Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: NIKKOR Lens
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27
ZZR-Pilot
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Oct 10 2008, 01:15 PM)
18-105, 16-85, 18-200 are all "walkabout" lenses. Meaning you can travel around the world just using one of these lenses and you most probably won't miss much cause they cover the ranges.

If you are eventually gonna get the 70-200 or 70-300 or even the 55-200 (and don't mind bringing two lenses on your trips and interchanging between them), you might as well skip the 18-105, 16-85, 18-200 and go straight for those zooms.

I was considering getting the 18-200 VR until I saw quite a few reviews rubbishing it for its zoom creep and less-than-stellar performance at the wide and tele end, just where you're likely to use it the most. Well I had my doubts on mega superzooms anyway.

I have borrowed an 17-55 f2.8. The fast aperture is handy, but it's tearfully pricey and I can't imagine myself lugging that hulking piece of glass around all the time.

Settled on a 16-85 VR. Very nice glass, but I had to cough out blood to pay for it. And I always end up wishing for just a few more mm on the tele end...

Then the 18-105 VR came out. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif Already new D90 owners are flogging it off on the second hand market for RM900. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

A 70-200 f2.8 is what I'm dreaming of next. It's the perfect concert lens! Hmm... if I start looking around under the sofa and carpet, maybe I might be able to scrounge enough dough to pay for a second-hand Tamron one...

My recommendation... trawl the Buy & Sell forums for a second-hand, almost-new 18-105 VR. In my book, it's the best bang-for-the-buck walkaround Nikkor at the moment. thumbup.gif
sherdil
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 16 2008, 02:49 AM)

I was considering getting the 18-200 VR until I saw quite a few reviews rubbishing it for its zoom creep and less-than-stellar performance at the wide and tele end, just where you're likely to use it the most. Well I had my doubts on mega superzooms anyway.

I have borrowed an 18-55 f2.8. The fast aperture is handy, but it's tearfully pricey and I can't imagine myself lugging that hulking piece of glass around all the time.

Settled on a 16-85 VR. Very nice glass, but I had to cough out blood to pay for it. And I always end up wishing for just a few more mm on the tele end...

Then the 18-105 VR came out.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  Already new D90 owners are flogging it off on the second hand market for RM900.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

A 70-200 f2.8 is what I'm dreaming of next. It's the perfect concert lens! Hmm... if I start looking around under the sofa and carpet, maybe I might be able to scrounge enough dough to pay for a second-hand Tamron one...
My recommendation... troll around in the Buy & Sell forums for a second-hand, almost-new 18-105 VR. In my book, it's the best bang-for-the-buck walkaround Nikkor at the moment.  thumbup.gif

I would like to know what you think of the Nikon 16-85mm Vr2 lens.
I would love your feedback,as i am trying to decide over this and the 18-105mm Vr.
Also what did you pay for it and does it come with filter..

Regards
Sher
ramblie
QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 15 2008, 04:36 PM)
Satu kampung tengok, babe...

Funny la rclxms.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(sherdil @ Oct 16 2008, 03:26 AM)
I would love your feedback,as i am trying to decide over this and the 18-105mm Vr.

Regards
Sher

It is best that you go and test both lenses before buying.
VR or not VR, it helps a bit but not a point to consider when sharpness is concern.

Anyway, do remember that both lenses are not fixed aperture. So, these kinda lenses are good for bright day light, under the sun thing... but when u really need the the extra aperture... u got to sacrifice your ISO setting to get a good expsosure photo.

QUOTE(ramblie @ Oct 16 2008, 09:57 AM)
Funny la  rclxms.gif

Kekeke...
zio
The best walkaround lens is the 18-55mm tongue.gif

Get closer to your subject la, stop sniping. If you are looking at animals, then 105mm is also not enough smile.gif
timothyy
the Specialist has Speaketh...
ZZR-Pilot
QUOTE(sherdil @ Oct 16 2008, 07:26 AM)

Regards
Sher

Unlike most of the hardcores here, I'm just a casual snapper.

I had been using the 18-55mm D50 kit lens before moving up to an 18-70mm that I nicked from my dad. It was then that I started to note that my kit lens had a tendency to produce soft pics in comparison, and suddenly I felt it just didn't cut it anymore for me. My dad's lens was a world apart but eventually he kept bugging me to return it. So I had to find a replacement.

