Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Nintendo Kopitiam V12
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Nintendo
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50
Kyoyagami
Zio! Don't you dare write Red Cliff review first! tongue.gif
zio
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 17 2008, 04:41 PM)
Zio! Don't you dare write Red Cliff review first! tongue.gif

lol why not? tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
Haha. Cuz I want to do so first. tongue.gif
corez
Waht is REd Cliff about?
zio
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 17 2008, 04:58 PM)
Haha. Cuz I want to do so first. tongue.gif

Lol it takes me less than five minutes to write a review..
Kyoyagami
The Romance of The Three Kingdoms, but altered again is the storyline.

Zhao Yu (Tony Leung) with Zhuge Liang (Takeshi) will be going all out with Cao Cao (Zhang Fengyi) just because of Zhao Yu's wife.

Yet, where the heck is Liu Bei?
zio
QUOTE(corez @ Jul 17 2008, 05:00 PM)
Waht is REd Cliff about?

Lots of Chinese people dying to a few Chinese warriors. tongue.gif Its about the characters in the Three Kingdoms

Added on July 17, 2008, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 17 2008, 05:03 PM)
The Romance of The Three Kingdoms, but altered again is the storyline.

Zhao Yu (Tony Leung) with Zhuge Liang (Takeshi) will be going all out with Cao Cao (Zhang Fengyi) just because of Zhao Yu's wife.

Yet, where the heck is Liu Bei?

I thought Liu Bei was in?
corez
Oh ok, its been a while since I saw a chinese movie.

When school time last time, every CNY sure will watch a JC movie or a JL movie.
Kyoyagami
QUOTE(zio @ Jul 17 2008, 05:02 PM)
Lol it takes me less than five minutes to write a review..

And I have the tendency to go up til 2 hours. Man, i do hope i get this portfolio working, would love to have a job reviewing movies, and doing articles for Game axis or any other game mag. Once I get the review sufficiently accountable, I'm approaching the papers and mags.

Added on July 17, 2008, 5:07 pm@Zio, no. Checked the casting, Liu Bei was nowhere near it.

maybe part 2 perhaps?

Added on July 17, 2008, 5:14 pmOn another note, Gradius is coming back!

Gradius is reborn! With Gradius Rebirth. Erh...

Vic Viper!
zio
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 17 2008, 05:06 PM)
And I have the tendency to go up til 2 hours. Man, i do hope i get this portfolio working, would love to have a job reviewing movies, and doing articles for Game axis or any other game mag. Once I get the review sufficiently accountable, I'm approaching the papers and mags.

Added on July 17, 2008, 5:07 pm@Zio, no. Checked the casting, Liu Bei was nowhere near it.

maybe part 2 perhaps?

Hrmm I thought I saw Liu Bei in the trailer.

And writing reviews is not that difficult ma smile.gif
Kyoyagami
Look at my comments. My gf wants me to consider taking classes since my reviews barely scratch the surface. I don't mind though, but she knows a good deal amount of journalism, and how to critically review literature works, so so she's got a very good point.

Still, it feels as if I could just approach cinemaonline now. Now where is my resume....
zio
Its a matter of knowing what you want. Do you want your readers to take 10 minutes reading your article? or do you want your readers to take 2 mins and figure out if its good or bad?

My blog was for the latter. Thats why I skim the surface.

And its not so much on the writing skills, its paying attention to details that will get you the review you want.
Kyoyagami
Agreed. For the dark knight review, I have already something in mind, provided if it meets my expectation. I want to cater to audiences on a 1 page article basis. That is sufficient for me to provide to readers how the movie goes in detail, perhaps truly giving a critical literature review on its own.

The same applies to games, but I should really botch up and skim further. Not easy at all for me.
zio
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 17 2008, 05:29 PM)
Agreed. For the dark knight review, I have already something in mind, provided if it meets my expectation. I want to cater to audiences on a 1 page article basis. That is sufficient for me to provide to readers how the movie goes in detail, perhaps truly giving a critical literature review on its own.

The same applies to games, but I should really botch up and skim further. Not easy at all for me.

Ahh tell you what you can do... its never easy trying to learn capturing the details but it requires a bit of investment of time and money (well not much if u take ahem dvd)

Watch a movie once, take down notes on the general impression, the feel of watching it for the first time and ultimately, your first impression on the plot, the script, the direction, the acting.

