SeLrAhC
Apr 1 2008, 09:43 AM
Hey dudes, welcome in... the purpose of this thread is to gather all those currently working in the states, excluding hawaii... so that we can share more information and get help if we end up in trouble... or help whoever that's going there to work...
myself, i will be working as a HVAC engineer middle of this year in between west virginia and virginia... i had worked in LA, california before 1 year ago...
List of people working in the states
1. Selrahc - Anchorage, Alaska - Barrista - 32k per annum
previously - LA, California - Barrista - $22k per annum
2. ibmsege - Tennessee - CAD Engineer
3. xovey - South California - Finance & Econs - 58k
4. Tereno - San Jose, California - Software Engineer
for me to compile this list, please state your location, occupation and salary if possible . will be updated from time to time, but you can pm me to inform me as well.
harrychoo
Apr 1 2008, 09:54 AM
so how is the procedure to apply job there? thinking of getting an engineer job there
SeLrAhC
Apr 1 2008, 10:20 AM
1st ... get a job... includes you contract/agreement
2nd.... choose the visa and get it
3rd... go work
deodorant
Apr 1 2008, 10:30 AM
so how is the procedure to apply job there? thinking of getting an engineer job there
Wahaha it's so hard to get a job in the US now ler, especially if you're not there. Problem is the visa ... I hear from my friends that this year's H-1 quota, last year already finish

Jobs = easy to get, Job + Visa = hard.
Anyway I came back after my OPT ... got a job during OPT and I
thought I did fairly well but then employer dun want to sponsor me get H-1, oh well.
SeLrAhC
Apr 1 2008, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 1 2008, 10:30 AM)
Wahaha it's so hard to get a job in the US now ler, especially if you're not there. Problem is the visa ... I hear from my friends that this year's H-1 quota, last year already finish

Jobs = easy to get, Job + Visa = hard.
Anyway I came back after my OPT ... got a job during OPT and I
thought I did fairly well but then employer dun want to sponsor me get H-1, oh well.
h-1 1st day snap up already... unless US signs FTA with malaysia then we got our own quota... but i doubt that will happen... if that happens then all the bright ones will leave already
ermm.. there're several visa instead of h-1, l-1 or j-1 also can ^^
yeaps.. h-1 visa not worth sponsoring unless you are really needed.... they have to pay a certain $$$ if u get it or not they will still have to pay
btw, how much they paid you? and what position did you get? just for info...
Brotherjoe
Apr 2 2008, 06:38 PM
is your annual salary nett? after tax.
SeLrAhC
Apr 2 2008, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Apr 2 2008, 06:38 PM)
is your annual salary nett? after tax.
ermm... not exactly... i get taxed line 30+% of my salary... 8% to state & 22% to fed... i get to claim around 90% of my fed tax back... state tax dont think can claim back..
as for my new job... i dont think can claim back so much... expecting it to be around 40k per annum... i was in california the last time... now going to virginia so the tax varies from states
TheVoice
Apr 3 2008, 12:56 AM
ive heard there's something called DV, u can win lottery to get some sort of residency there.
SeLrAhC
Apr 3 2008, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(TheVoice @ Apr 3 2008, 12:56 AM)
ive heard there's something called DV, u can win lottery to get some sort of residency there.
green card diversity lottery... participated in it also... hahaha... if i kena i will be damn happy XD but mine the results will come out next year....zzzzzz
why no1 come here geh? no1 working in the states meh?
KLsooner
Apr 3 2008, 09:36 AM
Hi SeLrAhC,
What is your company name,any vacancy?
tishaban
Apr 3 2008, 10:12 AM
I've been doing the DV lottery for donkey years and have not gotten any

