Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: NIKKOR Lens
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
timothyy
Hi guys.
Guess many of us have the money to get dSLRs but kinda heavy when it comes to buying lenses. Choosing the right lens can be totally changed your whole photography experience.

So, I'll start first by asking all ther sifus around here.

I already have a 18-200VR lens now.
The only problem with this lens is, at 200mm, it is not so clear... and the aperture is on the high side... f/3.5-5.6

So, I am looking for another lens that I can take "people" indoor without much using flash. (I hate flash unless got diffuser)

First question...
Should I get a 50mm, f/1.8D (or 50mm f/1.4D) or a Macro lens 105mm VR (f/2.8)

I love to take macro... but the thing with macro is, you don't do that everytime.

I'd say 50-60% of my photo taking is on "people". 20-30% on scenery and 10-20% on insects/macros.

Of course, the 18-200VR also can take potraits, 105mm also can... but the bokeh effect not so syiok la...
Any suggestion?
shinchan^^
maybe the Nikkor 60mm f/2.8
can take human portrait and macro
peterbrutus
Tamron 17-50mm F2.8? value for bucks!
shinchan^^
QUOTE(peterbrutus @ Jan 28 2008, 11:43 AM)

TS mentioned NIkkor lens not tammy
timothyy
QUOTE(peterbrutus @ Jan 28 2008, 11:43 AM)

Is this a macro lens?

WEll, my main purpose on macro is... to blow up any insects or flower WITH details.

Actually, sooner or later, I will get both lenses. Ha! Ha! Just wondering, which lens I should get first. That's all.
shinchan^^
aiyo
Nikkor AF 60mm F/2.8 Micro 1:1 reproduction
xandman
the 18-200 vr is soft at the tele end..
for macro...with a budget get 60mm juz as sc suggested...
if u have more money...get 105vr...=)

Added on January 28, 2008, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 28 2008, 11:19 AM)
Hi guys.
Guess many of us have the money to get dSLRs but kinda heavy when it comes to buying lenses. Choosing the right lens can be totally changed your whole photography experience.

So, I'll start first by asking all ther sifus around here.

I already have a 18-200VR lens now.
The only problem with this lens is, at 200mm, it is not so clear... and the aperture is on the high side... f/3.5-5.6

So, I am looking for another lens that I can take "people" indoor without much using flash. (I hate flash unless got diffuser)

First question...
Should I get a 50mm, f/1.8D (or 50mm f/1.4D) or a Macro lens 105mm VR (f/2.8)

I love to take macro... but the thing with macro is, you don't do that everytime.

I'd say 50-60% of my photo taking is on "people". 20-30% on scenery and 10-20% on insects/macros.

Of course, the 18-200VR also can take potraits, 105mm also can... but the bokeh effect not so syiok la...
Any suggestion?

i just noticed this...when i read again....
if like that...u seriously need the CREAM MACHINE!
the legendary 85mm f1.4!
i tell u...u wont regret getting it! =)
Mavik
Agreed, since you mentioned that 50-60% of your shots will be on people, you can get the 85mm f/1.4 or if your budget is a little tighter, get the 50mm f/1.4.
timothyy
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 28 2008, 07:31 PM)
Agreed, since you mentioned that 50-60% of your shots will be on people, you can get the 85mm f/1.4 or if your budget is a little tighter, get the 50mm f/1.4.

85mm is around RM1.4k right compared to around 1k for 50mm.

The f/1.4 is same... but how about sharpness and useability? I mean at 85mm, (x1.5 =128mm) it is around 7x zoom. For potrait... wouldn't this be a bit too difficult especially if in functions?
xandman
no no....
85mm f1.4 is 3.3k liaoo...
tongue.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 28 2008, 10:21 PM)
no no....
85mm f1.4 is 3.3k liaoo...
tongue.gif

Ooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I SEE!!!!!!!

FORGET IT!
Mavik
The 85mm f/1.8 is RM1.3k though. Still good and the focal length is good for the really nice close up shots smile.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 28 2008, 10:24 PM)
The 85mm f/1.8 is RM1.3k though. Still good and the focal length is good for the really nice close up shots smile.gif

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

I mistaken with f/1.4 and f/1.8 on the 85mm pricing...

