Pages: 1, 2
kazasho
what is a hsdpa wlan router?

is it like hsdpa usb modem?

i put the sim card in there?

coz i wanna change screamyx..dun want to use it anymore
daccess
Hi
You can check DLINK DIR 451, http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=of...DIR+451&spell=1
You need to slot the HSDPA or 3G card inside the router and you can share your 3G connection.
Kerrang
The WLAN HSDPA router will set you back to around RM800-900.This excludes the HSDPA PC CARD which is about the same price.

Both add up?You're going to spend about RM2000 just for a wireless internet connection.
Serious a not?
neutro
mmm, router RM 599 + PCMCIA HDSPA CARD = RM 200,
price might be cheaper now..
kazasho
QUOTE(daccess @ Mar 17 2008, 01:16 AM)
Hi
You can check DLINK DIR 451, http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=of...DIR+451&spell=1
You need to slot the HSDPA or 3G card inside the router and you can share your 3G connection.

thnx for the link hmm.gif

QUOTE(Kerrang @ Mar 17 2008, 01:21 AM)
The WLAN HSDPA router will set you back to around RM800-900.This excludes the HSDPA PC CARD which is about the same price.

Both add up?You're going to spend about RM2000 just for a wireless internet connection.
Serious a not?

y do i need a hsdpa pc card?

QUOTE(neutro @ Mar 17 2008, 02:38 PM)
mmm, router RM 599 + PCMCIA HDSPA CARD = RM 200,
price might be cheaper now..

the hsdpa router only cannot r?y need a pc card?
coleman5951
hey.... i also have some questions to ask... what is the different between 3G and HSDPA... a phone with HSDPA.. what does it means ?
BuLaNaR
im using maxis 138 pack rite now which can detect hsdpa signal...it's the fastest signal for wireless connection rite now in malaysia
silvadesk
hey.... i also have some questions to ask... what is the different between 3G and HSDPA... a phone with HSDPA.. what does it means ?

If i'm not mistaken, HSDPA is High Speed 3G. If you're subscribe to Maxis broadband within Klang Valley, Penang (and several other area - check the website), you get the HSDPA speed. Whereas places like my hometown in Kuantan, we get 3G speed. Well, from my experience, not much difference. In fact, I surf faster in Ktn compared to when im in KL! Heh~

But seriously ppl, start abandoning Streamyx today. vmad.gif

Added on March 21, 2008, 11:13 am
im using maxis 138 pack rite now which can detect hsdpa signal...it's the fastest signal for wireless connection rite now in malaysia

just a reminder to anyone who's interested with maxis broadband (or celcom), check your setting before you start blaming maxis (again, or celcom). hehe. sometimes, the default setting is only set to detect edge and gprs. so, when u'r connected, it's slow to death. so, u need to select the setting to only detect 3G and higher. biggrin.gif
rasyid
Dlink Dir-451 can get for RM460 at sri com ...

plus normal huawei E220 usually RM700...

so around RM1200 for the accessories ..
Kerrang
QUOTE(rasyid @ Mar 22 2008, 04:32 AM)
Dlink Dir-451 can get for RM460 at sri com ...

plus normal huawei E220 usually RM700...

so around RM1200 for the accessories ..

Over a thousand just to get a connection which is good for only a few hundred kbps and dreadful response rates?No thanks.

Get Streamyx and buy yourself a enterprise grade wireless router with gigabit ethernet
jeremy05
QUOTE(kazasho @ Mar 16 2008, 03:32 PM)
what is a hsdpa wlan router?

is it like hsdpa usb modem?

i put the sim card in there?

coz i wanna change screamyx..dun want to use it anymore

1st thing u must remember, ISP is stand for Internet Service Provider...

No ISP , you can't get any internet...

So , even you have the hsdpa wlan router or hsdpa usb modem or whatever is calls... you cant online with subscribe to any ISP in malaysia...

