Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Celcom Broadband Thread V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51
yongkailoon
First of all welcome to this official thread for Celcom Broadband, a wireless broadband via 3G service. This thread is a place where all Celcom Broadband subscribers gather be it to show off their speedtest results or to rant. If you have anything related to Celcom Broadband which you would like to discuss on, do not hesitate to post it in here.

The Official Celcom Broadband Thread Guideline :
1) Do not spam especially with a zero value post. Example "Today's speed is bad", if you would like to say the speed is bad at least provide a screenshot of a bandwidth test result.
2) Do not treat this as a Kopitiam topic, serious offenders will be given a warning.
3) No flame baiting be it starting a flame bait or joining.
4) There are at times posts related to downloads via P2P programs, discussions on this must not go over the limits especially discussing on illegal/copyrighted materials.
5) Do not use any vulgarities or profanities. Action will be taken if you are found to have used any vulgarities or profanities.
6) Celcom Broadband agents and resellers are not to promote in here.
7) Last but not least, be friendly and make this place a better one for everyone. smile.gif
aieti81
wow...v2 already... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

looking forward for Celcom BB "V2" enhancement speed oso...
yongkailoon
QUOTE(aieti81 @ May 1 2008, 10:54 PM)
wow...v2 already... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

looking forward for Celcom BB "V2" enhancement speed oso...

I remembered someone saying that the speeds will probably improve on the 9th of May after some upgrading or something similar. hmm.gif
fruitie
I'm really waiting for good speed after 9th May, if that is the exact day. rclxms.gif
Though I'm in full HSDPA signal enabled area but I do not have chance to experience more than 400kbps. cry.gif

Anyhow, congratulations to the birth of Celcom BB Version 2. thumbup.gif
yongkailoon
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2008, 10:58 PM)
I'm really waiting for good speed after 9th May, if that is the exact day. rclxms.gif
Though I'm in full HSDPA signal enabled area but I do not have chance to experience more than 400kbps. cry.gif

Anyhow, congratulations to the birth of Celcom BB Version 2. thumbup.gif

Well then you should get the D98 plan and perhaps you will fly with the speeds achieved with the D98 plan. biggrin.gif
MaGNiFiCo
yep im also countin on that...9th may huh...its better have something

my hope is as high as celcom tower now tongue.gif
yongkailoon
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 1 2008, 11:01 PM)

Well never put your hopes high on anything because you might just be very disappointed if it doesn't happen.
megat_johan
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 1 2008, 11:01 PM)

ahaaaa....wanna do the countdown? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Are you on any VPN service or probably the seeds are local seeders ? hmm.gif

nope..mostly are from oversea..i don't know if it's related but i'm staying near Menara Celcom
fruitie
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 1 2008, 11:01 PM)
Well then you should get the D98 plan and perhaps you will fly with the speeds achieved with the D98 plan. biggrin.gif

There are two reasons for not upgrading to D98. sad.gif

First, budget kinda tight for every month, as a student I'm studying on my own expenses (with PTPTN loan), no pocket money from parents (as they are retired already better ask them to save for themselves), pay my own bills (telephone and Celcom) and rental. cry.gif

Second, even on D68 I still can't achieve speed more than 400kbps, I can foresee if I were to upgrade to D98, it is not gonna have strong signal. hmm.gif

cry.gif Though D98 is very tempting. cry.gif By the way, does 7 days policy applies to D68 upgrade to D98 package? unsure.gif If yes, I might consider to upgrade when my financial is a bit loose. blush.gif Else, I'll terminate D68 and straight apply for a new D98 package. hmm.gif
MaGNiFiCo
dude im already disappointed la tongue.gif

this my test speed for yesterday morning

fruitie
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 1 2008, 11:08 PM)

Madness, that was like GPRS speed? sweat.gif Your connection got throttled already? unsure.gif

How about now? Mind to run a speedtest again? smile.gif
megat_johan

wahhh this kind of speed so teruk rclxub.gif
maybe u shud test it twice
aieti81

yeah..worst then wired dial-up tmnet... doh.gif
MaGNiFiCo
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2008, 11:10 PM)
Madness, that was like GPRS speed? sweat.gif Your connection got throttled already? unsure.gif

