Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: MSI Wind
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Mobile Computing
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
selvenz
computerwar ss2 but they only have pink 3 cell. local warranty xp home version.
raoul
For Malaysia & Singapore, only white & pink for the 1st batch.

Actually the pink colour is very nice....not too pinkish wor and have 2 tone colour....but still definitely not for me.

It will surely attract female buyers the moment they lay eyes on it.
Susuwatari
The looks is good but can't tahan the 3 cell battery ...
Spade
<wrong post, please delete it for me>
darknessfall
You guys know and retailers or shops in Penang selling Wind?
cymon
pretty power saver i guess.
worth for long term investment.
limboonsiang
Yes, Computer War at SS2.

Saw it, the boss is a real great salesman, wanted me to buy the pinky one.

Other colors might come 2-3 weeks later. There's a white one, but it's broken.

The keyboard size is quite good. Anyway, still waiting for 6-cell ones.

Added on July 4, 2008, 11:23 pmSeemed like many people are experiencing problems getting their WiFi working...

http://forums.msiwind.net/general-discussi...-wind-t764.html

Not much of a netbook after all?

z3171600
QUOTE(limboonsiang @ Jul 4 2008, 07:26 PM)

The keyboard size is quite good. Anyway, still waiting for 6-cell ones

from your poster seems like acer aspire is way more cheaper
Susuwatari
Those having problem with wifi can solve it by installing the latest driver. The download link is available in some taiwanese website.
aindejeje
hey
this one can play dota?
i think i WTB one la
limboonsiang
8.9 inch is too small to me. sad.gif

Would consider Dell E Slim over it.

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 4 2008, 07:00 PM)
[/spoiler]

from your poster seems like acer aspire is way more cheaper

iRonTech
QUOTE(limboonsiang @ Jul 4 2008, 07:26 PM)

The keyboard size is quite good. Anyway, still waiting for 6-cell ones.

Added on July 4, 2008, 11:23 pmSeemed like many people are experiencing problems getting their WiFi working...

http://forums.msiwind.net/general-discussi...-wind-t764.html

Not much of a netbook after all?

lust.gif The Acer pricing is pretty attractive!! compare to the rest ATOM CPU's gadgets
aindejeje
sorry
can play dota this one?
the spec said it using 945 mobo
but it doesnt tell got Intel GMA950 or not
limboonsiang
Hehe. Not into games. Try http://www.forums.msiwind.net/ to get your answer? I find the people are more responsive there, I guess.

QUOTE(aindejeje @ Jul 5 2008, 01:24 AM)
sorry
can play dota this one?
the spec said it using 945 mobo
but it doesnt tell got Intel GMA950 or not

iRonTech
MSI Wind PC review http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=5828

the architecture very similar to Wind notebook, except the CH7.1 & wireless
mitodna
Got people here saying selling 1730myr for White unit at Imbi, by the way, Wind also got SD Card slot la
Superman7
QUOTE(mitodna @ Jul 7 2008, 12:03 AM)
Got people here saying selling 1730myr for White unit at Imbi, by the way, Wind also got SD Card slot la

It's with the 3-cell battery right?
jackdon
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 7 2008, 08:35 AM)
It's with the 3-cell battery right?

Yes 3 Cell battery, I just got one unit MSI Wind U100 Black with an External DVD Writer for RM1,999/=
I upgraded it to 2GB. It comes with Linux. I just reinstalled it with XP and all drivers are included. The speed
is pretty OK. 1GB is on board and 1 free slot for the memory upgrade. Hard disk is 2.5" SATA.

I have a EeePC 901 and it felt more solid build that the MSI IMO. But the keyboard on the MSI is very useable.

jackdon
darknessfall
QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 7 2008, 05:55 PM)
Yes 3 Cell battery, I just got one unit MSI Wind U100 Black with an External DVD Writer for RM1,999/=
I upgraded it to 2GB. It comes with Linux. I just reinstalled it with XP and all drivers are included. The speed
is pretty OK. 1GB is on board and 1 free slot for the memory upgrade. Hard disk is 2.5" SATA.