There is many HSDPA wireless broadband package out there, like maxis, celcom, izzit, surf with you...

You will get a free HSDPA modem from your ISP, if you use their service...no need to buy a costly hsdpa modem...
budzer
QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Mar 22 2008, 05:03 PM)
1st thing u must remember, ISP is stand for Internet Service Provider...

No ISP , you can't get any internet...

So , even you have the hsdpa wlan router or hsdpa usb modem or whatever is calls... you cant online with subscribe to any ISP in malaysia...

There is many HSDPA wireless broadband package out there, like maxis, celcom, izzit, surf with you...

You will get a free HSDPA modem from your ISP, if you use their service...no need to buy a costly hsdpa modem...

Jeremy, what modem are you using. That's sure fast for 384 package. I'm using 640 package. The most I can get is 600kbps.
panda80
no need to buy WLAN router, I subcribed Maxis Broadband , they will provide with the HSDPA's modem, then u can connect it to the normal wifi router to use it within your network.
alesi616
QUOTE(panda80 @ Mar 25 2008, 01:16 PM)
no need to buy WLAN router, I subcribed Maxis Broadband , they will provide with the HSDPA's modem, then u can connect it to the normal wifi router to use it within your network.

HI, how you link between your HSDPA modem and your WIFI router? As I know normally HSDPA modem is USB or PCMCIA interface, and the WIFI router is taking RJ-45 (LAN) input, unless your WIFI router taking USB input as well??
jeremy05
QUOTE(budzer @ Mar 25 2008, 03:18 AM)
Jeremy, what modem are you using. That's sure fast for 384 package. I'm using 640 package. The most I can get is 600kbps.

hmmm..., big like a cake type modem...the faster speed become history liao... sweat.gif at kepong , faster can get 1MB above, but only at morning...night speed very poor...normaly i online at night, morning got fast speed also no use...

Added on March 26, 2008, 12:46 am
QUOTE(alesi616 @ Mar 25 2008, 05:46 PM)
HI, how you link between your HSDPA modem and your WIFI router? As I know normally HSDPA modem is USB or PCMCIA interface, and the WIFI router is taking RJ-45 (LAN) input, unless your WIFI router taking USB input as well??

Got 1 type hsdpa modem is big like a cake....that is using RJ45 port de...im using now...
phelix
hmm.. HSDPA vs 3G..
HSDPA also called 3.5G, as for the number shown.. 3.5 is faster than 3G.
the speed wise download with 3.5G (HSDPA) can go up to 1MB++ while 3G will go lesser than 1MB for sure. bear in mind the download is fast but the upload speed is killing you.

regarding the HSDPA router vs HSDPA USB modem..
HSDPA router, is just a router comes with SIM CARD slot to connect the router to 3G/HSDPA as your WAN connection and have routing function e.g. NAT, filtering for many PC to connect, and you don't need a HSDPA USB modem when you have the HSDPA router.

while HSDPA USB modem is normally for the need of portable use e.g. connecting to laptop while you need internet connection regardless where ever you are...

so if you are looking for a HSDPA connection for internet and share along with your housemate.. please choose HSDPA router.
erry-
hi all.

1. hsdpa is also known as 3.5g, which max speed in malaysia so far is 3.6mbps, while 3g is also known as umts, max speed is 384kbps.

2. hsdpa router is just a router. no modem. thats why u need hsdpa datacard (pcmcia card) as a modem. insert simcard in the hsdpa pcmcia then insert that pcmcia into the router. (if you using 3g pcmcia card then the max speed is only 384kbps, thats why you need hsdpa pcmcia card).

3. hsdpa modem is NOT only pcmcia or usb but also got normal LAN modem. only maxis provided LAN modem for basic, advaced and power package. so you can connect this LAN modem to the normal wifi router.