Watch it a second time, this time pay attention to specific stuff, style of directing, the exact script (did the words make sense? did it flow right?), the music (did it fit the mood, was it too loud, was it too subtle), acting and character potrayal (was the choice of actor/actress correct, did they make the role their own, were they strong, were they drown out by other elements)..

Sooner or later, you will notice all this things the first time go. smile.gif
penman
QUOTE(zio @ Jul 17 2008, 05:35 PM)
Ahh tell you what you can do... its never easy trying to learn capturing the details but it requires a bit of investment of time and money (well not much if u take ahem dvd)

Watch a movie once, take down notes on the general impression, the feel of watching it for the first time and ultimately, your first impression on the plot, the script, the direction, the acting.

Watch it a second time, this time pay attention to specific stuff, style of directing, the exact script (did the words make sense? did it flow right?), the music (did it fit the mood, was it too loud, was it too subtle), acting and character potrayal (was the choice of actor/actress correct, did they make the role their own, were they strong, were they drown out by other elements)..

Sooner or later, you will notice all this things the first time go. smile.gif

WAH!!! u guys...

"WHY SO SERIOUS?"
tongue.gif

QUOTE(corez @ Jul 17 2008, 05:06 PM)
Oh ok, its been a while since I saw a chinese movie.

When school time last time, every CNY sure will watch a JC movie or a JL movie.

Corez... u know "Dynasty Warrior"?

Basically that's Romance of 3 Kingdom~lah.

It's all part of the plan Chinese History.

Of course, as usual... this 1 fantasy a bit~lah.

but Red Cliff is actually a real+famous War Scene/Tactic, how Zhe Ge Liang (Liu Bei's War Strategist) beat Cao Cao, when Liu Bei has a lesser troops...

Famous Tactic 01: Borrow Arrows from Scarecrow
Famous Tactic 02: Borrow East Wind Burn War Fleet

however... this later claimed by Historian is fictional... but who cares? it's a nice story!!! thumbup.gif
PhoenixByte
As for me, what i look for in a movie review is:

-General Synopsis
-Is it up to the hype?
-Acting
-Storyline

I like my movie reviews cinema online style happy.gif

As for games:
-General Overview
-Game mechanics/gameplay
-Replay value
-Storyline

I like the reviews gamespot n ign style where there's an in depth look and also the simple categories score at the end if we're not into details.

Note to Kyo, it is easier for ur readers if u categorize reviews part by part since ur review are lengthy happy.gif
corez
Good Morning Guys,

This is the day most of us has been waiting for.

NINTENDO CONSOLE IS BACK ON TOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

After 15 years living in the shadow of the PS Brand, we have surpass XBOX as the most console sold in US. We have one foot in Japan since the day Wii was launced but it has taken them 20 months to surpass the XBOX which was launched 1 year earlier.

For me, I still remember almost 20 years ago when I paid RM3 to play the Micro Genius for 30 minutes. The games that I always play is the Super Mario Bros and Green Beret. Those two games will be always etched in my mind.

Couple of years ago, I was a bit scared that Nintendo will go the Sega way. After the under achievement of N64 and GC, despite being the most powerful console of that generation, Nintendo went totaly the other way.

When the rival console touted, 720p, 1080p, 5.1, 7.1, hdmi, HD Dvd, and Blu Ray, we don't even get a fcuking dvd playback.

When the Wimote was unveiled at TGS 05 (I think) the world gasped and just don't know what we were doing.

When we unveiled the name Wii before E3 06, thousands of pee jokes emerged.

When we show the graphics or the lack of it, ppl were saying that this is just 2 GCs taped together.

However something happens in E3 06, almost everybody that played Wii SPorts were actually having fun, lines formed as long as you can see, words of mouth are spreading about the uniqueness of this console.

And the rest is history.

Ahh, my first love. wub.gif
bidfordun
hehe, it is good to see wii finally emerge as the winner again.

Added on July 18, 2008, 8:36 amomg,why_79, are u hinting at me in ur latest post at ur blog?
why_79
hahaha, bingo bid!

oh corez, my memories of Nintendo being on top was during the SFII craze when everyone was scrambling to get a SNES just to play SFII so until SFIV comes back to Nintendo.... i can't really say Nintendo won it. whistling.gif

but it's indeed great news and Dead Rising coming to Wii with RE4 controls, sweet!!
Kyoyagami
Morning guys.

