Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Food And Beverage`Corner.Come in and Have a Look!
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > Travel & Living
OMGGED
Let's Come Here To Share Your Eating Experience !!! Good Food Puts A Smile On Our Face

Whats The Main Purpose?
Well, this is a Thread FOR;
-People With a Passion For Food And Cooking
-Peaple with a passion for Food and Cooking BUT has no idea about cooking
-Peaple who are willing to share their Memorable/Sweet/Unforgettable/Funny/Embarrassing Dining Experience
-People who wanna share their cooking experience/recipes
-People who wanna learn how to cook for their Loves one

You May Share Your;
-Dining Experience (Eg- What is your favorite food, What Restaurant you would like to recommend or warn)
-Cooking Experience (Tell us What you can cook and even teach us)
-Recipes (Any Secret Ingredients or Recipes?Share them here =) Of course if you have any Good Website regarding Food And Beverage please post it up and i will add them on the main page)
-Tips And Guides For Newbie like Me
-Pictures or articles regarding Food and Beverage only
-You may also share your Views and Ideas so that We Can make this Thread a Better Thread.

-Rules And Regulations-
-You may contribute by sharing any of those informations
-You may Ask Questions Regarding Food And Beverage ONLY
-You may comment but bear in mind please do not spam, you can spam as much as u want in the Kopitiam.
-You can send your feedback by PM

Read before u Ask and Think before you Post !

Added on March 17, 2008, 5:06 amHei, I am a Steak Lover and recently I am interested in cooking steak at home but so far my cooking standard is only up to instant noodle and fried rice...Not to mention can food thou =P...I've been searching for Good Website regarding Steak and if anyone know please post it here and i will put them up on the main page. I am also making a list consisting of Western or Chinese Cuisine Restaurant and their remarks. Please feel free to share so that i can put more Western/Chinese/Indian/Malay/Japanese/Korean/ Restaurant into the list so that next time i know where to celebrate Valentines icon_idea.gif...Let's make this Thread a Successful one =)

Jalan-Jalan Cari Makan
Western/Chinese/Japanese/Korean/Indian/Malay Cuisine Restaurant;
-Chilis thumbup.gif (Western Cuisine, Highly Recommended)
-Soul'ed Out @ Sri Hartamas thumbup.gif (Highly Recommended with wide varieties of food)
-Tony Roma (Western Cuisine)
-Tgi Friday (Western Cuisine)
-Victoria Station (Western Cuisine)
-Avanti @ Sunway Pyramid Hotel (Western Cuisine)
-Madam Kwan thumbup.gif (Highly Recommended for Nasi Lemak, Nasi Bojari and others food as well)
-Sakae Sushi thumbup.gif (Highly Recommended for Japanese food)
-Outback Steakhouse @ Bangsar
-William's Mamak thumbup.gif (near old Lim Kok Wing, good food and good price) -Credits to:Sharkteef-
-Murni Mamak, who can give slight review ?
-Jogoya @ Starhill (High Class Buffet but be prepared...cause the price is expensive)
-Shogun @ 1Utama shakehead.gif (Sorry to say, it is kinda suck for me but the price is alot more cheaper than those buffet like Jogoya or others)
-Kim Gary Restaurent (High Recommended) -Credits to :sherrysm-
-Char Chan Teng Restaurent @ SS2/1Utama (Chinese Food)
-Restaurent Paris @ SS2 (Chinese Meal at decent price) -Credits to :Duke Red-
-
- More To Come ! notworthy.gif

Food And Beverage Source;
-Http://www.foodpoi.com/ (The GPS Friendly Food Hunting & Tasting Site Complete with Reviews)
-Http://www.vkeong.com/ (A blog of a Malaysian who grew up in Bukit Mertajam, Penang. I love good food, travel and photography!)
-
-
-
-
-
Cas
Ok me will kick start with a typical malaysia fav dish:

Maggi Goreng

Servings (for two)

1 small onion
1 clove garlic
2 packets of Maggi Mee
Some cabbage and carrots
2 Eggs
Some light soya sauce and dark sauce
Salt and Sugar
1 Tablespoon curry powder

1 - Boil the maggi (minus the seasoning) until it's soft, but not too soft. Drain and keep aside.

2 - Add oil in wok and lighly fry the chopped garlics and onion till light brown.

3- Add in your cabbage and carrots and fry for another 30 seconds.

4 - Add the noodles and continue frying.

5 - Add in 1 tbsp curry powder, a pinch of salt and sugar, and 1 packet of seasoning which comes with the instant noddle. Add in a bit of dark soya sauce (not too much) and some light soya sauce for taste.

