Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Need help to decide between Sony A200 & Canon 450D
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Saigo
I've been surfing the forums and googling for the past 3-4 hours and unfortunately I'm unable to make up my mind. Do note that I'm very very new with DSLRs, and there are way too many technical terms (esp those related to lenses) that I'm not too familiar with.

I'm not too sure if it's wise to splurge a little more to get a 450D or get the cheaper A200.. 'cause like I mentioned, I'm a total DSLR noob that I'm not sure if my hands 'deserve' to hold a pricier DSLR.. but this would be a good investment I reckon? There are just so many things to read up and learn about photography and DSLRs as well.

Right now I have a headache trying to figure out whether a body with IS is better (A200) or lenses with IS (like 450D). These are generally my main concerns at the moment.

I've seen people commenting that 450D's image quality is superior to A200's, and how do you guys know exactly whether an image quality produced by one camera is better than the other? Clarity? Contrast? Colours?
Mavik
Why don't you try going to a shop and testing out those cameras personally. Nothing beats handling the camera in real life rather than just read what people might say online right?
KTCY
Similiar topic
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=663502&hl=450d

Maybe you can read some of the opinion that already posted by forumer ?
kwws
450d for sure...a200's ISO performance is simply unbearable based on my tryout on a200 lastime blush.gif
TheVoIP
Wah... these topic sien la... Keep repeating.... sweat.gif
erm
if u comparing between these 2... and u have the budget
of course straight go for 450D
david890701
A200 has Super Steady Shot built in body , which means u have SSS over ALL lenses.

If u opt for 450D, it has no image stabilizer built in, if u buy the lens which is with IS , it'll gonna cost u a bomb.

waiting for more poison from orange
Saigo
Ah didn't see that other topic, otherwise I wouldn't have wasted time googling and posting up this one.

I think I'll give this a long and hard thought about my budget before going for the other.
bysquashy
QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 6 2008, 01:54 PM)
So if you guys look at this review, ISO performance of Sony A350 is better than Canon 450D. Even WB control of Sony is better than Canon:

Conclusion: Since Sony A200 is less resolution than Sony A350, Sony A200 will win Canon 450D by a lot of margin. Canon 450D/400D/D40 sucks.

http://www.anandtech.com/digitalcameras/sh...aspx?i=3304&p=8
"Color for the Sony A350 is very accurate compared to the overly warm rendition of the Canon XSi at the Tungsten setting. For those who don't want to fuss and just point-and-shoot that may be important. In addition the Auto white balance for the A350 is the most accurate we've tested under Tungsten lighting. It is actually quite good shooting indoor tungsten, something most of its competitors do rather poorly.

The Sony also does well in noise control head-to-head with the Canon XSi. That was something of a surprise considering the Sony is a 14.2MP CCD sensor and the Canon is a 12.2MP CMOS. Up to 800 noise is very similar on both crops. Noise at 1600 is also comparable, but if you look closely at edges the Sony is exhibiting a greater tendency to appear jagged than the Canon XSi. ISO 3200 on the Sony is probably only usable on snapshots, but it is still usable.

Overall, the Sony A350 actually does better against the Canon XSi than we really expected and acquits itself quite well for a higher resolution sensor that should be showing greater noise than the Canon XSi. Resolution and noise control to ISO 1600 on the Sony holds its own against a sensor maker than has been the low-noise standard since DSLRs began."

Another strong point from fellow orange whistling.gif
Saigo
Haha strong poison you mean tongue.gif Thanks for posting that up.. need to compare the prices of these cameras as well then decide hehe.
albnok
The Sony has:

- wireless TTL flash
- Kelvin WB

Both are features that will extend the things you can do with just a body, kit lens and flash. Kelvin WB is useful for example to correct for street lamps - if you set the WB to Tungsten +3 it's still not enough to remove the amber cast.

A more direct comparison to the A200 would be the 400D in terms of price, but the 400D is missing a few things from the 450D like spot metering and Live View. However, if you're looking at something in the price of 450D, the Sony A300/A350 with Live View is also another option.
david890701
Yeap, and A300/A350 live view doesn't require u to press extra button to auto focus.

and don't forget bout the tilt screen of a300/a350
it is very useful to shoot pics at different angles
hanafinoor
With a good free worksyop you can attend every month, good active community and easy to snap good quality pic...in no time youll be a pro with alpha.
./Hack-Fusion
if u got budget for 450D, u also can try the sony a300 or a350....those 2 model is really sweet.... T T~~~
harrychoo
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 8 2008, 06:57 PM)
I've been surfing the forums and googling for the past 3-4 hours and unfortunately I'm unable to make up my mind. Do note that I'm very very new with DSLRs, and there are way too many technical terms (esp those related to lenses) that I'm not too familiar with.

