Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: What focal length do you use most? ExposurePlot!
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
albnok
Ah, finally, found it!

ExposurePlot!

http://www.cpr.demon.nl/prog_plotf.html

Now we can know for sure if we use tele more, or wide, or which end of a zoom, etc. Gonna try this at home!
TheVoIP
Do I need it if I was using 85mm prime lense all the way? hmm.gif
goldfries
thanks! using it now...........

*too bad it doesn't read RAW file.
szyap
nice program...
going to use it tonite...to see if i can find 'THE' lense to use smile.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(goldfries @ May 12 2008, 05:13 PM)
thanks! using it now...........

*too bad it doesn't read RAW file.

QUOTE(szyap @ May 12 2008, 05:14 PM)
nice program...
going to use it tonite...to see if i can find 'THE' lense to use smile.gif

Ok... I will try to use it. Let's check what it tell for all the pictures with 85mm prime. Maybe it got floating point error and report 85.1? laugh.gif tongue.gif
goldfries
bleh, after 3 minute it's not even at 25% of collecting files. sad.gif there's the Analyzing file progress too, it's empty cos obviously it would start after collecting. smile.gif

much thanks to my 82GB worth of pictures folder. smile.gif PC specs is E2140@3.2ghz with 4GB RAM, FSB 1600.

most part of my RAM are not allocated to Photoshop though, doing work la but can't resist to try it out.

*now finish typing this post, i think it should be around 50% once that software comes up again. LOL. yeah it's hiding itself now, busy with the work.
szyap
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ May 12 2008, 05:15 PM)
Ok... I will try to use it. Let's check what it tell for all the pictures with 85mm prime. Maybe it got floating point error and report 85.1?  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
or even 84.9??
goldfries
correction......... not even close to 50%. probably around 40% at most.

Added on May 12, 2008, 5:18 pmthe thing is I only bought the 10-20 recently, so my shots that are under 18mm are pretty limited as of now. smile.gif dang.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(szyap @ May 12 2008, 05:16 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
or even 84.9??

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
goldfries
why you guys bother about decimals la? smile.gif aihh.

i'm still waiting for the results. EXPOSUREplot to show FOCAL distance? smile.gif anyway, formerly known as FOCALplot.

can't wait to see the results. should be interesting.
Eiraku
I've been shooting with my 50mm prime all the time, so I think any analysis would be redundant? sweat.gif

Maybe later when I can afford a cabinet of lenses... So that I'll know which one to sell off... brows.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 12 2008, 05:20 PM)
I've been shooting with my 50mm prime all the time, so I think any analysis would be redundant? sweat.gif

Maybe later when I can afford a cabinet of lenses... So that I'll know which one to sell off... brows.gif

Hard to say... Maybe it will report something else? Maybe 48.5mm? Maybe it cheat? Lots of maybe... Let's try it out... drool.gif
goldfries
*yawn* haven't reach 60%. aihh......... barely crossed 50%.

silly me, choosing huge folder straight away. tongue.gif oh well.........
albnok
Eh, for all you know you might use another lens more and not know it. And you can plan which lens to sell based on this.
goldfries
oh hey it's done! I didn't realize it. Analysis was damn fast, it didn't pot up to notify me.

hold on.......
TheVoIP
QUOTE(albnok @ May 12 2008, 05:27 PM)
Eh, for all you know you might use another lens more and not know it. And you can plan which lens to sell based on this.

Wow... The program is great! thumbup.gif

I run throught my photos that shot with 85L and it recommend me to buy the 35L! Cool.... Smart program! notworthy.gif
goldfries
btw. I'm using 35mm equiv.

Added on May 12, 2008, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ May 12 2008, 05:28 PM)
I run throught my photos that shot with 85L and it recommend me to buy the 35L! Cool.... Smart program!  notworthy.gif

ehh how did it RECOMMEND you ah?

Added on May 12, 2008, 5:34 pmhrm. interesting.

35mm equivalent mode actually takes not of the crop factor. smile.gif nice.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(goldfries @ May 12 2008, 05:30 PM)
ehh how did it RECOMMEND you ah?

It did not prompt out the recommendation on screen. But instead send the recommendation directly into my mind... And I heard it... It keep saying must buy 35L for different composition of potrait.... drool.gif
goldfries
cheh like that. smile.gif

anyway for me it's pretty much pointless since all my lens serve a purpose. this software end up being my FOR FUN thing.

szyap
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ May 12 2008, 05:35 PM)
It did not prompt out the recommendation on screen. But instead send the recommendation directly into my mind... And I heard it... It keep saying must buy 35L for different composition of potrait....  drool.gif

does d program 'tell' u to change d body as well?? wink.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(goldfries @ May 12 2008, 05:37 PM)
cheh like that. smile.gif

anyway for me it's pretty much pointless since all my lens serve a purpose. this software end up being my FOR FUN thing.

What do you expect? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(szyap @ May 12 2008, 05:37 PM)
does d program 'tell' u to change d body as well??  wink.gif

Yes... It keep recommending a 1D mark III. The crop factor of 1.3x is just nice for both 35L and 85L

The applicaiton keep telling me what to buy.... some time I felt it is irritating... It non-stop recommending me... shocking.gif
goldfries
TheVOIP using 101 reasons to convince himself to buy dream-gears. smile.gif

so now you guys have the chart to back you when you submit your purchase request to minister of finance hor?
darthbaboon
Do I need to convert the values or something?

Using kit lens 18-55mm, but the range here says 27-80mm

I seem to use a lot of both ends of the spectrum... 27mm & 80mm. My graph is shaped like a U. biggrin.gif

It's a useful proggie tho... thanks a lot for linking it!
goldfries
that's cos you use 35mm equivalent. so it will multiply with the crop factor.

use Real Length option and it will show based on the EXIF.
shutterspeaks
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ May 12 2008, 05:35 PM)
It did not prompt out the recommendation on screen. But instead send the recommendation directly into my mind... And I heard it... It keep saying must buy 35L for different composition of potrait....  drool.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif dude, u so pani laaa....
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.