Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: THE BROADBAND RANT SINK V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Broadband User-2-User
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36
yongkailoon
Alright it has been more than a year since the first Broadband Rant Sink topic has been created and it has more than 2,500 replies in there which shows that there are a lot of frustrated broadband users here in Malaysia. Before this topic was created, there were many topics that just rants all day long about how bad or slow their Internet connection is. To combat this problem, a Broadband Rant Sink topic was created so that forum members of Lowyat.net can rant about their connection without having the need to create a new topic. With this, the V2 will be a continuation of the first Broadband Rant Sink topic. Feel free to rant about anything and everything about your Internet connection here.

If you would like to see the rants and complaints of the members in the first Broadband Rant Sink topic, you can view it here.
MX510
Few troubleshoot before making a complaint

I'm still having major packetloss to USA damn it TM.Nut

Help@tm.com.my Complaint Form Click Here to Complaint

Pls produce screenshot from www.speedtest.net and additional screenshot. The one and only way to notify TM having problems.If you got visual route software screenshot would be better

For reference here is the update for Malaysia backbone

5 minute stat

1 week stat

1 month stat

1 year stat

hong1380
same here....having massive packet loss while connecting to HK and tw

especially at night, the ping unstable too
tonguacha
i've complaint to them many times (twice a month average) and below is 100% what they will reply :

1) Check telephone line quality -im sure my dog did not bite it
2) Bypass splitter/micro filter/fax machine/lightning protector. -i don have any of those dont blame them
3) Stand alone connection, from wall socket to modem (No parallel line). -it's a direct connection not more than 1 meter
4) Flush DNS (Domain Name Server) -with cmd prompt not with water
5) Switch off the modem, unplug/re-plug all cables, wait for 5 to 10 minutes before switching on the modem. - whistling.gif whistling.gif i will go cook 'indo mee'
6) Create new dialer and configure DNS (Domain Name Server). -which with HIGH PING & HIGH % packet lost
- (Preferred DNS Server: 202.188.0.133/Alternate DNS Server: 202.188.1.5)
7) Clear Temporary Files, Delete Cookies and Delete Files under Internet Options. -now they blame this
8) Clear SSL Certificates (Internet Option). - whistling.gif whistling.gif
9) Restore default browser settings. -means do nothing doh.gif
10) Temporarily disable firewall settings. -welcome virus rclxm9.gif
11) Perform Windows scan. -Bill Gates they blame u now
12) Temporarily disable antivirus software. -welcome too torjan
13) Disable P2P application. -OMFG i cant even walk u say dont run rclxub.gif
14) Reboot computer and the modem. -check ur socket fuis also
15) Do a bandwidth test from our website user posted image

16)Format your hard disk shakehead.gif
17)Buy a new PC shakehead.gif

CONCLUSION : they peobably mean the broadband problem is cause by u or others, its not from TMNUTs or Screamyx whistling.gif
hong1380
i called today....and the stupid fella ask me to do speedometer...
the speed quite ok here...

but i keep on mention "high ping connect to international link", and the ""packet loss reach 20%++ (i tried to ping 100times)"

u know what that fella said? it is normal because it connect to outside of country...

wth man....20% packet loss,play game = Massive lag spike
caerulln
hi everyone.
is there a possibility that tmnet is monitoring our personal bandwidth usage & limit accordingly?

This happens a lot of time & still happening:

1) Got the damned ip (219 range)
2) Restart router a few times (sometimes a lot) -> get the good ip (60 range)
3) Surf normally without maxing out the bandwidth
4) ip range 60 maintains for a long time
5) Once i started maxing the bandwidth (using TF service) top speed last for like 1 or 2 minutes. Then suddenly all connection dropped. http, ftp, everything down to zero.
6) wait for a while
7) connection came back.
8) check ip
9) 219 range shows up!

If i kept restarting my router & modem and get the good ip range, immediately maxing out the bandwidth, same thing happens. Top speed last for very few minutes only.

