Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: 50mm Competition: Landscape, Architecture & Scener
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3
TheVoIP
I decided the theme is on using 50mm prime. However, it is ok if you set your zoom lense to around 45~55mm (ISO standard of 10% differences ).

And the subject is on Landscape, Architecture & Scenery.

Here is the sample of my picture, which I had shot some time using EOS 10D + 50 f1.4 at f2.8. It was shot using JPEG direct and the 50mm is the only lense I have at that time.

Every member can only submit one picture (Give others chance la...). You can post it here, then at the final date (15 April 2008), we will either create a poll thread or simply judge by one person.

As usual, picture not bigger than 1024x768 la... But I suggest not too small either, or else the effect is not powerful enought. 800x600 is a nice one. tongue.gif

Since I started this thread, I will not join this competition la... After all, I hardly use 50mm liao... tongue.gif

And please remain your exif information to file to confirm it is taken at 50mm tongue.gif
nairud
Another thing is, only photos TAKEN between 28/3/2008 and 15/4/2008 are entitled to join.
kuih_tiow
ayoo..cannot join since dun hav 50mm prime lens.

all d best to all participant rclxms.gif
dgrebel
----deleted-----
razuryza
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 28 2008, 11:52 PM)

edited or fresh from oven ek?
dgrebel
QUOTE(razuryza @ Mar 29 2008, 07:55 AM)
edited or fresh from oven ek?

autolevels for the clouds. and non extended fill light. all RAW edits are made with lightroom, while the texting are made up in photoshop. thats all FYI
razuryza
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 29 2008, 08:00 AM)
autolevels for the clouds. and non extended fill light. all RAW edits are made with lightroom, while the texting are made up in photoshop. thats all FYI

ooo..patut color cam lain jerk...hehe..

camni..i pun nak jalan2 amik gambar la.. tongue.gif
vincent_audio
the use of post processing ?
Ka3tr0
I wonder how to set everything sharp with 50 mm..i'll try shoot with my sal50f14
hanafinoor
This was taken in Mekah somewhere in year 2007 using my Nikon E7600 (pns), now I am into alpha200.

Ok, I withdraw my entry...now understood the rules.
dgrebel
i tot this competition only for 50mm focal length range?
bunvirus
QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Mar 30 2008, 11:04 PM)
This was taken in Mekah somewhere in year 2007 using my Nikon E7600 (pns), now I am into alpha200.

Why I choose this pic? I like the environment, the hot sun, desert hills and the not so similar marketing culture over there to ours.

with the rules stated below.. the above post cant be counted as its taken somewhere in the year 2007.. right?
QUOTE(nairud @ Mar 28 2008, 10:31 PM)
Another thing is, only photos TAKEN between 28/3/2008 and 15/4/2008 are entitled to join.

derek87
what are we competing for? Is our sponsor theVoIP? what's the price? brows.gif
xandman
QUOTE(derek87 @ Mar 31 2008, 10:08 AM)

it's free...=)
no need to pay anything....tongue.gif

voip will give out his 1200mm f2.8L with Alien Tech!
zio
QUOTE(derek87 @ Mar 31 2008, 10:08 AM)

The price is recognition by LYN viewers that you took the best pic tongue.gif
bunvirus
i agree with xandman...
not only that.. he will give 3 days n 2 night training for it somemore..
dont play play...

tongue.gif tongue.gif
derek87
QUOTE(bunvirus @ Mar 31 2008, 11:55 AM)
i agree with xandman...
not only that.. he will give 3 days n 2 night training for it somemore..
dont play play...

tongue.gif tongue.gif

Lol... 3 days and 2 night.... what if a girl wins? OMG..... dun wanna imagine that.. cool.gif
myjunk
it's priZe lah. Not priCe.

1 = hadiah, the other = harga!

LOL!!
hanafinoor
So this mean I am disqualified? X pa.
myjunk
yes you are.

Added on March 31, 2008, 5:29 pmyes you are.
A9001
[quote=TheVoIP,Mar 28 2008, 10:22 PM]
I decided the theme is on using 50mm prime. However, it is ok if you set your zoom lense to around 45~55mm (ISO standard of 10% differences ).