So... if 50mm f/1.4 and 85mm f/1.8 which one you will chose?
xandman
50 f1.4...if i dun already have the 50f1.8...biggrin.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 28 2008, 10:30 PM)
50 f1.4...if i dun already have the 50f1.8...biggrin.gif

OK... set!!!
Ask my wife buy for me...
Kakakaka... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Mavik
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 28 2008, 10:29 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

I mistaken with f/1.4 and f/1.8 on the 85mm pricing...

So... if 50mm f/1.4 and 85mm f/1.8 which one you will chose?

I would go with both if I can afford them but if I can only choose one, I would get the 50mm f/1.4 (which I am currently using smile.gif)
timothyy
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 28 2008, 10:33 PM)
I would go with both if I can afford them but if I can only choose one, I would get the 50mm f/1.4 (which I am currently using smile.gif)

OK.... Great...

So... I will buy a macro lens first... then go for the 50mm.

Then.... 10mm shocking.gif shocking.gif

Kakaka...

Well, for macro lens... read some forums and discussions...

Seems like the 105mm is neither here or there. Although the CR is useful.
I've taken macro with add on lens before and also my Sony F828.
I don't find the focusing so difficult but in those forums, seems like everyone is worried about the focusing and talk abot tripod and such.

What say you?

How about other lenses like Tamron or Tokina which some claims has better built.
clemong_888
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 28 2008, 10:40 PM)
OK.... Great...

So... I will buy a macro lens first... then go for the 50mm.

Then.... 10mm  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Kakaka...

Well, for macro lens... read some forums and discussions...

Seems like the 105mm is neither here or there. Although the CR is useful.
I've taken macro with add on lens before and also my Sony F828.
I don't find the focusing so difficult but in those forums, seems like everyone is worried about the focusing and talk abot tripod and such.

What say you?

How about other lenses like Tamron or Tokina which some claims has better built.

everybody here will ask u to go for the tammy sp90. personally i use the tokina macro and i find nothing wrong with it. maybe it's just abit tad slow but u're using manual focus on most occasions . the thing about macro photography is that a decent tripod is essential and while i'm not asking asking you to spend thousands, i guess the bare minimum would be 300-500 for a tripod and another 300++ for the head. flash is also recommended.
timothyy
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jan 28 2008, 10:55 PM)
everybody here will ask u to go for the tammy sp90. personally i use the tokina macro and i find nothing wrong with it. maybe it's just abit tad slow but u're using manual focus on most occasions . the thing about macro photography is that a decent tripod is essential and while i'm not asking asking you to spend thousands, i guess the bare minimum would be 300-500 for a tripod and another 300++ for the head. flash is also recommended.

For now, I am kind sceptical to spend so much on tripods which I hardly use. Most of my photos taken during travelling.

Hmmm... may be I get a free tripod from my bro in law...

Kekeke...
I'll check with him.

But why Tamron or Tokina over Nikkor here? Why u say that?

Guys... any of these ring a bell? Any of these I should scavage from my bro in law?

1 HENSEL SPOT LIGHT 3200W (1 UNIT)
2 HENSEL TOP LIGHT 3000W (1 UNIT)
3 HENSEL BOOM LIGHT 1500W (1 UNIT)
4 HENSEL LIGHT 1000W (3 UNIT)
5 HENSEL POWER PACK 3200 (1 UNIT)
6 HENSEL POWER PACK 1500 (1 UNIT)
7 HENSEL POWER PACK 300 (1 UNIT)
8 BOWEN LIGHT 500W (2 UNIT)
9 HORSEMAN 4X5 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
10 BRONICA 120 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
11 AUTOPOLE (8 UNIT)
12 LIGHT STAND (11 UNIT)
13 CAMERA STAND FOR 4 X 5 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
14 MANFROTTO TRIPOD 058 (1 UNIT)
15 MANFROTTO TRIPOD 055 (1 UNIT)
16 4 X 5 FILM HOLDER (12 UNIT)
17 120 FILM HOLDER (3 UNIT)
18 INSTANT HOLDER (2 UNIT)
19 BACKGROUND PAPER (20 ROLLS)
20 ELINCHROME TABLE TOP (1 UNIT)
21 UMBRELLA (1 UNIT)
22 HONEYCOMB (3 UNIT)
23 4 X 5 CAMERA LENS 150MM (1 UNIT)
24 4 X 5 CAMERA LENS 210MM (1 UNIT)
25 120 CAMERA LENS 77MM (1 UNIT)
26 120 CAMERA LENS 80MM (1 UNIT)
27 120 CAMERA LENS 250MM (1 UNIT)
28 SEKONIC LIGHT METER (1 UNIT)
29 MISC ACCESSORIES
clemong_888
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 28 2008, 10:58 PM)
For now, I am kind sceptical to spend so much on tripods which I hardly use. Most of my photos taken during travelling.

