Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Wireless broadband
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
DriksoN
I have some enquiry.. My friends and I are renting a house this coming May and we need wireless broadband so that each and everyone of us in the house will be able to use it.. It is possible to have such wireless router that can allow 8 persons to use it? Sorry for asking such a dumb question.. And are there any package and provider that provides such service? Thanks... Your help will be much appreciated..
rkwan67
u mean is sharing 1 streamyx line?? wireless can support 8 person in 1 wireless connectino. but tough it will b very slow lor.

even when 1MBps streamyx line, how could u share with 8 ppl?? unless u subcribe to 4mbps line la..

n da wireless broadband u said is by putting a Wireless AP to a streamyx line or directly subcribe to jaring or eb.net to get a wireless broadband?
Gyokumen_Koushu
Any wireless router can easily support up to 11-12 computers + also not to forget the lan port (4-6 ports).

But the thing is: you gotta subscribe a faster line if u wanna share with that number of ppl. 4mbps is the most feasible solution u've got right now. 8 ppl share the cost.
yongkailoon
QUOTE(Gyokumen_Koushu @ Apr 9 2008, 01:03 PM)
Any wireless router can easily support up to 11-12 computers + also not to forget the lan port (4-6 ports).

But the thing is: you gotta subscribe a faster line if u wanna share with that number of ppl. 4mbps is the most feasible solution u've got right now. 8 ppl share the cost.

However if 11-12 computers were to use P2P downloads, I won't be surprised that a normal router will hang. wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.