mfyapp
May 10 2008, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(kazasho @ May 9 2008, 10:13 PM)
thanx! me kinda have to slant the lcd a bit to see the colours
I've mention about 6 bit LCD b4 but there is still hope for us stuck with this type of screen. Try updating your display driver to 174.74 and when watching movie try using the Cyberlink software that come with PureVideo features. Cyberlink wrote the software for Dell MediaDirect so you can try that too. Else I can not see any different with the screen or colour. After the driver update I did see a small jump on the Windows Experience Index, subscore Gaming graphics from 5.4 to 5.5.
blueyan
May 10 2008, 03:03 PM
jason111785
May 10 2008, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(blueyan @ May 10 2008, 04:03 PM)
envy u man.... got so much budget do all those stuff.. but great job !
-----------------------
Anyone knows... if xps1530 lcd at 1440x900 support HD?
Boomeraangkid
May 10 2008, 04:36 PM
im planning to buy XPS1530....the PRODUCT(RED) at RM4999 inclusive or delivery good????but the warranty 1 yr...
blueyan
May 10 2008, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(jason111785 @ May 10 2008, 04:32 PM)
envy u man.... got so much budget do all those stuff.. but great job !
-----------------------
Anyone knows... if xps1530 lcd at 1440x900 support HD?
yea=.= i spent about Rm600 for the laptop accessory ( bag cooling pad lazer mouse etc) protection of laptop definitely is the highest priority one....
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ May 10 2008, 04:36 PM)
im planning to buy XPS1530....the PRODUCT(RED) at RM4999 inclusive or delivery good????but the warranty 1 yr...
if u want cheaper get the Rm4199 one and upgrade to same spec processor T8300 2.4ghz + 3 gb ram.... i think price will about Rm4.8k something.. save Rm100...get 1680x1080 screen resolution one ,

very nice view , personally opinion...about 3gb ram
"In order for the dual channel to function properly, it is necessary for the memory to be set in pairs. In a laptop, there are only two memory slots which enables a configuration of 1GB(2 X 512MB), 2 GB(2 X 1GB) and 4GB(2 X 2GB), On the other hand if you would like to take up the option of 3Gb in a laptop, this will give you a combination of 1x1Gb + 1x2Gb which are not in pairs. Hence this will not support Dual Channel technology. " copied from Dell information"
not very clear about it ...anyone ? does 3gb which is not set in pairs will affect dual channel tech ? big effect or small ?

?
Boomeraangkid
May 10 2008, 04:57 PM
protection till RM600??!~!~thats alot.....btw wat does the 3 yr premium service thing do??i take care of things very seriously....
the reason i want the PRODUCT(RED) 1 becuz it has Vista Ultimate:D
blueyan
May 10 2008, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ May 10 2008, 04:57 PM)
protection till RM600??!~!~thats alot.....btw wat does the 3 yr premium service thing do??i take care of things very seriously....
the reason i want the PRODUCT(RED) 1 becuz it has Vista Ultimate:D
no la , Rm600 protection + some laptop accessory

...about the warranty protection , you can buy a better one if you have spare $ to spend , if not , u can extend the warranty when the warranty is about expire , i"ve asked this question b4 in Lyn.... i used the $ in laptop accessory , so now saving $ to extend the warranty on next year , mine just 1 premium year only ~~~ yea , if u have $, get vista ultimate , can use Dreamscene !! but better buy good processor because dreamscene use lot of CPU usage(even the laptop in stationary), experienced with my fren notebook b4

yea , i agree , better take care of thing seriosuly
mfyapp
May 10 2008, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(blueyan @ May 10 2008, 03:03 PM)
Anyone who have experience electrical shock from the palm rest should get their power adaptor change. The problem with the original one was there is no ground/earth wire on it. Dell have 2 power adapter your can use the model no is PA-10 or PA-12 and make sure they come with 3 core power cord.
Added on May 10, 2008, 11:48 pmI have this problem guys after I have install a new Nvidia driver 174.74 my windows vista now can not shutdown properly. It will shutdown if I didn't use the XPS for a long period of time but after some gaming or some BTing the problem will appear again. Can it be memory over heating or software problem. I have Bitdefender anti virus, comodo firewall and PCTools Threatfire running so that should keep my files clean right? so what up with shutdown hang any idea anyone?
eclectice
May 11 2008, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(mfyapp @ May 10 2008, 11:39 PM)
Anyone who have experience electrical shock from the palm rest should get their power adaptor change. The problem with the original one was there is no ground/earth wire on it. Dell have 2 power adapter your can use the model no is PA-10 or PA-12 and make sure they come with 3 core power cord.
Added on May 10, 2008, 11:48 pmI have this problem guys after I have install a new Nvidia driver 174.74 my windows vista now can not shutdown properly. It will shutdown if I didn't use the XPS for a long period of time but after some gaming or some BTing the problem will appear again. Can it be memory over heating or software problem. I have Bitdefender anti virus, comodo firewall and PCTools Threatfire running so that should keep my files clean right? so what up with shutdown hang any idea anyone?

