Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Age of Conan <AoC>
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Gamers Hideout > Online Gaming
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Rel Centurica
Age of Conan

Okay, this game is now on the top of my want-list, so I'd want to share it with you guys smile.gif

The game is still in alpha stage but is now accepting beta applications, so apply early. A few points about this game that caught my eye...

- Revolutionary Combat - If you're handling a melee weapon (swords, maces, axes, you know...) and swing it in front of you with 4 (or more!) mobs are in range and in the swipe of your weapon... THEY ALL HIT! And you get 6 directions in which to strike at them! No more target-move-attack routine! Combat just gotten a little more involved.

And its not just melee weapons. Fancy yourself a ranged person? You're going to have to string your bow, aim, and let loose, all by yourself.

This doesn't mean RPG skill elements are useless or is this a twitch-type MMO, RPG stat based skills will still matter (of how I don't know since its in Alpha phase)

- Player Cities, Battlekeeps, and Sieges! - Build your city/battlekeep, have it attacked or attack others with trebuchets and other artillery. smile.gif

Player cities will can house shops with NPC-driven markets, player houses, and other buildings, just as one would expect of a player city.

Now if you want to know more, head on over to the site and forums... thumbup.gif
Goblinsk8er
I heard from PCgamer that you can attach joypad to play this game instead of keyboard and mouse.
Capricho
holy ... i like the string your bow, aim, and let loose, all by yourself. part drool.gif drool.gif

toplist for me like you
kenzai82
one thing.. can it beat WoW ? =D if cannot, then I'll wait for RO2..
Rel Centurica
QUOTE(kenzai82 @ Apr 9 2007, 05:08 PM)

WoW players are going to have to change a little bit of mindset to enjoy this game since its not target-buttonsmash routine anymore... Combat seems to be like if you don't pay attention, a lowly creature could kill you too.

Yea, you can use a gamepad and play it like a console game biggrin.gif

Sign up for the beta guys! The more of us sign, the better the chance someone from LYN will get in! biggrin.gif And get involved in the forums... seems like a good bunch around smile.gif

And PCGame.com.my has it up TBA at http://www.pcgame.com.my/product_info.php?...roducts_id=1378
azxel
b'cos of this game, I might even take up lessons in grunting... hehe
Rel Centurica
Haha... going back to the barbarian days eh?
Valentineday
is this something like rakion? i mean u not just click on the monster and fight it by itself? i hope is something like rakion~`~
Capricho
not something like rakion please.. tongue.gif

i prefer some grinding mmo laugh.gif
Rel Centurica
Never played Rakion... but you can find out about the combat system at the Community Portal, and the preview videos.
onscreen
QUOTE(azxel @ Apr 10 2007, 02:13 PM)
b'cos of this game, I might even take up lessons in grunting... hehe

oi bro, make sure you get your hands in this MMO then we can go to the Tavern and get drunk in the Brawiling PvP.

What turns me on in MMO crave is the combat system as well as Conan lore. Being a barbarian is really fun, bashing and slashing.. oh the gore drool.gif
Rel Centurica
Violence at its best mate biggrin.gif
MaGicDust
I registered for beta! I enjoyed Anarchy Online pretty much, hopefully Age of Conan will be even better! If anyone receive any beta testing aceptance please post here to inform! ^^
Dawn_eclair
uyup i am also a Ao player
stil wating for AOE to be out soo long already
rei aslo one too? eheh
Rel Centurica
If anyone gets beta access, and if you signed an NDA (not sure if they doing NDAs for this beta), better keep your mouth shut until the NDA is lifted.

Unless you wanna lose your betaship tongue.gif
cooperkhoo
hoho i also been waiting for this game almost 1 year. At last it stated that it will launch next year at at march!!

I been with city of lochlain guild .. hmm maybe i spell ot wrongly.However i not active in the forum coz it bored me out without nothing to said about the game. Yeah i got , it really piss me off when it stated that wanna launch it next year intead of this year!!