For those interested in working in the US, typically you would apply for the H1B work visa. There are 65000 H1Bs given out annually in the first week of April. There are usually around 120000 applicants so the H1Bs have been on lottery for the past several years. If I remember correctly, the company will also have to spend around $10k in legal and other fees to get the H1B as well. H1Bs can go up to 6 years and during that time you can apply for your green card.
If you received a Masters/PhD from a US university, you have a bit more luck since there is an additional 20000 quota for those people.
Me, I'm dreaming of that $230+k Wall St. job...
harrychoo
Apr 3 2008, 10:22 AM
any good websites to find job there?
WillHung
Apr 3 2008, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 1 2008, 09:43 AM)
Hey dudes, welcome in... the purpose of this thread is to gather all those currently working in the states, excluding hawaii... so that we can share more information and get help if we end up in trouble... or help whoever that's going there to work...
myself, i will be working as a HVAC engineer middle of this year in between west virginia and virginia... i had worked in LA, california before 1 year ago...
List of people working in the states1. Selrahc - Virginia - HVAC engineer - $ yet to be confirmed
previously - LA, California - Barrista - $22k per annum
for me to compile this list, please state your location, occupation and salary if possible . will be updated from time to time, but you can pm me to inform me as well.
bit off topic, but you made $22kpa as a barrista? As in Starbucks barrista?
SeLrAhC
Apr 3 2008, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(KLsooner @ Apr 3 2008, 09:36 AM)
Hi SeLrAhC,
What is your company name,any vacancy?
the homestead...
nope.. currently non...
but if you are in hospitality / culinary field i can get you in as an intern for 1 year... this are for uni students that has just grad or still studying in their 2nd year..
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 3 2008, 10:12 AM)

For those interested in working in the US, typically you would apply for the H1B work visa. There are 65000 H1Bs given out annually in the first week of April. There are usually around 120000 applicants so the H1Bs have been on lottery for the past several years. If I remember correctly, the company will also have to spend around $10k in legal and other fees to get the H1B as well. H1Bs can go up to 6 years and during that time you can apply for your green card.
If you received a Masters/PhD from a US university, you have a bit more luck since there is an additional 20000 quota for those people.

if msia signs FTA then msia would have another few thousand places ... ermm.. 1.6k usd for application.. if they get it... then have to pay the rest... they dont mind... 3 years... then extend for another 3... but my cousins got greencards within the first 3 years...
usually if u get a post grad degree from the western unis near the silicon valley, most likely you are guranteed a job even before graduation... unis like stanford, UCLA, UC berkeley, UCSF, caltech, USC, UCSD... my cousin r from cornell... their profs got benefits from the company when recommending them..
QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 3 2008, 10:22 AM)
any good websites to find job there?
craiglist.org not .com
QUOTE(WillHung @ Apr 3 2008, 05:22 PM)
bit off topic, but you made $22kpa as a barrista? As in Starbucks barrista?
yea... around 1.8k usd per month... and around 200-300usd in tips...
WEI! WHY ONLY I AM THE ONLY PERSON WORKING IN THE STATES? NO1 ELSE IN LYN MEH?
deitylord
Apr 3 2008, 10:09 PM
wah barrista got paid so much? ><
i guess the standard of living is high as well
SeLrAhC
Apr 3 2008, 11:14 PM
high meh? ... lowest among every1else... only blacks/latins work there... the whites and asians are the managers...
ermm.. no ar.. kinda cheap... u will be suprised.... room rental 300usd, food 150usd, transportation 100usd... guess that's all
tishaban
Apr 4 2008, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 3 2008, 11:14 PM)
ermm.. no ar.. kinda cheap... u will be suprised.... room rental 300usd, food 150usd, transportation 100usd... guess that's all
Good for you bro, where I am you'd be hard pressed to get a room rental at less than $600, food probably costs double what you're paying although I use public transportation myself so it seldom goes beyond $100/month
I was making $26k on my first year on the job, had to live in a run down neighborhood to survive
SeLrAhC
Apr 4 2008, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 4 2008, 12:50 AM)
Good for you bro, where I am you'd be hard pressed to get a room rental at less than $600, food probably costs double what you're paying although I use public transportation myself so it seldom goes beyond $100/month
I was making $26k on my first year on the job, had to live in a run down neighborhood to survive

yea.. some places the rental are damn exp.. especially the smaller cities..... ermm.. my food is subsidies... usually i dont pay for food... my transportation are also paid for.. ahhaha
u still working there now?
ikanayam
Apr 4 2008, 04:53 AM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 2 2008, 10:12 PM)