I'm not too sure if it's wise to splurge a little more to get a 450D or get the cheaper A200.. 'cause like I mentioned, I'm a total DSLR noob that I'm not sure if my hands 'deserve' to hold a pricier DSLR.. but this would be a good investment I reckon? There are just so many things to read up and learn about photography and DSLRs as well.

Right now I have a headache trying to figure out whether a body with IS is better (A200) or lenses with IS (like 450D). These are generally my main concerns at the moment.

I've seen people commenting that 450D's image quality is superior to A200's, and how do you guys know exactly whether an image quality produced by one camera is better than the other? Clarity? Contrast? Colours?

From ur post, first thingfirst, WHY U NEED A DSLR?
bysquashy
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 8 2008, 06:57 PM)

For 3rd party lens such as Sigma and Tamron, the prices for lens is about the same. Imagine having IS for all of the lens drool.gif
bunvirus
IS motor in body rosak.. must send body for repair.. cannot play with camera for a while..

If IS motor on lense rosak.. just send the lense to repair..still can play with camera... (if u got more then 1 lense la..)
CrossFirE
QUOTE(bunvirus @ May 8 2008, 08:32 PM)
IS motor in body rosak.. must send body for repair.. cannot play with camera for a while..

If IS motor on lense rosak.. just send the lense to repair..still can play with camera... (if u got more then 1 lense la..)

then wait and tahan the poison first. laugh.gif
david890701

IS in body rosak = No IS

IS in lens rosak = No IS also.

ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif rclxub.gif whistling.gif
a pro never need any image stabilizer all the way. Dont count in body or lens stabilizer.

2nd , I'd say 450D + couple of L lenses can drive you mad whistling.gif..

Nothing else , I suggest canon for the wide range or lens.
good re-sale value.
Arapan
I bought my Sony 350 last month. No regrets. First time buying a DSLR camera and am satisfied with its basic performance. Yet to go all out to test it.
bysquashy
QUOTE(168257061 @ May 8 2008, 08:45 PM)
a pro never need any image stabilizer all the way. Dont count in body or lens stabilizer.

good re-sale value.

What's the point quoting as a pro user? Many of us shoot leisurely and clearly TS is just starting to shoot with DSLR.

G lens will drive you mad as well whistling.gif

Fanboyism whistling.gif
Eiraku

Hey, requote me illegally eh?

But, that's a sad truth, actually... brows.gif

IMHO, it goes back to WHY you want to shoot...

If you just need an inexpensive DLSR (but still good, when used properly) + Some 2nd hand lenses... The A200 + 2nd hand KM glass would suit you fine... icon_rolleyes.gif

If you want a better DSLR (I have to concur, the 450D does have more features) + loads of lenses (including those you bought EVEN WITHOUT KNOWING WHY) = get the 450D... icon_rolleyes.gif

Easy... thumbup.gif

*RANT* Sure we have crappy high ISO performance... But CAN the 450D shoot at 3200? Noise, crap, bla, I know... But DOES it matter if you print it and don't simply pixel peep? icon_rolleyes.gif *RANT OVER*

But seriously, if you are THAT serious about photography (to care so much about ISO performance), skip the upgrading game an get a D3... brows.gif
david890701

good re-sale value.

if TS is a pro, he wouldn't start this thread, will he?

G lenses, Carl Zeiss Lenses, Minolta Maxxum lenses provies a wide range of lens also. Though some lenses are old , but just like classical music , as long as its good , we wouldn't mind how old the music is
KTCY
QUOTE(david890701 @ May 8 2008, 08:41 PM)
IS in body rosak = No IS

IS in lens rosak = No IS also.

ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  rclxub.gif  whistling.gif

IS / SSS / VR / OS come in handy for those hand quite shakey.
A strong hand can change it all whistling.gif

good re-sale value.

I'd second that. Sony lens are expensive compare to Canon's range of lenses whistling.gif
bysquashy
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 8 2008, 09:11 PM)
A strong hand can change it all whistling.gif

Too bad I can't buy that from a camera shop icon_question.gif
sucka3
all over again?? rclxub.gif ...this forum is full of this kinda thread with same topic dy.....myself huntin for a dslr also...but im goin for a200..personal reason.. laugh.gif
KTCY
QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 8 2008, 09:14 PM)
Too bad I can't buy that from a camera shop  icon_question.gif

Stop wanking so much. That's help a lot smile.gif

QUOTE(sucka3 @ May 8 2008, 09:15 PM)
all over again?? rclxub.gif ...this forum is full of this kinda thread with same topic dy.....myself huntin for a dslr also...but im goin for a200..personal reason.. laugh.gif

Sony manufacturer lens are expensive tongue.gif
bysquashy
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 8 2008, 09:16 PM)

You are getting OOT.

