Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Izzi or Streamyx
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
spammenotspam
still deciding on whether to go for streamyx or izzi net..since i m only renting the place, so, i guess izzi will be more easier for me whenever i tried to move to somewhere else a year from now..

izzi package is cool n everything.. but one down point... scare of disconnection, bad customer service.. and bandwidth drops... heard cna't watch Youtube, and some online TV due to its nature...since i dun hv TV, i always want to watch programme online 1.. if izzi didn't work.. might as well i get streamyx..

comes to streamyx.. package now is RM 110 for combo.. so-called home phone excluded, with lifetime warranty modem
the thing is... very mafan want to move later.. n need huge junk of money for deposit this and that... omg..
adding their customer service....so su** .... went to tm house yesterday..waited 45 min wanting to sign up...gosh... gave up.. too long, think we don't need work go there sit and wait ah..darn stupid

the line both also 1mbps...wat to ask for.. the rate almost same lo..RM 110 for streamyx, RM 115 for izzi router sharing with 2 person..

any experts advice on this?... plz help plz help ~!
skyxis
From my understanding on the streamyx and izzi

Streamyx
1. Bad customer service support due to too many people using its service
2. Can use P2P software and BT to download, because most of the port is open
3. Can give about 60%-90% of the package you order
4. Sometime it might be disconnect in the heavy rain
5. Lightning will come and broke the modem
6. Monthly paid RM88 for unlimited access, but first time you need pay about RM300+ for line activation, installation and deposit
7. Can covert it become wireless using a wireless router only
8. A lot of streamyx agent around u (i'm one of it)

Izzi
1. Better customer service support due to too little people using its service now
2. Can't open the port forwarding due to the service limitation
3. Can give about 30%-90% of the package you order
4. It 100% disconnect in the raining day
5. Don't scare the lightning disaster
6. One time pay RM1000+ to start using the service
7. Cannot convert to wifi due to the hardware limitation
8. Not so many Izzi agent around u

Conclusion:
If you're the download king, choose streamyx
If you're the rich people, looking for new tech and new stuff, choose iZZi
lil_chocobo
check the forum regarding the izzi service...and also check your area...prefer streamyx..more stable since its wired...but most of the times, the serv sux..
clngu
streamyx sucks yet I am still using it ... so prefer Streamyx than iZZit
Seremban Angler
Comments from IZZI users...

I used it for 2 consecutive days before during one of the izzi roadshows which was held in conjunction with one of the Apple Education Workshops which I managed.

Verdict: Very erratic if you're sharing it with more than 1 computer. I tested on both the izzipro and izziyou packages, both suffer badly when sharing with more than 1 person. (A lot of connection drops).

Otherwise, when it's fast, it's really fast, but when it's slow, you'll be lucky if the page even loads 10%. It fluctuates a lot.

Anyway, the refund policy sounds quite assuring:

Condition of refunds, no question asked.

Cancellation of service within 7 days
Full refund subject to RM180 administrative charges of service purchased. (Subscription and activation fee)
No coverage at the place of resident or work place.
Usage of <3Mb> 180 days.

Refund cheque will be processes within 30days after the return of user terminal with proper forms completed (available at iZZinet office)
Full name and IC numbers are required for authentication of purchaser and for the preparation of refund cheque.

Yep, but bear in mind that you have to pay up front for a full year, and after reports of a lot of erraticism, which you may have to put up and let's say after 5 days you got tired of the erraticism, well put it simply, you will not get any refund in full if you have downloaded more than 3mb, which basically is for the people who are in poor/no signal areas. Then if after 8 days, you encounter too much erratic fluctuations/connection drops, you basically forfeit 3 months worth of payment.

Oh, and dunno if it's just my tough luck, but 2nd day using izzi, it rained, I had no signal throughout the rain. Macam Astro. Haha. Rain stopped and I got my signal back. Don't know if they're related.

Personally, I'll pass... where are you located at btw?

Also note service like Izzi and other wireless broadband only demo in areas with the best signal (direct line of sight to main antenna or BTS).

Once you take it home it's a different story.

i agree with ******, Izzi's HQ is in my office area, Plaza Mont Kiara here they have the fastest best speed and they have demo's and sales ppl pushing the service every day at the foyer.

i will still stick to Maxis 3G on off and on basis whenever there is an urgent need for me to use the net while on the road.

ON another note if you live within apartment or high rise blocks or your house is surrounded by huge buildings, DON"T Expect super fast wireless connectivity as the signals would be blocked by buildings. Signals which require line of sight connection for best speed availability suffer from this predicament.
Lovely_Gal
I will suggest that you ask the IzzI agent to go to your place and test for you. Some area really got a very good bandwidth but some are not.

I am one of the customer, i am quite satisfied previously but due to the increasing of the subscribers at my area, the bandwidth started to decrease. So, i will advise you to test it out, if you are not satisfied, no need to subscribe. smile.gif

Give them and yourself a chance, if cannot just don;t subscribe. smile.gif
ubuntu
Recommended Izzi broadband. I'm using it now. flex.gif Try Streamyx and Maxis before, their service is sucks... doh.gif
commander571
QUOTE(spammenotspam @ Mar 6 2008, 10:43 AM)
still deciding on whether to go for streamyx or izzi net..since i m only renting the place, so, i guess izzi will be more easier for me whenever i tried to move to somewhere else a year from now..

izzi package is cool n everything.. but one down point... scare of disconnection, bad customer service.. and bandwidth drops... heard cna't watch Youtube, and some online TV due to its nature...since i dun hv TV, i always want to watch programme online 1.. if izzi didn't work.. might as well i get streamyx..

comes to streamyx.. package now is RM 110 for combo.. so-called home phone excluded, with lifetime warranty modem
the thing is... very mafan want to move later.. n need huge junk of money for deposit this and that... omg..
adding their customer service....so su** .... went to tm house yesterday..waited 45 min wanting to sign up...gosh... gave up.. too long, think we don't need work go there sit and wait ah..darn stupid

the line both also 1mbps...wat to ask for.. the rate almost same lo..RM 110 for streamyx, RM 115 for izzi router sharing with 2 person..

