silentser
Jun 26 2008, 11:04 PM
ok so far nothing wrong with my laptop yet... everything is ok.. no defect detected yet.. and hopefully not going to. the plam rest do get warm fast, but never get hot, or higher than the one i felt.. just nice warm...
but i got a problem inserting my service tag to the support page in driver though...
llhm87
Jun 26 2008, 11:09 PM
Your service tag will only active when you receive your invoice from DELL. If i'm not wrong, you just receive you laptop rite?
capriodimitri
Jun 26 2008, 11:25 PM
Guys, I just gotten a XPS m1530 for my brother. However, everything is good except that I cant update my Windows Update and my Defender. There is an error code of 80072EE2.
I google and no solution available. Is it wise for me to update to SP1 standalone? I need to pass the notebook to my bro this Saturday. Btw, this notebook is cool, and I used to be from HP, hehe.
silentser
Jun 27 2008, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(llhm87 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:09 PM)
Your service tag will only active when you receive your invoice from DELL. If i'm not wrong, you just receive you laptop rite?
yuoe just received. thank you for the info
llhm87
Jun 27 2008, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 27 2008, 12:00 AM)
yuoe just received. thank you for the info
You are welcomed.
Cheesenium
Jun 27 2008, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Jun 26 2008, 10:08 PM)
yea give it a try.....seriously if my laptop doesnt have problems i would not want to replace or refund it also....its just too much hassle to update all my games again and most of my games are online

....oh well my xps desktop will most probably come this week

Me too.Mine still dont have any games till now.
hsc
Jun 27 2008, 12:36 PM
Did anyone get a replacement from Samsung to LG for the 1680 x 1050 LCD recently? anyone? I called up Dell to ask to replace my samsung screen to lg and they said there is no more LG screen.I called about 1 week ago. Someone pls advice..thx
akira de aimbuster
Jun 27 2008, 01:59 PM
hmm you guys' monitor are having problem?

mine are just 1280x800 xD and i am satisfy with it...
fiqz4ce
Jun 27 2008, 06:00 PM
yeah..
at first u satisfy..but when u noticed sumting weird thing on ur screen..u wont satisfy anymore..
i only used my laptop about one month and discover dead pixel already..
BL!Tz^_^
Jun 27 2008, 06:31 PM
hi guys,my gpu temperature is about 62-65C under normal use,and it is about 76-78 while gaming,is the temperature normal?
thanks!
Pro-MX
Jun 27 2008, 06:50 PM
call dell to change the lcd if there is dead pixel.....anyways....when gaming my temp is around 81c so yours is normal
silentser
Jun 27 2008, 07:18 PM
how to check the temperature?
fiqz4ce
Jun 27 2008, 09:35 PM
using nv monitor
hrd
Jun 29 2008, 11:03 AM
guys, Dell already released new NVidia GPU driver 175.97 WHQL.
although originally this driver is for Vostro 1510 8400M GS, i checked the original inf file (nvdm.inf) and 8600M GT GDDR3 hardware is listed.
so we can install this driver for our 8600M GT GDDR3 straight out of the box to without to do any modification.
again i’m wondering why Dell don’t update this driver at M1530 support page.
with this driver, finally my 3D Mark06 score broke the 4700 points barrier without overclocking at 1280 x 800
174.31 and 174.74 can get only 4686 point. 175.97 games performance also very good.
i think 175.97 is worth to try.
download 175.97 driver here
yongkailoon
Jun 29 2008, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(hrd @ Jun 29 2008, 11:03 AM)
although originally this driver is for Vostro 1510 8400M GS, i checked the original inf file (nvdm.inf) and 8600M GT GDDR3 hardware is listed.
so we can install this driver for our 8600M GT GDDR3 straight out of the box to without to do any modification.
with this driver, finally my 3D Mark06 score broke the 4700 points barrier without overclocking at 1280 x 800
174.31 and 174.74 can get only 4686 point. 175.97 games performance also very good.
download 175.97 driver hereDoes it raise the GPU's temperature since the performance is now better ?
hrd
Jun 29 2008, 11:15 AM
max GPU temperature is around 74 C. same as 174.74.
Cheesenium
Jun 29 2008, 11:46 AM
So,increased performance.
Hell yeah,i want my GRiD to looks even more sexy.
BL!Tz^_^
Jun 29 2008, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ Jun 29 2008, 11:03 AM)
download 175.97 driver hereactually hot to check our driver version is 174.31 or 174.74or other version?
and how u get professional version for 3d mark?u register it?
thanks!
Cheesenium
Jun 29 2008, 02:13 PM
Most likely a*hem.
hrd
Jun 29 2008, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Jun 29 2008, 12:22 PM)
actually hot to check our driver version is 174.31 or 174.74or other version?
and how u get professional version for 3d mark?u register it?
thanks!
you can check it at NVIDIA Control Panel
right click your desktop and select NVIDIA Control Panel
and then click System Information
well, technically we have to register to get the professional version
Added on June 29, 2008, 2:32 pmQUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 29 2008, 02:13 PM)
Most likely a*hem.