Hmmm... may be I get a free tripod from my bro in law...

Kekeke...
I'll check with him.

But why Tamron or Tokina over Nikkor here? Why u say that?

Guys... any of these ring a bell? Any of these I should scavage from my bro in law?

1 HENSEL SPOT LIGHT 3200W (1 UNIT)
2 HENSEL TOP LIGHT 3000W (1 UNIT)
3 HENSEL BOOM LIGHT 1500W (1 UNIT)
4 HENSEL LIGHT 1000W (3 UNIT)
5 HENSEL POWER PACK 3200 (1 UNIT)
6 HENSEL POWER PACK 1500 (1 UNIT)
7 HENSEL POWER PACK 300 (1 UNIT)
8 BOWEN LIGHT 500W (2 UNIT)
9 HORSEMAN 4X5 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
10 BRONICA 120 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
11 AUTOPOLE (8 UNIT)
12 LIGHT STAND (11 UNIT)
13 CAMERA STAND FOR 4 X 5 CAMERA (1 UNIT)
14 MANFROTTO TRIPOD 058 (1 UNIT)
15 MANFROTTO TRIPOD 055 (1 UNIT)
16 4 X 5 FILM HOLDER (12 UNIT)
17 120 FILM HOLDER (3 UNIT)
18 INSTANT HOLDER (2 UNIT)
19 BACKGROUND PAPER (20 ROLLS)
20 ELINCHROME TABLE TOP (1 UNIT)
21 UMBRELLA (1 UNIT)
22 HONEYCOMB (3 UNIT)
23 4 X 5 CAMERA LENS 150MM (1 UNIT)
24 4 X 5 CAMERA LENS 210MM (1 UNIT)
25 120 CAMERA LENS 77MM (1 UNIT)
26 120 CAMERA LENS 80MM (1 UNIT)
27 120 CAMERA LENS 250MM (1 UNIT)
28 SEKONIC LIGHT METER (1 UNIT)
29 MISC ACCESSORIES

u should look at this manfrottos. the rest are mostly lighting equiptment, if u want your own studio, why not? might be handy for some indoor macro though.

oh, if comparing with the nikon,the nikon is slightly better but i'm on a budget and i wont spend 3k for it tongue.gif by all means, get the nikon if u can afford it.
khairolnizam
IINM , most of the listed above r for medium frame film slr..
timothyy
Ya lo... my bro in law gettin rid of all these. Business chap lap.

Added on January 29, 2008, 1:07 amHey...
Just wondering... is Kenko teleplus 2x MC7 Teleconverter good? Got ppl sell at RM280... good buy if condition is good? How do I know it is good or not?
xandman
105 is neither here nor there?
hahahaha...
bro...get to know it first...
then only u can tell if its here OR there...
i have the lens...and the sharpness is superb! even on a d40!
i dun understand why some people say it's bad...maybe about the price...
as for VR...it's pretty much useless at macro level...
most people will use a tripod if going 1:1 or beyond...
u should get a feel of it first...then u know it's good!

Added on January 29, 2008, 6:57 amtimmy...
u selling all those stuffs?
can check for me the light meter?
wats the model and how much? tq!
timothyy
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2008, 06:56 AM)
105 is neither here nor there?
hahahaha...
bro...get to know it first...
then only u can tell if its here OR there...
i have the lens...and the sharpness is superb! even on a d40!
i dun understand why some people say it's bad...maybe about the price...
as for VR...it's pretty much useless at macro level...
most people will use a tripod if going 1:1 or beyond...
u should get a feel of it first...then u know it's good!

Added on January 29, 2008, 6:57 amtimmy...
u selling all those stuffs?
can check for me the light meter?
wats the model and how much? tq!

Aiya... u got ah? Let me cuba try test first la...
Then I will consider. But currently, talking to some in Ebay to buy teleconverter. Kenko OK ah?

