Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: MSI Wind
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Mobile Computing
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Hico
anyone here who own 901 can put up some photos? mostly we see the pic from review but never see any from the users yet! can share?
WHITE ACE
Sure wil share wif guys here laugh.gif
But wil probably pre-order wif down payment since most don't hav d stocks yet. I wil probably hav it on hand on 2nd August. Gonna remind d dealer to install some useful programmes for me and ask them to full charged d battery for me. Save time mah~icon_idea.gif

If MSI had a better battery life, they would had won since it is al about mobility.

Added on July 21, 2008, 7:16 pm hmm.gif
There is good news n a bad news to Eee 901 prospects.

Good news- Asus give Eee owner free 20GB online storage @ YoStore.

Bad news- not sure Malaysia buyers gonna get it or not?
michaeltan1943
managed to get the Wind today at RM1599!

Wow, price is dropping daily!

At first it was RM2000 plus
Hico
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 21 2008, 02:19 PM)
Sure wil share wif guys here laugh.gif
But wil probably pre-order wif down payment since most don't hav d stocks yet. I wil probably hav it on hand on 2nd August. Gonna remind d dealer to install some useful programmes for me and ask them to full charged d battery for me. Save time mah~icon_idea.gif

If MSI had a better battery life, they would had won since it is al about mobility.

Added on July 21, 2008, 7:16 pm hmm.gif
There is good news n a bad news to Eee 901 prospects.

Good news- Asus give Eee owner free 20GB online storage @ YoStore.

Bad news- not sure Malaysia buyers gonna get it or not?

why not??? only for other country buyers???

Added on July 21, 2008, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:51 PM)

At forst it was RM2000 plus

can take some photo of your newbie??? brows.gif
michaeltan1943
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 21 2008, 08:53 PM)
why not??? only for other country buyers???

Added on July 21, 2008, 8:53 pm

can take some photo of your newbie???  brows.gif

I did not buy, just nego for a friend
Hico
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:55 PM)
I did not buy, just nego for a friend

till now i still not yet see the real thing of wind..except the photos in the review site! hmm.gif
michaeltan1943
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 21 2008, 09:01 PM)
till now i still not yet see the real thing of wind..except the photos in the review site!  hmm.gif

hico, go to Imbi lah, got like 5 people selling it on ground floor. In LYP, go to 2nd floor, Atom and Jayacom on 3rd
Hico
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 21 2008, 09:28 PM)
hico, go to Imbi lah, got like 5 people selling it on ground floor. In LYP, go to 2nd floor, Atom and Jayacom on 3rd

i am not in kl lor..or else i oledi bring back 901 brows.gif
jchay
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:51 PM)

At first it was RM2000 plus

wow...wat color is that ? 2GB RAM also?
wufei
Hard to choose between asus and msi
toughnut
price drop is always a good thing haha. waiting for all netbook to drop price. eying on wind and eee901.
michaeltan1943
QUOTE(wufei @ Jul 21 2008, 11:04 PM)
Hard to choose between asus and msi

once dell come out, easier to choose as dell has the best quality and service. Anyone has any idea on msi quality?
lynsuxxx
1st question, when will Dell launch? I'm damn keen with the UMPC as I'm tiring with my 'gigantic' laptop anymore, lol.

2nd, Michael, which shop offer you 1599RM for Wind? XP version? 2Gb Ram? white color?

901 is nice, may I know where can I view the real thing? maybe will go hunt in Low Yat in the coming few days...
WHITE ACE
shocking.gif
Latest news:

Asus slashed price on Eee 1000H $100

This means we need to wait for awhile.

Somebody got feelings kicked on d groin coz they pre- order n within now 1 week price gone down ...Damn.

So be caution n watch price steady out 1st b4 buying.

Rumors -most UMPC wil reduce price within these few weeks time.

Jus be patient since most stocks were not available especially 901
wufei
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 21 2008, 11:44 PM)
once dell come out, easier to choose as dell has the best quality and service. Anyone has any idea on msi quality?

I never favour dell and will never buy dell
ajay67
price dropping? very good news if this trend continue.
michaeltan1943
soon all netbook will be abt RM999 to RM1200.
That is the whole reason of a netbook .... cheap.

