Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Live View VS View Finder
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
ronniefai

Quote from Wikipedia:

A live-preview digital camera (LPD) or more precisely, conventionally-generated live-preview digital camera (CGLPD) is a camera that uses a conventionally generated digital image (live-preview) on an electronic screen as its principal means of framing and previewing before taking the photograph.   

The following show the list of DSLR camera which has the live-view features

Canon EOS 20Da
Canon EOS 40D
Canon EOS 450D
Canon EOS 1D Mark III
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III
Leica Digilux 3
Nikon D300
Nikon D3
Olympus E-330
Olympus E-410
Olympus E-510
Olympus E-3
Panasonic Lumix DMC-L1
Panasonic Lumix DMC-L10
Sony Alpha A300
Sony Alpha A350
Pentax K20D
Samsung GX20

Some say once you have use the live-view you wont be turning back and cant live without it. Practically, do we really need this features or just a luxury function? If I not mistaken, Live-View has been around with most of the Digital PoS camera for a very long time. We start feeling that he viewfinder is slowly fading into the background and replace by the Live-View.

So what do you guys think? Is a MUST and to what extend will this function helps in taking photograph.

PS: I'm posting this seeking constructive feedback and experience from all those who love taking pictures. Everyone are welcome to post your opinions even if you don't have a DSLR. *PEACE*
shinchan^^
I dont need it whistling.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 26 2008, 02:50 PM)
I dont need it whistling.gif

because you dun have one... laugh.gif
shinchan^^
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 26 2008, 02:52 PM)
because you dun have one...  laugh.gif

till when I have one , then i try to use it biggrin.gif
dgrebel
20da haha.. i remembered it being my most worshipped dslr.
zio
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 26 2008, 02:52 PM)
because you dun have one...  laugh.gif

lol that was funny.

But I have it, and I don't use it. It is only used in very specific situation. Its not going to be used all the time. It won't replace my viewfinder thats for sure.

Mainly because, to support the weight of holding your DSLR, you need to hold the camera close to your body. How to hold that way if use Live View?
TheVoIP
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 26 2008, 02:55 PM)
till when I have one , then i try to use it  biggrin.gif

QUOTE(zio @ Mar 26 2008, 02:59 PM)
lol that was funny.

But I have it, and I don't use it. It is only used in very specific situation. Its not going to be used all the time. It won't replace my viewfinder thats for sure.

Mainly because, to support the weight of holding your DSLR, you need to hold the camera close to your body. How to hold that way if use Live View?

zio is right... most of the time no need... But when the time come, it help a lot..

So far I need it most when my camera is mounted on tripod... and manual focus. thumbup.gif

Some creative members here stated something like can simply take photo of stranger/lenglui without them notice... I dunno how true is that... hmm.gif
ronniefai
QUOTE(zio @ Mar 26 2008, 02:59 PM)
lol that was funny.

Does this Live-View benefit those who wears a spec?
TheVoIP
QUOTE(ronniefai @ Mar 26 2008, 03:05 PM)

Yes... Of course. I am wearnig spec also.. No problem on using live-view icon_rolleyes.gif

So far I found the live view only cannot benefit those cannot see, or so call blind people. cool2.gif
zio
QUOTE(ronniefai @ Mar 26 2008, 03:05 PM)

I wear specs and I have no problem with viewfinder. And I have even taken pics wearing paintball mask and looking at the viewfinder.

I just dont find Live View useful when ur handholding. Unless you need to get into awkward positions like flat down and its difficult to see through the viewfinder.

So, to sum it up, Live View only needed for probably tripod usage and awkward positions. Which is why I would have prefered the D300 to have anti-shake on the body isntead of Live View.

The A700 got that part right tongue.gif
ianho
I have live view oso never use. Not even once. I'll probably use it only for low angle like lying on the floor. Then I'll just put it on the floor n use live view.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(zio @ Mar 26 2008, 03:11 PM)
Which is why I would have prefered the D300 to have anti-shake on the body isntead of Live View.

I also want anti-shake on my 40D so I can have super wide with IS la... Again travel soon... the most usefull is super wide for me... and again, no IS... same issue and same problem repeated liao... sad.gif
ianho
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 26 2008, 03:24 PM)
I also want anti-shake on my 40D so I can have super wide with IS la... Again travel soon... the most usefull is super wide for me... and again, no IS... same issue and same problem repeated liao...  sad.gif

haiya the solution to ur problem oni costs rm1750. Just go get a Sony A200 n wide angle lens. then just whip out the A200 for antishake wide angle when u need it. Nonid change lens sumore. thumbup.gif
gogo2
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 26 2008, 03:09 PM)
Yes... Of course. I am wearnig spec also..

Why wear spec when you don't have to? Lasik is RM5k nia. Cheap cheap.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 26 2008, 03:30 PM)
haiya the solution to ur problem oni costs rm1750. Just go get a Sony A200 n wide angle lens. then just whip out the A200 for antishake wide angle when u need it. Nonid change lens sumore. thumbup.gif

I actually thought of that... And tried the camera. But A200 image quality is not good enought for me... It is CCD after all... Even my 40D CMOS sensor I also not so happy liao... I guess I got certain requirement when it come to image quality...

