rm 1869.29

Added on May 15, 2008, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(bbjslee @ May 15 2008, 09:57 PM)
Correct. Longer lifespan doesn't mean lower risk of suffering from diseases.

Anyway, Insurance cover 5 major prospect of life.

- Death & Terminal Permanent Disability
- Major Illness
- Accident
- Saving (If you live long enough)

As a young grad without any dependent, get an Insurance Policy that provides high coverage on
- Major Illness
- Accident
If your parents depend on you for income, then you need high coverage on Death & TPD as well.

Lots of people in the forum has asked, how much is enough? Over-insured? Under-insured? There is no right or wrong answer. It depend on various factors.

- How much you can afford?
- How much are you spending a month? And if you cannot work due to illness or accident, how long you plan to survive without any income?
- Who are depending on you? Parents? Wife? Children? How much do they need?
- How much are the medical bills now? You want to go government hospital or 1st class private hospital?

I totally agree with you. At the moment I signed for MAA protection plan, on top of current plan i am holding, I was not hesitating about the budget, I believed i can afford . However with secound thought, I am quite doubting with the new financial planner, MAA efficiency, my ability to pay 15% of the monthly income for insurance, a lot of factors trigger me to ask myself whether it is a good move to buy another company's plan w/o let go Prudential plan (as I don't want to waste the money too)

I appreciate all of your help here. I think I will temporary forget about the MAA protection plan at this moment until the financial planner can provide me a better alternative.
Gen-X
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 10:18 PM)
Sorry, I've to clarify here.
With current prudential I am holding, my financial planner advise me to buy MAA to have better protection in coverage. By adding up 231.83 (MAA) + 170(Prudential) = Rm 400++

Thanks for the suggestion.
1) 180k is either for decease or critical illness. If I (touch wood) were diagnosed with 1 of the critical illness, I'll get 180 immediately but if I died after that, I can't claim it anymore. So, the sum assured is actually allocated for either 1.
2) Your 2nd suggestion is appealing. But I don't think Prudential have such a "cheap" product in terms of premium efficiency (pay low get better coverage)

I was undergraduate when bought this prudential plan in 2004. Sorry is 4 years. I don know about the fund and how she helped me to allocated too. From the statement, I know the investment is in Equity Fund. Or, because she helped me to allocate higher % in medical rather than investment??? Thanks for the numbers.. I will call them up tomorrow.. I'm curious too
Total units = 696.25 Value of units= Rm 1869.29

now i understand.

Wait, stop. I don't think it is wise to have two medical policy. If you are hospitalized, only 1 of the company will reimburse or pay for your medical expenses. Better check properly before buying the medical insurance from MAA.

My opinion if you are still maintaining your existing prudential policy is:

1) Add PA to your existing policy. RM100K cheap cheap only.
2) Better you go ask your Prudential agent tomorrow to email you the various options you have by adding RM100 AND RM200 to you existing policy.

**EDited**

If one is diagnosed with Critical Illness, most probably one has not much time to live and most probably suffering in silence so why care about how much is the critical illness amount.
Yzene
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 15 2008, 10:37 PM)
now i understand.

Wait, stop. I don't think it is wise to have two medical policy. If you are hospitalized, only 1 of the company will reimburse or pay for your medical expenses. Better check properly before buying the medical insurance from MAA.

My opinion if you are still maintaining your existing prudential policy is:

1) Add PA to your existing policy. RM100K cheap cheap only.
2) Better you go ask your Prudential agent tomorrow to email you the various options you have by adding RM100 AND  RM200 to you existing policy.

**EDited**

If one is diagnosed with Critical Illness, most probably one has not much time to live and most probably suffering in silence so why care about how much is the critical illness amount.

I was thinking if bought the medical plan from different company, I will actually get higher coverage. If the claim is overbuget, there's an alternative to claim for another 1. The medical charge is going to soar years after.

For long as you wouldn't be a burden for the family, i think it is important to have the money for hospitalization and the rest of life to take care. Perhaps, there's a miracle? whistling.gif
b00n
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 10:59 PM)
I was thinking if bought the medical plan from different company, I will actually get higher coverage. If the claim is overbuget, there's an alternative to claim for another 1. The medical charge is going to soar years after.

For long as you wouldn't be a burden for the family, i think it is important to have the money for hospitalization and the rest of life to take care. Perhaps, there's a miracle? whistling.gif

IIRC you cannot claim on one bill against 2 companies.
When my wife's delivered, they though they could claim 2 bills from both their company's medical benefits. But apparently, hospitals are obliged to issue 2 resit. So if under that situation hospital doesn't issue 2 resit, meaning to say you wouldn't be able to claim from 2 insurance company also.
Gen-X
QUOTE(Yzene @ May 15 2008, 10:59 PM)

if this is the case, just go increase your existing medical policy instead of having two policies. Based on your family medical history, any one of them have got serious genetic related illness, if no what is the probabilty of you needing up almost RM500K hospitalization plan?

What you maybe should be looking into is Great Eastern medical plan where the policy exipre when you reach age 100.

seriously, you got PA? if not add to your existing policy, its cheap.