How about now? Mind to run a speedtest again? smile.gif

im still doubt whether my account was throttled or it was a network problem...as im only connected with 2 bar (-96dbm)

usually i'll get 4 bar with -77dbm, guess thats wht fluctuate the speed

n tonite speed is slightly better...lol doh.gif

but browsing lowyat forum was fine, quite smooth...as my opera browser shows that its on 13-15 KB/s average for d transfer speed hmm.gif
fluotone
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 1 2008, 11:22 PM)
im still doubt whether my account was throttled or it was a network problem...as im only connected with 2 bar (-96dbm)

n tonite speed is slightly better...lol  doh.gif

but browsing lowyat forum was fine, quite smooth...as my opera browser shows that its on 13-15 KB/s average for d transfer speed  hmm.gif

aiyo.. i read all these stories about other users and celcom making me sweat.. shocking.gif
at least most of you guys can torrent-ing cry.gif
fruitie

but browsing lowyat forum was fine, quite smooth...as my opera browser shows that its on 13-15 KB/s average for d transfer speed  hmm.gif

I think there is something wrong with speedtest. sweat.gif

Transfer rate around 13-15kB/s is quite acceptable. Mind to test using Firefox add on? smile.gif
MaGNiFiCo
sorry fruitie,

i dunno why my firefox cant open up speedtest properly...it has an add on for dis? oh u speed tester freak tongue.gif

nvm i'll check it out later smile.gif
fruitie
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 1 2008, 11:31 PM)
sorry fruitie,

i dunno why my firefox cant open up speedtest properly...it has an add on for dis? oh u speed tester freak tongue.gif

nvm i'll check it out later smile.gif

laugh.gif Speed tester freak. tongue.gif I feel that I am. blush.gif

By the way, this is the link to the add on: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2360. smile.gif
yongkailoon
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2008, 11:07 PM)
There are two reasons for not upgrading to D98. sad.gif

First, budget kinda tight for every month, as a student I'm studying on my own expenses (with PTPTN loan), no pocket money from parents (as they are retired already better ask them to save for themselves), pay my own bills (telephone and Celcom) and rental. cry.gif

Second, even on D68 I still can't achieve speed more than 400kbps, I can foresee if I were to upgrade to D98, it is not gonna have strong signal. hmm.gif

cry.gif Though D98 is very tempting. cry.gif By the way, does 7 days policy applies to D68 upgrade to D98 package? unsure.gif If yes, I might consider to upgrade when my financial is a bit loose. blush.gif Else, I'll terminate D68 and straight apply for a new D98 package. hmm.gif

So you're working part-time now to cover your expenses ? hmm.gif

Anyway the 7 days return policy should apply only to the new subscribers.
fruitie
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 1 2008, 11:42 PM)

Only selling things on Internet that also I'm kinda lazy. tongue.gif Well, PTPTN gives some extra money for our tuition fees so I just use that money as my pocket money. If really dry up already, I have to open my mouth to ask from parents but not much around RM 150-250 the most. smile.gif

OK, thanks. biggrin.gif
fluotone
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 1 2008, 11:42 PM)

which means lucky for me.. im neither here nor there now,
anyone can tell me the advantages of celcom over maxis(besides the fact that it is able to torrent)?

coz right now i really dont see any difference lor... probably the hardware wise maxis has more advantage coz the bulky one im using runs on a rj-45(LAN) which can be hooked up to a hub/switch and shared easily.. these celcom usb modems are pretty neat if you travel alot and have a lappy.. but it gets rather complicated if you want to share the conn with other pc's using ICS sigh...
yongkailoon
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2008, 11:47 PM)
Only selling things on Internet that also I'm kinda lazy. tongue.gif Well, PTPTN gives some extra money for our tuition fees so I just use that money as my pocket money. If really dry up already, I have to open my mouth to ask from parents but not much around RM 150-250 the most. smile.gif

OK, thanks. biggrin.gif

Then you shouldn't be lazy, work hard to get more income for the D98. biggrin.gif

Anyway as a student I think whatever connection is sufficient enough to be used in the campus as long as it isn't a dial-up connection that costs a bomb when used frequently.
fruitie
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 2 2008, 12:29 AM)
Then you shouldn't be lazy, work hard to get more income for the D98. biggrin.gif

Anyway as a student I think whatever connection is sufficient enough to be used in the campus as long as it isn't a dial-up connection that costs a bomb when used frequently.

laugh.gif I think D68 is kinda sufficient to me now. tongue.gif

Yeah, actually I have free connection at my apartment but the connection gets slower as days pass. doh.gif
Complained for endless times but no action has been taken, I can't take it anymore as I need to do my Final Year Project and lots of research articles and journals are waiting for me to read them. sweat.gif
So, Celcom 3G is the best for me as Streamyx is not so good, we have holidays and I go back quite often to my hometown, quite wasteful if I install Streamyx.
prolexus
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 2 2008, 12:29 AM)

In my time as a student, there's no internet and i need to go to the uni's computer lab to do assignments. How time's have change.

