Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Ultraviolet damage on lens
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Polaris
Is it true that videocam lens are so vulnerable to UV damage without the 'uv filter' that the shop people recommend?

For example, it's 5 pm and I'm shooting the setting sun without the filter for 10 minutes.

Is there any long term damage to the lens?
myjunk
setting sun? No issues lah. If direct at 12pm then I don't know lah.

UV not an issue with digital.

And most times, ppl use UV filters as protection for the RM$$$$ lenses.,
kelvinyam
Now a days lenses have the front element coated with anti-UV element. So UV is no longer required.
mindkiller6610
ya, digital is not sensitive to UV,

we use UV filters just because they are cheap, and they protect our lens from scratch and dust..
TheVoIP
Not like that.... Wrong understanding...

Normal amount of UV cannot do harm to our digital SLR nor video cam.

BUT... It is the strong sun light that can burn our digital SLR or videom cam sensor for prolong exposures. tongue.gif
davidmak
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 24 2008, 10:10 AM)

BUT... It is the strong sun light that can burn our digital SLR or videom cam sensor for prolong exposures.  tongue.gif

In that case, the strong sun light can burn anything hehehehe!
TheVoIP
QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 24 2008, 10:27 AM)
In that case, the strong sun light can burn anything hehehehe!

Yes... David is right.

If I am not mistaken, let's say you try your best staring at the sun... then maybe around 10 minutes continuously... you will no longer find the light is hurting you anymore... laugh.gif
kord
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 24 2008, 10:10 AM)

BUT... It is the strong sun light that can burn our digital SLR or videom cam sensor for prolong exposures.  tongue.gif

2nd to that. Its like, our skin la.. if prolong exposure to sun, of cos sooner or later we might get skin cancer becos of uv.. and oso like ur eyes, if u stare too long at the sun (the afternoon one), then ur eyes will be damaged. same goes to camera sensor..

heck.. anything exposed too long to the sun (UV) is dangerous la..

but then again, i only use the cheapo uv filter to protect my lens.. tongue.gif any difference between the cheapo and say.. hoya one? since they both just protect the lens only.. hmm.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.