So far talking to my friends, all suggest me to bring tripod.... sweat.gif
mengsuan
On ultra-compact cameras and prosumer camera, I love to use the LCD live view instead of the viewfinder. On DSLR, I never used live view. I guess it's about the handling.
Joseph Hahn
In D300, the tripod mode is useful for Macro shot. The handheld mode also depends. Basically it's useful if you're not in a hurry. Unless we're talking A300/A350 system. But that shrinks the magnification quite drastically.
albnok
Joseph Hahn: Eh no, if you use a 2.7" LCD you get about 2.44x magnification. wink.gif Though the viewfinder magnification on the A300/A350 is about the same size as a Canon 400D anyway.

While I would not consider Live View a necessity, it is loads better than a right-angle finder (which I have, and don't use!)

When I tried the A350, my immediate impression was that the Quick-AF Live View was FUN! The Live View on the D300 is PRECISE (in MF) but NOT SO FUN. I would buy an A350 for FUN just to have a second body with FUN, creative, inspiring Live View.

The Canon 40D's Live View is a bummer - it has neither the hi-res screen of the D300 or Contrast Detect AF. Seriously, NO FUN.

I shoot gigs, and sometimes people hand me their cameras. I take their little Ixuses, put them at ISO1600, zoom out for F2.8, stand near the stage, and use black-and-white mode. Seriously, it feels more FUN and INSPIRING to shoot that way after looking through a viewfinder for weeks.
clemong_888
i almost exclusively use it when mounted on a tripod, very useful with manual lenses or a bunch of pk-13s. other than that, i still cant see much in other situations.
NasiLemakMan
liveview is very good when you're doing street photography and not getting assaulted. Just hold the camera at the hip level and voila! lovely pictures, hold the camera to ur eye voila! one black eye and a broken camera cry.gif .
clngu
I prefer live view but DSLR camera damn heavy with lens ... I taken few photos using D300 live view ... picture blurred cause my hand shaking sad.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(clngu @ Mar 26 2008, 06:26 PM)
I prefer live view but DSLR camera damn heavy with lens ... I taken few photos using D300 live view ... picture blurred cause my hand shaking  sad.gif

Pump up your ISO into 1600 or 3200 if needed for higher shutter speed.

Some small image noise is still far better than blur picture.. tongue.gif
Xannava
Life view... good for short people like me.. Eye level not high enough to take certain images =.="
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Mar 26 2008, 07:51 PM)
Life view... good for short people like me.. Eye level not high enough to take certain images =.="

There are something maybe useful for you.

It is not that high tech. We call it ladder. Get some short ladder la... You can be taller than most people! smile.gif
clemong_888
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 26 2008, 09:31 PM)
There are something maybe useful for you.

It is not that high tech. We call it ladder. Get some short ladder la... You can be taller than most people!  smile.gif

actually its very common for photogs here to bring a short ladder/stool especially to events to get the height advantage as well as a different view, thinking of getting one meself
Joseph Hahn
QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 26 2008, 05:47 PM)
Joseph Hahn: Eh no, if you use a 2.7" LCD you get about 2.44x magnification. wink.gif Though the viewfinder magnification on the A300/A350 is about the same size as a Canon 400D anyway.
Yeah lol was comparing to A200 viewfinder. The quick AF Pentamirror Tilt mechanism shrinks the magnification somewhat. The tilting LCD is definitely useful when using LV. It is definitely the best LV implentation by far. Interesting to see the development. Maybe one day we can record video on our DSLR just like PnS too. doh.gif
sooyewguan
live view is not important for normal shooting. but when its mount on tripod and you are doing macro photography, it will help improve manual focus with x10 enlargement (maybe my manual focus skill is suck, so i need it)
ebernie
Tried live-view of the A350 at Sony Style (The Curve). It works really well, half shutter to focus, the shoot. Just like point and shoot camera.

Then I just turned it off. Stupid thing is so awkward to use coz DSLR is big and heavy. Holding it in front of you is so unnatural and without support.
dgrebel
whats the different between zigview and liveview except for angle hunting?
Darkcursed
for me,view finder is where the DSLR Spirit live.hehe.
you see what your lenses saw,somehow u bound with it,always hoping this will be nice shot with your view finder.
for some special angle,shooting low but not onto the ground,shooting high up,over the crowd maybe,or when u want something special from different angle,live view really useful.
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 01:04 AM)
whats the different between zigview and liveview except for angle hunting?

Zigview is an external attachment that provide live view right? It's bulky when attached to dslr.

An integrated live view is a nuch better approach.

Personally I'd like a DSLR with live view. Helps a lot during product shooting in a lightbox and also macro photography.
dgrebel
i mean can we zoom in and out with zigview? i dont mean literally zoom la.. just the same as liveview optical zoom.
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 01:44 AM)
i mean can we zoom in and out with zigview? i dont mean literally zoom la.. just the same as liveview optical zoom.

Zigview comes in 3 models. The Zigview R and B apparently offers realtime zoom. Not to sure about the S2 though.
ronniefai
Zigview? Hrmm... first time learn about this term. Is it only with Sony products?

Added on April 4, 2008, 6:10 pmLove the live view features in my new camera. Tried with auto mode and yet still reading the manual trying to figure out if we can adjust the focus in Live View. Any sifu try this before?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.