with some
trick
tdw
Jun 29 2008, 02:34 PM
many discouraged me from buy this baby because it will get hot very fast and very hot
but i been using it on my bed on my lap to be exact and the heat is tolerable
maybe i am not pushing the lappie hard enough buy playing heavy games
Cheesenium
Jun 29 2008, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(tdw @ Jun 29 2008, 02:34 PM)
many discouraged me from buy this baby because it will get hot very fast and very hot
I dont think it gets hot fast>I play GRiD or the whole afternoon also no problem.
yongkailoon
Jun 29 2008, 03:43 PM
Perhaps those people were referring to the XPS M1330, the M1530 is hot but the heat is tolerable as said by you as well.
Cheesenium
Jun 29 2008, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jun 29 2008, 03:43 PM)
Perhaps those people were referring to the XPS M1330, the M1530 is hot but the heat is tolerable as said by you as well.
I find that it's not as hot as other people say.It's ok.
BL!Tz^_^
Jun 29 2008, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ Jun 29 2008, 02:31 PM)
you can check it at NVIDIA Control Panel
right click your desktop and select NVIDIA Control Panel
and then click System Information
well, technically we have to register to get the professional version
Added on June 29, 2008, 2:32 pmwith some
trick 
o...thank you so much!
well, i have installed the latest driver.thanks!
Added on June 29, 2008, 4:26 pmi was running 3dmark06(basic edition) just now,i get 4588marks(my spec is 2.0,2gb ram,250gb hdd).the first time i ran 3dmark is only 42xx marks.
the driver really did well!
kapitan
Jun 29 2008, 04:34 PM
Well, obviously its best to know that bed is not where your laptop should belong. Thats because breath holes underneath will allow the fans to suck in fresh and and vent through the side cooling all those thermal fins. Of course, it will still work albeit at higher temperature, but for long term its not advisable. However, you need to thanks the advance power management that comes with todays laptop compared to 5 years ago. Core2Duo pulls very little power thus less heat when you are on battery pack. And for the GPU, Nvidia actually added Powermixer features that underclock the core and memory to half when it reaches certain temperature.
akira de aimbuster
Jun 29 2008, 06:44 PM
mine is hot too, but it solved easily by getting a good cooler pad

now i dont need to worry about the heat issue anymore
evilhomura89
Jun 29 2008, 09:05 PM
wanna ask anyone here using the SRS LAb Audio sandbox??
After installing it, my speakers become softer, is that the case for those using it??
BTW, which is the best setting in overall??
hrd
Jun 29 2008, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Jun 29 2008, 04:06 PM)
o...thank you so much!
well, i have installed the latest driver.thanks!
Added on June 29, 2008, 4:26 pmi was running 3dmark06(basic edition) just now,i get 4588marks(my spec is 2.0,2gb ram,250gb hdd).the first time i ran 3dmark is only 42xx marks.
the driver really did well!
nice result you got there
i already tried the other new drivers (177.35, 175.19, 177.39)
but 175.97 give me the highest points
btw, i really hope that Dell release new Sigmatel audio driver.
the current driver make sound poping and lagging when play musics
Cheesenium
Jun 29 2008, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jun 29 2008, 09:05 PM)
wanna ask anyone here using the SRS LAb Audio sandbox??
After installing it, my speakers become softer, is that the case for those using it??
BTW, which is the best setting in overall??
It depends on the setting.If you are using the laptop build in speakers,use the laptop speakers setting.It sounds better without ear buds.
What do you mean on the speaker become softer?
QUOTE(hrd @ Jun 29 2008, 09:30 PM)
btw, i really hope that Dell release new Sigmatel audio driver.
the current driver make sound poping and lagging when play musics

I desperately needing the new Sigmatel driver.
It always cause my soundcard to hang like keep playing the last bit in loops.

Now using Vista's sound card driver but dun have microphone.
fiqz4ce
Jun 29 2008, 11:39 PM
yeah..
this laptop speakers are sucks..
when u play song in winamp..and use some equalizer..the quality seems to be good..
but still hear the lag lol..
evilhomura89
Jun 29 2008, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 29 2008, 09:45 PM)
It depends on the setting.If you are using the laptop build in speakers,use the laptop speakers setting.It sounds better without ear buds.
What do you mean on the speaker become softer?
I desperately needing the new Sigmatel driver.

