z3171600
Jun 11 2008, 08:22 PM
OK. I get this info from Wikipedia and I think I read it in engadget from computex coverage last week. Apparently the 10" version will go on sale in US on the 16th of June. In case if any of you guys didn't know, the pricing is USD399 for Linux and USD549 for XP version.
toughnut
Jun 11 2008, 08:26 PM
it's already in first post.
cheers
z3171600
Jun 11 2008, 09:30 PM
Didn't realise that. In any case, 5 more days until 16th of June. Hopefully it does come out on that day and won't repeat Everex Cloudbook (I hope I spell it right)
angelayen
Jun 12 2008, 12:48 PM
i like the pink color, nice color
tpl
Jun 12 2008, 08:57 PM

dunno how reliable n durable
z3171600
Jun 17 2008, 11:35 AM
Well3, it seems it getting delayed. Dunno how true it is.
Spade
Jun 17 2008, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ May 14 2008, 12:46 PM)
at usd400 and usd550, my money is on wind. time for eee to go
advantages of wind over eee
1. atom 1.6ghz cpu
2. dual slot ram,
dual channel possibilities3. proper 2.5in hdd cage = 500gb laptop hdd or SSD
4. high res screen
5. built-in bluetooth
disadvantages
1. heavier
2. already have eeePC

, but blown away soon
2. so far none

No such luck. AFAIK its only for single channel.
JayC75
Jun 18 2008, 02:55 PM
can get in low yat already?
z3171600
Jun 18 2008, 09:24 PM
No. Not yet. It was available for pre-order from some website but it was quickly sold out. However, it only expected to be deliver to those who pre-order on the 27th June.
Another thing is, it seems the battery shortage affect MSI Wind as well. Thus, it will only ship with 3 cell battery now. 6 cell battery will be available sometime in June. However, I have no idea when it will make it to our shore.
JayC75
Jun 19 2008, 08:25 AM
the price is good, around RM18xx, better than hp mini note.
iRonTech
Jun 19 2008, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(JayC75 @ Jun 19 2008, 08:25 AM)
the price is good, around RM18xx, better than hp mini note.
how about the build up quality?
stevenlys
Jun 20 2008, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 19 2008, 08:27 AM)
how about the build up quality?
How you know the price? Isit selling in Lowyat?
Superman7
Jun 21 2008, 02:02 PM
Still nobody know if the Wind is already in sale?
iRonTech
Jun 21 2008, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(stevenlys @ Jun 20 2008, 03:44 PM)
How you know the price? Isit selling in Lowyat?

I don't know the price, but as my personal predict it should be below Rm 1.5k (try to compete eee pc

)
JayC75
Jun 23 2008, 02:54 PM
don think can get that cheap, i guess is close to RM2k, as US price is USD550
Superman7
Jun 24 2008, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(JayC75 @ Jun 23 2008, 02:54 PM)
don think can get that cheap, i guess is close to RM2k, as US price is USD550
I think so as well..
JayC75
Jun 24 2008, 10:13 AM
still better buy then hp mini note, i don like the processor it use..
michaeltan1943
Jun 26 2008, 09:21 PM
I heard it is being sold in Imbi, ground floor, some shop at 1899
z3171600
Jun 26 2008, 09:29 PM
I really2 dun think so. The possible shipping date for those who pre-order (I'm not sure from which website though) is 27th June. And there is possibility of another delay!
Susuwatari
Jun 26 2008, 10:51 PM
The shipping date has been delayed to mid of July according to some Taiwanese forum and the ppl there are making noise. FYI, first batch of Wind already reach shanghai few days ago, albeit in limited quantity.
z3171600
Jun 26 2008, 10:58 PM
No wonder someone in the msiwind.net forum mentioned he seeing wind in china cities (not sure which maybe shanghai). I didn't mentioned this in my previous post as I'm not sure my memory serves me right about it

