Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Which Tele Lens?
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
sherren
Hi , im still confused which tele lens to get which is for Canon Mount to fit my 350D , as i know i saw the Tamron 70-300mm , Sigma 70-300mm APO DG Macro and the Canon EF-S 55-250mm which has IS. i tried the Canon EF-S 55-250mm IS not bad.

Pricing

Canon EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS - RM 750-850 [ lens thread 58mm ] No Lens Hood ,this one my budget abit too tight as if about rm 700 , i might get it? or ... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro - RM 690 [ lens thread 58mm ] comes with Lens Hood & pouch. Comes with Macro Compatibility
Tamron 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 - RM 550 [ lens thread 62mm ] comes with Lens Hood . Comes with Macro Compatibility [ i can get this any time by now ]

Well I can say the IS is usefull when using 1/25 to. I dont mind getting without IS also as i don plan to use this much for indoor's.
______________________________________________________________________________________

Tamron 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2

Specification

Manufacturer Tamron
Model 70-300 f/4-5.6 LD Di
Focal length 70-300mm
Max aperture f/4-5.6
Min aperture f /32
Horizontal view 24-5
Vertical view 13-3
Diagonal view 27-6
Lens mount Can,Nik, Pen
Image size 35mm
Opt construction 13/9
Opt technology LD
Focus AF/M
Min focus 95cm
Filter 62mm
Lens hood DA17
Dimensions 77x177mm
Weight 435g

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro

Specifications

* Focal length 70-300mm
* Aperture f/4-5.6
* Angle of view 34.3-8.2°
* Filter size / type 58mm
* Construction Elements/groups 14 elements in 10 groups
* Focusing type Rotating & extending
* Closest focus 1.5m (0.95m in Macro mode 1:2)
* Weight 0.55kg
* Dimensions (Dia x length) 76.6x122mm
* Mounts available Sigma, Canon, Nikon, Minolta, Pentax
* Tripod bush No

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Canon EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS

Specifications
Image size of Canon EF-S 55-250mm APS-C
35mm film equivalent focal length 88-400
Angle of view (horzntl, vertl, diagnl) 23º 20'-5º 20', 15º 40'-3º 30', 27º 50'-6º 15'
Lens construction (elements/groups) of Canon EF-S 55-250mm 12/10
No. of diaphragm blades 7
Minimum aperture of Canon EF-S 55-250mm 22-32
Closest focusing distance (m) 1.1
Maximum magnification (x) of Canon EF-S 55-250mm 0.31 (at 250mm)
Distance information Yes
Image stabilizer 4-stops
AF actuator of Canon EF-S 55-250mm Micro Motor
Filter diameter (mm) 58
Max. diameter x length (mm) of Canon EF-S 55-250mm 70x108
Weight (g) 390
Magnification - Extension Tube EF12 II 0.6-0.05
Magnification - Extension Tube EF25 II 0.47-0.11
Lens hood of Canon EF-S 55-250mm ET-60
Soft case LP1019
G.F.Holder III (hood III) of Canon EF-S 55-250mm (5)
G.F.Holder IV (hood IV) (5)
spoil_
i go for canon because its IS
suitable for my shakey hands maybe smile.gif
dgrebel
EF-S. S stands for short, when zooming and unzooming the lens will not extend too long. just nice.

but sure will have compatibility issue if u upgrade to FF body later. unless if 5d mark2 accepts EF-S lenses.

i really reccommend the 55-250mm IS. get it from lanun8's bulk quick.
sherren
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 22 2008, 02:54 PM)
EF-S. S stands for short, when zooming and unzooming the lens will not extend too long. just nice.

but sure will have compatibility issue if u upgrade to FF body later. unless if 5d mark2 accepts EF-S lenses.

o , currently my budget is kinda tight to. sweat.gif rclxub.gif

mostly i wont be using for low light usage

Added on March 22, 2008, 2:59 pm

o , currently my budget is kinda tight to. sweat.gif rclxub.gif

mostly i wont be using for low light usage

mostly outdoor usage, as later future i plan to get a Tamron 17-50 F2.8
spoil_
so that go to either siggy or tammy
both got macro mode smile.gif
db07mufan
The sigma is quite good with the APO coating.

I own that and am quite satisfied!
dgrebel
dun regret later la.. just grab the 55-250mm IS.
goldfries
55-250 IS no macro mode. not that it matters right? since you want TELE. tongue.gif
cjtune
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 22 2008, 03:47 PM)
55-250 IS no macro mode. not that it matters right? since you want TELE. tongue.gif

Is it compatible with any extension tubes? If so, there may still be a chance for acceptable macro usage later.
sherren
QUOTE(spoil_ @ Mar 22 2008, 03:11 PM)
so that go to either siggy or tammy
both got macro mode  smile.gif

yeah i was thinking at 1st was either the siggy or tammy

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Mar 22 2008, 03:29 PM)
The sigma is quite good with the APO coating.