Those studio equipment is for sell. Preferably sell all at 1 go. Contact JAcky at 012-304 0500
ifer
wahh... i am interested in those stuffs your bro in law is selling, timothy. i will sms him.

oh by the way, tried the 105 vr and i got to say that this lens is a 2 thumbs up kind of lens. tamron 90? can't compare, serious!
calvin_gsc
Nikon announces the AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Major Features

* 5.3x zoom lens covering a wide focal range of 16 to 85mm (picture angle is equivalent to focal length of 24 to 127.5mm in Nikon FX or 35mm format)
* Vibration Reduction II enables sharper pictures while shooting at shutter speeds up to four stops slower than would otherwise be possible
* Optical design optimized for superior performance with Nikon digital SLRs
* ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass elements minimize chromatic aberration while providing higher resolution and superior contrast
* Three a-spherical lens elements minimize various types of lens aberration
* High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating achieves superior color reproduction while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
* Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor ensures fast, quiet autofocus operation
* Rounded seven-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural
* 0.38 m/1.3 ft. closest focus distance throughout the entire zoom range
* Accepts 67 mm filter attachments

Selling price £429.99 / euro642.00

More info: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012909nikkor1685vr.asp

Nikon announces the AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED

AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8G ED Major Features

* Internal Focusing (IF) design enables focusing without changing the length of lens barrel
* Two aspherical lens elements minimize lens aberration
* M/A mode allows rapid switching between autofocus and manual focusing
* ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass element minimizes chromatic aberration while providing higher resolution and sharper contrast
* Nano Crystal Coat and high-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating delivers superior color reproduction, while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
* Closest focus distance of approximately 0.185 m (0.6 ft.)
* Rounded nine-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus objects appear more natural
* Accepts 62 mm filter attachments

More info: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012908nikkor60micro.asp
Mavik
Sigh, I really do hope that they might come out with the 85mm f/1.4 with AF-S and nano coating, or even better, a 85mm f/1.2 version to compete against Canon.
ifer
same thing here. i hope they do an AF-S version of 85mm 1.4.
then, the current owner of the current AF-D 85mm 1.4 will upgrade their lens to the AF-S and i can probably get one used unit of AF-D 85mm 1.4.

Mavik
QUOTE(ifer @ Jan 29 2008, 01:36 PM)
same thing here. i hope they do an AF-S version of 85mm 1.4.
then, the current owner of the current AF-D 85mm 1.4 will upgrade their lens to the AF-S and i can probably get one used unit of AF-D 85mm 1.4.

Hahaha sounds like a good plan, that is if the prices do drop and people are willing to switch over wink.gif
xandman
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 29 2008, 10:26 AM)
Aiya... u got ah? Let me cuba try test first la...
Then I will consider. But currently, talking to some in Ebay to buy teleconverter. Kenko OK ah?

Those studio equipment is for sell. Preferably sell all at 1 go. Contact JAcky at 012-304 0500

teleconverter deteriorates ur image further...
so i'd say no...
unless u r using super sharp lense such as the 70-200 or better...300 f2.8 - 600 f4
also..using a telecoonverter...makes u lose light...
using with the 18-200....makes it unable to AF...i think...=)
since u lose 2 stops of light...

* Internal Focusing (IF) design enables focusing without changing the length of lens barrel
    * ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass element minimizes chromatic aberration while providing higher resolution and sharper contrast
    * Nano Crystal Coat and high-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating delivers superior color reproduction, while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
    * Rounded nine-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus objects appear more natural

Y 60mm micro?
we need 85mm AF-S!!!!
Nikon...do u hear us....WE NEED 85mm F1.2 AF-S!!! With VR if possible!
undazztood
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2008, 02:07 PM)
Y 60mm micro?
we need 85mm AF-S!!!!

i wonder how much it will cost. same price like 70-200vr 2.8 i guess
shinchan^^
AF 85mm f/1.4D is nikon fastest lens

Do we still need AF-S?
HenryLow
i need 12-300mm f2.8 VR...
next lens for me... will be 24-70 / 17-55...
but this one need wait donno how many yrs... doh.gif
scorgio
QUOTE(HenryLow @ Jan 29 2008, 02:38 PM)

So quick out of retirement already. tongue.gif
HenryLow
QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 29 2008, 02:42 PM)
So quick out of retirement already.  tongue.gif

no ppl wan buy my D200, how to retired... sad.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2008, 02:07 PM)
teleconverter deteriorates ur image further...
so i'd say no...
unless u r using super sharp lense such as the 70-200 or better...300 f2.8 - 600 f4
also..using a telecoonverter...makes u lose light...
using with the 18-200....makes it unable to AF...i think...=)
since u lose 2 stops of light...
Y 60mm micro?
we need 85mm AF-S!!!!