What is ISO standard? hmm.gif

Sooorry, I m newbie

Definitions of iso standard day conditions on the Web:

* means atmospheric conditions at a temperature of 59¡F (15¡C), 60 percent relative humidity, and an atmospheric pressure of 14.70 pounds per
bunvirus
QUOTE(A9001 @ Mar 31 2008, 08:53 PM)
What is ISO standard? hmm.gif

Sooorry, I m newbie

Definitions of iso standard day conditions on the Web:

* means atmospheric conditions at a temperature of 59¡F (15¡C), 60 percent relative humidity, and an atmospheric pressure of 14.70 pounds per

i think what he means is..
new we set the theme to 50mm...
but willingly to give face +/- 10%
so that would be 10% of 50mm = 5mm
50mm -/+ 5mm should gives us about 45 to 55 mm to play around..

am i right? cool2.gif
dgrebel
fresh from the oven

taken with 30d and 50mm f1.8
vikingw2k
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 31 2008, 11:37 PM)
fresh from the oven

taken with 30d and 50mm f1.8

Too bad you cut off the minaret. I would prefer it to be snapped vertically smile.gif
dgrebel
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 31 2008, 11:56 PM)
Too bad you cut off the minaret. I would prefer it to be snapped vertically smile.gif

50mm maaa. hahaha.. btw, theres not enuff leg space behind me. shooting vertically would deter the beauty of the horizon. wink.gif
dgrebel
-----deleted-----
bunvirus
i like ur first picture dgrebel..
really looks like in a "card hari raya".. the feeling is there u know..
i agree with vikingw2k...
Too bad you cut off the minaret..

but still.. its a nice picture... biggrin.gif gratz
dgrebel
QUOTE(bunvirus @ Apr 1 2008, 12:48 AM)
i like ur first picture dgrebel..
really looks like in a "card hari raya".. the feeling is there u know..
i agree with vikingw2k...
Too bad you cut off the minaret..

but still.. its a nice picture... biggrin.gif gratz

thanx for the compliments..

thats the only downside of a prime lens. hehe.. u cant ask for more.
azmihamzah
i tot one member one picture only
dark lenanza
dgrebel disqualified wehhh
rule state : 1 picture only tongue.gif

mine still looking for best view to snap sweat.gif
bunvirus
dgrebel.. then pick one of two la then...
tongue.gif
dgrebel
O'RLY? i donno la when theVOIP is coming back for the feedbacks. haha.. just trying my luck as well as enjoy shooting for fun.
razuryza
wah.. dgrebel.. changed ur sex already aaa..huahua (sorry out of topic here)
bunvirus
dgrebel likes the male attention maybe.. tongue.gif
dgrebel
haha.. thats for kopitiam purposes only.. dont bring it here.
tadasu
is HDR allowed??
hanafinoor
dgrebel has no contender?
bunvirus
hahaha
maybe every one going to send last min...
coz send early means people can see n curi the idea... hahaha..
da3shou3

Sorry for my noobness
kpchoo29
NasiLemakMan
QUOTE(tadasu @ Apr 2 2008, 02:56 PM)
is HDR allowed??

I don't think HDR would be fair to those who haven't got the tools/softwares/skills. Should put another requirement whether basic or advance editing. What about ortons, softwares gradient filters, cut n paste...
R a D ! c 4 L
^i've already get in touch with that matter in the so called discussion thread but apparently no one heeded.
bunvirus

icon_rolleyes.gif
hanafinoor
QUOTE(bunvirus @ Apr 6 2008, 05:03 AM)

icon_rolleyes.gif

I like, love your pic...edited or not...simply lovely...goodluck bro.
bunvirus
no editing was done.. pure from the oven..
the only edit i did was to resize the picture..

picture taken at damansara perdana..
thanks for ur comment.. cheers!
dazzle
let say i take the photo with RAW.

Later i do some photoshop editing on the photo, is till valid for the competition?

I prefer without the editing option. So we can see the good technique from other ppl here.

I prefer go for natural photo without editing.

I will post my photo later.

Sorry 1 more thing, let say I used 24-70mm lens.

This lens need to convert to 1.6x crop, so become 38.4-112mm in camera.

So my focus length must 50/1.6= 31.25 for the lens that i used right.

I cannot refer to the lens focus length.

This info in the photo will state 31 @ 32mm. Do u still accept this?

Pls clarify with me.

This competition is refer to Full frame @ 1.6x crop factor???????
HKNP
Can I, can I...

Here's my entry...

Camera: Canon EOS 400D
Lens: Canon 50mm f/1.8
Shutter speed: 1/80
Aperture: f/3.2
ISO: 800
Subject: Fort Siloso 1885
dazzle
QUOTE(HKNP @ Apr 7 2008, 06:47 PM)
Can I, can I...

Here's my entry...

Camera: Canon EOS 400D
Lens: Canon 50mm f/1.8
Shutter speed: 1/80
Aperture: f/3.2
ISO: 800
Subject: Fort Siloso 1885

Are u sure ur entry???

The picture cannot been see.

Can u make bigger abit 800x600. shocking.gif
bunvirus
dazzle.. click on the picture la.. the picture size he post is actually:
1024 x 682 :S
dazzle
I know already as long as i set my lens on the 50mm focus length.
This will do. OK
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.