The actual number is less than 65k because a bunch are reserved for singapore and chile. The number of applicants increases by a LOT every year because it tends to carry over from those who didn't get it the previous year.
Wall St jobs are awesome. You just have to be really good at what you do. You don't even have to be nice to people, since the only way they judge you is based on how much money you bring in, so that's really great because you can just be an ass to everyone if you're good at it

But you really have to earn that 230k+.
P.I.M.P
Apr 4 2008, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(TheVoice @ Apr 3 2008, 12:56 AM)
that green card lottery ain't easy to get...don't be a victim of scam though...there are 2 types of lottery, one that you have to pay and one that yuo don't have to pay....
the legal lottery system is the one that you don't have to pay...if the website request for payment information, DON'T pay...its a scam
tishaban
Apr 4 2008, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 4 2008, 01:44 AM)
u still working there now?
Yes although I don't live there anymore
P.I.M.P
Apr 4 2008, 09:00 AM
its harder to find job in U.S nowadays coz the economy is down...also employers are reluctant to sponsor H1B...
one alternative is work for Chinese companies...they are more willing to sponsor H1B...but they will make you work like DOG...70hrs a week...60hrs/wk....
Added on April 4, 2008, 9:05 amMy Ph.D professor told me if you want to confirm getting H1B...you will have to be a Ph.D professor....working for the university...the university will sponsor your H1...but that's if your researchthesis is credible for the university to sponsor your H1...
Ph.D's get the priority for H1B because they are an asset to the country...
so if you really want H1 in U.S...take Ph.D
SeLrAhC
Apr 4 2008, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Apr 4 2008, 08:52 AM)
that green card lottery ain't easy to get...don't be a victim of scam though...there are 2 types of lottery, one that you have to pay and one that yuo don't have to pay....
the legal lottery system is the one that you don't have to pay...if the website request for payment information, DON'T pay...its a scam
i didnt pay a single cent

all done online...
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 4 2008, 08:59 AM)
Yes although I don't live there anymore

huh? what do u mean? ... u stay in mexico but work in the states?
QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Apr 4 2008, 09:00 AM)
its harder to find job in U.S nowadays coz the economy is down...also employers are reluctant to sponsor H1B...
one alternative is work for Chinese companies...they are more willing to sponsor H1B...but they will make you work like DOG...70hrs a week...60hrs/wk....
Added on April 4, 2008, 9:05 amMy Ph.D professor told me if you want to confirm getting H1B...you will have to be a Ph.D professor....working for the university...the university will sponsor your H1...but that's if your researchthesis is credible for the university to sponsor your H1...
Ph.D's get the priority for H1B because they are an asset to the country...
so if you really want H1 in U.S...take Ph.D
ermm.. actually indian companies are the one that sponsor a lot... but usually they take in indians... Ph.D. in the states is super competitive... not as easy as other places... each uni needs special accessment from the state to offer phds... unlike here
i know of a full prof. from jian tong uni. from china that works as a chef in a chinese restaurant
tishaban
Apr 4 2008, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 4 2008, 11:07 AM)
huh? what do u mean? ... u stay in mexico but work in the states?
I stay in Malaysia and my work is in the US. The beauty of offshoring and the internet.
SeLrAhC
Apr 4 2008, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 4 2008, 11:14 AM)
I stay in Malaysia and my work is in the US. The beauty of offshoring and the internet.
haih.. nvm..
why no1 is staying n working in the states now

LYN all locals?...
tishaban
Apr 4 2008, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 4 2008, 11:15 AM)
haih.. nvm..
why no1 is staying n working in the states now

LYN all locals?...
Haha, I just came back from the US 2 days ago, does that count?