and too lazy to check it again.
But IINM, the guy said it cost significantly more than USD500. Sorry not sure the actual price. Too lazy to go there and reading the same thing over and over again (possibility of delay and issues of 3 cell battery)
Susuwatari
Jun 26 2008, 11:08 PM
z3171600,
yup, more than USD500 cause it's around RMB4300+ ...
raoul
Jun 27 2008, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2008, 09:21 PM)
I heard it is being sold in Imbi, ground floor, some shop at 1899
Nope, what they selling at Low Yat ground floor is the Eee PC 900.
Dealers has raised the price to RM1899 from the original price RM1699.
JahBulNur
Jun 27 2008, 11:07 AM
Hei All,
Saw in Shanghai they are launching MSI Wind at pre-order and collect this weekend at RMB4399 (abt MYR2070).
Its DDR2-2GB and 3cells Batt. Normal retail at RMB4999 (abt MYR2380)
Singapore is retailing st SGD869 (abt MYR2035) w DDR2-1GB.
Only prob - WinXP Home Chinese version...
Machine is kool can be yr tavel partner all times.
z3171600
Jun 27 2008, 11:27 AM
From pre-order website, msi shop and buy.com, they listed the price for 3 cells at 479USD while 6 cells at USD499. Now I'm wondering why the price for Wind in Asia higher than in US. They assemble in USA? Highly unlikely. Higher shipping cost (Go to US through pacific first - who whould do that lol)?
michaeltan1943
Jun 27 2008, 12:12 PM
i just bought it lah, go to Imbi, ground floor.
z3171600
Jun 27 2008, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:12 PM)
Michaeltan,
Feast us with the photos of your newly beloved WIND. How much does it cost? RM1899?
I'm so excited already. Haha. What color you bought? Too bad I live in Negri Sembilan or else I'm checking it out at Imbi.
michaeltan1943
Jun 27 2008, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jun 27 2008, 11:27 AM)
From pre-order website, msi shop and buy.com, they listed the price for 3 cells at 479USD while 6 cells at USD499. Now I'm wondering why the price for Wind in Asia higher than in US. They assemble in USA? Highly unlikely. Higher shipping cost (Go to US through pacific first - who whould do that lol)?
things are always cheaper in msia ie asian pricing. Asus 900 is 549 (RM1756 at 3.2 exchange rate) but here can get RM1600.
unnamed
Jun 27 2008, 02:31 PM
the msi wind at imbi is 3-cell (3 hours battery life) and costs ~rm1999. also, the msi wind's actual size is like eeepc1000 (much bigger than normal eeepc, if u are used to eeepc's size).
raoul
Jun 27 2008, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(unnamed @ Jun 27 2008, 02:31 PM)
the msi wind at imbi is 3-cell (3 hours battery life) and costs ~rm1999. also, the msi wind's actual size is like eeepc1000 (much bigger than normal eeepc, if u are used to eeepc's size).
Very pricey for MSI Wind running on 3-cell for RM1999.
Perhaps the dealer mark-up the price cause the price estimated should be around RM1.6 - RM1.7k for the 3-cell.
No point getting Intel Atom but can last 3 hours usage.
Better wait for the 6-cell (5-6 hours battery life) but than the price will be above RM2k
z3171600
Jun 27 2008, 04:51 PM
Yeah, a very pricey price. The Wind getting less and less attractive by the minute.
sfim
Jun 27 2008, 04:58 PM
Superman7
Jun 28 2008, 12:29 AM
anybody know the price in S'pore?
kimganner
Jun 28 2008, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(unnamed @ Jun 27 2008, 02:31 PM)
yup yup...saw the real deal (demo set) at recent PC Show in S'pore. was told then estimated RRP will be SG$859 (3-cell batt). & when holding it, screen's bigger & it's much heavier than eeePC 900 (bigger screen + HDD).
michaeltan1943
Jun 28 2008, 09:05 PM
to be honest, I have used both and the Asus is much more smaller and portable. Let's face it, 8.9 inch cukup lah. Can do everything.
the wind though same weight is bigger and bulkier than the Asus.
Also Asus Hard Disk is much much better, jatuh also, nothing happens. You can throw it here and there a SD drive is much much more advanced.
Why need more than 20GB? Taruk porn kah?
kimganner
Jun 28 2008, 11:04 PM
haha....ya lah. at 1st, i also thought 10" + 80GB HDD, bigger = better, right? then i saw the MSI Wind & got to have a feel of it...it's nice, but i was thinking...the size of the 10" MSI Wind, very close to a 12" or even my (then) 13" Macbook. might as well top up few hundred more & get a full fledged C2D laptop...
but what i really need is a portable laptop. when i had my Macbook, i ended up rarely using it. cos it's just too heavy for me to bring around jalan2 every day....shoulders also wanna patah already. some more on the S'pore MRT, if get a seat & wanna bring out a laptop the Macbook's size is SO leceh...either i heck care & elbow the people sitting next to me, or i try very hard to take out the lappy w/o elbowing them. both also difficult. then when reach my stop, gabrah...need to rush out with lappy in hand. not that easy to dump a 13" lappy into the bag.
then 7" eeePC also i saw up close & in action (client's event). size was great. very portable. but the screen + resolution not my cup of kopi. 8.9" @ 1024x600res really does seem like the sweet spot.
limboonsiang
Jun 29 2008, 09:55 PM
I ada pergi Imbi ground floor. cari dua jam tak dapat.
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2008, 08:12 PM)
iRonTech
Jul 1 2008, 01:33 PM
JayC75
Jul 2 2008, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 1 2008, 01:33 PM)
where do u get this banner from? low yat which shop?
iRonTech
Jul 2 2008, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(JayC75 @ Jul 2 2008, 08:08 AM)
where do u get this banner from? low yat which shop?
saw it on monday newspaper ad. pm me for details if interest
i'm not seller nor help any seller...just to avoid
Action: Commercial-oriented posts, blatant commercial advertising, referral links, links in signatures for commercial purposes are not allowed. The exception would be links to threads in the Trade Zone in your signature.
Result: Links removed and a warning will be issued, repeat offenders will have their accounts suspended.
z3171600
Jul 2 2008, 12:13 PM
Thanx for the information IronTech. I just call them. But they asked me to call another number. Huhu. I just stop there.
iRonTech
Jul 2 2008, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 2 2008, 12:13 PM)
Thanx for the information IronTech. I just call them. But they asked me to call another number. Huhu. I just stop there.

