Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: SONY Alpha thread V2.0
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50
ianho
Wooooooooooooooooooo. rclxm9.gif Here we go with V2.0. previous thread has reached limit. Continue all Alpha discussions here. Just to start off V2.0, I'll repost the pics of a mini Alpha gathering we had last night. Participants were albnok, nic_chm, Ahmike, ewin, KJ and I.

3x Alpha 700 n 4x Alpha 200!!!! Tons of lenses too from albnok n nic_chm.

From left: Sony 11-18mm F4.5-5.6 DT, Sony Carl Zeiss 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT, Sony 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT, Minolta 50mm F1.4, Sony 50mm F2.8 Macro, Sony Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8, Minolta 70-210mm F4, Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM, Sony 75-300mm F4.5-5.6

Front row is the VG-B30AM, Sigma 17-35mm F2.8-4 EX and Peleng 8mm F3.5 circular fisheye.

Behind are 2 A700 bodies and 1 A200 body. This picture n description of all parts n equipment taken from albnok. My picture didn't use flash n wasnt bright enuf to hilite all those lovely lenses.

Here's looking forward to more activities n gatherings of the Orange Legion. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

User groups:-

A100
1. soulfly
2. kysham
3. clivengu
4. Kennyv

A200
1. ianho
2. Eiraku
3. ewin
4. kelvinyam
5. dark lenanza
6. Ahmike
7. Ka3tr0
8. silver01
9. The Wonder
10. pky
11. JAYworm
12. endless
13. z3r0c0d3r
14. Keeš
15. mhhee
16. hanafinoor
17. popiah_mmu
18. ainnymidie
19. laszlo
20. Ranceed
21. dx_myrddraal
22. croomaniac
23. bahlol
24. bcteh
25. whooi
26. iwan328i
27. royalshortness
28. flysheep
29. eagle.ng
30. SphinxVille
31. maiself
32. sengmun

A350
1. Strik3

A700
1. nic_chm
2. albnok
3. kenzio
4. smashpOp

A900
1. brows.gif
Ahmike
Amadeo's Alpha Userbars

A100 : user posted image

A200 : user posted image

A300 : user posted image

A350 : user posted image

A700 : user posted image
ewin
his name is KJ hehe..
kysham
Whoa..! V2.0! Way to go Sony Alpha. Even the A700 couldn't generate this kind of interest in the forum.
vikingw2k
Nice gathering there, whose Sony 70-200mm f2.8 ?
Any sample pics snapped using that lens biggrin.gif
jcvstlys
Wah! So fast reach V2 already. I think A200 really supporting this thread
kelvinyam
Where to get a cheap compatible Angle Finder for A200?
laszlo
yay congrats on V2 rclxms.gif
The Wonder
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 27 2008, 10:00 AM)

Ya, some pics would be sweet.
sOuLx
OMG.. big big big lenses...

congrats for V2.. the legion is getting bigger and bigger...
kelvinyam
7 shots consist of 3 day and 4 nights were submitted to Istockphoto. All 3 day shots were accepted and all 4 night shots were rejected, one being OOF (my bad), and 3 being noise at ISO400. Gosh, are they really picky or what? I could hardly see any noise at 100% view.
soulfly
they are pixel peepers
try use a little bit of post-processing to remove the noise
gogo2
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 27 2008, 11:57 AM)
7 shots consist of 3 day and 4 nights were submitted to Istockphoto. All 3 day shots were accepted and all 4 night shots were rejected, one being OOF (my bad), and 3 being noise at ISO400. Gosh, are they really picky or what? I could hardly see any noise at 100% view.

I guess you need 40D, D300 for night shot if you want to send to Istockphoto. laugh.gif
vikingw2k
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 27 2008, 11:57 AM)

Why don't you post it here so that we can have a look at them smile.gif
dark lenanza
guys
i'm gonna buy my first lense
but now i am a bit confuse

now in my head got 3 lense

SAL17300
minolta 50mm f1.7
Cosina 70-210 F2.8-4

hard to choose..
need opinion
harrychoo
SONY 24-70/2.8 ZA SSM - preparing for FF

http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=5003
kysham
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Feb 27 2008, 12:46 PM)
guys

SAL17300
minolta 50mm f1.7
Cosina 70-210 F2.8-4

hard to choose..
need opinion

?!?!?! There is no SAL17300 lens as far as I can remember... blink.gif blink.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Do you mean the SAL75300?