6 - Create a well in the middle or side of the pan and scramble the egg. Combine with the rest of the noodles.

And wala, you're done!

oRoXoRo
hmm...ur maggi mee looks dry.
sharkteef
and your photo looks grainy.
OMGGED
QUOTE(Cas @ Mar 17 2008, 09:26 PM)
Ok me will kick start with a typical malaysia fav dish:
Maggi Goreng

Servings (for two)

1 small onion
1 clove garlic
2 packets of Maggi Mee
Some cabbage and carrots
2 Eggs
Some light soya sauce and dark sauce
Salt and Sugar
1 Tablespoon curry powder

1 - Boil the maggi (minus the seasoning) until it's soft, but not too soft. Drain and keep aside.

2 - Add oil in wok and lighly fry the chopped garlics and onion till light brown.

3- Add in your cabbage and carrots and fry for another 30 seconds.

4 - Add the noodles and continue frying.

5 - Add in 1 tbsp curry powder, a pinch of salt and sugar, and 1 packet of seasoning which comes with the instant noddle. Add in a bit of dark soya sauce (not too much) and some light soya sauce for taste.

6 - Create a well in the middle or side of the pan and scramble the egg. Combine with the rest of the noodles.

And wala, you're done!

Nice maggi goreng bro =)...Must try to goreng maggi mee one day cz i havent try goreng before..Will try one day by following ur style see whether nice anot =)

OMGGED
Hei any recommendations for nice Steak house that are not listed yet ? Come on guys...show ur passion for FOOD !! notworthy.gif
sharkteef
william's mamak - near old lim kok wing

good for western and all sorts of fusion - price also good.
OMGGED
QUOTE(sharkteef @ Mar 19 2008, 12:53 AM)

Hei there thx alot for sharing...Anyway i have been to william as well..Not only the food nice, but also damn happening everytime can see lots of peoples there especially hot chicks and hot guys also =P Btw Sharkteef, have u been to William's brother Murni ? Hehe, anyone mind to do review for murni as well? I will give credits thou =)

Added on March 19, 2008, 2:37 amPLEASE MORE PPL COME AND SHARE YOUR EATING EXPERIENCE HERE NO MATTER IT'S NICE PLACE OR BAD PLACE TO EAT OR WHICH PLACE HAS BAD SERVICE OR GOOD SERVICE OR TELL US WHAT FOOD U CAN COOK OR EVEN TELL US UR PERSONAL COOKING STORY OR EVEN SHARE WITH US UR DINING EXPERIENCE WITH UR GF OR FRIENDS...JUST ANYTHING BUT OF COURSE MUST BE RELATED TO FOOD AND BEVERAGE ONLY !!!! notworthy.gif

OMGGED
no ppl are interested in food ? sad =(
stimix
Not say no one interested but there are lotsa discussion on food oledi such as:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=494494&hl=

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=255168&hl=

And more review by one of my buddy in malsingmaps here biggrin.gif :

http://www.foodpoi.com/

QUOTE(OMGGED @ Mar 20 2008, 05:43 PM)
no ppl are interested in food ? sad =(

OMGGED
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 20 2008, 11:02 PM)
Not say no one interested but there are lotsa discussion on food oledi such as:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=494494&hl=

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=255168&hl=
And more review by one of my buddy in malsingmaps here  biggrin.gif :

http://www.foodpoi.com/

Hei bro, u show me two thread only then u tell me got lotsa discussion on food ady -.-" Some more the thread u show me is like half dead already =P...i think this thread will go to drain also =(...
stimix
There are more if u search in Kopitiam..Yes for sure it will be dead unless it got pinned.. biggrin.gif ..There are more if u google
QUOTE(OMGGED @ Mar 21 2008, 01:14 AM)
Hei bro, u show me two thread only then u tell me got lotsa discussion on food ady -.-" Some more the thread u show me is like half dead already =P...i think this thread will go to drain also =(...

sherrysm
my dad's b'day is coming, is any kind person out there mind to tell me where should my sis and me bring him to dine and mark a wonderful celebration for him? my sis suggested we go to kim gary, is that ok for a perosn who loves chinese food, laksa, and curry very much? please, someone. please save me.....
OMGGED
QUOTE(sherrysm @ Mar 25 2008, 03:33 PM)
my dad's b'day is coming, is any kind person out there mind to tell me where should my sis and me bring him to dine and mark a wonderful celebration for him? my sis suggested we go to kim gary, is that ok for a perosn who loves chinese food, laksa, and curry very much? please, someone. please save me.....