Only a fool will buy a netbook for RM1999, the price of a coreduo notebook.
Hico
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 22 2008, 09:32 AM)
soon all netbook will be abt RM999 to RM1200.
That is the whole reason of a netbook .... cheap.
Only a fool will buy a netbook for RM1999, the price of a coreduo notebook.

hmm..think will wait till august b4 i bought one drool.gif
raoul

Here's a picture of the Wind compared with a A4 size paper.

MSI Wind is not too big....it's still smaller than the A4 !!
it's just some said it big cause they compared it with EeePC 900/901.

Hico
quite nice..does it come with bluetooth?
raoul
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 22 2008, 11:37 AM)
quite nice..does it come with bluetooth?

Yep...with Bluetooth EDR 2.0

Here's more of the MSI Wind biggrin.gif
Gurdian
raoul, just wondering, where and how much did u get ur xp wind for?
raoul
QUOTE(Gurdian @ Jul 22 2008, 01:14 PM)
raoul, just wondering, where and how much did u get ur xp wind for?

You can get good deal at Imbi which I believe is cheaper than LowYat.

Nego for the best deal around and seller might offer you RM1.7k++ cash term bundled with original XP.

Hico
QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 22 2008, 12:38 PM)
Here's more of the MSI Wind  biggrin.gif

the screen colour seems like quite fresh..how abt the speed???
iRonTech
QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 22 2008, 12:38 PM)
Here's more of the MSI Wind  biggrin.gif

cool!! hv u upgraded any ram?
raoul
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 22 2008, 01:50 PM)
the screen colour seems like quite fresh..how abt the speed???

Screen is matte...non-glossy and would not cause any glaring if you're outdoor.

Processor speed is good & snappy...if I need it to handle hungry power program...I just need to upgrade to 2GB RAM but at the moment I'm satify with the standard 1Gb RAM.

Hico
QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 22 2008, 02:13 PM)
Screen is matte...non-glossy and would not cause any glaring if you're outdoor.

Processor speed is good & snappy...if I need it to handle hungry power program...I just need to upgrade to 2GB RAM but at the moment I'm satify with the standard 1Gb RAM.

1gb should be enough for normal use..but if you upgrade the ram..will it void the waranty?
-edited
raoul
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 22 2008, 02:25 PM)
1gb should be enough for normal use..but if you upgrade the ram..will it void the waranty?

According to the seller, it will NOT void the warrenty for any RAM upgrade.

Due to stock shortage, MSI Malaysia only got 2 main distributor for Wind and only supplied to those authorized few privilange MSI re-seller.

iRonTech
drool.gif drool.gif got tested on the MSI Wind, really cool. I kinda like the reduce heat part, compare to asus eee pc 701 (unsure how the 901/1000 heat issue) its really comfortable both palm on the keyboard+palm rest area. thumbup.gif
daijoubu
ANy word on the 6 cell battery for the Wind? 0.o
WHITE ACE
August is a month for waiting. I know u wan it now but am more desperate here, stil i gonna stick wif tat old chunk heavy laptop.

Now July Asus 1000H had cut USD100 n MSI Wind is cutting price XP to RM1700. Asus 901 were in stock shortage worldwide, price war stil firing hard for weeks to come coz over priced, MSI Wind 6 cells wil probably end of August, Dell wil launch it Dell E series soon on early August if not mistaken.

So,why rush? Not even during PC FAIR tis August. D benchmark here is wait for Dell E or MSI Wind 6 cells then only make the decision. Hope my urge can tahan til mid August.

My hand so itchy now...Damn

I don't wan to regret after few days buying coz of better bargain or latest release. I know...but hell tis August is crucial to wait for... whistling.gif
daijoubu
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 23 2008, 12:00 AM)
August is a month for waiting. I know u wan it now but am more desperate here, stil i gonna stick wif tat old chunk heavy laptop.

Now July Asus 1000H had cut  USD100 n MSI Wind is cutting price XP to RM1700. Asus 901 were in stock shortage worldwide, price war stil firing hard for weeks to come coz over priced, MSI Wind 6 cells wil probably end of August, Dell wil launch it Dell E series soon on early August if not mistaken. 