I have a EeePC 901 and it felt more solid build that the MSI IMO. But the keyboard on the MSI is very useable.

jackdon

I didn't know they came in Linux. May i ask what version of Linux?
...one other thing, i tot upgrading the RAM viods the warranty. plz correct me if i'm wrong tongue.gif
iRonTech
QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 7 2008, 05:55 PM)

jackdon

wow.. congrats u got ur 901 & Wind rclxms.gif

how about the screen display? which one is more comfortable for viewing? eg:- mirror reflex
aindejeje
QUOTE(limboonsiang @ Jul 5 2008, 11:17 PM)
Hehe.  Not into games. Try http://www.forums.msiwind.net/ to get your answer? I find the people are more responsive there, I guess.

check games list here:
MSI WIND GAME LIST
limboonsiang
Selling now in Computer War, Section 2, Petaling Jaya.

They got black, white and pink ones now. RM 1899. (Just got a call from the store)

Hope they pay me commision for this.
blacktrix
jackdon, which store did you buy it from Imbi?
lynsuxxx
I'm very interest with MSI Wind, can any user share their experience on this baby?>

may I know where can I get this with the cheapest price?
WHITE ACE
There is a place @ Imbi Ground floor can offer RM1700 Black Wind wif 2GB Ram. Quoted me last on Sunday.

Happy searching ya~
iRonTech
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 14 2008, 04:59 PM)
There is a place @ Imbi Ground floor can offer RM1700 Black Wind wif 2GB Ram. Quoted me last on Sunday.

Happy searching ya~

blink.gif Rm1.7k? its even cheaper than the official price rclxms.gif oh yah..somemore with 2GB ram
WHITE ACE
Aiyo~ official price is 2 make bigger money one mah. Same LAH...when u hear Acer or Dell prices also d same, further price reduction is possible.

Black Wind is Linux one so need to upgrade 2 XP home add another RM270 for ori. version. Linux problem one la~ many driver problem in later part...many games can't play n compatibility problems wil arise frm Linux,even though it is useful.

RM1700 for Black Wind Linux +2GB Ram is great deal. But hell i bet tis shit would b cheaper when u hunt it down @ KLCC PC FAIR tis August. Strike it on d last day LAH for al possible price n offer war. Tell them u pay CASH. They wil treat u like king.
z3171600
I still cant believe they worked the price up till 1899 for the 3cell version. It suppose to be USD499 for 6cell battery.
iRonTech
QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 14 2008, 06:46 PM)
I still cant believe they worked the price up till 1899 for the 3cell version. It suppose to be USD499 for 6cell battery.

gov tax hike the price ?

z3171600
That doesnt explain the 'normal' price of the other UMPC though.
limboonsiang
The pricing is correct, but as they've announced, the price it's only for USA market. So we cannot assume the price stays the same in other countries. (Well, at least the price here is cheaper than in Singapore the last time I checked)

Anyway, just be patient. In Taiwan, the price is already dropping. If you could wait till end of the year, when Dell releases its netbook models and when Atom processors and batteries are readily available, the price sure jatuh jatuh jatuh jatuh.

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 14 2008, 02:46 AM)

WHITE ACE
Mate...there is no time as right time.
New models wil keep popping out n prices wil keep going down.
Jus invest according 2 ur needs n timing. Am gonna buy Black Wind on August wif upgrade 2GB +XP home. Gonna hit it below RM1900.
I think it wil last me 3~4 yrs b4 replacing it wif a new one.
Matrix
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 14 2008, 06:36 PM)
Aiyo~ official price is 2 make bigger money one mah. Same LAH...when u hear Acer or Dell prices also d same, further price reduction is possible.

Black Wind is Linux one so need to upgrade 2 XP home add another RM270 for ori. version. Linux problem one la~ many driver problem in later part...many games can't play n compatibility problems wil arise frm Linux,even though it is useful.

RM1700 for Black Wind Linux +2GB Ram is great deal. But hell i bet tis shit would b cheaper when u hunt it down @ KLCC PC FAIR tis August. Strike it on d last day LAH for al possible price n offer war. Tell them u pay CASH. They wil treat u like king.