Ok i have checked out MAA website, look like the policy you thinking of getting is MedicaLife207, i am not an insurance nor medical expert but i noted that they only limit Kidney Dialysis Treatment and Cancer Treatment to RM18,000 only (EDITED : per annum)! Heck you buying coverage up to RM300K but they only paying max RM18K for these treatment then it does not make sense. If one is to have any of these two treatment, is RM18K per annum enough in 20 years time? (Edited).

Here is where the Prudential agent help is needed to answer my question - how much is the maximum allowable claim for outpatient kidney dialysis and cancer treatment?
bbjslee
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 15 2008, 11:26 PM)
Ok i have checked out MAA website, look like the policy you thinking of getting is MedicaLife207, i am not an insurance nor medical expert but i noted that they only limit Kidney Dialysis Treatment and Cancer Treatment to RM18,000 only (EDITED : per annum)! Heck you buying coverage up to RM300K but they only paying max RM18K for these treatment then it does not make sense. If one is to have any of these two treatment, is RM18K per annum enough in 20 years time? (Edited).

For GE, annual limit for cancer treatment/kidney dialysis ranges from 10k to 40k, depending on which package you are.
Colaboy
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 15 2008, 11:26 PM)
if this is the case, just go increase your existing medical policy instead of having two policies. Based on your family medical history, any one of them have got serious genetic related illness, if no what is the probabilty of you needing up almost RM500K hospitalization plan?

What you maybe should be looking into is Great Eastern medical plan where the policy exipre when you reach age 100.

Here is where the Prudential agent help is needed to answer my question - how much is the maximum allowable claim for outpatient kidney dialysis and cancer treatment?

only about +/- RM150 per year for 100,000k PA to be attach to ur current policy

everything is "AS CHARGE"
yewkhuay
TS, just a few questions :

1. hav u actually compared with any other company yet?
2. u sure the amount of premium u paid to prudential can only get u tht much of coverage ?
3. Do u know topping up premium in ur existing investmentlink plan can get u more coverage than buying a new plan?
4. Do u know MAA doesn't give good premium n service on medical card?
vicng
[quote=Yzene,May 14 2008, 11:36 PM]

I'm in dilemma now. Frankly, I already signed (but haven't pay yet) for both MAA products. However, the Prudential agent is very close to me, I can't simply drop the investment link and bucket all the money to MAA. Also, MAA holding is losing money now, I am kinda worry about the stability of its subsidiary, the company doesn't give me confidence at all, although the financial analyst will take care of my claim instead of the MAA agent. But still, it is under MAA system.

Headache~

I can offer u the medical plan with Lifetime Limit is 10x from ur annual limit, including Critical Illness. Premium is cheaper. pls survey the Pru-link b4 u sign up. PM me if u wan to know more abt the medical card.

Added on May 23, 2008, 1:32 am[quote=howeijie,May 15 2008, 09:17 PM]
I am fresh graduate, going to work soon.

I plan to buy some insurance to protect myself.

Any recommend from forumer here ?

[/quote]

Dun ever buy medical card tru ur Investment-Link policy. they will charge u like h**l. I m victim from it & planning to takeover to buy stand alone medical with Lifetime Limit is 10x from annual limit. PM me ur contact, I can recommend good product I hv surveyed to u.
nickywkm
QUOTE(vicng @ May 23 2008, 01:28 AM)
Dun ever buy medical card tru ur Investment-Link policy. they will charge u like h**l. I m victim from it & planning to takeover to buy stand alone medical with Lifetime Limit is 10x from annual limit. PM me ur contact, I can recommend good product I hv surveyed to u.

i am a financial advisor.i may offer help to u guys.feel free contact me
tetsu
What about your company's benefits? Though its not wise to rely on your company's coverage, most companies today insure their staff under a master Group Hospitalization and Surgical (GHS) and Group Personal Accident(GPA) plan.

Some employees of my clients actually claim the balance of their medical costs through their company policy.

mtsen
I agree with Boon that once a policy is engaged, it shouldn't be canceled or altered wherever possible. its like a marriage, divorce only when really really cannot tahan biggrin.gif
humbble
QUOTE(Colaboy @ May 16 2008, 03:40 AM)
only about  +/- RM150 per year for 100,000k PA to be attach to ur current policy

everything is "AS CHARGE"

This is what customers really need! Great reply from Prudential agent!!!

Another question for colabay, how much extra premium your company charge to upgrade from Rm150,000 lifetime limit to Rm180,000 lifetime limit?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:40 am
QUOTE(tetsu @ Jun 2 2008, 07:28 PM)
What about your company's benefits? Though its not wise to rely on your company's coverage, most companies today insure their staff under a master Group Hospitalization and Surgical (GHS)  and Group Personal Accident(GPA) plan.

Some employees of my clients actually claim the balance of their medical costs through their company policy.

I thought it is the other way round? Claim company first, the balance if not fully covered by company can claim from their personal medical card.
Please do not rely too much on company group PA. Reason?
a)I worked for an MNC before name "Flexxxnics,their Group PA is by Great Eastern and only covers 50% of operation cost.
b) You do not work for one company for the rest of your life. If once kena High blood or diabetic, it will be almost impossible to get your new policies approved.