Try to log the data (if possible) of the sensors for temperature, CPU with Rivatuner. I hope it can log data.
baowen
May 11 2008, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(weiwen @ May 8 2008, 04:37 PM)
nono.. just talk about both quality ad service
i know many lowyat forumer using DELL...
but i like ACER design and love DELL spec..
price of both brand almost the same...
so, which nice ?
QUOTE(mfyapp @ May 10 2008, 11:39 PM)

did you run a driver cleaner pro ? on the nvidia thread 1st post got teach one. try google yourself. it should be your registry conflict or maybe u didn't uninstall your previous driver properly and cause some problem. i got no problem at all using 174.74 and it pretty stable as usual.
weiwen
May 11 2008, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(jason111785 @ May 9 2008, 06:14 PM)
there is a few LCD type offered by dell now.. but u dun get to choose

if you are lucky den you will get LG and if you get Samsung.. you will face the grainy issue....
I've one of my colleague using LG screen in her INS1420... the color looks good and it does not have the grainy white color like my INS 6400 that is using Samsung..
In V1 there is forumer mentioned that if you take 1440 x 900 you will eventually get LG... well i dont know how far it is true.. but my unit is 1440 x 900 and it is a LG

xps series normal screen only 1280x800 and 1440x900... not so good for dell high end series..
it should be 1980 x 1080 for high-end series...
eclectice
May 11 2008, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(weiwen @ May 11 2008, 11:41 AM)
xps series normal screen only 1280x800 and 1440x900... not so good for dell high end series..
it should be 1980 x 1080 for high-end series...
Dell high-end series for XPS is only M1730 (with widescreen 17" 1920 x 1200 WUXGA TFT). The other Dell high-end is the Precision series M6300 (with widescreen 17" 1920 x 1200 WUXGA TFT) with the custom option Nvidia Quadro FX 3600M (not listed in the GPU option). The price is normally above RM6000. The CPU options have been updated to include first generation Peryn for Santa Rosa platform refresh.
hrd
May 11 2008, 12:05 PM
people in the US, got WGXA+ LED LCD and full hi definition WUXGA (1920 x 1200) options for M1530.
their M1530s are also made in Malaysia
eclectice
May 11 2008, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 11 2008, 12:05 PM)
people in the US, got WGXA+ LED LCD and full hi definition WUXGA (1920 x 1200) options for M1530.

That's quite a recent offering from Dell USA. Should ask Dell Malaysia to bring it over here.
BL!Tz^_^
May 11 2008, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 11 2008, 12:05 PM)

how come they got very good option although their m1530 also made in malaysia??
jason111785
May 11 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ May 11 2008, 04:26 PM)
how come they got very good option although their m1530 also made in malaysia??

well.. as usual, US gets the first hand technology first...
eclectice
May 11 2008, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(jason111785 @ May 11 2008, 04:46 PM)
well.. as usual, US gets the first hand technology first...
The commercial LED and LCD are invented by an American inventor. This guy holds the patents for the LED and LCD in commercial applications.
So, if a Malaysian manages to create a good invention and he/she manages it very well, with due respect, we, Malaysians will bear the fruit of his/her invention first. I will be proud of him/her.
jason111785
May 11 2008, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(eclectice @ May 11 2008, 05:59 PM)
The commercial LED and LCD are invented by an American inventor. This guy holds the patents for the LED and LCD in commercial applications.
So, if a Malaysian manages to create a good invention and he/she manages it very well, with due respect, we, Malaysians will bear the fruit of his/her invention first. I will be proud of him/her.
Totally agree... but reality is.....
BL!Tz^_^
May 11 2008, 06:15 PM
hey guys,anyone here add an external soundcard to u guys' m1530?
Cheesenium
May 11 2008, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ May 11 2008, 06:15 PM)
hey guys,anyone here add an external soundcard to u guys' m1530?
Im also looking for one.The onboard one isnt good enough,even with SRS Sandbox.
jason111785
May 11 2008, 07:35 PM
What is the recommended screen resolution for HD content ? if i wanna playback bluray or HD movie on my xps 1530....
hrd
May 11 2008, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 11 2008, 07:04 PM)
at least Sandbox is better than Sigmatel
too bad only 14 days trial
Added on May 11, 2008, 8:17 pmQUOTE(jason111785 @ May 11 2008, 07:35 PM)
What is the recommended screen resolution for HD content ? if i wanna playback bluray or HD movie on my xps 1530....
if you want to watch full 1080p content definitely you need the WUXGA (1920 x 1200) resolution.
1280 x 800, 1440 x 900 and even the 1650 x 1050 can be classified as 720p.
jason111785
May 11 2008, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 11 2008, 09:16 PM)
Added on May 11, 2008, 8:17 pmif you want to watch full 1080p content definitely you need the WUXGA (1920 x 1200) resolution.
1280 x 800, 1440 x 900 and even the 1650 x 1050 can be classified as 720p.
sigh... mine is 1440 x 900