Added on May 2, 2008, 12:39 am

Most probably there a whole lot of users connected at your area. I'm getting my normal speeds and also in penang.

MaGNiFiCo
thx fruitie for d add onn link

n heres my result using speedtest ff add onn

lol its even worst rclxms.gif

only 14kbps!!

imo speedtest web base version is better n accurate...

yongkailoon
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2008, 12:36 AM)
laugh.gif I think D68 is kinda sufficient to me now. tongue.gif

Yeah, actually I have free connection at my apartment but the connection gets slower as days pass. doh.gif
Complained for endless times but no action has been taken, I can't take it anymore as I need to do my Final Year Project and lots of research articles and journals are waiting for me to read them. sweat.gif
So, Celcom 3G is the best for me as Streamyx is not so good, we have holidays and I go back quite often to my hometown, quite wasteful if I install Streamyx.

Yea luckily Celcom Broadband works for you especially when you are getting decent speeds with the D68 plan, some unlucky ones are getting around <100kbps and that's bad.
avenger
having constant speed >100kB/s on xunlei now smile.gif
fruitie
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 2 2008, 12:53 AM)
thx fruitie for d add onn link

n heres my result using speedtest ff add onn

lol its even worst  rclxms.gif

only 14kbps!!

imo speedtest web base version is better n accurate...

My goodness. 14kbps?! Madness to maximum level. sweat.gif

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 2 2008, 12:56 AM)
Yea luckily Celcom Broadband works for you especially when you are getting decent speeds with the D68 plan, some unlucky ones are getting around <100kbps and that's bad.

Yeah, luckily. Thank Almighty God! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(avenger @ May 2 2008, 01:15 AM)
having constant speed >100kB/s on xunlei now smile.gif

I only use XunLei for big BT files, more than 500MB. It hogs up a lot of bandwidth and I hardly can surf the Internet though I have put the limit for download and upload speed. sad.gif
avenger
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2008, 01:26 AM)
I only use XunLei for big BT files, more than 500MB. It hogs up a lot of bandwidth and I hardly can surf the Internet though I have put the limit for download and upload speed. sad.gif

funny, i can still surf net although using torrent of >14gb flex.gif

try limit simultaneous ur connection and see smile.gif
fruitie
QUOTE(avenger @ May 2 2008, 01:30 AM)
funny, i can still surf net although using torrent of >14gb flex.gif

try limit simultaneous ur connection and see smile.gif

Woo, be prepared Celcom comes after you if you are on D68. laugh.gif

Hope you can share your settings with me. smile.gif
avenger
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2008, 01:46 AM)
Woo, be prepared Celcom comes after you if you are on D68. laugh.gif

Hope you can share your settings with me. smile.gif

Im on D98 smile.gif

my xunlei setting:

原始下载线程数 5
每个下载任务最多可用的线程:45
连接管理的最大连接数:70
当前连接数:256

on celeron m 1.5ghz, 1.25GB ddr ram. windows xp pro.
yongkailoon
After all XunLei is known to be a "selfish" torrent program so it is no surprise that it hogs up the bandwidth, however limiting a lower connection value and also the upload speed will help. smile.gif
fruitie
QUOTE(avenger @ May 2 2008, 01:51 AM)
Im on D98 smile.gif

my xunlei setting:

原始下载线程数 5
每个下载任务最多可用的线程:45
连接管理的最大连接数:70
当前连接数:256

on celeron m 1.5ghz, 1.25GB ddr ram. windows xp pro.

