Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Infineon Malacca or National Semiconductor
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Jobs & Careers
Pages: 1, 2
sycluap
Hello everyone. I would like to ask which company is better to work in, in terms of career advancement, working environment and etc. As I am soon-to-graduate student, I will like to have the opinions of those who have working experience to be as guidelines for me.

Thanks in advance.
Radeon
you can try anyone and if you don't like it,
just walk over the road biggrin.gif
sycluap
But I don't think it is good to do that right, especially I am only a fresh graduate. Really facing a hard time to decide... sad.gif
hondy_wave
lol.. keje je la.. ingat senang ke nak dapat keje sekarang? sweat.gif
sycluap
I know it is hard to get a job nowadays. But the problem is I got 3 job offers at the same time. Definitely I need to choose the best job right, rather than "keje je la".
hondy_wave
ler.. semuanya ok if u wanna work.. all of them r multinasional company.. so no need to worry la.. ok?
sycluap
ok. Thanks Mr.Hondy_wave for the advice.
iDk
NS is a very demanding company, but if you can make it, the company willing to compensate you in return of your lost. Infenion, but from what i heard, inside the company got too many old or senior worker, in which cant really perform, and the lower person also have hard time to work for them if they looking for achievement. Too many friends working inside tongue.gif

But the fact is, NS ppl always pull by Infenion as they know NS ppl really can work and perform. So they decided to use slight higher pay to work for them. Anyway, NS worker = workaholic, that's what market see. If you happen to enter NS, wish you luck.
sycluap
I, too, heard a lot of comment saying that working in NS is very stressful. Can elaborate more what is it meant by 'demanding'? Joining as a fresh graduate, I am worry whether I am able to cope or not.

Benefit wise, I suppose both of the company is almost the same. Besides working environment, is there any other difference between that 2 company? What would you recommend, NS or Infineon?
iDk
erm... This is what i heard, is NS is you have to perform there in order to get promote. Infineon i not 100% clear of the details. Both company i also got friend working there, but my close friend is working in NS, so i know more about it as the friend is manager now. He from fresh until manager about 3 and half years time, which is a legend, because he performing.

I would suggest you to join NS.

What position you applying for? Engineer?
sycluap
I was offered the position of Test Development/Product Engineer by NS. And I am actually very interested to the job. From what you mentioned, meaning that career advancement in NS has no limit, as long as you are performing? But how performing is consider performing?
kevin23
My uncle who was quite high ranking in NS earning 20k a month had a big bust up with the big bosses.He quit.Now working in another country down south.
killdavid
in NS you go up quick you get the boot also very quick if you mess up. That why NS is so fast moving and flexible. Its because their environment is ruthless. But it makes u stronger.
sycluap
It sounds that one cannot make any mistake when working in the company, else, suffer. In other words, NS is a place to make oneself stronger, but not a place to work long, I suppose.

I am wondering, how demanding is the company to their employee? How long usually it will tolerate before expecting a newly-joined to handle fully their own work? Will there be any senior guiding the newly-joined? How about the relationship among staffs in the company? Since the environment is so competitive, will there be any 'back-stabbing' or not willing to help attitude, in order for themselves to climb up faster than others?

Any other experience or information care to share with?
iDk
Brother, any company with high hierarchy and a lot of department will definitely got stabbing one lar. Let me tell you what, there will not only backstabbing happen, they also straight right in front of your face, front stab you without give face when come to the meeting. You got to understand, everyone got their own job to do, if everyone did their part, there will not be any problem. But this world is not utopia, where sh!t is bound to happen, and someone need to eat up the sh!t. Meeting time is where some one need to stand up and eat the sh!t. That's the time ppl will come out their skill of tai chi, some bring out heavy armor, some will bring out explosive ammo, penetrating ammo, one shot, one whole line of ppl will penetrate and die. Some really smart to avoid. This is will happen in a challenging, fast, flexible, and powerful company. I know in meeting, the boss will slap the table, throw files, go straight in front of you and poke his finger straight right up to your face and say whole bunch of "F" words to your face. LOL!

So at the first place, you have to be careful, dont MAKE sh!t out, and most important, please dont scope the sh!t up and hit by the fan, where everyone also will be affected.

All you need to do is do your part nice, and beautiful without dropping any sh!t out. Then slowly you will learn some other thing along the way.

About the guiding, the boss will give you hints, and point the road for you to walk, but he will not bring you all the way there. All these only can happen when you dont act "lansi lanyong" or you trying to be smart and think you can out smart your boss, then you made the biggest mistake in your life. 1st RULE: Never try to outsmart your boss or think you are smarter than your boss, boss is an old fox and he will try his best safe his department, for those dont follow will stand no chance to survive alone. After rule one, all you need to do is listen to your boss's instruction and do EXACTLY like what he say, at this point you are atleast safe from trouble. Let me tell you that sometimes, not the boss hate you because of personal reason or what, it is because of the trouble that you created, will affect him also. Then leave him no choice but to punish you by putting you into the fridge, freeze forever. Bosses also trying his best to live pass each day without trouble but achievement.