Anyway this game is more intresting than wow. chop ur limbs cut ur Ba....... ooopsss....
azxel
it's also compatible with Direct X 10... how many upgrading or already upgraded for it?
SOCKman!
moomoo you playing this? makes me miss the good ol days of dungeon and dragons online laugh.gif
UltramanToron
any1 got the beta?
i got it but cant play it after install

seems like a missing application

any1?
meetxj9
Age of Conan, a title MMORPG that no one in Malaysia seem to be looking up.

The game is set for s release date next month, and is 1 of the most anticipated titles to date. Age of Conan is rated M for maure and i can see why, nudity, voilence and blood is all part of the game. This may be the game that subsidise the WOW addict for a while assuming it doesn't suck bigtime .

SO far this game offers a whopping 12 classes and 3 factions to choose from. Incoporates mount combat, wicked combat system and great looking graphic(if your pc can handle it of course). The variety in this game is so tempting, but like all the games i buy, i never pre-order an MMORPG until the facts of the game is made clear on the release date(Screw you HGL!!!). But so far i'm very impress, they even got sieges in!!!!

http://www.ageofconan.com/
Do be aware that this game is no walk in the park, your PC might get its ass kisked by the requirments. Mine is still playable on medium settings.
Sichiri
an Ultra-violent MMORPG? I'm sold!
ShinAsuka
wont be cheap i think
dopp
I'm in AoC closed beta...... it sucks big time.
meetxj9
We got an NDA breaker here!!!!! blink.gif

Not really convince about the hold thing, thats why we ussually wait for the launch release to see if it is any good.
onscreen
Funcom overdid in visuals than in gameplay. I am skipping this.

squall_12
if need to pay to play online then is not worth it but let see how when it released.....
kAz
I'm interested to give it a go, if anyone here's keen on setting up a guild post here once u have the game.
billytong
Been playing Anarchy Online for sometime and still actively playing. This AoC seems look promising. tongue.gif
dopp
the beta installation file is 14gb..
Syfq
14GB?
sihhh
king_kong

how on earth can you compare this to RO2? either you're shallow or very shallow.

QUOTE(Valentineday @ Apr 10 2007, 08:23 PM)
is this something like rakion? i mean u not just click on the monster and fight it by itself? i hope is something like rakion~`~

no its not. its an action based game. unlike in Cabal, you have the option to click and attack Age of Conan does not.

QUOTE(dopp @ May 3 2008, 09:28 AM)

shite.

Added on May 6, 2008, 2:13 pmi'd like to give everyone a heads up who is interested in buying this game.

New Era will be bringing in an Asian Edition of Age of Conan and will be available about the same time as the international release date.

The game still requires you to log into US/EU servers, only difference is the packaging. IT IS NOT an Asian server.

The Asian Edition of Age of Conan will contain premiums not found in the US/EU versions, but i cannot confirm what are the items yet.

Will update everyone when the release date draws closer.

aberrant80
QUOTE(Rel Centurica @ Apr 9 2007, 01:49 PM)
- Revolutionary Combat - If you're handling a melee weapon (swords, maces, axes, you know...) and swing it in front of you with 4 (or more!) mobs are in range and in the swipe of your weapon... THEY ALL HIT! And you get 6 directions in which to strike at them! No more target-move-attack routine! Combat just gotten a little more involved.

I'm not so sure about it being labeled "revolutionary". I think it's just marketing. I've been watching this game, and if you google around, you'll see people starting to think that it's too much button mashing. Think about it. If you've played the game for weeks, would you feel bored if you had to click through the same sequence of attack combos for almost all your fights (especially true for melee characters)? Select, swing left, swing right, thrust, activate some combo, repeat. I'm just not so sure how much of an improvement this is over the traditional auto-attack style. Unique and different, yes, but revolutionary? That's kinda why I'm still undecided. I couldn't get a beta key to test it out though rolleyes.gif

If it can't beat WoW, you'd play RO2 instead? Huh? What logic is that? Shouldn't it be "if it can't beat WoW, I'm sticking with WoW"?

QUOTE(Rel Centurica @ Apr 12 2007, 09:02 AM)
If anyone gets beta access, and if you signed an NDA (not sure if they doing NDAs for this beta), better keep your mouth shut until the NDA is lifted.

