Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Gigabyte: Asus Lied & Fooled Customers
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Hardware
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
tech3910
i dun really get it..............

1) asus did not really mek any effort clearing their name............

2) little people know bout the apologized b coz it doesn't really made big.........

3) y there r so little news bout the war?

p/s:
who cares about supporting which brand........
just buy the 1 dat u think most suited 4 ur usage......
Core_Tracer
i thought its over aready,lol blink.gif
aminius
i buy gigabyte mobo just because they are cheaper~~
jasonkwk
QUOTE(aminius @ Jun 26 2008, 01:06 PM)
i buy gigabyte mobo just because they are cheaper~~

which model is cheaper?
phragan
I Like Gigabyte. Already few pc using this mobo without fail
super macgyver
a fren of mine just bought one gigabyte am2 sli MB from lyp tis April, it is a faulty one with its sata chip controller, collect rma after 1 month is still the same MB, the distri In-Force said it is problem free, my fren feel like WTF. doh.gif
merzchan
recently i encounter problems with my new gigabyte board. my board having compatible problems with certain vga card & it had kill my vga card.
skylinegtr34rule4life
i will continue support asus no matter what happens 2 asus. i planning 2 get ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA X48 board soon. brows.gif brows.gif
digita1tech
NAhh......GIGABYTE is no where near ASUS.........ASUS pricey came with a price.......QUALITY......also so many features........

Get ASUS board if u need a high end mobo........with extra features...(yah....maybe someone didnt like the ASUS features......if you dont like it...go for cheaper brand)

I see that ASUS good in terms of extra features.....!!! So worth to pay extra....

p/s i dont trust gigabyte claims.........just business game they play to kill other brand!!!
ReWeR
Actually is hard to justify who's correct (since I'm also not a hardware specialist), but the creditablity was quite doubtful if it's come from your competitors. I think someone who is neutral and good knowledge in mobo need to justify on this instead we all guessing here.
tomatos
QUOTE(digita1tech @ Jul 1 2008, 10:35 AM)
NAhh......GIGABYTE is no where near ASUS.........ASUS pricey came with a price.......QUALITY......also so many features........

Get ASUS board if u need a high end mobo........with extra features...(yah....maybe someone didnt like the ASUS features......if you dont like it...go for cheaper brand)

I see that ASUS good in terms of extra features.....!!! So worth to pay extra....

p/s i dont trust gigabyte claims.........just business game they play to kill other brand!!!

You sound more like a fanboy without any reasoning for Asus having more features.
waif
Another tech website that has statistical number to prove the fake marketing tactics of ASUS yet again.

This time they tested the Asus P5N-D motherboard.
Really prove that DES is totally fake.

It even shows that Asus board consume more power compare to ABIT board.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboard...s-p5n-d_15.html

I will be supporting ABIT more than Asus.
digita1tech
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jul 1 2008, 11:09 AM)
You sound more like a fanboy without any reasoning for Asus having more features.

Im no fanboy...........because......i will change into Abit for next couple of weeks!!! tongue.gif
If u use Asus......from 1999.......you'll know what i mean.........it has many features (some are usable, some are useless)......like Boot Logo Screen(even my Pentium 3 mobo got this features) which is not that important....but still....extra features than any other motherboard at that time......
In my opinion....if high end mobo.......its better with Asus......!! Low and mid stay away because its pricey...... nod.gif

p/s its stupid for Gigabyte that i consider noobie in this Tech to claims such thing.......Asus has more product good quality product range!!
tomatos
QUOTE(digita1tech @ Jul 1 2008, 05:16 PM)
Im no fanboy...........because......i will change into Abit for next couple of weeks!!! tongue.gif
If u use Asus......from 1999.......you'll know what i mean.........it has many features (some are usable, some are useless)......like Boot Logo Screen(even my Pentium 3 mobo got this features) which is not that important....but still....extra features than any other motherboard at that time......
In my opinion....if high end mobo.......its better with Asus......!! Low and mid stay away because its pricey...... nod.gif
p/s its stupid for Gigabyte that i consider noobie in this Tech to claims such thing.......Asus has more product good quality product range!!