The 16-85 is even better than the 18-70 that I used - I feel it is sharper (although I'm no pixel peeper) plus it has more range. I love taking candid shots of people, so I find myself using the long end of the lens a lot. This is where the VR made a difference. The 16mm end is unique. It lets you go just a tad wider than usual, which helps a bit when you're trying to squeeze in the entire room when you're already backed up against the wall. Most people don't appreciate the extra 2mm though. Sometimes I too wish I could trade those few mm for a couple more on the tele end...

The lens is still consumer grade compared to the all-metal pro-level 17-55 f2.8, but it still feels rock solid. Dense plastic barrel, the inner trombone is metal, no slack, no rattling (except for the sound of the VR element) and the zoom movement is superbly damped. The shiny mount is solid metal, which somehow feels more inspiring than the dull plastic job of the new 18-105 VR.

My biggest caveat with this lens is the price. Being the realistic casual snapper that I am, I wanted to buy it second hand. It was available in the used market for RM1800 at the time, but some twat beat me to the sale and I was left clutching a thick wad of RM50 notes and no lens. I went to Sg Wang and quickly offloaded the cash plus RM250 more for a new one. That was, what, 4-5 months ago? So yeah, RM2050 is pricey to me for this lens... but at the time there really was no other option if you wanted a decent zoom with VR. Sigma's 18-125 OS lens wasn't available yet either.

The other caveat that most people don't notice is the aperture range. On paper, it's the same f3.5-5.6 as any other standard zoom. But... because the aperture range starts earlier at 16mm, this lens is actually just a teenie weenie bit slower compared to 18-70, 18-105 & 18-200. For example.. this lens starts out f3.5 at 16mm, but at 18mm it can only manage f3.8. Out in the field, however, it doesn't really matter.. well, to me at least. Pixel peepers and those who love to pore and brag about numbers might feel their kiasu-ism challenged by having a lens that's slightly slower.

Anyway, there you go.... that's the long and short of my 16-85mm lens (pun intended).

Personally... if the 18-105 VR was available back then, I would have grabbed it instead (second hand if possible) and used the remaining RM1000 for a nice photo vacation with my pretty, pretty Japanese friend. Hahaha..
KTCY
QUOTE(zio @ Oct 16 2008, 11:16 AM)

Get closer to your subject la, stop sniping. If you are looking at animals, then 105mm is also not enough smile.gif

Exactly. 18-55 VR color seems nicer compare to the non-VR version

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 16 2008, 12:09 PM)

I had been using the 18-55mm D50 kit lens before moving up to an 18-70mm that I nicked from my dad. It was then that I started to note that my kit lens had a tendency to produce soft pics in comparison, and suddenly I felt it just didn't cut it anymore for me. My dad's lens was a world apart but eventually he kept bugging me to return it. So I had to find a replacement.

The 16-85 is even better than the 18-70 that I used - I feel it is sharper (although I'm no pixel peeper) plus it has more range. I love taking candid shots of people, so I find myself using the long end of the lens a lot. This is where the VR made a difference. The 16mm end is unique. It lets you go just a tad wider than usual, which helps a bit when you're trying to squeeze in the entire room when you're already backed up against the wall. Most people don't appreciate the extra 2mm though. Sometimes I too wish I could trade those few mm for a couple more on the tele end...

The lens is still consumer grade compared to the all-metal pro-level 18-55 f2.8, but it still feels rock solid. Dense plastic barrel, the inner trombone is metal, no slack, no rattling (except for the sound of the VR element) and the zoom movement is superbly damped. The shiny mount is solid metal, which somehow feels more inspiring than the dull plastic job of the new 18-105 VR.

My biggest caveat with this lens is the price. Being the realistic casual snapper that I am, I wanted to buy it second hand. It was available in the used market for RM1800 at the time, but some twat beat me to the sale and I was left clutching a thick wad of RM50 notes and no lens. I went to Sg Wang and quickly offloaded the cash plus RM250 more for a new one. That was, what, 4-5 months ago? So yeah, RM2050 is pricey to me for this lens... but at the time there really was no other option if you wanted a decent zoom with VR. Sigma's 18-125 OS lens wasn't available yet either.

The other caveat that most people don't notice is the aperture range. On paper, it's the same f3.5-5.6 as any other standard zoom. But... because the aperture range starts earlier at 16mm, this lens is actually just a teenie weenie bit slower compared to 18-70, 18-105 & 18-200. For example.. this lens starts out f3.5 at 16mm, but at 18mm it can only manage f3.8. Out in the field, however, it doesn't really matter.. well, to me at least. Pixel peepers and those who love to pore and brag about numbers might feel their kiasu-ism challenged by having a lens that's slightly slower.