what is the CPU & battery spec?
selvenz
Jul 2 2008, 02:47 PM
cpu is atom and batterry is 3 cell just got back from there. they have white n oink available
z3171600
Jul 2 2008, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(selvenz @ Jul 2 2008, 02:47 PM)
cpu is atom and batterry is 3 cell just got back from there. they have white n oink available
Did you grab one

?
Superman7
Jul 2 2008, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(selvenz @ Jul 2 2008, 02:47 PM)
Where is the shop?
z3171600
Jul 2 2008, 09:55 PM
The address is
No151, Jln SS2/24, 47300 PJ.
I don't know where that is lol.
Superman7
Jul 3 2008, 10:54 AM
Are they selling the 6-cell battery as well?
Anybody knows if the Wind is directly from Taiwan or it's an official distributor in M'sia? The concern would be on the warranty.
raoul
Jul 3 2008, 11:08 AM
At the moment all MSI Wind comes with 3 cell battery...MSI said 6 cell only will be released in few months time.
sewerside
Jul 3 2008, 02:34 PM
wat's the shop name in the SS2 address? quite interest to get one
raoul
Jul 3 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(sewerside @ Jul 3 2008, 02:34 PM)
wat's the shop name in the SS2 address? quite interest to get one
It's better to hold on first your purchase.
I suggest you to check out the Eee PC 901 which shall be out anytime this few weeks.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.