Have you use Gigabyte?
xpresside
QUOTE(digita1tech @ Jul 1 2008, 05:16 PM)

i dont know what to say, your statement dont have any reasoning..u say something is good but why is it good? quality product range? what product? very subjective..please support your facts with some evidence or something to convince nub ppl like me
can tell me what extra features that asus have that gigabyte dont?
Matrix
I swore by Gigabyte. ASUS was good, but now their quality just sucks with many mobos having problems and never fixed (like the M3A).

And yeah, nothing special about ASUS "features". All mobo manufacturer have more or less similar features nowdays.

It only depends on the price.
xpresside
i think the 1 feature that i can think now is that asus got 1 mobo with built in wifi, the others most dun hav yawn.gif
cstkl1
dude all of u talking rubbish
.. u guys havent even used enough products from different manufactorers

as i said.. i have used many boards and have no loyalty..

quality of boards depends on which series and how much u want to spend one each manufactorers chipset line..

they all have high-end to low-end
my terminology of high-lowend is based on pricing is this
high end - rm1k+
mid end - RM700-999
low end - RM400-699
anything below rm400 is crap.. and u pay for for what u get.. also here is the biggest margin of profit by the board makers..

my bias to gaygay again is because of the FAE... 3 incidents with 3 different chipsets from gaygay's dq6's.

this is beyond all ure noobish experience..

so close this topic as u guys clearly are just being plain silly...
every manufacturer has a certain board that they f***ed up..

abit with their x38's
foxcon with their x38's
gaygay with their entire nvidia chipsets.
dfi - non that i can think off
asus - non that i can think off
msi - non that i can think off -their price is exactly = performance features offered
biostar - their am2 lines 590/570 was excellent... but their whole intel line other than the current p45 is embarrassing.

but among all this board dfi is freaking expensive.. it comes with a ridiculous bundle.. yet nobody b****es about them..

among all this manufacturers only msi/gaygay/asus caters for everybody
from noobish idiot with a budget to those with unlimited budget and also to those who want fine tune their system.

as for rma.. dude thats up to god/shipment/ ah fat and co.. etc
up to ure luck..only board i have ever rmaed last 3 years.. which is out of more than 10-15 boards i have used from different manufactorers.. heck most of my boards.. i use no more than 3-4 months had no isse.. is EvGA 680's

i find that a lot of u screw up ure mobo because of this
1. bad cooling
2. bad case air flow
3. bad cable management.
4. bad psu

thats what i have to say to u guys all .. so just close this silly topic
danieljoey
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 1 2008, 06:16 PM)
dude all of u talking rubbish
.. u guys havent even used enough products from different manufactorers

as i said.. i have used many boards and have no loyalty..

quality of boards depends on which series and how much u want to spend one each manufactorers chipset line..

they all have high-end to low-end
my terminology of high-lowend is based on pricing is this
high end - rm1k+
mid end - RM700-999
low end - RM400-699
anything below rm400 is crap.. and u pay for for what u get.. also here is the biggest margin of profit by the board makers..

my bias to gaygay again is because of the FAE... 3 incidents with 3 different chipsets from gaygay's dq6's.

this is beyond all ure noobish experience..

so close this topic as u guys clearly are just being plain silly...
every manufacturer has a certain board that they f***ed up..

abit with their x38's
foxcon with their x38's
gaygay with their entire nvidia chipsets.
dfi - non that i can think off
asus - non that i can think off
msi - non that i can think off -their price is exactly = performance features offered
biostar - their am2 lines 590/570 was excellent... but their whole intel line other than the current p45 is embarrassing.

but among all this board dfi is freaking expensive.. it comes with a ridiculous bundle.. yet nobody b****es about them..