What are you trying to do? Maybe Facebook might be a better place to look for people? I see quite a lot of Malaysian expats on Facebook.
SeLrAhC
Apr 4 2008, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 4 2008, 11:28 AM)
Haha, I just came back from the US 2 days ago, does that count?

What are you trying to do? Maybe Facebook might be a better place to look for people? I see quite a lot of Malaysian expats on Facebook.
ermm... 2days? no ler.. dont count...
i am trying to pull our resources together just like other threads... so when we need info or help we can contact each other ^^
facebook? a lot of ppl put it for fun... neway...
bhorng
Apr 6 2008, 10:33 PM
hey...which part of Virginia are you in?
please do send me a PM...
SeLrAhC
Apr 6 2008, 11:16 PM
pm u already...
come on... some1 join the list besides me... i am damn lonely... no other souls in the states?
elpee
Apr 14 2008, 07:22 PM
what about canada?
BurgaFlippinMan
Apr 14 2008, 09:39 PM
well i hope to join the list one day.

long time more yet though.
btw, for those who did their OPT but did not stay on, was it possible or difficult to obtain jobs in say, Canada or Australia? Engineers especially...
SeLrAhC
Apr 14 2008, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(elpee @ Apr 14 2008, 07:22 PM)
canada is very easy to apply.. but hard to find.. they are a relaxed lot
QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Apr 14 2008, 09:39 PM)
well i hope to join the list one day.

long time more yet though.
btw, for those who did their OPT but did not stay on, was it possible or difficult to obtain jobs in say, Canada or Australia? Engineers especially...
fasterler.. come and join me..
canada is easy... but their jobs are not so attractive
aus is hard to apply working visa but jobs are easy if you fall within those that they need... esp engineers eg mining
CAN SOME1 JOIN THE LIST BESIDES ME!!!
cawanmushi
Apr 15 2008, 03:47 PM
i wanted to go work there but cannot find sponsor
SeLrAhC
Apr 15 2008, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(cawanmushi @ Apr 15 2008, 03:47 PM)
i wanted to go work there but cannot find sponsor

if u can get a job offer i can sponsor ur visa
kenlimfornication
Apr 15 2008, 05:13 PM
Stop calling her BRO, she's a female.
Call her SIS or something.
elpee
Apr 15 2008, 07:44 PM
well, just in case any one's coming to canada, particularly ontario, there is one here waiting to give a toast!!!
SeLrAhC
Apr 15 2008, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Apr 15 2008, 05:13 PM)
Stop calling her BRO, she's a female.
Call her SIS or something.
i am a guy... this is my sis' acc lar... i tumpang since she's not using
QUOTE(elpee @ Apr 15 2008, 07:44 PM)
well, just in case any one's coming to canada, particularly ontario, there is one here waiting to give a toast!!!
u sure? hehhee... i will rmb that... thanks 4 d offer
ibmsege
Apr 16 2008, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 6 2008, 11:16 PM)
pm u already...
come on... some1 join the list besides me... i am damn lonely... no other souls in the states?
I'm in tennessee, working as a cad engineer in analog VLSI lab and taking phd... actually US is loosing its relative attractive compensation as compare to asia.. asia is slowly picking up now interm of engineering compensation... i used to work as design engineer in malaysia b4 and compare to staff engineer and above level between US and asia... where asia is nearly half of the pay of US equivalent engineer. But to sharpen the technical competency, i still think US is a good place so far as more technical opportunity then.
xovey
Apr 20 2008, 05:38 AM
Here's some salary info that I am aware of in my personal circle of friends
In order of job, salary, exp, location, major
- Financial Analyst - 58k 2 yrs exp SoCal - Finance & Econs (me)
- Sr Financial Analyst - 85k 3 yrs exp Socal - Finance & Econs (coworker)
- Tax accountant (Big 4) - 57k 2yrs Chicago - Accounting
- Audit (Big 4) - 60k+ - 2 yrs San Francisco - Finance & Accounting
- Technical Consultant - 80k - 2 yrs SoCal - Computer Sc
- Engineer - 80k+ - 1-2 yrs exp San Jose - Mechanical Engineering
- Engineer - 55k + per diem - 2+ yrs - Chicago - EE
All on H1B visa except 2 on the list.
zaim_sji
Apr 23 2008, 05:05 PM
[quote=SeLrAhC,Apr 4 2008, 11:07 AM]