So what do you have to say about having IS body where you can have IS for whatever lens that you can connect to its body.

I wonder how many people buys L lens hmm.gif
KTCY
How many people buy L lens ? You should rephrase to how many dream of having L lens smile.gif

Those I know in my Uni, most Canon photog kaki, 5 that I know of and 4 of them owned L lens.

70-200 f2.8 L IS USM
70-200 f4 L IS
70-200 f4 L

You name it. So, L lens is poison tongue.gif
pky
Not to mention, the DRO in Sony. Really chun... And the grip, felt more natural on the hand of a big guy with big hand
ameer1988
100% go for 450D!!!
bysquashy
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 8 2008, 09:25 PM)
How many people buy L lens ? You should rephrase to how many dream of having L lens smile.gif

Those I know in my Uni, most Canon photog kaki, 5 that I know of and 4 of them owned L lens.

70-200 f2.8 L IS USM
70-200 f4 L IS
70-200 f4 L

You name it. So, L lens is poison tongue.gif

I've visited the Canon thread, guessed that many didn't revealed their elusive L lens.
KTCY
QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 8 2008, 09:30 PM)
I've visited the Canon thread, guessed that many didn't revealed their elusive L lens.

Ask viking, TheVoip to list out their L lens laugh.gif
You gonna get shock tongue.gif
ameer88
buy this month digital camera, they have review on a200.
bysquashy

Too bad I can't find comments from readers other from Orange camp sweat.gif
kalow2
I bought my 1st DSLR last month. Sony a350.

all my buddies and colleagues are using Nikon from D40 to D80. Older relatives are on Canon. 1 uncle just told me the mirror in his rm8k 5D fell off!

my reason for choosing sony is simply. over the past 2-3 years they have shown their commitment in DSLR market. they know what a new DSLR want and need and how much they want to spend.

if you have the money for 450D. you should go try out a300/a350 at a sony shop.

maybe you might be interest in the 'real' live view.
soulfly

body IS is not a motor... rarely rosak unless u drop the camera badly.

even if the IS is not working, you can just turn it off and shoot like normal... the sensor will just stay in its place without IS vibration.
ronniefai
Sony rulez. Sony is the best.
soulfly
QUOTE(ameer88 @ May 8 2008, 09:39 PM)
buy this month digital camera, they have review on a200.
a bias review of course tongue.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 8 2008, 09:16 PM)
expensive, but good quality glass

there is always cheaper option like Tamron and Sigma lenses.
sucka3
QUOTE(ronniefai @ May 8 2008, 10:17 PM)
Sony rulez. Sony is the best.

but ur sig showin 40d.. brows.gif
soulfly
He was being sarcastic.
QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 8 2008, 09:57 PM)
What's the point quoting as a pro user? Many of us shoot leisurely and clearly TS is just starting to shoot with DSLR.

G lens will drive you mad as well  whistling.gif

Fanboyism  whistling.gif

Anything can be learn. Too much depends on stabilizer isnt good at all.
Yet , noob need to learn as well.

G lens can drive me mad. But how many G lenses that Sony has ? blink.gif

3rd , Im not fanboyism here. In fact , Canon L lenses is much more variety than Sony G lenses. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(david890701 @ May 8 2008, 10:01 PM)
if TS is a pro, he wouldn't start this thread, will he?

G lenses, Carl Zeiss Lenses, Minolta Maxxum lenses provies a wide range of lens also. Though some lenses are old , but just like classical music , as long as its good , we wouldn't mind how old the music is

Again , noob will become pro after that.
Carl Zeiss , G lenses not really provide wide range of range for Sony DSLR.
How wide isit ?