This only happens if i max out the line.
I have a feeling that tmnet monitors our connection.
Any opinion is appreciated.
yongkailoon
QUOTE(caerulln @ Mar 20 2008, 07:13 PM)
hi everyone.
is there a possibility that tmnet is monitoring our personal bandwidth usage & limit accordingly?

This happens a lot of time & still happening:

1) Got the damned ip (219 range)
2) Restart router a few times (sometimes a lot) -> get the good ip (60 range)
3) Surf normally without maxing out the bandwidth
4) ip range 60 maintains for a long time
5) Once i started maxing the bandwidth (using TF service) top speed last for like 1 or 2 minutes. Then suddenly all connection dropped. http, ftp, everything down to zero.
6) wait for a while
7) connection came back.
8) check ip
9) 219 range shows up!

If i kept restarting my router & modem and get the good ip range, immediately maxing out the bandwidth, same thing happens. Top speed last for very few minutes only.

This only happens if i max out the line.
I have a feeling that tmnet monitors our connection.
Any opinion is appreciated.

My opinion is well they aren't monitoring us. When you use a lot of bandwidth and you get disconnected, it is probably the noise level in your phone line went up and the SNR margin went down to a level that is so bad that it caused the disconnection. A good SNR (signal to noise ratio) margin is required to maintain a good connection.
caerulln
is there any easy way to measure the SNR?
yongkailoon
QUOTE(caerulln @ Mar 20 2008, 09:17 PM)
is there any easy way to measure the SNR?

For that you will have to login to your modem and it is usually under the Status section. It may differ from different brands though. If you would like to read about SNR Margin you can read about it here.
caerulln
thanks for the info bro notworthy.gif
ahpek26
V2 already wahahahaha liaooooo funny.
Muhammad Nur Hanief
I'm having TMnut blinking fiesta WTF... (Iran! Iran! Iran!)
jananan
QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 20 2008, 03:59 PM)
I'm still having major packetloss to USA damn it TM.Nut

Help@tm.com.my Complaint Form Click Here to Complaint

Pls produce screenshot from www.speedtest.net and additional screenshot. The one and only way to notify TM having problems.If you got visual route software screenshot would be better

speedtest.net main page also cannot load properly now.... the flash interface loading for about 5 minutes then time out... i think we screenshot the empty speedtest.net page enough la... tell them cannot load at all how to speedtest...

PS : another software 3D traceroute free version from KAP also boleh pakai.... can produce nice looking 3D graphs of the nicest routes that Streamyx have...
jiggly_head
alrite this happened about a month back, streamyx started capping my port weirdly, my line rate was at best DL-256kbps, UL- 350Kbps.

And hav been telling their robotic customer service to speed things up ever since.. so finally they sent this guy from Kelana jaya and he got it fixed in 1hr.

I asked him why the technicians in my area dunno how to fix although i have identified the prob to them. he straight say the contractor in charge of my area Serdang is noob and dunno how he do until my line liddat.

end of rant
CrossFirE
hmm.. don know what happen this lately when i can see the streamyx connected but i just can't go into any website. seems like cannot online at all. call TMNUT 4 times already and get fixed and later the problem still the same. they said this is call the line hanging or something. haizz.. anyone encounter this problem?
kev da man
bloody izzi customer service worse than TMNUTS.
even their online salesmen can come zhut you if your complaints don't get through official channels. WTF.