Anyway, there you go.... that's the long and short of my 16-85mm lens (pun intended).

Personally... if the 18-105 VR was available back then, I would have grabbed it instead (second hand if possible) and used the remaining RM1000 for a nice photo vacation with my pretty, pretty Japanese friend. Hahaha..

tl,dr sleep.gif
ramblie
QUOTE(zio @ Oct 16 2008, 11:16 AM)

That's the reason why I still hunting this lens biggrin.gif
hsienming
QUOTE(ramblie @ Oct 16 2008, 03:16 PM)
That's the reason why I still hunting this lens  biggrin.gif

there are alot of people selling this lens what
sherdil
QUOTE(hsienming @ Oct 18 2008, 01:48 AM)

They are because they dont know how good it is.
Its cheap, but i have gotten some of my best shots with it.
Actually i have sold all my camera equipment including
my 12-24mm and the SB600 flash...All.
So now i am cameraless and lensless...hehe.

I want to start all over again with a
D80 and a 18-105mm VR and nothing else except a 50mm f1.8.
I know this is not the best, but after dragging all my equipment,
i feel i personally wouldnt want to do it all over again.
So the 1 kit is good enough for me.

Added on October 18, 2008, 3:17 am
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 16 2008, 12:09 PM)

The lens is still consumer grade compared to the all-metal pro-level 17-55 f2.8, but it still feels rock solid. Dense plastic barrel, the inner trombone is metal, no slack, no rattling (except for the sound of the VR element) and the zoom movement is superbly damped. The shiny mount is solid metal, which somehow feels more inspiring than the dull plastic job of the new 18-105 VR.

Thank you so much for the the write up and your experience with the lens.
This has helped me in making my decision a bit easier.
I can get a 16-85mm VR2 used with filter for rm1,700.00 , its 3 months old...is it worth it ?
Do you think its worth it or just stick with my earlier decision of the 18-105mm Vr1...say at Rm900.00?
The problem with the 16-85mm for me would be,i have to use a separate flash....which i sold just yesterday,a SB600.
Why, because , i want light and easy!.
Yes, i know i cant have the best of both worlds, and maybe later, start all over again with flash..etc..etc.
Yes, many questions, but this is what this forum is about, helping each other.
Regards

ramblie
QUOTE(hsienming @ Oct 18 2008, 01:48 AM)

Already ask around bah...but they said already reserved la...sudah booking la... biggrin.gif
sherdil
QUOTE(ramblie @ Oct 18 2008, 09:05 AM)
Already ask around bah...but they said already reserved la...sudah booking la...  biggrin.gif

Well, its a good lens, better if you could find with a VR.
You have to call and grab it fast,sometimes we haggle
too much !.
Cheers
ZZR-Pilot
QUOTE(sherdil @ Oct 18 2008, 07:09 AM)
Thank you so much for the the write up and your experience with the lens.
This has helped me in making my decision a bit easier.
I can get a 16-85mm VR2 used with filter for rm1,700.00 , its 3 months old...is it worth it ?
Do you think its worth it or just stick with my earlier decision of the 18-105mm Vr1...say at Rm900.00?
The problem with the 16-85mm for me would be,i have to use a separate  flash....which i sold just yesterday,a SB600.
Why, because , i want light and easy!.
Yes, i know i cant have the best of both worlds, and maybe later, start all over again with flash..etc..etc.
Yes, many questions, but this is what this forum is about, helping each other.
Regards

Well it depends on the kind of shooting that you do.

Me, personally I find the extra 20mm on the tele end to be more handy than the extra 2mm on the wide end. Factor in the huge price difference, I think it's safe to say the 18-105VR wins hand down.

Of course, photography taikors will always scoff at anything less than a pro 17-55mm f2.8 or 24-70 f2.8...

It's fine if you wanna make do with the pop-up flash. But if you want an i-TTL flash that lets you bounce the light and yet a hell lot less cumbersome to lug around than an SB600, I suggest you try an SB400. I have one - it's small, light, uses only 2 batteries and compact enough that I just leave it on my camera all the time. Around RM300-RM350 for a used one, if you're lucky to find one in the second hand market. I'm definitely keeping mine!

Price-wise, the Nissin Di622 comes close. But the Nikon's build quality is truly a world apart. Plus the Nissin is even bulkier than the SB600...

sherdil
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 18 2008, 09:24 PM)
Well it depends on the kind of shooting that you do.