I own that and am quite satisfied!

yea it was my 1st choice, till the 55-250mm IS came out.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 22 2008, 03:47 PM)

yea no macro mode smile.gif , yeah actually does not matter to me , as i wont be using it for low light usage , mostly outdoors.

QUOTE(cjtune @ Mar 22 2008, 03:56 PM)
Is it compatible with any extension tubes? If so, there may still be a chance for acceptable macro usage later.

i dont think so , unless u put on the Raynox Macro Adapter might work ?

Added on March 22, 2008, 6:54 pmkinda interested with the Tamron 70-300mm hmm.gif
kelvinyam
I'm not sure about the Tamron or Canon, I can tell you that the Sigma APO gives you almost zero purple fringing. You will be benefited by the Canon's IS though, but 250mm will be a little too short if you want to shoot birds.
sherren
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Mar 22 2008, 07:03 PM)
I'm not sure about the Tamron or Canon, I can tell you that the Sigma APO gives you almost zero purple fringing. You will be benefited by the Canon's IS though, but 250mm will be a little too short if you want to shoot birds.

I tried the Canon one , not bad also

dont know why i prefer the tamron unsure.gif
vikingw2k
QUOTE(sherren @ Mar 22 2008, 07:12 PM)
I tried the Canon one , not bad also

dont know why i prefer the tamron  unsure.gif

For 70-300mm f4-5.6mm Macro, Siggy is better than Tammy. So if I were you, I'll go for either Siggy(tele+macro) or Canon(tele+IS)

mars2005
Borrow your thread a while, if macro is one of the requirement, but siggy and tammy come without IS, will it be hard to get good short in places like buttefly farms? I asume these places are in low light condition under covers etc.
sherren
QUOTE(mars2005 @ Mar 22 2008, 08:37 PM)
Borrow your thread a while, if macro is one of the requirement, but siggy and tammy come without IS, will it be hard to get good short in places like buttefly farms? I asume these places are in low light condition under covers etc.

Well Fill in Flash might help , if u have a flash
soulfly
Tripod will help as well.
aba9785
so u decided to post here ar?

if i were u, i would get Canon EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS
y?
did u see anyone selling their canon (i know it is a new lens among this 3), but my point is most ppl will be quite satisfy with this lens
(that's y u can find 2nd hand tamron/sigma like those u r interested to buy)

but if u r getting it for macro, i would suggest u get a dedicated macro lens (tamron sp90)

IS = is good to have, u can always turn it off when u dont need it
but IS is there should u need it.

anyway, canon pricing for this quite excellent lens so cheap for a reason one
they r trying to fend of Sony's build in IS eating into their market.
for canon user with a limited budget, u can have
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS + Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
(basically cover most of the range)
kersing
for your reference, first day trial shot samples with 55-250mm, both at 250mm max telephoto>>>

goldfries
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Mar 22 2008, 07:03 PM)

ahh. depends on how they want to shoot the birds la.

i use 18-200 also can mah but of course if you're referring to like those bird-watching photographers. even 70-300 feels lack of distance.

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 22 2008, 07:18 PM)
For 70-300mm f4-5.6mm Macro, Siggy is better than Tammy. So if I were you, I'll go for either Siggy(tele+macro) or Canon(tele+IS)

even in my less than 5 minute test of the Sigma 70-300 APO lens, i thought i saw the images sharper than my Tamron 70-300.

many others like viking seem to confirm my thoughts. smile.gif

QUOTE(kersing @ Mar 22 2008, 09:39 PM)
for your reference, first day trial shot samples with 55-250mm, both at 250mm max telephoto>>>

Tam 70-300 in action. tele mode at various distance.

http://www.goldfries.com/inperson/mygaller...0070421fo1&n=45

http://www.goldfries.com/inperson/mygaller...0070414fo1&n=18
sherren
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 22 2008, 10:54 PM)
ahh. depends on how they want to shoot the birds la.

i use 18-200 also can mah but of course if you're referring to like those bird-watching photographers. even 70-300 feels lack of distance.
even in my less than 5 minute test of the Sigma 70-300 APO lens, i thought i saw the images sharper than my Tamron 70-300.

many others like viking seem to confirm my thoughts. smile.gif
Tam 70-300 in action. tele mode at various distance.

http://www.goldfries.com/inperson/mygaller...0070421fo1&n=45

http://www.goldfries.com/inperson/mygaller...0070414fo1&n=18

wow the tammy looks good too hmm.gif nod.gif

these photo's with flash or without?
goldfries
without flash.
sherren
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 22 2008, 11:16 PM)
without flash.

I see, looks good too hmm.gif well the price suits me well laugh.gif

Added on March 23, 2008, 3:15 pm hmm.gif got quote for
Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1 : 2 with Uv Filter [ Can afford easily ] - Rm 580 hmm.gif
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro with uv filter - rm 720 sweat.gif
Canon EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS Rm 850 sweat.gif sweat.gif
ianho

That fella calling it a bulk? rm750 is crazy. I bought Canon Malaysia warranty 55-250 IS brand new at rm700 only. Fellas bulk more expensive than retail shop. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.