4. isp = you can use digi and celcom with the hsdpa router. but not maxis. maxis broadband simcard is locked with the modem supplied by maxis only. cant use on other device. but maxis postpaid or hotlink prepaid simcard can, bear in mind the charges are so huge!

maxis broadband = rm68 monthly, unlimited
maxis postpaid = 10sen per 10kb or rm99 monthly, unlimited
hotlink prepaid = 10sen per 10kb

digi broadband = rm66 monthly, unlimited
celcom broadband = rm68 monthly, unlimited

5. let see the estimated starter cost for the device:
hsdpa pcmcia card rm400 + hsdpa router rm600 = rm1000
hsdpa modem provided by maxis (free) + normal wifi router rm120 = rm120

6. and now, maxis also provide hsdpa modem + router in 1 device (4 port lan + wifi), rm158 per month, unlimited.
the good thing about this device is only need 1 power point for plug (like hsdpa router), while LAN modem + normal wifi router need 2 power point.

adeas
good comparison
erry-
thanks ~

but the most important thing before using wifi broadband is, check the coverage in your place 1st ~!!! smile.gif
bizzy_d
hey bro.. i have sumthing to share..

how abot the xsbox r4v.. i thinks it more powerful than DIR 451

erry-
i'm not sure if xsbox r4v powerful than dir 451.

but, 1 for sure is xsbox r4v no need other device (dir 451 need pcmcia card).

or, you can try huawei e960 (which is also offered by maxis).

info @ maxis website
info @ huawei website

for u guys who want to know more about xsbox r4v, can go here
keretapir
er..juz wondering..
can i somehow sambung/connect the usb modem (as in mxs 3g usb) to my wifi router (as in aztech wifi router,which use rj45..)?

or shd i buy a wifi router w/ usb?if so,how to config?
thnx in advnce!
prasys
You can but its gonna be a tedious job. First you'll have to buy a router which supports openWRT and has a usb port (hint hint that asus router , i can't remember its model). Then you'll have to fetch the right packages , run through some scripts and configure it. once you have done it would work.

http://www.mynetsavvy.info/huawei-e220-on-...l-500g-premium/

http://www.umtslink.at/3g-forum/showpost.p...907&postcount=8

so its possible !
mikelanding
QUOTE(prasys @ May 7 2008, 09:02 PM)
You can but its gonna be a tedious job. First you'll have to buy a router which supports openWRT and has a usb port (hint hint that asus router , i can't remember its model). Then you'll have to fetch the right packages , run through some scripts and configure it. once you have done it would work.

http://www.mynetsavvy.info/huawei-e220-on-...l-500g-premium/

http://www.umtslink.at/3g-forum/showpost.p...907&postcount=8

so its possible  !

I got the hardware ie Asus WL-500gP and Huawei E220. Plan to try out the firmware this weekend and see how the result go...Let report back here..smile.gif
erry-
i connect my maxis zte modem to aztech wifi router directly, no need to configure anything ~ can online wifi already biggrin.gif
keretapir
@ first i can faham crystal clear on 1st website..but on the 2nd,err...maybe sum1 cud transl8 it?
i no speak deutsch!!! icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
btw mikelanding,hows ur lab experiment?gud or not?
erry-
since you want to share your broadband, connect it to your wifi router, so it should be located at 1 place, usually inside a house, not in a move (mobile), right?

so, downgrade your usb package to zte lan modem package and just connect the zte lan modem to your wifi router. done ~ smile.gif

Added on May 13, 2008, 9:12 pmyou already have your wifi router. dont buy anything else.

usb package rm138, downgrade to zte lan modem package rm98, so you save rm40 biggrin.gif
anil1328
Hi there, i am using the Huawei e220 usb frm maxis.... connected it to D-link 451 HSDPA router and it works great, now i can connect my PSP,my PDA and my desktop at one go...
dinster
this is the one which Maxis give for free..

http://www.huawei.com/policy/simpleres.do?...63&type=abouthw

HSDPA WLAN Router...