all done online...
u didn't pay??? can u send me the link? TQ
SeLrAhC
Apr 23 2008, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(xovey @ Apr 20 2008, 05:38 AM)
Here's some salary info that I am aware of in my personal circle of friends
In order of job, salary, exp, location, major
- Financial Analyst - 58k 2 yrs exp SoCal - Finance & Econs (me)
- Sr Financial Analyst - 85k 3 yrs exp Socal - Finance & Econs (coworker)
- Tax accountant (Big 4) - 57k 2yrs Chicago - Accounting
- Audit (Big 4) - 60k+ - 2 yrs San Francisco - Finance & Accounting
- Technical Consultant - 80k - 2 yrs SoCal - Computer Sc
- Engineer - 80k+ - 1-2 yrs exp San Jose - Mechanical Engineering
- Engineer - 55k + per diem - 2+ yrs - Chicago - EE
All on H1B visa except 2 on the list.
yeaps.. around there the pay.. will pm u if i need a temp place 2 stay... hahahhaaaa
add u to the list
QUOTE(zaim_sji @ Apr 23 2008, 05:05 PM)
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 4 2008, 11:07 AM)

all done online...
u didn't pay??? can u send me the link? TQ
http://www.dvlottery.state.gov/
gtoforce
Apr 29 2008, 04:20 AM
darn
i was gonna ask for help for my application to university of chicago
i have all the stuffs but one thing i hate about us unis are that, they wont communicate with u unless they wish to
i dunno if my early application for LLM had arrived or not (sent on DEC 07 and JAN 08 respectively)
sheesh
but no one lives nor work in chicago eh?
darn
SeLrAhC
Apr 29 2008, 10:33 AM
ermm... that's why there're a lot of local agents here... u can try going to edu fairs and see whether they have agents there... a good one would be the MACEE edu fair...
my cousin used to stay there but no more... i have a friend there, i will try asking whether the uni is near his place ^^
meors
Apr 29 2008, 10:56 AM
darn, i only have american degree. can have better chances ar?
gtoforce
Apr 29 2008, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 29 2008, 10:33 AM)
ermm... that's why there're a lot of local agents here... u can try going to edu fairs and see whether they have agents there... a good one would be the MACEE edu fair...
my cousin used to stay there but no more... i have a friend there, i will try asking whether the uni is near his place ^^
macee will be around june this time
hopefull U of C will be there
bidfordun
Apr 30 2008, 05:54 PM
Huhu, hopefully i can work in usa also later. have been looking forward to experiencing something new abroad.
SeLrAhC
Apr 30 2008, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(gtoforce @ Apr 29 2008, 05:14 PM)
macee will be around june this time
hopefull U of C will be there
u might jsut see me there XD hahaha...
btw, for those that want to find seasonal (summer/winter) jobs in the state... go to www.speedwing.org
Munny
May 9 2008, 09:44 AM
Me and my sister are here in NYC, studying for degree and working part time in medical office, real estate office, restaurant etc...Nothing glamorous about our job and pay , we live modestly, but really like the city, though.
The best part is that we are paid off the book, no taxes... you get your cash and go. it's pretty decent.
tishaban
May 9 2008, 10:10 AM
Hey munny be careful with the IRS and immigration. I've personally seen people being denied entry after the immigration officer went through their luggage and found evidence that they were working illegally. How much are you getting for part time work if you don't mind me asking? We're paying I think $15 per hour for our casual computer technicians.
Otherwise enjoy the city, I love new york myself!
ihawk98
May 9 2008, 11:14 AM
i think as a student you should be able to work about 20 hours a week right? that is legal i think.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.