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:48 am[quote=mphpopular,May 15 2008, 12:52 AM]
it depends on how much is your budjet. For me, I will be ok for giving such amount for insurance. But i buy life insurance, i nvr buy investment link insurance. Cause i think when is about investment, that is not their proffesion.

Whether everybody like it or not.Investment linked products is the trend most insurance co. is heading towards. This is called RBC (Risk based Capital).Risk transferred to policy owners. If you do not buy investment linked products from insurance agent because this is not their profession. I can understand your feeling. They won't know when to switch aggressive funds to cash funds or from bond fund to equity funds.
hamster9
[quote=Yzene,May 14 2008, 11:36 PM]I'm 24 years old this year.

Headache~

[/quote]
based on the info above, i presumed you are earning rm2.8k per month

If you are earning RM2.8k, your Prudential is sufficient to cover you for a year living during critical illness. Please do not let the figures of assurred bug you. Once you are financially stable, let a proper financial planner to review your protection etc.

The financial analyst WILL take care of the claim but it's the future tense. Not past tense where she/he already did which gained your trust. it's just a promise which may turn up to be an empty promise once she/he gets the commission. Your trust need to be earned, evaluate yourself whether she/he just wants sales or is sincerely helping you. I don't want you to come back here posting need help in claim or MAA sucks tongue.gif

Seriously not that I am againts any so called financial analyst or financial planner but even I'm doing CFP, I dare not even put in the title as financial analyst in my namecard wink.gif

Added on October 2, 2008, 2:47 pm[quote=vicng,May 23 2008, 01:28 AM]

[/quote]

investment link policy depends on the age brought. many misconception regarding how investment link policy works which many turns out horrible. usually investment linked policy are only advisable for those below 30 years old. wink.gif
[quote=humbble,Oct 2 2008, 01:34 AM]

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:48 am[quote=mphpopular,May 15 2008, 12:52 AM]

Whether everybody like it or not.Investment linked products is the trend most insurance co. is heading towards. This is called RBC (Risk based Capital).Risk transferred to policy owners. If you do not buy investment linked products from insurance agent because this is not their profession. I can understand your feeling. They won't know when to switch aggressive funds to cash funds or from bond fund to equity funds.

[/quote]
seriously this statement are for those close minded person who thinks TAG Hauer only make watches and BMW only make cars. If saying so, Maybank should stick to opening savings account and same goes to Public Bank. But this does not happen in such a competitive world, Maybank sells insurance too and Public Bank does unit trust. So if an insurance company starts offering housing/shop loan and investment portal and you think it's wrong?

There are insurance company offering unit trust funds and actually the investment linked policy is from those trust funds and customer can opt to only buy the investment funds without any protection or insurance element in it. What made investment link policy so sour is probably due to the agent did not made it clear what actually the investment link policy is and customer can opt to just invest without having any protection element in it because the commission wouldn't be that big.

Anyway here's some mind stimulation for you guys:
you know the market is down, the price are undervalued and is the best time to buy. with the money you are servicing in the investment link policy, which one feature is their flexibility (many ppl nvm bother about their flexibility) why not allocate more of your money into the investment to buy more units instead of the insurance? get what i mean? wink.gif
Colaboy
QUOTE(humbble @ Oct 2 2008, 01:34 AM)
This is what customers really need! Great reply from Prudential agent!!!

Another question for colabay, how much extra premium your company charge to upgrade from Rm150,000 lifetime limit to Rm180,000 lifetime limit?

You are speaking about the upgrade of H&S for RM150K to RM180K?
Well it really depends on the client current age . . . Basically the premium is not much different if he/she is below age 30.
humbble
QUOTE(Colaboy @ Oct 2 2008, 03:29 PM)
You are speaking about the upgrade of H&S for RM150K to RM180K?
Well it  really depends on the client current age . . .  Basically the premium is not much different if he/she is below age 30.

Allianz did something which tempted a lot of agents from other insurance company to join them.

Regardless of age, as long he or she is an existing customer of Allianz medical card called Health Vantage or Investment linked Medicover, not increase of premium for an increase of RM150,000 to RM500,000.

P.I.M.P
I think I have Prudential Investment linked insurance. Another one is from Maybank insurance. Both is life insurance i think.

Not too sure about the details of my insurance company because my mum bought it for me 4-5 years ago. That time I dunno nuts about insurance. Only heard of insurance agent skeptism.
leongal
buy for cover, invest the rest.....i too pay about rm 3,000 - rm 4,000 a year, i cant terminate the policies, because my mum is the agent =.='
Colaboy
QUOTE(leongal @ Oct 23 2008, 01:22 PM)
buy for cover, invest the rest.....i too pay about rm 3,000 - rm 4,000 a year, i cant terminate the policies, because my mum is the agent =.='

very good daughter ^^ hehe
P.I.M.P
QUOTE(leongal @ Oct 23 2008, 01:22 PM)

I'm sure all mums wants their children to have a safe financial future. Insurance is part of it. Investment is another.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.