Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Buying DVD Camcoder
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
meiyan07
Hi.....I intrested buying dvd camcoder....but i dunno which brand is good? My budget is around RM 1500-3000. Requirements is 2.5 Mega pixel higher....with memory...can use USB. I use this camcorder to film d hospital operation progress.....so need a good one. Not too heavy or too big.

thz smile.gif

davidmak
QUOTE(meiyan07 @ Apr 17 2008, 11:17 AM)
Hi.....I intrested buying dvd camcoder....but i dunno which brand is good? My budget is around RM 1500-3000. Requirements is 2.5 Mega pixel higher....with memory...can use USB. I use this camcorder to film d hospital operation progress.....so need a good one. Not too heavy or too big.

thz smile.gif

For RM3000 the budget quite optimum liao for what you're expecting to buy. I can't say which model is better because I am using HDD camcorder from Sony (SR-7). I remember JVC has a lot of HDD camcorders at around 1500-3000 also. Not sure if they got DVD camcorders but Canon is a good start. Sony do have DVD camcorders too.

Unless you want DVDs as your consumables, I would high suggest going for HDD camcorders because they're more convenient. The format is also easily burned to DVDs with minimal rendering. Sony's AVCHD however is a bit troublesome. You need AVCHD compliant softwares for rendering and it requires a lot of resources.
meiyan07
Not so understand...kinda blur. cry.gif

I just film a progress....for my assignment. No need use so high tech camcoder.
davidmak
QUOTE(meiyan07 @ Apr 17 2008, 11:39 AM)
Not so understand...kinda blur.  cry.gif

Then use this excuse buy a high-end phone and the video recording function is sufficient liao. kekeke! tongue.gif
soulfly
QUOTE(meiyan07 @ Apr 17 2008, 11:39 AM)
Not so understand...kinda blur.  cry.gif

are you a film student or medic student? i'm a bit confused here laugh.gif
if you want high quality result, you have to do editing.
and to me, miniDV provides better quality in this aspect.

anyway, with a 3k budget you can get sony dvd handycam this one - http://www.sonystyle.com.my/product/produc...ubcategoryid=20
terranova
HDD camcorder user here. My 2 cents. Bear in mind that when going for the DVD-based camcorder, you may end up paying more in the long run because the DVDs are not your standard computer-shop DVDs, but special sized ones (smaller). So although the camcorder may be cheaper than a HDD-based one, the $ you'll be spending on the medium itself (ie special DVDs) will set u back a bit. Older DVD-based camcorders were also known to be susceptible to burn errors and slow. I believe HDD is the way to go. Sorry if that's not the answer you're looking for.
marauderz
newer sony hdd cams supposedlly can switch between AVHCD mode and MPEG2 modes, I have the older one that only records in MPEG2 mode..

ABSOLUTELY brillant piece of equipment, filmed a lot of my son with this.
davidmak
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 17 2008, 06:08 PM)
newer sony hdd cams supposedlly can switch between AVHCD mode and MPEG2 modes, I have the older one that only records in MPEG2 mode..

ABSOLUTELY brillant piece of equipment, filmed a lot of my son with this.

Yes, you can film in 'lower resolution' mode which actually records in MPEG2 mode. Can straight away process and burn. I think SR-5? Should be around RM4k right? But I do like JVC because they are affordable but I have no idea on video quality though.
meiyan07
I'm Medical Student....i need to film 3-5 progress of bone replacement during in operation theater. So my budget is around RM 2000-4000. Not too heavy or big.

Kindly suggest me which brand and the modal name.

Thanks biggrin.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.