Hei there, i would suggest u kim gary if, and i mean if u are celebrating ur friend's birthday because kim gary always has lots of people and it might be too noisy or crowded for ur family. Well, unless ur family doesn't really mind then kim gary is a nice place too...Other than that, i would suggest those high class chinese restaurant like Tai Thong, Six Happiness or so on thou the budget is kinda high but the environment and food surely fit your fam...It's more quiet and peaceful so that u guys can family chat =)...If you can find some chinese buffet restaurant also good cause celebrating birthday at a buffet restaurant is really nice cause u can talk and eat as long as u like...
vkeong
I have a food blog..
mush
rclxms.gif ya~~~i saw ur blog..is loaded with lotz of food stuff
great job!!! thumbup.gif
Duke Red
QUOTE(sherrysm @ Mar 25 2008, 03:33 PM)

Kimgary is filled with kids and is rather busy and noisy. I won't suggest that you have a family function there. What is your budget anyway? Will it only be the 3 of us?

If you want a good Chinese family meal at a decent price, why not try Restaurant Paris in SS2?
OMGGED
QUOTE(vkeong @ Mar 27 2008, 03:46 PM)
I have a food blog..

Ok vkeong..i will put ur blog on the main page =)

Added on March 28, 2008, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Mar 27 2008, 04:44 PM)
Kimgary is filled with kids and is rather busy and noisy. I won't suggest that you have a family function there. What is your budget anyway? Will it only be the 3 of us?

If you want a good Chinese family meal at a decent price, why not try Restaurant Paris in SS2?

Yeah true that kimgary is kinda stuffy to have a family function there...Btw bro, i have updated Restauren Paris in the main page...Thx for the info
vkeong
I wonder anyone has recommendation for food in Seri Kembangan.. must be cheap la of course tongue.gif (below RM10 acceptable)

I am always tempted to go Puchong but the toll is really killing me
chocobee_2707
QUOTE(OMGGED @ Mar 19 2008, 02:35 AM)
Hei there thx alot for sharing...Anyway i have been to william as well..Not only the food nice, but also damn happening everytime can see lots of peoples there especially hot chicks and hot guys also =P Btw Sharkteef, have u been to William's brother Murni ? Hehe, anyone mind to do review for murni as well? I will give credits thou =)

Added on March 19, 2008, 2:37 amPLEASE MORE PPL COME AND SHARE YOUR EATING EXPERIENCE HERE NO MATTER IT'S NICE PLACE OR BAD PLACE TO EAT OR WHICH PLACE HAS BAD SERVICE OR GOOD SERVICE OR TELL US WHAT FOOD U CAN COOK OR EVEN TELL US UR PERSONAL COOKING STORY OR EVEN SHARE WITH US UR DINING EXPERIENCE WITH UR GF OR FRIENDS...JUST ANYTHING BUT OF COURSE MUST BE RELATED TO FOOD AND BEVERAGE ONLY !!!!  notworthy.gif

i like murni's mi raja!!! mango special..carbonara..nasi lemak ayam...nasi goreng seafud..nan garlic...yummy~~
abcdefcuk
QUOTE(chocobee_2707 @ Mar 31 2008, 12:27 PM)
i like murni's mi raja!!! mango special..carbonara..nasi lemak ayam...nasi goreng seafud..nan garlic...yummy~~

mi raja is like how?

i like the ribena special and the roti ayam special smile.gif but seldon go edi. now that place filled with smallboys and girls..
kenken85
there's a cheap duck rice served with BBQ chicken at serdang. Near public bank beside Mexim Dim sum. cheap and nice
vkeong
QUOTE(kenken85 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:49 PM)
there's a cheap duck rice served with BBQ chicken at serdang. Near public bank beside Mexim Dim sum. cheap and nice

I know that one drool.gif

Is really good, got soup in the coconut shell also one nod.gif
kenken85
QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 3 2008, 02:19 PM)
I know that one  drool.gif

Is really good, got soup in the coconut shell also one  nod.gif

yaya... that is really reasonable price.. somemore got fish head noodle and tomyam noodle.. nearby the balai polis .. you know where?
OMGGED
QUOTE(vkeong @ Mar 31 2008, 12:23 PM)
I wonder anyone has recommendation for food in Seri Kembangan.. must be cheap la of course tongue.gif (below RM10 acceptable)

I am always tempted to go Puchong but the toll is really killing me

Bro have u tried Fei Lau Restaurant in Seri Kembangan ? Its like a small restaurant beside some dimsum shop and its near the public bank area also...i dont know its what road but it is just opposite 7-eleven...This restaurant is Penang ppl open one...The price is very cheap and the food is very nice especially the char kuey teow, tomyam mee, prawn mee and fried rice...=)...
OMGGED
QUOTE(chocobee_2707 @ Mar 31 2008, 12:27 PM)