You know, all 3 lenses caters to different shooting styles. You have to think carefully which shooting style you use most often before you make your decision.
dark lenanza
i love going into jungle
i consider Cosina 70-210 F2.8-4
but then minolta also good but not with wide angle right??
ianho
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 27 2008, 10:00 AM)

albnok took quite a few with the white elephant. I was gonna put it on mine to try oso but the kopitiam staff wanted to close shop oredi so I didnt do it. Mebe albnok can post sum of those white elephant shots. hehe.

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Feb 27 2008, 12:46 PM)
guys

SAL17300
minolta 50mm f1.7
Cosina 70-210 F2.8-4

hard to choose..
need opinion

The 50mm 1.7 nonid to think coz it's so cheap. That 1 shud just grab. The 70-300 oso nonid to think too hard coz u can get Tamron 70-300 for oni rm580. Even u buy both 50mm n 70-300 oso less than rm1k. *poison poison*
soulfly
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Feb 27 2008, 12:52 PM)
i love going into jungle
i consider Cosina 70-210 F2.8-4
but then minolta also good but not with wide angle right??

for jungle, get 70-300 for more reach, you wont regret.
bysquashy
I've heard many mentioned about external flash is a must for indoor shot and the built-in flash is very harsh, any samples picture to compare?
kelvinyam
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 27 2008, 12:29 PM)
I guess you need 40D, D300 for night shot if you want to send to Istockphoto. laugh.gif

Nah. I'll get it through using ISO100. Just that I was shooting at ISO400 because of hand held.

Added on February 27, 2008, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 27 2008, 12:31 PM)
Why don't you post it here so that we can have a look at them smile.gif

It's not a nice photo anyway, just thought that it might have enough commercial value for people to click on it.

Added on February 27, 2008, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 27 2008, 01:18 PM)
for jungle, get 70-300 for more reach, you wont regret.

I'd prefer 400mm prime. There's one being sold at RM1200 used. Cosina 400mm.
soulfly
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 27 2008, 01:43 PM)
Nah. I'll get it through using ISO100. Just that I was shooting at ISO400 because of hand held.

Added on February 27, 2008, 1:45 pm
It's not a nice photo anyway, just thought that it might have enough commercial value for people to click on it.

Added on February 27, 2008, 1:48 pm
I'd prefer 400mm prime. There's one being sold at RM1200 used. Cosina 400mm.

well... 400mm prime wasn't one of dark lenanza's options
gogo2
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Feb 27 2008, 01:40 PM)
I've heard many mentioned about external flash is a must for indoor shot and the built-in flash is very harsh, any samples picture to compare?

No sample from me. But logically speaking, if you use external flash, you can use diffuser or use bounce flash. That way, surely not
as harsh as direct flash from built in flash. Do I make any sense? tongue.gif
dark lenanza
lol
with my tight budget
i'm gonna get 1 lense first

after get bonus another lense
rclxms.gif
popiah_mmu
i tried taking some sample shots with pop up flash, external flash pointing upwards, diffuser.

The pop up flash is lights up the front subjects too much. Even when I use slow flash, it is still harsh.

When I use bounce by pointing it at the ceiling, it really lights up the whole scene including the subject. Nice.

When I use a diffuser, the skin tone is better. Light output is also reduced as compared to the bounce. Overall, lighting is softer.
hanafinoor
I found a shop selling cheap flash for sony alpha in pertama complex..about rm400 something, guys do you think its good or OK?
dark lenanza
QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Feb 27 2008, 03:21 PM)
I found a shop selling cheap flash for sony alpha in pertama complex..about rm400 something, guys do you think its good or OK?

pm me bro the shop name
rclxms.gif
ewin
what kind of flash? model?
laszlo
F36 flash?????
ianho
if it's F36 flash, the shop kena landslide d lor. laugh.gif It must b 1 of the 40+ gn Sigmas.
Soony
How does flash actually affect your pictures??
If i want to get a flash.. what are the recommendation?? is F36 good enough??
ianho
QUOTE(Soony @ Feb 27 2008, 04:21 PM)
How does flash actually affect your pictures??
If i want to get a flash.. what are the recommendation?? is F36 good enough??

since so many ppl asking bout diff between standard 12gn flash n F36(36gn) flash. I will do a comparison 2nite n post it up.
soulfly
To those looking for Sigma 70-300, be aware that there are a few versions that is currently in the market.

- Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DG Macro
- Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO DG Macro

...with the APO version being much more expensive than the non-APO version by more than RM200 if I'm not mistaken.
APO is their new technology ?
low dispersion lens ? if not wrong. unsure.gif
Eiraku
Hey guys, still blur as of why after registration, the MySony site shows exacly 1 year warranty... Where did the extra 6 months go? And I need to register flash through phone some more... sweat.gif

Added on February 27, 2008, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 27 2008, 02:16 PM)
No sample from me. But logically speaking, if you use external flash, you can use diffuser or use bounce flash. That way, surely not
as harsh as direct flash from built in flash. Do I make any sense? tongue.gif

You can ACTUALLY bounce pop-up flash... It needs a purpose cut white cardboard of some sort... But it's just not as powerful as a dedicated flash unit, that's all (plus you're missing out on all sorts of wireless flashing fun)... icon_rolleyes.gif
soulfly
pop-up flash is just not powerful enough

hey guys... why don't we list down our equipments? probably ianho can group us based on camera used (groups of a100, a200 & a700)
ianho
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 27 2008, 05:14 PM)
pop-up flash is just not powerful enough

hey guys... why don't we list down our equipments? probably ianho can group us based on camera used (groups of a100, a200 & a700)

can can. No problem.

Updated those that I can remember offhand.
gogo2
I start first

Minolta S304

dx_myrddraal
What about posting a brief price list for the cameras and common lenses on the first post?
dark lenanza
A200 kits

this week gonna get tamron lens...after bonus minolta
rclxms.gif
ewin
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 27 2008, 08:22 AM)

Nice one there in the first post, great job. haha

What about doing signature for Alpha users?
ianho
Here u go guys. These r the comparison shots between pop up flash n F36 flash.

Pop up.

F36 flash behind me on a tripod. I used wireless flash. Flash is bounced off the ceiling. Ceiling is about 11 feet high.

This 1 is to simulate what happens during birthday photos. The faces get all harshly lit by the pop up n everything behind is dark.

This is with the F36 lighting up everything. F36 is mounted on the camera itself but bounced off the ceiling. Standard F36 diffuser plate is on.

Hope this helps u fellas deciding whether or not to buy the flash.
Ka3tr0
Yippeee..V2 thread..

Xcalibur..we cant fish on the rig la..if i find anybody fish on the rig i sent them back on the next day.. tongue.gif

Am at PMO area...heavy rain right now..
goldfries
ian, it'll be good if you let the newbies know
1. what angle were you pointing it, if you were pointing upwards, how high was the ceiling. smile.gif
2. whether you're using any diffuser.

and about the 1st post, i think they'll like it too if you could list their accessories. brows.gif
ianho
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2008, 07:50 PM)
ian, it'll be good if you let the newbies know
1. what angle were you pointing it, if you were pointing upwards, how high was the ceiling. smile.gif
2. whether you're using any diffuser.

and about the 1st post, i think they'll like it too if you could list their accessories. brows.gif

Wokeh. Will edit the flash post. The accessories on 1st page can pengsan man. Sum of these gilas like albnok n nic_chm got like 20millions lenses n accs. laugh.gif
hello guys smile.gif
my purchase of A200 is coming to me now ,

the reason for choosing twin lens kit is....the 75-300 zoom lens.

But , Sigma also have a almost same 70-300mm APO lens compare with SAL75300.

Which is better btw ?
I really need you guys comment on this two lens. notworthy.gif
Ka3tr0
Eh..whats the best under RM 2000 lense for landscape / sunset / architectural wide lense...

Sigma 10-20 ?
Prime 14 mm ?

Which one will you recommend...i want it all appear sharp till infinity lol..corner to corner and rich in color..
ianho
QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:09 PM)
Eh..whats the best under RM 2000 lense for landscape / sunset / architectural wide lense...

Sigma 10-20 ?
Prime 14 mm ?

Which one will you recommend...i want it all appear sharp till infinity lol..corner to corner and rich in color..

What u need is the Phoenix 2600mm so u can see ur darling signalling to u on shore lar. laugh.gif
soulfly
Today I have received a Sigma 24-70mm f2.8. This is an awesome lens.

- smooth creamy bokeh
- quite good build quality(at least to my standard), not plasticky but more rubbery type, and matte finish instead of shiny black.
- zoom/focus ring very virgin and tight
- bright highlight is octagonal at wide open
- heavy
- focusing is somewhat feels slow on my a100

no more testing as i have packed the lens to be delivered to a customer tomorrow.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.