Thanks Zio for the advice, I'd take more place into it. Tried a 2nd viewing of Get Smart, and at least I got myself further understanding of the whole. but still, Dwayne's character was still abit of misleading.

@pen, serious cuz I like to do the things I love, and get paid for it. Besides,

"Its all, part of the plan..."

@phoenix, suggestion taken and will improve beginning The Dark Knight. Restraining very hard not to pay RM40 for the Dark Knight. tongue.gif

@Corez, I loved SMB, and will always love it to this days. The catchiest tune, the most challenging, yet easiest game to pickup and play, and the coolest story of all time, even though it has been repeated in numerous ways. Who cares, its a Mario!
zio
I was expecting the Wii to top sales chart sooner tongue.gif

But the 360 will reclaim its throne! when more 3ROD happens and people buy second/third/fourth/fifth machines to play Gears 2 tongue.gif
aiyish
good morning!!

well, dun mess with nintendo, thet are the true "game" company...nyehehe..
bidfordun
bored. yawn.gif
DunkyKung
*off topic
hello all forumer,im planing to get a ndsl,ex owner of psp.wanna ask,bout the homebrew and capabilities of playing media file e.g videos,mp3s..

rite now wat the price of ,ndsl + r4 + 2gb?

while im on psp,very satisfied,but got boring edy coz juz play classic style game(ps2 style)..hope anybody can tell me more reason to buy this..

again, sorry for the '*off topic'
aiyish
hehe, come, buy NDSL and join us on our gathering. Most of DS faq's can be found at the ninty sub forum, its pinned.
zio
lol that was funny.. someone asking about NDS and saying its off topic tongue.gif

I shall review TDK now!
aiyish
im printing this t-shirt 2 jual, anyone wants one?? im doing more on mario and ninty mascots.

SWATwolf
gd morning.

aiyish: put somemore style pls tongue.gif
aiyish
dun worry swatty, there will be more. im thinking of doing megaman!!
Kyoyagami
Does anybody have an original copy of Final Fantasy XII? Need to borrow it for a very long time. Mine is crap. Urgh...
PhoenixByte
my ps2 has balik kampung already happy.gif
corez
Good Morning smile.gif
andy_lhc
morning all.........biggrin.gif
PhoenixByte
morning all happy.gif

somebody told me he is getting a ps3 today biggrin.gif
Kyoyagami
Morning people!

Ah, new guy with new PS3. The domination has begun. hahaha.
corez
@Pheonix. Bro your Perfect Shot camne? Still tak datang JJ lagi ahh? Watch TDK there la and I can pass it to you smile.gif
andy_lhc
Dark Knight is a very very good movie....thumbup.gif
ashchia
morning fellow comrade
PhoenixByte
QUOTE(corez @ Jul 21 2008, 09:11 AM)
@Pheonix. Bro your Perfect Shot camne? Still tak datang JJ lagi ahh? Watch TDK there la and I can pass it to you smile.gif

I think this saturday ok la happy.gif
How much do i still owe u for the postage? I'll bank it in after gaji this thursday happy.gif
corez
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jul 21 2008, 09:59 AM)
I think this saturday ok la happy.gif
How much do i still owe u for the postage? I'll bank it in after gaji this thursday happy.gif

No need bank in. COD at my house only. 1 minute from JJ Cheras Selatan smile.gif
PhoenixByte
ur house straight from JJ through econsave is it?

then i will come la probably around 11-12 something that day happy.gif
bose00
morning, all
corez
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jul 21 2008, 10:17 AM)
ur house straight from JJ through econsave is it?

then i will come la probably around 11-12 something that day happy.gif

UGPM, the shipping cost is RM 64
zorocaster
what happens when fuel prices starts to affect batman:

madmoz
ledger's performance in tdk was awesome... was he so absorbed in the character that it drove him insane/to suicide shocking.gif
Kyoyagami
He obviously had trouble sleeping. That kind of performance was too much.
zio
Or it got him thinking that joker's philosophy is true and he gave up on life.
Kyoyagami
Zio, its christian bale, not christopher. ahahahah.

Ledger could have died due to lots of possiblities. The only thing, we'll never know.
zio
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 21 2008, 01:19 PM)
Zio, its christian bale, not christopher. ahahahah.

Ledger could have died due to lots of possiblities. The only thing, we'll never know.

Oops.. kept having Christpher Nolan in my head while reviewing it. I think he did a good job.
BlueBerry~
Zzz. So many spoilers. Zzz.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.