I dun think playing games is an issue with this kinda machines. They won't be able to play any 3D games even from the last 3 years. Only can play simple games like Diner Dash. But i think I'll wait for 6 cell MSI Wind and see.
WHITE ACE
No ... It can play many games WarCraft, Maple Story, Half Life, 3D Soccers, Grand Theft Auto San Andreas n many more. Put in 2GB Ram n c how it rocks man! Don't believe it go Googling n dig some facts.

Added on July 16, 2008, 5:07 pmHere comes a real rival that made me pause awhile.

D Asus Eee PC1000 was same spec wif Wind but Bluetooth ready, all models XP n battery is reported 3 to 6 hrs depends on operations. Only slightly bigger n heavier than MSI Wind.
lynsuxxx
had compared MSI Wind, EEE PC, and Aspire One this noon. I'll go for Wind, may I know which floor of Imbi that quoted 1.7k with 2G ram?
Hico
QUOTE(lynsuxxx @ Jul 20 2008, 05:09 PM)
had compared MSI Wind, EEE PC, and Aspire One this noon. I'll go for Wind, may I know which floor of Imbi that quoted 1.7k with 2G ram?

any specific reason why you go for wind???
lynsuxxx
bigger screen, it is quite obvious compared to EEE 999, bigger keyboard, suit me as I have a rough finger, and nice design. But white color is out of stock...
Hico
QUOTE(lynsuxxx @ Jul 20 2008, 11:07 PM)
bigger screen, it is quite obvious compared to EEE 999, bigger keyboard, suit me as I have a rough finger, and nice design. But white color is out of stock...

how abt the booting speed for both? which one run faster and better? did you try it? rclxub.gif
lynsuxxx
not yet, had tested Wind, quite fast <1minutes I think. But from the first look, I prefer wind (although only 3cells batt), I need something small to travel, my PDA just can't fulfill me, and my laptop is way toooo heavy compared UMPC. Anyone know when do Dell E launch?
Hico
QUOTE(lynsuxxx @ Jul 20 2008, 11:24 PM)
not yet, had tested Wind, quite fast <1minutes I think. But from the first look, I prefer wind (although only 3cells batt), I need something small to travel, my PDA just can't fulfill me, and my laptop is way toooo heavy compared UMPC. Anyone know when do Dell E launch?

me too..i decided to sell my pda after getting one of the netbook.. then get a usual small phone easier for carrying rclxms.gif
lynsuxxx
haha I won't sell my PDA, cos I can use wifi when I'm waiting for others in hotel lobby, and faster access time. Which UMPC u'll decide to buy? and why?
Hico
QUOTE(lynsuxxx @ Jul 20 2008, 11:42 PM)
haha I won't sell my PDA, cos I can use wifi when I'm waiting for others in hotel lobby, and faster access time. Which UMPC u'll decide to buy? and why?

not sure yet..but most probably 901 or aao.. more to 901 drool.gif ...small..big battery life, more free space..wifi n etc...

i will leave my ipaq 512 with me very small! ..it got wifi so still can use for minor surfing.. other all dun wan oledi! cos normally i carry 2 num with me rclxub.gif but if in hotel lobby, can take out umpc to online too!! laugh.gif
lynsuxxx
I never see any 901 today, hmm, anyway I'm only searching around in Sunway Pyramid, no point to bring along the UMPC if you're waiting for people to go for dinner/ drinking session.

I thought 900 is 30Gb but 901 only 12Gb? what's make me interest on 901 is the Atom, compared to Celeron in 900.
Hico
QUOTE(lynsuxxx @ Jul 20 2008, 11:54 PM)
I never see any 901 today, hmm, anyway I'm only searching around in Sunway Pyramid, no point to bring along the UMPC if you're waiting for people to go for dinner/ drinking session.

I thought 900 is 30Gb but 901 only 12Gb? what's make me interest on 901 is the Atom, compared to Celeron in 900.

thats one of the reason i choose 901 too! 901 got better battery life as well compare with 900 and i like 901 design more especially the power button above the keyboard there! xp version only 12 gb. but linux version got 20gb! wondering when will the linux version available here! anyone know about it?
WHITE ACE
Last 2 days something reali beats my ideas. Ok tat wil b later.

