Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PS2 Slim Backward Compatibility
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
tadasu
hi, just a quick question. i just bought an original ps1 game (crash bandicoot), but i couldnt play it on my modified ps2 slim. so im wondering does ps2 slim have backward compatibility with ps1 games??
VashTheStampede
it should do. but i think like all the ps2's fat or slim you need to like.. press the power button twice after you load in the ps1 game. happy.gif correct me if im wrong fellas
acougan
might be OT:

dunno abt ps2slim but for my modded ps2 fat, to play DVD movies or PS1 games

1. insert game
2. power off console
3. power on console, keep holding the power button
4. wait for start up logo and SCE words
5. the movie or game will boot. you can also go to system settings and select "texture smoothing" for PS1 games, then only boot the game

VashTheStampede
QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 15 2008, 12:11 AM)
might be OT:

dunno abt ps2slim but for my modded ps2 fat, to play DVD movies or PS1 games

1. insert game
2. power off console
3. power on console, keep holding the power button
4. wait for start up logo and SCE words
5. the movie or game will boot. you can also go to system settings and select "texture smoothing" for PS1 games, then only boot the game

yups, used to do that or the double button press for my old fat ps2 too. now just the double button for new slim ps2
blackamikaze

yes, try press the power button twice. Press faster lah.. dont wait until u see logo then baru u nak press one more time.
S4PH
all depends on modchip bro if it supports ps2 game,my ps2 slim cant play ps1 games either and certain DVD movies also cant play
ruztynail
i recommend u not to try. will fry yr modchip.. exactly wat i did. used ori GOW on it. kaboom. fried. cost me rm200 plus to get the ori matrix chip.
greyfox
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Mar 15 2008, 03:09 PM)
i recommend u not to try. will fry yr modchip.. exactly wat i did. used ori GOW on it. kaboom. fried. cost me rm200 plus to get the  ori matrix chip.

why you need to press the power button twice for playing ori ps2 game?? no need to press the power button twice for playing ori games. ori chip you can disable the chip if cap ayam just put the ori ps2 game and run it .

@ TS , do like they said , mostly cap ayam modchip you need to press the power button twice.

if you modchip is ori like MI chip or crystal chip or any other just PM me i will help you if you modchip is clone one just give me what is you modchip name if you know .
tadasu
i tried pressing the power button twice but to no avail... also not sure what's my mod chip... sien la, i think i'll just play it on my pc lol
Tamiya
Just checked with shop, apparently current system can't run PS1 games.. T__T
snipersnake
I dont believe that. I suspect those buggers dont want to solder the psone wire on the modchip.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.