among all this manufacturers only msi/gaygay/asus caters for everybody
from noobish idiot with a budget to those with unlimited budget and also to those who want fine tune their system.

as for rma.. dude thats up to god/shipment/ ah fat and co.. etc
up to ure luck..only board i have ever rmaed last 3 years.. which is out of more than 10-15 boards i have used from different manufactorers.. heck most of my boards.. i use no more than 3-4 months had no isse.. is EvGA 680's

i find that a lot of u screw up ure mobo because of this
1. bad cooling
2. bad case air flow
3. bad cable management.
4. bad psu

thats what i have to say to u guys all .. so just close this silly topic

mystery solve... notworthy.gif
FoxNope

Nice one dude, you helped alot people today.
johnkor
In JOB Gimmic!
jasonkwk
just end like that without any explanation to the both Asus and Gigabyte customer?
Core_Tracer
mod,topic closed?
memkingdom
No matter is Gigabyte or Asus, I will only consider the warranty period they are given. Low-end ASUS mo bo is provided only 1 year warranty (as what I know), but Gigabyte provide longer than them. I think this is the main part that I will consider, because I really don't know what meterial they are use to assemble the mother board ( a lower grade one / or first grade one), so better got enough warranty period to secure my investment.
zeustronic
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jul 2 2008, 12:33 AM)
just end like that without any explanation to the both Asus and Gigabyte customer?

Finally we got some explaination from a Legit Reviews.

The Conclusions

So, in the end, who is the winner?  I would have to say first off that the winner is the consumer.  Less power being used means less money flying out the door to the utility company, and that is a good thing for the pocketbook, especially with gas prices headed the direction they are.  I would also say that the environment is a winner.  I am not going to get all politically correct.  In fact, no matter what your view is, you would have to admit that using less power is a good thing.  Just the fact that we are even talking about this subject is a good thing.  We have a responsibility to take care of the earth, and this certainly can help.  I applaud both Asus and Gigabyte for there desire to decrease the power used by personal computing. 

Both boards are great performers, so anyone looking to build a system built around either of these boards will be happy.  But as we said in the beginning of this article, now that the performance gap has decreased between boards and chipsets, there are other things that will come in to play.  Overclocking is a big one, but power saving is also a major concern for people today.  That being said, the Asus certainly offers a wider range of flexibility for the user.  The Asus board also provides the greatest amount of power saving between these two boards.

Wondering what happened between ASUS and Gigabyte? Well, ASUS sued Gigabyte for defamatory and false accusations at the end of May 2008. A couple weeks later it was reported that Gigabyte was going to apologize.  Our testing shows that the apology was indeed needed as the ASUS board is more efficient!

Legit Bottom Line:  If one of the major factors in your motherboard purchase is to have a great board that gives great power saving features, then the Asus P5E3 Premium (and certainly other Asus boards with the EPU feature) will be a great choice for your rig.

Source

maxburnz
haha...in the end giga juz make a false statement that only cost them a bunch.:sigh:
TristanX
That sums things up. Glad that I didn't make the wrong choice for the motherboard of this generation after using Asus motherboards for 10 years.
presto86
I've tried many gigabyte and abit mobos since Athlon(Thunderbird) and Pentium III. For some reason i always ended up with Asus mobos. Asus Mobos always seem to pass memtest86 with 4 ram modules. Gigabyte and Abit couldn't pass it at all. Maybe i'm just unlucky =.=

Recently i upgraded to E8400, bought Abit Fatality w/nv650i chipset, couldn't pass memtest86. Switched over to Gigabyte w/P35, couldn't pass memtest86. Ended up with Asus P5N-D. now running @ 3.8ghz without any problems or watsoever.

Ram modules: OCZ Reaper HTC PC-6400

Tough luck for me i guess....
tech3910
THIS THREAD ALREADY LONG DEAD.
EVEN ASUS & GIGABYTE THEMSELVES HAS SETTLE THIS CASE.
PLS DO NOT REPLY IN THIS THREAD ANYMORE.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.