nvm la
yongkailoon
May 11 2008, 10:40 PM
Anybody kind enough to let me know some place that sells the keyboard protector (silicon type if I'm not wrong) for the XPS ?
Cheesenium
May 11 2008, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 11 2008, 08:16 PM)
Mine is full version.It improves a lot but it's still not good enough.
laszlo
May 11 2008, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Kusa @ May 8 2008, 07:32 PM)
laszlo, your specs same as mine, bought retail also?
yup from d'mobile
evilhomura89
May 11 2008, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 11 2008, 10:40 PM)
Anybody kind enough to let me know some place that sells the keyboard protector (silicon type if I'm not wrong) for the XPS ?

i got mine during PC fair..cost me RM18...look around in PC accessories shop, i think they have it..it's a universal lappie keyboard protector
if nt mistaken, someone is selling it in garage sales corner..go find and c
mych
May 12 2008, 12:02 AM
"at least Sandbox is better than Sigmatel too bad only 14 days trial"
There is a crack .exe in the wild
BL!Tz^_^
May 12 2008, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 11 2008, 07:04 PM)
what brand/model are you looking for?
i'd like to buy one too....
today i connected my laptop to my altec lansing vs4121,i felt that the quality of the laptop's soundcard is much difference compare to my desktop's soundcard
llhm87
May 12 2008, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ May 12 2008, 01:38 AM)
what brand/model are you looking for?
i'd like to buy one too....
today i connected my laptop to my altec lansing vs4121,i felt that the quality of the laptop's soundcard is much difference compare to my desktop's soundcard
You mean difference as in better or worst.
BL!Tz^_^
May 12 2008, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(llhm87 @ May 12 2008, 01:39 AM)
You mean difference as in better or worst.
laptop's is worse than desktop's
llhm87
May 12 2008, 01:47 AM
Of coz. If your desktop got any sound card. The sound quality will be better. Laptop usually don't have sound card. All also integrated except for Acer new gemstone. Got Dobly certified.
mfyapp
May 12 2008, 05:18 AM
QUOTE(eclectice @ May 11 2008, 04:59 PM)
I disagree. I think it's more like Dell HQ is in the USA and US people are big spender they can afford more.
evilhomura89
May 12 2008, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 11 2008, 08:16 PM)
What is the latest version of sandbox??
eclectice
May 12 2008, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(mfyapp @ May 12 2008, 05:18 AM)
I disagree. I think it's more like Dell HQ is in the USA and US people are big spender they can afford more.
Maybe you have a strong point. My given point is just a statement. It is not a fact as I don't provide a proof to say it is right or not.
kaiserreich
May 13 2008, 12:08 AM
It's possibly because when you read the forums, the american users complain that 1280 x 800 is too little screen for them, well, you don't see us complaining about that do you?
Anyways, for WUXGA+ (1900x1200) I can imagine reading stuff on it since you can open so many windows and there are software to make the words readable, and HD content, but what about SD content? The movies that are 700MB, those stuff have very little pixels and when you fully expand it, it looks awful, are there stuff to make it look nicer anyways?
dinodragon
May 13 2008, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 13 2008, 12:08 AM)
It's possibly because when you read the forums, the american users complain that 1280 x 800 is too little screen for them, well, you don't see us complaining about that do you?
Anyways, for WUXGA+ (1900x1200) I can imagine reading stuff on it since you can open so many windows and there are software to make the words readable, and HD content, but what about SD content? The movies that are 700MB, those stuff have very little pixels and when you fully expand it, it looks awful, are there stuff to make it look nicer anyways?
you got a point, i like it... normally, Malaysian is not willing to spend more (time or money)for higher quality movie.. even free download they also download the small size file...
what malaysian thinking.. 'no need want la. can watch can ad lo... so high qualiy for what??? same thing....'
Added on May 13, 2008, 8:29 amQUOTE(eclectice @ May 11 2008, 11:57 AM)
Dell high-end series for XPS is only M1730 (with widescreen 17" 1920 x 1200 WUXGA TFT). The other Dell high-end is the Precision series M6300 (with widescreen 17" 1920 x 1200 WUXGA TFT) with the custom option Nvidia Quadro FX 3600M (not listed in the GPU option). The price is normally above RM6000. The CPU options have been updated to include first generation Peryn for Santa Rosa platform refresh.
above RM6000?? not that cheap.. you should say around RM8000....