Unless you wanna lose your betaship tongue.gif

IIRC, there's two betas - closed and open. Only the closed beta has a NDA.

QUOTE(UltramanToron @ Mar 4 2008, 03:02 AM)
any1 got the beta? i got it but cant play it after install

seems like a missing application

You have to be accepted into their beta before you can play... what exactly did you install? Also, the game's recommended requirements are quite high.
king_kong
you can view some videos about AoC in greater detail here:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/33239.html

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/33233.html
Xeoalpha
Some gamers from Celestial Order will be joining AoC. Ellendil has written some pretty good posts about the game: http://www.celestialorder.net/forumdisplay.php?f=97
RyonanGT
is this game going to be like after beta? Buy the game then can play for free like Guild Wars or need to pay every month like WoW???
Xeoalpha
It's a pay to play. Monthly fee.
sharkteef
QUOTE(dopp @ May 3 2008, 09:28 AM)

wah lau rclxub.gif
onscreen
Done in CB and beta and still hardly convince myself to play Age of Conan. sad.gif
Jason_T
is it free 2 play?
mafeya
QUOTE(Jason_T @ May 12 2008, 12:05 PM)
is it free 2 play?

Is it so hard just to read the few post(s) above?
Jason_T
QUOTE(mafeya @ May 12 2008, 12:15 PM)
Is it so hard just to read the few post(s) above?

is not hard but is quite confusing.. wink.gif
alex82
Beta is free, but when it goes commercial you need to buy the game and it has the monthly fee as well like world of warcraft.

chow_vincevince
AoC looks amazing, hope its good!

Will cc's like autosurf be able to host AoC on the computers as a temporary solution to my terrible laptop till I get a nice desktop by the end of the year?
frega
Considering this game, releasing in the matter of weeks. I'm between this and Warhammer Online, but warhammer online is sooooooo long away.

This game graphics are amazing.
dopp
The latest and biggest drama is about Siege Warfare. Up until 48 hours ago, for the last couple of years 100v100 has been stated as the numbers involved.
Then a pre order player got his box extra early, and when looking through his game manual, upon coming to the siege section it suddenly read 48v48.
This player then immedietly went to the forums with his discovery shocking the rest of the userbase just as much until a community rep confirmed it was true while also
shifting into extreme damage control and spin mode by saying 'these numbers are not set in stone'.
It's in the freakin game manual and as far as everyone knew by your words it was 100v100.

It took a leak in the manual to expose an enormous game change that severely impacts peoples impressions of the game and effectively portrays Funcom as deceptive in maintaining the 100v100 claim to the unkowning userbase even though it had already no longer been true for some time.

~ GG
gallagher
Wow, this is not a stunt I would want to pull off if I was part of the AoC team. It'll be too early to say whether it would affect the playerbase as there is much more to the game besides the guildvguild warfare. I suppose it comes down to the players preference, if the siege war is an integral part of the game to them, it'll be like telling a WoW player The Burning Crusade was released without the Outlands. Just a scenario.

What baffles me though, if AoC had planned this change all along, why wasn't there an announcement prior to the release of the game. It's like deliberately aggravating the new players and giving the other competitors, ie WAR to lure the players away. Right on dopp, GG for the time being.

chow_vincevince
Its bad publicity for sure but on the other side, 100 v 100 is hard to do without killing people's computers and crashing the server. Even WAR already said it won't be 100 v 100 all in once scene. A number of people will get ported to fight/defend certain areas to evenly distribute it.

They should have said ahead of time, no harm in that imo.
Sham903n
hmm nice.... I wonder where can I get the game ASAP.. I also wonder if i get to keep the...eeem.. trophy*cough*head*cough*... ahemm...ahmem.. **.. I would love to hang them on wall..
azxel
wonder why its such a big deal doing 100 vs 100?
MMOs like Planetside and Shadowbane has more than 100 vs 100 at each time. I can still remember waking up for a siege that had 350 vs 150 players (or so) in Shadowbane... of course some of us folks crashed out.. laugh.gif

Oh yea.. and this was like 6-8 years ago! surely technology would have improved now...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.