MSI Black Wind Linux RM1700 2GB Ram
Is @ Dexcom previously known as Wai-H, Imbi Plaza Ground floor. Somewhere near 2nd entrance facing Vegas Club.
But my idea n experience told me, short battery life is really piss off one since i had experience b4 n trucki won't last u 2hours when LCD bright @ 70% wif running Bluetooth or Wifi n some apps on d background. Also bear in mind, if your battery don't last you over 2 hours what wil d battery life be after 1year? Definitely performance wil further drop. Another guestion is - do i really need that much of storage?

Hence, am now eyeing on Asus Eee 901, d battery life is @ least 4hrs for sure. I believe i can get lower price wif a 2GB Ram upgrade since now retail price is RM1699. It is small n very mobile. Not enough storage? Practically i can only fully utilize al storage by next yr since i don't store movies or mp4 a lot. By next year i may simply buy an 16GB SD card or any that can fill d empty slot.

Asus Eee 901 did make sense after all but glossy black may leaves many finger prints on it. Is ok, i may develope a good cleaning habit n keep it nice within these few years of use.

happy.gif
iRonTech
Its only 3 cell battery ATM, nothing much to compete with 901's 6cell batt smile.gif
Hico
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 21 2008, 11:22 AM)
Last 2 days something reali beats my ideas. Ok tat wil b later.

MSI Black Wind Linux RM1700 2GB Ram
Is @ Dexcom previously known as Wai-H, Imbi Plaza Ground floor. Somewhere near 2nd entrance facing Vegas Club.       
But my idea n experience told me, short battery life is really piss off one since i had experience b4 n trucki won't last u 2hours when LCD bright @ 70% wif running Bluetooth or Wifi n some apps on d background. Also bear in mind, if your battery don't last you over 2 hours what wil d battery life be after 1year? Definitely performance wil further drop.  Another guestion is - do i really need that much of storage? 

Hence, am now eyeing on Asus Eee 901, d battery life is @ least 4hrs for sure. I believe i can get lower price wif a 2GB Ram upgrade since now retail price is RM1699. It is small n very mobile. Not enough storage? Practically i can only fully utilize al storage by next yr since i don't store movies or mp4 a lot. By next year i may simply buy an 16GB SD card or any that can fill d empty slot. 

Asus Eee 901 did make sense after all but glossy black may leaves many finger prints on it. Is ok, i may develope a good cleaning habit n keep it nice within these few years of use.

happy.gif

is the white one also leave finger print? maybe i will consider a white one.. whistling.gif
WHITE ACE
D white is great. Ya...oh~ in practical if it is in gloss plastic finish al finger prints even scratches wil b obvious on dark color but not those white. If d finishing is matte plastic then white is more prone to color fade(dirty) and black wil reign in this.

Never mind, am gonna order Eee 901 this coming Saturday on Low Yat, see which one lucky lah~ or better service.

:-P
Hico
QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Jul 21 2008, 01:58 PM)
D white is great. Ya...oh~ in practical if it is in gloss plastic finish al finger prints even scratches wil b obvious on dark color but not those white. If d finishing is matte plastic then white is more prone to color fade(dirty) and black wil reign in this.

Never mind, am gonna order Eee 901 this coming Saturday on Low Yat, see which one lucky lah~ or better service.

:-P

wow.. must share with us your experience after u get it! rclxms.gif

WHITE ACE
hmm.gif

So many were talking Linux nowadays~

Jus wondering wil match/compatible wif those movie/clips files or not.

Now, Aspire One was great but too far behind frm Eee 901 in d sense of battery n storage. Different is RM300 n this sum can't do much on Aspire One upgrade.
Eee 900? Celeron wil build up a lot of heat, a bad news to sweaty palm fellows. And if you prefer upgrade,it definitely not worth it, better buy Eee 901 instead.
Therefore most supplier were stop taking in Eee900 n selling it out as fast as they can.

U got d picture? rclxms.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.