Sorry TS ,
If you feel A200 is better , then you may go for it.
Use it for few years...then you will know what you need, at last. wink.gif

Added on May 8, 2008, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 8 2008, 10:31 PM)
Ask viking, TheVoip to list out their L lens laugh.gif
You gonna get shock tongue.gif

aiya ... available at wiki bah tongue.gif

Added on May 8, 2008, 10:49 pmAgain , I did not say A200 body not good at all smile.gif
Only their lenses made me target to Canon.
Not fanboyism or what .
I realize myself.
Saigo
Yes, again I'd like to apologise for creating this topic because I wasn't aware that there was somewhat of a similar topic, but from what I skimmed through the few pages (there are 39 of them after all) it doesn't address my concern whether to get a body with IS or lenses with IS. I didn't expect receptive answers though, so thanks a lot guys for attending to my queries. smile.gif

To the poster who asked why I even want to venture into DSLRs in the first place, that's because I realised that PnS' capabilities are quite limited. That was obvious when I went backpacking last year. And then I've always wanted to pick up a DSLR to improve my photography skills further.. it's just that the costs put me off (although it has become cheaper over the years).

I don't know why I didn't consider A350 in the first place.. as some of you have pointed out is in the same price range as 450D. I guess I wanted a cheaper alternative, but if A350 is remarkably better than A200, I guess I should start considering it instead (have yet to research it, just got home).

Decisive question though to those from the orange camp: Other than official Sony lenses, what other lenses can the A200/350 support, such a 3rd party ones like Tamron, etc?
harrychoo
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 8 2008, 10:50 PM)
Yes, again I'd like to apologise for creating this topic because I wasn't aware that there was somewhat of a similar topic, but from what I skimmed through the few pages (there are 39 of them after all) it doesn't address my concern whether to get a body with IS or lenses with IS. I didn't expect receptive answers though, so thanks a lot guys for attending to my queries. smile.gif

To the poster who asked why I even want to venture into DSLRs in the first place, that's because I realised that PnS' capabilities are quite limited. That was obvious when I went backpacking last year. And then I've always wanted to pick up a DSLR to improve my photography skills further.. it's just that the costs put me off (although it has become cheaper over the years).

I don't know why I didn't consider A350 in the first place.. as some of you have pointed out is in the same price range as 450D. I guess I wanted a cheaper alternative, but if A350 is remarkably better than A200, I guess I should start considering it instead (have yet to research it, just got home).

Decisive question though to those from the orange camp: Other than official Sony lenses, what other lenses can the A200/350 support, such a 3rd party ones like Tamron, etc?

Can i know what kind of PnS limitation that u are mentioning?

A350 is pitted same level as 450D. Regarding the choice, do u see urself splash RM3k-4k for good quality lenses? Or u only willing to pay max 1.5k for above average lens?

If yes, by all means go to Canon.
Saigo
QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 8 2008, 11:08 PM)
Can i know what kind of PnS limitation that u are mentioning?

A350 is pitted same level as 450D. Regarding the choice, do u see urself splash RM3k-4k for good quality lenses? Or u only willing to pay max 1.5k for above average lens?

If yes, by all means go to Canon.

Let's see.. manual functions like aperture etc can't be set (my PnS doesn't have it la tongue.gif I think some PnS have such settings). Can't use external flash to flash bounce. Limited zoom/wide angle. Etc etc.

For now, as I'm still a beginner, I don't see myself splurging RM3k-4k for lenses lol. In fact I was thinking of around RM1k range.. so that means I should go for A200/350 eh? They have cheaper lenses (3rd party), is that what you were trying to convey?
-|JuStIn|-
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 8 2008, 11:16 PM)
Let's see.. manual functions like aperture etc can't be set (my PnS doesn't have it la tongue.gif I think some PnS have such settings). Can't use external flash to flash bounce. Limited zoom/wide angle. Etc etc.

For now, as I'm still a beginner, I don't see myself splurging RM3k-4k for lenses lol. In fact I was thinking of around RM1k range.. so that means I should go for A200/350 eh? They have cheaper lenses (3rd party), is that what you were trying to convey?

All the points that u've listed as short-comings of the P&S can be easily replaced with a Prosumer Camera.
The SLR market caters more to interchangeable lenses. So if ur not into blowing alot of cash on good lenses then Prosumer is a consideration.
Furthermore, prosumer cameras have gotten up to great focal lengths of late. From ladscape to decent tele. tongue.gif

So while ur doing ur research, make sure that the DSLR camera is the type of camera for u. smile.gif
Just my 2 cents thumbup.gif
harrychoo
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 8 2008, 11:16 PM)

Ok, good, at least u know what are the limitations of PnS even though not all u were mentioned here.

Nope, it can be any brand.

Just that if u think in the future, u really like optics a lot, and willing to splash big cash on good optics, u should get canon.

If u are the one just to get 3rd party lens to get ur job done, any brand will do.
QUOTE(Saigo @ May 9 2008, 12:16 AM)

3rd party not very cheap , yet not very expensive also laugh.gif
basically 1k-2k lens is more than enough for starter.

450D , A200.
Depends on you. wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.