Oh, then you would have no fear for that. tongue.gif

Thanks. That's all I need to change? notworthy.gif
avenger
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2008, 01:54 AM)
Oh, then you would have no fear for that. tongue.gif

Thanks. That's all I need to change? notworthy.gif

that is the settings i used for more than 1 year smile.gif
fruitie
QUOTE(avenger @ May 2 2008, 02:08 AM)
that is the settings i used for more than 1 year smile.gif

Appreciate it. smile.gif

Just noticed that you are a Celcom BB agent. thumbup.gif Any chance to share D50 package with us? Desperately in need for this package. tongue.gif
he-sham
just wanna share my celcom bb speed this morning @ 5.32 am...

but i wonder why my BT performance is not good.... i think celcom starting to throttle BT & other p2p....
lj0000
as i got from the celcom people, celcom and streamyx dun share the same pipe within malaysia. they all join at MYIX, then go out of malaysia on the same pipe.

so, those bt mysteries could be that, those seeds/shares within malaysia will get a good speed, whereas overseas gets stuck.

Added on May 2, 2008, 8:37 am(WTF) looking for the magazine some time ago that compares the broadband speed between maxis and celcom around malaysia. Need it to do my report.
Seremban Angler
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2008, 11:36 PM)
By the way, this is the link to the add on: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2360. smile.gif

Is this add-on only for XP users? hmm.gif

I can't install it because I'm using VISTA and it says that the add-on is not compatible with my version of Firefox.
LeonTan
wanna ask, if I want to apply Celcom broadband, I need a Credit card? Or just pay per momth?
Seremban Angler
QUOTE(fluotone @ May 1 2008, 11:50 PM)
which means lucky for me.. im neither here nor there now,
anyone can tell me the advantages of celcom over maxis(besides the fact that it is able to torrent)?

The only advantage Celcom has for me is more UMTS and HSDPA coverage area. thumbup.gif

Added on May 2, 2008, 9:22 am
QUOTE(LeonTan @ May 2 2008, 09:20 AM)
wanna ask, if I want to apply Celcom broadband, I need a Credit card? Or just pay per momth?

Pay by cash lor.....why need credit card for?
LeonTan
How about USB modem? have to pay full?
avenger
QUOTE(LeonTan @ May 2 2008, 09:20 AM)

use credit card to pay also can tongue.gif
LeonTan
No credit card la... sweat.gif
Seremban Angler
QUOTE(LeonTan @ May 2 2008, 09:25 AM)
How about USB modem? have to pay full?

Celcom got package where can pay installments mah. You have not been reading from the beginning rite?
Do read through the previous pages and you get a lot of info.
yongkailoon
Yes the installment is just an "installment", it is not those easy payment plans you get from your credit card. It is just that they will include the modem's fees into your monthly fee and you will be paying it like an "installment".
aieti81
in case ur cant effort to buy the modem in full then celcom got option plan for those,,just bear in mind that u need to tied with contract..i think its fair enough... brows.gif brows.gif

kakeru_chan
just now the signal dropped from -73 to -101.dBm, down to 1 bar only...now gone back ok...weird blink.gif
wch5274
just call celcom centre and they admit they got network problem from 30/4 till 9/5.. it mean they still testing their network.. so for all user will be facing unstable internet connection during this period...

My question...
Y i can't surfing although im connected when im in UMTS but if my signal is HSDPA.. no problem.. Other problem is my signal not consistent.. always show UMTS and sometime go to HSDPA where i can surf internet than can't surf when it back to UMTS...
I live at Bandar Baru Bangi and my house just 500m from big telekom building (and I expect they got the transmitter too)... and celcom centre confirm my area should get HSDPA but what i get is inconsistent signal from celcom.. weeird..

Added on May 2, 2008, 11:59 am
QUOTE(kakeru_chan @ May 2 2008, 11:21 AM)
just now the signal dropped from -73 to -101.dBm, down to 1 bar only...now gone back ok...weird  blink.gif

How do u check signal measurement?..
mine usb huawei e220 doensn't have signal measurement.. just using bar strenght
aieti81
QUOTE(wch5274 @ May 2 2008, 11:57 AM)
How do u check signal measurement?..
mine usb huawei e220 doensn't have signal measurement.. just using bar strenght

used AT+CSQ command...not sure whether it works with huawei e220 but for datacard type is working..

MaGNiFiCo
QUOTE(Seremban Angler @ May 2 2008, 09:11 AM)
Is this add-on only for XP users?  hmm.gif

I can't install it because I'm using VISTA and it says that the add-on is not compatible with my version of Firefox.

this add onn is compatible with vista...im using it now smile.gif

btw which ver of FF did u used? it sounds related to browser problem not ur OS
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.