erry-
QUOTE(anil1328 @ May 17 2008, 02:37 AM)
Hi there, i am using the Huawei e220 usb frm maxis.... connected it to D-link 451 HSDPA router and it works great, now i can connect my PSP,my PDA and my desktop at one go...
woah? never know that d-link 451 can support usb device as a 3G modem, thought only pcmcia card, while the usb port at the back is to connect via usb cable to computer/laptop which dont have lan port but have usb ports blush.gif

anyway, thanks for the info & congrats! rclxms.gif

Added on May 17, 2008, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(dinster @ May 17 2008, 11:46 AM)
this is the one which Maxis give for free..

http://www.huawei.com/policy/simpleres.do?...63&type=abouthw

HSDPA WLAN Router...
mention already before, cost u rm158 per month sweat.gif and, when terminated, return it back to maxis blush.gif
kengw
I am looking for wireless broadband router for my business... I consider to buy VigSys VR20 HSDPA wireless router...

Anyone try it before? Need your advice... Thanks a lot!!
keretapir

wow..so u mean the usb port can put usb modem..is dat rite?& i mean, any usb modem?
(n i thought dat the usb port is juz for a printer or external hdd..shared by anyone who connects there..)
kengw
QUOTE(erry- @ Apr 29 2008, 05:09 PM)
i'm not sure if xsbox r4v powerful than dir 451.

but, 1 for sure is xsbox r4v no need other device (dir 451 need pcmcia card).

or, you can try huawei e960 (which is also offered by maxis).

info @ maxis website
info @ huawei website

for u guys who want to know more about xsbox r4v, can go here

Anyone knows what's the difference between VigSys VR20 wireless router & huawei E960 wireless gateway? Which one should I buy for business use?
anil1328
QUOTE(keretapir @ May 20 2008, 02:13 AM)
wow..so u mean the usb port can put usb modem..is dat rite?& i mean, any usb modem?
(n i thought dat the usb port is juz for a printer or external hdd..shared by anyone who connects there..)

ya you can, but then the router is default for celcom. if you are going to get this router to connect maxis bb it's advice to email d-link to get the router setting. by stock it support huawei E220 usb modem but not maxis network, so you have to change the setting. 3 minutes job oni.
erry-
maxisbb (maxis broadband) simcard is sim locked, cant be use on other modem than supplied by maxis.

if using maxis normal postpaid simcard (rm99 monthly) then sure can use on that d-link. the setting can get from maxis 3g website.

GoMobile
QUOTE(kengw @ May 21 2008, 12:09 AM)
Anyone knows what's the difference between VigSys VR20 wireless router & huawei E960 wireless gateway? Which one should I buy for business use?

I have been using VigSys VR20...so far it works perfectly. I also use it in car with cigarette lighter cable when I travel in group of my colleagues on field trip. Price wise, it is cheaper than E960. I give thumbs up for VigSys VR20
siutet

can u tell me how u setting the DIR 451 and e220? right now i'm stuck about it. Thanx
siutet
QUOTE(anil1328 @ May 24 2008, 12:19 PM)
ya you can, but then the router is default for celcom. if you are going to get this router to connect maxis bb it's advice to email d-link to get the router setting. by stock it support huawei E220 usb modem but not maxis network, so you have to change the setting. 3 minutes job oni.

can u tell me the setting of DIR 451 and e220 using maxis bb? I've already emailing the Dlink support but no reply (a week already). Thanx
cocodemon
QUOTE(GoMobile @ May 27 2008, 11:20 AM)
I have been using VigSys VR20...so far it works perfectly. I also use it in car with cigarette lighter cable when I travel in group of my colleagues on field trip. Price wise, it is cheaper than E960. I give thumbs up for VigSys VR20

where to buy the VigSys VR20? price?

huawei wireless router is ~1k
erry-
QUOTE(cocodemon @ May 31 2008, 10:57 PM)
where to buy the VigSys VR20? price?