the product without customize(upgrade) will already cost RM8000. if you upgrade to the highest capacity, it will cost around RM15000.... too much
zHo3
May 13 2008, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(dinodragon @ May 13 2008, 08:24 AM)
above RM6000?? not that cheap.. you should say around RM8000....

the product without customize(upgrade) will already cost RM8000. if you upgrade to the highest capacity, it will cost around RM15000.... too much
lol.. yea lor.. should say 8k+++++ i go play play at dell website also get more than 10k adi.
cartman87
May 13 2008, 08:00 PM
my XPS M1530 has been gettin pretty warm for my liking. especially at the palm rest even though i use a table fan to blow my laptop(x air cond in room). is there anyway to solve the problem?
llhm87
May 13 2008, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(cartman87 @ May 13 2008, 08:00 PM)
my XPS M1530 has been gettin pretty warm for my liking. especially at the palm rest even though i use a table fan to blow my laptop(x air cond in room). is there anyway to solve the problem?
Are you using power from power supply / battery? If you are using power supply power you can take out your laptop battery
cartman87
May 13 2008, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(llhm87 @ May 13 2008, 08:46 PM)
Are you using power from power supply / battery? If you are using power supply power you can take out your laptop battery
i use power supply. but after take off battery not stable lea... stupid design...
got difference ar? if i plug off the battery will become cooler?
llhm87
May 13 2008, 08:51 PM
I think there will be some difference because your battery is charging when you using your power supply. When battery in charging mode, it usually become hot.
BBXiong
May 13 2008, 08:54 PM
just browse by this thread, actually ur problem can be solved quite easy..
just put ur battery in the slot, but not connected, that should keep ur laptop stable....plus, if u do that all the time(plug in battery when u use), ur battery spoil quite fast..
i experience this one before, so i know
llhm87
May 13 2008, 08:55 PM
What bbxiong say is true.
BBXiong
May 13 2008, 09:08 PM
ya, i using my acer laptop, and like u, the design also need the battery to be stable..
1st 3 month, i just plug in the battery and use for the sake of balancing, but then who know, the battery spoils...max power level 7%
after that, i get another battery, and just put it in the slot, but don connect..still can balance, and since ur battery is not charging, it will not overheat, nor will spoil the battery itself....if u still think that u need to keep the battery somewhere else, just try to find something about the same height and use it for balancing
kaiserreich
May 13 2008, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(cartman87 @ May 13 2008, 08:49 PM)
i use power supply. but after take off battery not stable lea... stupid design...
I used 4 erasers to lift the laptop up and improve the airflow underneath it.
Why don't you do that and then blow fan at it, should improve it a little, besides, how much do 4 erasers cost anyways.
cartman87
May 13 2008, 11:20 PM
i did edi... i used some small little plastic cups (used to put dodol one. LOL) to lift it up. then i used a table fan to blow it. the palm rest temp is still quite high and uncomfortable.
BBXiong
May 14 2008, 10:29 PM
get urself cooling pad...cooler master suggested...
btw, u need to look into the location of ur audio slots and USB, make sure the cooling pad model u get do not block those slots, or u will have hard times listening to musics using earphone/external speaker, and might waste one USB port
hrd
May 15 2008, 03:17 AM
to midnight blue M1530 users, could you share your original midnight blue XPS wallpaper?
dopoD810
May 15 2008, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(hrd @ May 15 2008, 03:17 AM)
to midnight blue M1530 users, could you share your original midnight blue XPS wallpaper?
here you go.....
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.