How bout the advanced setting like 3D space, 3D center, trubass level etc??
Become softer means with the same value of volume, the original driver sounded louder..
hrd
Jun 29 2008, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 29 2008, 09:45 PM)

Vista HD Audio Driver is significantly better than that Sigmatel
i'm also using it.
Added on June 29, 2008, 11:51 pmQUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jun 29 2008, 11:39 PM)
yeah..
when u play song in winamp..and use some equalizer..the quality seems to be good..
we cannot expect more from 1 inch size speakers. at least it is quite loud enough but i’m using earphone all the time.
Toshiba Harman/Kardon possibly the best laptop speaker.
llhm87
Jun 30 2008, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(hrd @ Jun 29 2008, 11:49 PM)
Vista HD Audio Driver is significantly better than that Sigmatel
i'm also using it.
Added on June 29, 2008, 11:51 pmwe cannot expect more from 1 inch size speakers. at least it is quite loud enough but i’m using earphone all the time.
Toshiba Harman/Kardon possibly the best laptop speaker.
I only plug in my laptop with my Altec Lansing speaker. But I know the laptop speaker itself is too soft + no bass. So I prefer using it with my Altec Lansing speaker.
Yan
Jun 30 2008, 01:44 AM
can't really expect much from laptop speakers .. but the apple laptop's speakers are just great. very clear and accoustic sounding ..
Cheesenium
Jun 30 2008, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jun 29 2008, 11:42 PM)
How bout the advanced setting like 3D space, 3D center, trubass level etc??
Become softer means with the same value of volume, the original driver sounded louder..
It's up to you.I cant recommend you a setting because everyone have different taste.I prefer mine have slightly higher bass.
Anyway,this is my setting.
[attachmentid=513664]
fiqz4ce
Jun 30 2008, 11:04 AM
hey..
are ur hdd produce noice?
Cheesenium
Jun 30 2008, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jun 30 2008, 11:04 AM)
hey..
are ur hdd produce noice?
Yes,lots of them.
Unless it starts to make very strange noise or suddenly your performance drop.Dont worry.
A dying HDD will cause a drop in performance if there is no software problems with the com.
fiqz4ce
Jun 30 2008, 11:13 AM
i think this my first time hear the sound from the hdd?
tdw
Jun 30 2008, 11:21 AM
sometimes can hear, sometimes not
i think depend on what program u are running
is the new driver really works
fiqz4ce
Jun 30 2008, 11:27 AM
hoho...
what happen the hell is dell..
too many problem too..
the sound is like mice la..
normal ka?
Added on June 30, 2008, 12:07 pmis this normal????
evilhomura89
Jun 30 2008, 04:42 PM
Guys, have a look at the error scan for my HDD using HDD Tune...there is 0.5% damaged block...should i call dell for replacement??[attachmentid=513954]
fiqz4ce
Jun 30 2008, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jun 30 2008, 05:42 PM)
Guys, have a look at the error scan for my HDD using HDD Tune...there is 0.5% damaged block...should i call dell for replacement??[attachmentid=513954]
hye..
are ur hdd produce sound?
evilhomura89
Jun 30 2008, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jun 30 2008, 05:39 PM)
hye..
are ur hdd produce sound?
errr...ya..previously i couldn't boot into vista..clicking sounds were heard i had to reformat my lappie....
jz now called dell, now running their own test that is included in the drivers utilities cd...got error, waiting for someone to pick up my phone...zzz
fiqz4ce
Jun 30 2008, 06:13 PM
damn..
i email the technician and ask about the briight dot on my lcd..
here he replied:
As there is only 1 pixel can be seen, which means the LCD display is still working fine within the industry standard, and no service can be arranged to get this resolved, as the LCD is still within industrial standards
but in the DELL LCD REPLACEMENT POLICY he give to me stated that XPS Monitor which have one bright dot can have a replacement..
http://support.dell.com/support/topics/glo...=dhs&dn=1018431if he still said cant i will call him next week..
BL!Tz^_^
Jun 30 2008, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jun 29 2008, 11:39 PM)
yeah..
agree...
y friend's compaq is using altec lansing speakers,when both laptops' volume adjusted to 50,the altec lansing is much more louder and the quality is nicer!
dell's speakers really 'lousy'.......
llhm87
Jun 30 2008, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Jun 30 2008, 07:33 PM)
agree...
y friend's compaq is using altec lansing speakers,when both laptops' volume adjusted to 50,the altec lansing is much more louder and the quality is nicer!
dell's speakers really 'lousy'.......

Yeah. Dell Laptop speaker is lousy. But laptop speaker is like that except those with certified by THX or Dobly
~Rogue~
Jul 1 2008, 12:28 AM
guys, i wanna know, u guys got OC ur laptop or not?
llhm87
Jul 1 2008, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Jul 1 2008, 12:28 AM)
guys, i wanna know, u guys got OC ur laptop or not?
If only you want to take the risk.
fiqz4ce
Jul 1 2008, 09:38 AM
i do oc for 3dmarks only..
but when run crysis laptop suddenly shutdown..
so no need to oc when run game because temp easily increased
Added on July 1, 2008, 2:05 pmowh man..
i cant replace my lcd lol..
he said my lcd still in standard bla2..
not satisfied like this..
i pay for new lcd..not lcd that easily rosak..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.