huawei wireless router is ~1k

huawei e960 and vigsys vr20 - both around 1.3k

if any1 interested, i can help to get it from my fren ~
kucau
Ermm cheaper option is to buy ( or use your existing ) windows mobile PDA with HSDPA and install software to turn it into wifi HSDPA router wink.gif

have a look here

http://www.jongma.org/WMWifiRouter/
GoMobile
QUOTE(erry- @ Jun 1 2008, 06:10 PM)
huawei e960 and vigsys vr20 - both around 1.3k

If you have not purchase the WIFI router, you may want to consider VigSys VD30 Wireless Docking Gateway.
I have checked it out...it was designed to convert USB modem into HSDPA WIFI Router...the price is RM450 which is way lower than the VR20 I had purchased. The WIFI router functions are the same as VR20 except the HSDPA function is by the USB Modem.

As stated on their website, supported USB Modems:
- Huawei E220 HSDPA USB Modem
- Huawei E270 HSxPA USB Modem
- VigSys VM10 HSDPA USB Modem

Furthermore, they come in 5 colors.

Do check out their website for further information if you need.

GoMobile
~~~~~~
Mobility is FREEDOM

8kelvin
Any one knows any usb modem that comes with BT, so i can connect my PPC to wireless broadband through BT connection?

Thx in advance for the help.
red277
y dun wan wait for wimax ler comming out di ler
hawhaw23
QUOTE(8kelvin @ Jul 5 2008, 05:22 PM)
Any one knows any usb modem that comes with BT, so i can connect my PPC to wireless broadband through BT connection?

I never know there is a modem come with BT wow.

Go internet already can download BT seed.

Bear in mind as i know Maxis, got restriction on BT download, please check with you ISP (Maxis,Celcom,Digi) before sign up any package.
erry-
QUOTE(red277 @ Jul 9 2008, 03:30 PM)
y dun wan wait for wimax ler comming out di ler

wimax? what is wimax? haha.
how to online while waiting for it?
rclxub.gif

Added on July 12, 2008, 12:51 am
QUOTE(hawhaw23 @ Jul 11 2008, 10:00 PM)
QUOTE(8kelvin @ Jul 5 2008, 05:22 PM)

I never know there is a modem come with BT wow.

Go internet already can download BT seed.

Bear in mind as i know Maxis, got restriction on BT download, please check with you ISP (Maxis,Celcom,Digi) before sign up any package.

BT here should be bluetooth. PPC is pocket PC. laugh.gif
babayaga
i say dun change ler

have tou read the terms and conditions of the "fair wireless internet service for all" crap?

limiting your total bandwidth used to 2/4gb?

that is total BS man
Terence573
QUOTE(babayaga @ Jul 20 2008, 04:03 AM)
i say dun change ler

have tou read the terms and conditions of the "fair wireless internet service for all" crap?

limiting your total bandwidth used to 2/4gb?

that is total BS man

Wat I heard is 3gb limit.....where they say unlimited.

Somehow I notice after a long time use of my d68 celcom it will slow down or dc......xunlei file downloading
will slow or wont download at all after reaching +/- 3GB data downloaded..

Anyone have the same experience?
vincentlim80
QUOTE(erry- @ Apr 20 2008, 04:17 AM)
thanks ~

but the most important thing before using wifi broadband is, check the coverage in your place 1st ~!!! smile.gif

i strong agree what u mention it. I think so far there are no have provider able to provider the so big bandwidth to end user lor..i mean is home user..
so what for using the hsdpa modem but with out the service.. is it?
GoMobile
QUOTE(vincentlim80 @ Jul 21 2008, 11:49 AM)
i strong agree what u mention it. I think so far there are no have provider able to provider the so big bandwidth to end user lor..i mean is home user..
so what for using the hsdpa modem but with out  the service.. is it?

The most immediate benefits of HSDPA modem is that it provide total mobility to its users. We are no longer tied to home phone line.
I have been subscribing to these services..and so far so good.

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.