Hei there...i love murni's Seafood Fried Lou Shu Fan...(Mouse mee ?) but its so expensive =(

Added on April 5, 2008, 2:21 am
QUOTE(kenken85 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:49 PM)

Hei, i wanna go try out ...Mexim dim sum is opposite public bank or same role as public bank ? Btw, after u turn in the public bank that area inside there got one Yong Tau Fu very nice one...I don't know its called what cz its a kampung hse but turn into a shop lol
OMGGED
Hei, anyone can teach me how to cook steak? Teach me some simple and easy step first cz i have no experience in cooking steak...What should i first buy and what should i prepare ? I planned to get the meat from markets like jusco or so on..
kenny B
QUOTE(sharkteef @ Mar 19 2008, 12:53 AM)

id like to add, its infested with cockroaches. near the place where they keep their limau for limau ais.
thousands of them comes crawling out when it rains.
your call smile.gif
OMGGED
QUOTE(kenny B @ Apr 5 2008, 01:26 PM)
id like to add, its infested with cockroaches. near the place where they keep their limau for limau ais.
thousands of them comes crawling out when it rains.
your call smile.gif

lol....thousands of them really over exaggerated hehe...maybe u shud say...few hundred or 500 hundred of them crawling out lol..however its a mamak and no one can help it...lol..mamak is always dirty...Let me tell u one of my mamak experience...The mamak is a small mamak stall located on the side of the street and its dark because its small and budgeted...So i was sitting on the chair and u know what i saw on the floor? More than 5 or 10 Cockroaches are just crawling everywhere on the floor jalan jalan cari makan ...Near my leg and wherever also u can see them on the street....its like their house and i am just visiting them and giving them angpau (food) lol...Scary...Not to mentioned the worst part...Guess what's next ? Tikus lor...lol...tikus also came out from the drain and just walk around to look for food...lol...
vkeong

Puchong Dry Bak Kut Teh rclxms.gif rclxms.gif drool.gif
swgiant
hello, just want to ask about T.G.I friday offers the 3-course-meal during the dinner? or limited time only?
vkeong
QUOTE(swgiant @ Apr 30 2008, 06:15 AM)
hello, just want to ask about T.G.I friday offers the 3-course-meal during the dinner? or limited time only?

as long as the promotion banner is displayed. then you can order it

not sure if it can be ordered during dinner only.. i have always went to TGIF at night
sharkteef
QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 15 2008, 10:46 PM)

Puchong Dry Bak Kut Teh  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  drool.gif

i prefer the jinjang wan beneath the tree which only opens from 1am onwards. got sotong also now lolz.
raist86
TS, how can you have a food list and miss out Checkers Restaurant @ Damansara?

BEST PLACE TO GO for Ribs... Warning though, it's pork ribs. LOTS of Porky..
jojoyuki

Added on June 11, 2008, 1:46 pmTGIF food

cream & cookies

crispy chicken salad

mac & cheese
cokee
QUOTE(abcdefcuk @ Mar 31 2008, 04:18 PM)
mi raja is like how?

i like the ribena special and the roti ayam special smile.gif but seldon go edi. now that place filled with smallboys and girls..

here u go, the photo of Mee Raja tongue.gif
crazyconsumer
There are too many resources everywhere.

If only there could be only one, to search or ask for recommendations

Eg. Where's good korean food (non bbq) in PJ?
1a2b3c
looking for a buffet restaurant around sunway or kl area for around 20 person.. budget will be rm20 per head.. any suggestion?
Nnigue
try the steamboat buffet at yuen or shabu shabu at puchong.

You posted at 19 July. So i'm sure you would have eaten by now... Haha.
Putraskyline
I missed this thread :

Steak Recommendation : Prime, Maredo.
Other steakhouse that I have been : Friday's, Tony Romas, San Francisco

Middle east Cuisine Recommendation : Al Nafourah, Tarbush, El-Amar
Other restaurant that I have been : Naab, Al Diafah

If this thread need picture, I have it.
joeycheong23
QUOTE(Nnigue @ Nov 22 2008, 02:13 PM)
try the steamboat buffet at yuen or shabu shabu at puchong.

You posted at 19 July. So i'm sure you would have eaten by now... Haha.

the shabu shabu at puchong isit near oldtown white coffee?
i heard my sister said it wasnt that good,
because the fishballs are not fresh there.

sorry if im breaking the rules and regulations! notworthy.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.