Me, personally I find the extra 20mm on the tele end to be more handy than the extra 2mm on the wide end. Factor in the huge price difference, I think it's safe to say the 18-105VR wins hand down.

Of course, photography taikors will always scoff at anything less than a pro 17-55mm f2.8 or 24-70 f2.8...

It's fine if you wanna make do with the pop-up flash. But if you want an i-TTL flash that lets you bounce the light and yet a hell lot less cumbersome to lug around than an SB600, I suggest you try an SB400. I have one - it's small, light, uses only 2 batteries and compact enough that I just leave it on my camera all the time. Around RM300-RM350 for a used one, if you're lucky to find one in the second hand market. I'm definitely keeping mine!

Price-wise, the Nissin Di622 comes close. But the Nikon's build quality is truly a world apart. Plus the Nissin is even bulkier than the SB600...

Thanks again,
Very detailed and informative .
Still looking for a used 18-105mm Vr.
The guy selling the 16-85mm Vr2 us not budging from his price,so
i might just let it be.
Regards
Sher
timothyy
Hey Sherdil
rule of thumb for 2nd hand Nikkor = 10% below.
ramblie
QUOTE(sherdil @ Oct 18 2008, 02:27 PM)
Well, its a good lens, better if you could find with a VR.
You have to call and grab it fast,sometimes we haggle
too much !.
Cheers

Ya la biggrin.gif After do some research, I better get this one, but maybe I still out of luck cry.gif
ramblie
Now waiting my used 18-55mm VR coming to Sandakan brows.gif Tak sabar pula rasanya biggrin.gif
ramblie
Hayooo!!! biggrin.gif Already got my new (used actually) 18-55mm VR from crespo. Now start using it rclxms.gif
china_pig
QUOTE(ramblie @ Oct 18 2008, 09:05 AM)
Already ask around bah...but they said already reserved la...sudah booking la...  biggrin.gif

Hahahah!! One trick is to have the forum opened and press F5 every 1 minute. I'm sure you can be the first one to get hold of any lens you want.
ramblie
QUOTE(china_pig @ Oct 23 2008, 04:07 PM)
Hahahah!! One trick is to have the forum opened and press F5 every 1 minute. I'm sure you can be the first one to get hold of any lens you want.

Thanks for your advise my friend. Just recived my poison yesterday evening and will test it tonight biggrin.gif
china_pig
Congrats on ur new baby!
ramblie
QUOTE(china_pig @ Oct 23 2008, 04:36 PM)
Congrats on ur new baby!

Thanks biggrin.gif Now planning to get another baby biggrin.gif
sherdil
QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 19 2008, 08:57 AM)
Hey Sherdil
rule of thumb for 2nd hand Nikkor = 10% below.

10 per cent if the lens is popular/new....15-20 per cent if its not that popular but a good lens.
Its one of the reasons that i am still hunting for one... smile.gif
Cheers
ramblie
I planning to get AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED. How much the current price for the used one ahh? or there another micro lens worthy to have first? Any suggestion? biggrin.gif
ifer
any ideas how much the 50mm f1.4 AF-S might cost in malaysia?
xandman
ifer...
i heard it's gonna be arnd 1.6k...
zio
QUOTE(ramblie @ Oct 26 2008, 12:14 PM)
I planning to get AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED. How much the current price for the used one ahh? or there another micro lens worthy to have first? Any suggestion?  biggrin.gif

The legendary 200mm Micro f4 tongue.gif

And the 105mm brand new should cost 2.3k-2.5k? Used should be 2.1-2.2k smile.gif But i dont see many used units around.
Mavik
QUOTE(xandman @ Oct 31 2008, 04:02 PM)
ifer...
i heard it's gonna be arnd 1.6k...

Man that sounds like a rip-off if it is priced so high. I do hope it stays below RM1.3k though whistling.gif
ifer
rm 1600 is indeed at the higher side.
if it's rm 1200 t0 1300, then i will get it

tongue.gif
dannytanx
50mm f1.4 AF-S is the 50mm f1.4G listed in nikon.com.my i guess (do correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif , earlier version was 50mm f1.4D)

i do also source for the 50mm f1.8 earlier on, but all shops said not stock & some said dis-continued as new model coming i.e 50mm f1.4G?! blink.gif

50mm f1.4G is for DX format like Nikon D90, etc? sweat.gif

KTCY
QUOTE(dannytanx @ Oct 31 2008, 10:37 PM)
50mm f1.4 AF-S is the 50mm f1.4G listed in nikon.com.my i guess (do correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif , earlier version was 50mm f1.4D)

i do also source for the 50mm f1.8 earlier on, but all shops said not stock & some said dis-continued as new model coming i.e 50mm f1.4G?! blink.gif