Izzi line not tat stable...during midnite until morning time..the speed can up to 900kb instead of 1mb...by the way..most of the time the speed also around 300kb to 600kb only whereas streamymx can up to 1.3 to 1.4mb instead of 1 mb..n 1 more thing...dont simply believe to the agent who persuade u buy it but he not coming to ur hs to test...for a safety way, u better cal the agent come to ur hs to test the line before deciding using ernot...i been call to izzi company many times to complaint about the speed..but it seem like not work at all...i living in Setapak area
tzywen
Go for streamyx. I'm never a big fan of wireless. Too many factors affecting signal strength.

btw, streamyx customer service has improved quite a lot. I call them in the afternoon they can come the next day. Even replaced my modem on the spot!
Feugo

hahahaha so true.. kena 3 times oledi. Mother nature is a b1tch.
Karl5511
QUOTE(spammenotspam @ Mar 6 2008, 10:43 AM)

Good info you have there. Seems like Streamyx is much more better (even sometime its suck) compare to Izzi.
insane.gamer
wut ever it is dont use celcom 3g broadband ... totally sucks
rexoxo
QUOTE(skyxis @ Mar 6 2008, 11:22 AM)

Streamyx
6. Monthly paid RM88 for unlimited access, but first time you need pay about RM300+ for line activation, installation and deposit
Izzi
1. Better customer service support due to too little people using its service now

Conclusion:

the fact about izzi u said is not true..
i am izzi user..
izzi..
Can use P2P software and BT to download
it wont disconnect during raining day..
can be convert to wifi is u buy the right package..
its not one time pay 1000++
u can pay monthly..
n i heard they will be upgrading their services n network..

i am izzi user and i can say that izzi is better than streamyx..
spammenotspam
hi hi.. i managed to borrow my friend's izzipro, used it over weekend. so far ok lo, since i stayed so high in condo.
One thing i hate about izzi:

- customer service, called few times, cannot go thru, something's wrong
- antenna making wierd sounds to my speakers, which is nearby my laptop as well
- BT downloading quite good speed, used for TV Streaming program, not satisfied, unsure with TMStreamyx
- paying up front idea is really insecure. What if the company half way declare bankrupt eh?..

so far, i tried to get streamyx services, and avoid paying stamp duty, deposits, and activation. If possible, streamyx would be my choice, if not, i would opt and risk for izzi lo..sad.gif

y there's so little choice of broadband in malaysia.. gosh..
i used to use 6MB when i am studying in US.. paying as little as USD 35 per month.. dollar to dollar comparison, it's very afforable and cheap~!
illnessz
QUOTE(spammenotspam @ Mar 10 2008, 02:33 PM)
hi hi.. i managed to borrow my friend's izzipro, used it over weekend. so far ok lo, since i stayed so high in condo.
One thing i hate about izzi:

- customer service, called few times, cannot go thru, something's wrong
- antenna making wierd sounds to my speakers, which is nearby my laptop as well
- BT downloading quite good speed, used for TV Streaming program, not satisfied, unsure with TMStreamyx
- paying up front idea is really insecure. What if the company half way declare bankrupt eh?..

so far, i tried to get streamyx services, and avoid paying stamp duty, deposits, and activation. If possible, streamyx would be my choice, if not, i would opt and risk for izzi lo..sad.gif

y there's so little choice of broadband in malaysia.. gosh..
i used to use 6MB when i am studying in US.. paying as little as USD 35 per month.. dollar to dollar comparison, it's very afforable and cheap~!

was thinking to get izzipro for my backup line at my office.. my primary line is streamyx adsl 2mb. U think how many concurent user can get internet for izzipro? would love to make backup line other than streamyx...thnk u
matthewctj
QUOTE(skyxis @ Mar 6 2008, 11:22 AM)

Streamyx
Izzi

Conclusion:

Im using iZZi.

It works on rainy day
I'm connected to a router, hence I have Wifi connection at home. If you chose a different package, the modem is even smaller and you can carry that around with your laptop.
I wouldnt worry about agent, if there is service in that area, there will be agent sent to you just like mine
I download almost 24/7 and have not much issues with speed if you know how to open up the port of your router.

Your comparison is flawed and biased coz you're an agent of Streamyx.
Diran Hans
QUOTE(matthewctj @ Mar 14 2008, 02:31 PM)
Im using iZZi.

It works on rainy day
I'm connected to a router, hence I have Wifi connection at home. If you chose a different package, the modem is even smaller and you can carry that around with your laptop.
I wouldnt worry about agent, if there is service in that area, there will be agent sent to you just like mine
I download almost 24/7 and have not much issues with speed if you know how to open up the port of your router.

Your comparison is flawed and biased coz you're an agent of Streamyx.

no ... hes comparison isnt that biased .. pretty much true for both sides ..

but for TS, if you cant decide to use any of them .. dont use the internets ...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.