at least those TM resellers behave properly and orderly, even if they behave like robots sometimes laugh.gif
reddevils500
Very slow in surfing int'l sites. TMNutz must've screwed up the routes.
mzhai
1mbps package
c wat i got
Kuroro
I have an issue recently. But I can't seem to pin point what is wrong with it. Usually I don't have problem with video streamings. But just recently even though my line is going on smoothly, somehow my video streams tend to load halfway and timeouts or stuck. Anyone have this problem? Is it broadband issue? Cause I can surf and stuff smoothly with no problem.
Lingo20052003
Today downloading BT is slow down, and online game as well, is TM have any trouble? Anyone face this problem?
tsw85
QUOTE(mzhai @ Mar 26 2008, 11:30 AM)
1mbps package
c wat i got

im better then u abit at upload for 1kb/s rclxms.gif

staying at wangsa maju section 2.
been talked to their manager and the situation is still the same.
mayb we are on the same port. and this port are really faulty hmm.gif

pinging tmnet.com.my getting this

Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1277ms TTL=117
Request timed out.
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1171ms TTL=117
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1198ms TTL=117
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1255ms TTL=117
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1266ms TTL=117
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1307ms TTL=117
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1234ms TTL=117
Request timed out.
Reply from 202.71.97.41: bytes=32 time=1287ms TTL=117
Eric_Almighty
WTF... It's January 2008 all over again.
mzhai
i called twice.. say wil contact mi back zzz but ntg is being done
lex
I'm having the same issue here, staying around Setapak, every TCP connection getting less than 1KB/s thus browsing webpages is slow as molasses and even LYN is no exception! Feels like using 56Kbps dialup modem instead of 1Mbps broadband... What's going on with TMNutz? mad.gif
kev da man
izzi also same thing in USJ2.......no difference between the 2 now
BeNz
crap...everything is slow from 10am - 2am
mzhai
my internet is back ~~~
raist86
mine is still bad. lots of ping spike in game.
soundsyst64
Blame TM for all problems.
kei

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
tsw85
QUOTE(mzhai @ Mar 27 2008, 07:40 AM)
my internet is back ~~~

mine also back at this morning.. i wonder we are at the same port.. the bloody faulty port vmad.gif

Eric_Almighty

Ping statistics for 202.71.97.48:
Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 95, Lost = 5 (5% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1165ms, Maximum = 1732ms, Average = 1423ms

Date: 27/3/2008
Time: 8.00pm
BeNz
morning 7am of cause fast
test at 12pm-10pm
sure slow like snail
i also get full speed at 7am but no point for that
studwo
shit streamyx ... U know the ceo of tmnut is using a mercedez maybach to work evry day..?
jianwei87
im using 1mb package why some ppl subscript 1mb package but their can get 1.5mb speed ?
reddevils500
I got DCed and my download progress got stuck at 89%!!!

Excellent, TMNutz! vmad.gif
Lingo20052003
Sometimes my internet dropped down, and i have to disconnect it and reconnect by myself
outdoorxplorer

Nation of Sensation
Damn, none of the video streaming works!... It plays for about 2 seconds and that's it!...
ahpek26
QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Mar 29 2008, 03:19 AM)
im using 1mb package why some ppl subscript 1mb package but their can get 1.5mb speed ?

Free extra bandwidth cap. Why? God knows.

IMO, just marketing tactics.
onscreen
QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Mar 29 2008, 03:19 AM)

1MB package with 2MB speed on my side.
yangxi
Streamyx quite stable this pass 2 month , never disconnect. (maybe i have a good modem router) tongue.gif

yongkailoon
Good SNR line margin and a rock stable modem/router is the key for having an uninterrupted connection. biggrin.gif
siew14
Nowadays ip 218 performance is downgrading... What do you think??? Izit only me ???
MX510

So far so good :-)
biatche
any1 getting timeouts lately, every 1 ping per 20 ping
ahpek26
QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 31 2008, 03:53 PM)
any1 getting timeouts lately, every 1 ping per 20 ping

Nah.. nope.

Ip 60.49.*.*
bryan
Anyone in Sabah getting high ping to Singapore during certain times of the day? 218.*
frags
Again problem with 60.50 IP accessing overseas sites. mad.gif I'm in Klang and 219.93 IP service is at normal speed. Why do they always mess up with these different IP's and always with 60.50... mad.gif
bypassme
Problem.. can not download in RS.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.