50mm f/1.4G is FF lens. Can use on D90
dannytanx
QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 31 2008, 10:59 PM)
50mm f/1.4G is FF lens. Can use on D90

what's FF? i'm newbie here

I'm waiting for the stock of D90, so wanna add-on the len

DX is the AF motoring right?! unsure.gif
sunny
i think FF = full frame?
KTCY
QUOTE(dannytanx @ Oct 31 2008, 11:13 PM)
what's FF? i'm newbie here

I'm waiting for the stock of D90, so wanna add-on the len

DX is the AF motoring right?! unsure.gif

DX = Crop sensor
FF = Full frame.

If you're using D90, just get the older AF-D version of 50mm f/1.4 which is cheaper

QUOTE(sunny @ Nov 1 2008, 12:13 AM)
i think FF = full frame?

Yes.
dannytanx
Roger Roger, Thanks rolleyes.gif
fariq_azad

hmm the new AF-S f1.4 would really apeal to D40/40x/60 users who have long awaited the coming of a low light prime that they can autofocus with.

Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't the "G" means no manual aperture ring?

If you are using a D50/70/80/90 then the F1.4 AF-D wouldbe better.

can get new for RM1050 or second for RM800-900 biggrin.gif
KTCY
QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Nov 4 2008, 08:46 AM)
hmm the new AF-S f1.4 would really apeal to D40/40x/60 users who have long awaited the coming of a low light prime that they can autofocus with.

Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't the "G" means no manual aperture ring?

If you are using a D50/70/80/90 then the F1.4 AF-D wouldbe better.

can get new for RM1050 or second for RM800-900 biggrin.gif

@ bold : Yes

AF-D 50mm f/1.4 around RM 980 only tongue.gif
Mavik
QUOTE(dannytanx @ Nov 1 2008, 10:32 AM)
Roger Roger, Thanks rolleyes.gif

Just so that you understand, Nikon calls their crop sensor (basically smaller sensors) DX (D40/x, D60, D90, D200, D300) while they call their full frame sensors as FX (D700, D3).

Get the 50mm F/1.4G, although not having the aperture ring there is one thing but the autofocus should be blazingly fast!
ifer
one thing good about G lenses are the dust wont get into the glasses through the aperture ring.
shiinkuro31
QUOTE(ifer @ Nov 4 2008, 11:45 AM)
one thing good about G lenses are the dust wont get into the glasses through the aperture ring.

and save cost also.. ;p
dannytanx
QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 4 2008, 11:22 AM)
Just so that you understand, Nikon calls their crop sensor (basically smaller sensors) DX (D40/x, D60, D90, D200, D300) while they call their full frame sensors as FX (D700, D3).

Get the 50mm F/1.4G, although not having the aperture ring there is one thing but the autofocus should be blazingly fast!

Yeah, noted rclxms.gif

That's why now holding my horses for the 50mm F/1.4G.

Hope it will come with good price. thumbup.gif
xandman
y get 1.4 when u can get 1.2!
tongue.gif
timothyy
Christmas coming... who wanna buy that as present for me?
xandman
timmy...
let's buy for ourselves!
brows.gif

good idea no?
tongue.gif
hahahahhaa...
ramblie
QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 4 2008, 11:22 AM)

Now I know what the true meaning of DX and FX... nod.gif

And what he BIG diffrent 50mm 1.8 and this 1.4G, except for the price and aperture ring? I just want to know biggrin.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(ramblie @ Nov 5 2008, 04:58 PM)
Now I know what the true meaning of DX and FX... nod.gif

And what he BIG diffrent 50mm 1.8 and this 1.4G, except for the price and aperture ring? I just want to know  biggrin.gif

Lansiness?
ramblie
QUOTE(timothyy @ Nov 5 2008, 05:02 PM)
Lansiness?

err...what it's mean aa bro...

I can't get it... sad.gif
luvjim

is it reli discountinue or jz rumours? coz me too search for few shops, all no stock..
darthbaboon
QUOTE(timothyy @ Nov 5 2008, 01:49 PM)
Christmas coming... who wanna buy that as present for me?

I buy you for CHristmas Present and you buy me for present also la... then we pretend not to know the present contents and feign surprise when we open it to reveal a brand new lens. tongue.gif

Then we both use the lens to shoot some Christmas food shots and post it in the Bokeh thread. tongue.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.