So,why rush? Not even during PC FAIR tis August. D benchmark here is wait for Dell E or MSI Wind 6 cells then only make the decision. Hope my urge can tahan til mid August.

My hand so itchy now...Damn

I don't wan to regret after few days buying coz of better bargain or latest release. I know...but hell tis August is crucial to wait for... whistling.gif

Lol exactly my sentiment

The only big thing dragging the Wind down is the 3 cell battery. Hopefully by the time the 6 cell one surfaces, and Dell E surfaces, prices of the Wind and EEE PC 901 will go down. September shud be the buy-a-netbook month tongue.gif
mafeya
Just a little something of my wind. smile.gif

Will be adding more to it and will answer questions if anyones interested.

http://tek.kotuki.com/?p=26
Hico
QUOTE(mafeya @ Jul 23 2008, 02:51 AM)

Thank you very much for providing the useful photos! At least we will have a overall info what is in the box! icon_idea.gif
dos
Vista on the wind

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4505
iRonTech
QUOTE(dos @ Jul 23 2008, 12:53 PM)

blink.gif wow..such a big different huh on the performance battery life
Hico
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 23 2008, 01:36 PM)
blink.gif wow..such a big different huh on the performance battery life

Why using vista, it seems like better than xp?? i tot it will make the speed slower???
daijoubu
Btw, to Wind users, may i ask, is the trackpad hard to use? And is there a vertical scroll feature like on notebooks?

Thanks smile.gif
dos
Maybe vista runs ok after you switch off aero/indexing all that stuff?
raoul
QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jul 23 2008, 05:07 PM)
Btw, to Wind users, may i ask, is the trackpad hard to use? And is there a vertical scroll feature like on notebooks?

Thanks smile.gif

I'm a Wind user & the trackpad is much smoother than my Compaq V3000 series notebook.

I used to own EEE PC 701 before and the trackpad on Wind is much smoother to control.

Yes, it has a vertical scroll eventhough there's no any marking line on the trackpad.

hussam_o_r
just bought it
good speed good style bad battery life 4 the 3 cel battrey
michaeltan1943
how is msi quality as compared to Asus?

As far as motherboards for PC are concerned, I know Asus is top notch for quality.

What about Msi?
daijoubu
QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 23 2008, 06:10 PM)
I'm a Wind user & the trackpad is much smoother than my Compaq V3000 series notebook.

I used to own EEE PC 701 before and the trackpad on Wind is much smoother to control.

Yes, it has a vertical scroll eventhough there's no any marking line on the trackpad.

Thanks for the info smile.gif. Thank goodness it has that.

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:52 PM)

As far as motherboards for PC are concerned, I know Asus is top notch for quality.

What about Msi?

MSI's build quality on the Wind has been praised in most reviews on the web =D
iRonTech
QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 23 2008, 01:45 PM)
Why using vista, it seems like better than xp?? i tot it will make the speed slower???

biggrin.gif remove those unnecessary annoying startup clock/calender its fast

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:52 PM)

What about Msi?

I tested the demo unit, black color, quality built SOLID, + i kinda like their keyboard & touch pad design which is quite soft thumbup.gif

Added on July 24, 2008, 8:17 am
QUOTE(mafeya @ Jul 23 2008, 02:51 AM)

sweat.gif why the can't built the power adapter like eee 701? laugh.gif (almost exactly same size like phone charger rclxms.gif rclxms.gif )

hussam_o_r
hi
i used everest 4.5
and shows that its has 2 cores how is that possible ?
z3171600
Huh really? I thought the atom they're using in current netbook is only single core.
Spade
QUOTE(hussam_o_r @ Jul 24 2008, 11:07 AM)
hi
i used everest 4.5
and shows that its has 2 cores how is that possible ?

I believe its because of hyperthreading = 2 logical core (not physical though)
iRonTech
QUOTE(Spade @ Jul 24 2008, 11:22 AM)
I believe its because of hyperthreading = 2 logical core (not physical though)

nod.gif nod.gif its HT from P4
Spade
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 24 2008, 11:33 AM)
nod.gif  nod.gif its HT from P4

Correct. Old tech has been reborn.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.