Ya lo... I know... but I like take big big on smal small insects...
wlcling
QUOTE(HenryLow @ Jan 29 2008, 02:38 PM)

12-300?? f/2.8, dream come true, but you need super big biceps first!
ifer
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 29 2008, 01:41 PM)
Hahaha sounds like a good plan, that is if the prices do drop and people are willing to switch over wink.gif

you will see... there are a lot of people sold their D200 off when D300 is out... without any obvious reasons.
Mavik
Got reasons wan, whether it will be logical to others or not, sure there is always a reason. Whether it may be to get the best or latest gadget or just to have bragging rights or just to satisfy their lust for so-called low light performance wink.gif
timothyy
OK.
After getting 105VR lens (not yet la), then I will get the 50mm f/1.4
After that... I will get SB800...
Then I will get MAcro Flash shocking.gif

Kakaka... Like I so rich only. Cheh!! MIMPI!!!
KTCY
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jan 29 2008, 12:32 PM)
Nikon announces the AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Major Features

* 5.3x zoom lens covering a wide focal range of 16 to 85mm (picture angle is equivalent to focal length of 24 to 127.5mm in Nikon FX or 35mm format)
    * Vibration Reduction II enables sharper pictures while shooting at shutter speeds up to four stops slower than would otherwise be possible
    * Optical design optimized for superior performance with Nikon digital SLRs
    * ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass elements minimize chromatic aberration while providing higher resolution and superior contrast
    * Three a-spherical lens elements minimize various types of lens aberration
    * High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating achieves superior color reproduction while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
    * Rounded seven-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural
    * 0.38 m/1.3 ft. closest focus distance throughout the entire zoom range
    * Accepts 67 mm filter attachments

Selling price  £429.99 / euro642.00

More info: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012909nikkor1685vr.asp

Just wondering that 60mm is it good ? unsure.gif
xandman
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 29 2008, 07:05 PM)
OK.
After getting 105VR lens (not yet la), then I will get the 50mm f/1.4
After that... I will get SB800...
Then I will get MAcro Flash shocking.gif

Kakaka... Like I so rich only. Cheh!! MIMPI!!!

if u want...
i can help accelerate ur MIMPI...
ican poison u with macro flash oso..
hahahahaha...tongue.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2008, 09:29 PM)
if u want...
i can help accelerate ur MIMPI...
ican poison u with macro flash oso..
hahahahaha...tongue.gif

Eh... uncle... I thought I mentioned that? Ha! hA!
xandman
ya la...
thats y i wanna make it poison u faster...
muahahhahaa...
so u can get it faster! tongue.gif
undazztood
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 29 2008, 08:20 PM)
Just wondering that 60mm is it good ? unsure.gif

all nikkor is good thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
calvin_gsc
By the looks of this Nikon wont be releasing any new bodies beside D60.

http://www.nikonproducts.co.uk/default.aspx
timothyy
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 30 2008, 08:05 AM)
all nikkor is good thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Actually, if I didn't buy the 18-200, I will definitely get this. Its good. At least, if I have this 16-85, I still can go for the 70-200 later on... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
undazztood
yup me also wait for the price here in malaysia. hope can get it below 2k.
i already lost 25mm to 69mm after sold off my 18-200vr.
Mavik
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 30 2008, 08:30 AM)
Actually, if I didn't buy the 18-200, I will definitely get this. Its good. At least, if I have this 16-85, I still can go for the 70-200 later on...  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Time to sell your 18-200mm lens already haha smile.gif

Get the combination of the 12-24mm, 24-70mm and 70-200mm lens smile.gif - All f/2.8 and when you switch to D3, also still can use wink.gif

HenryLow
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 30 2008, 10:41 AM)
Time to sell your 18-200mm lens already haha smile.gif

Get the combination of the 12-24mm, 24-70mm and 70-200mm lens smile.gif - All f/2.8 and when you switch to D3, also still can use wink.gif

12-24mm is F4 DX lens ler... doh.gif
better get 14-24mm F2.8, D3 geng... whistling.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.