This is what i know from NS. It is a very good company and provide you a strong stepping stone of your career. After you manage to survive there, you can to make your way in anyway. Last thing to tell you about NS; fast-pace, extremely flexible, constant improvement, no room for error, and result base company they are.
sycluap
a perfect explanation there, I learned a lot! Thanks for such a detail explanation and generosity to share the information. I will sure take this as my guide and hopefully I can meet you and thank you face to face, if I happen to meet you one day.
iDk
QUOTE(sycluap @ Feb 27 2008, 09:35 PM)
a perfect explanation there, I learned a lot! Thanks for such a detail explanation and generosity to share the information. I will sure take this as my guide and hopefully I can meet you and thank you face to face, if I happen to meet you one day.

You are welcome smile.gif
You might able to meet or know me, if you happen to join NS and work directly under the Operation Manager (front of line), he is a close friend of mine.
sycluap
Sure. I look forward to meeting you soon. biggrin.gif
anson83
QUOTE(sycluap @ Feb 27 2008, 10:10 PM)
Sure. I look forward to meeting you soon. biggrin.gif

Hi, are you gonna take up the challenge? I am currently working in NS...... So you are gonna work for which group?I suppose they hire you to work in Amplifier group. biggrin.gif
k_eyezax
hmmm..NS is very stressfull place to work with... no offence here... but my brother can only work for only 5month there.. u have to work until late evening.. no OT payment summore....hrmmm...after heard from my brother experience, never want to work there.. hehe...peace..
sycluap
anson83, so, how do you find working in NS? k_eyezax brother can work only for 5 months? Is it really that stressful? Hope you all can share more information with me. If no big changes, most likely I will be joining in May. Not sure what department, but position is Test development/Product Engineer.

Is NS sending any of their engineer to work/train/deal/liaise with overseas colleague? Everyone seems to be saying working in NS is very stressful. I got 2 other job offer, dunno whether will make it up to NS in the end or not, all the description here sounds scary to me.

Those in NS, please share your experience when you first join the company until now.
iDk
you joining May? Meeting up my friend tomorrow, i try to mention him the new guy to enter on May as test engineer, ask him to kena you like big stone fall on egg tongue.gif
It is still far away ler, atleast 3 more months to go.
sycluap
hahaha. I don't mind, since I am a new guy. As long as they don't 'kill' me, a little bit of 'ragging' I can still accept la, hahahah biggrin.gif
YENC.blogspot
QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 1 2008, 04:32 AM)
you joining May? Meeting up my friend tomorrow, i try to mention him the new guy to enter on May as test engineer, ask him to kena you like big stone fall on egg tongue.gif
It is still far away ler, atleast 3 more months to go.

Don't scare him la.. everyday has to work until 9-10pm already a sad thing, some more you ask your friends bully him.. haih~ Join NS = Nasib Suey..
kimochi
Can you consider Infineon Kulim ..if you can go there..
i think it provide a good chance for you to
learn and also perform. Pay is good and bonus is sometimes very tempting as well.
sycluap
my offer is from Infineon Malacca, didn't apply for Infineon Kulim. However I got another offer from Silterra Kulim, just that it is a little bit far from my hometown.

Will be doing my medical check up for NS. Heard my friend say need to do blood test, seems very strict. Who knows I might fail medical check up biggrin.gif
iDk
Kulim.... do you know where exactly is that? It is some where in the "hutan", very "ulu" place. If i, i rather stay at melaka.
sycluap
No la, Kulim is not that 'Ulu' la, just a normal town, quite nice and very low-cost of living. I went there several times for interviews and personal stuff. I personally kind of like that place, just it is too far away from my hometown.
YENC.blogspot
QUOTE(Radeon @ Feb 25 2008, 05:04 PM)
you can try anyone and if you don't like it,
just walk over the road biggrin.gif

LOL.. true.. Futhermore, there are plenty of MNC in B.Berendam FTZ.
No worries... hehe..
iDk
But i know Infenion's car part s*ck big time lor, as their stuffs have to park outside and always kena saman. If want to park inside, you have to reach there half an hour or 1 hour earlier (7~7.30 am) to get to park inside, got to wait for the night shift ppl to come out.
kahhuat86
QUOTE(iDk @ Feb 27 2008, 09:25 PM)
Brother, any company with high hierarchy and a lot of department will definitely got stabbing one lar. Let me tell you what, there will not only backstabbing happen, they also straight right in front of your face, front stab you without give face when come to the meeting. You got to understand, everyone got their own job to do, if everyone did their part, there will not be any problem. But this world is not utopia, where sh!t is bound to happen, and someone need to eat up the sh!t. Meeting time is where some one need to stand up and eat the sh!t. That's the time ppl will come out their skill of tai chi, some bring out heavy armor, some will bring out explosive ammo, penetrating ammo, one shot, one whole line of ppl will penetrate and die. Some really smart to avoid. This is will happen in a challenging, fast, flexible, and powerful company. I know in meeting, the boss will slap the table, throw files, go straight in front of you and poke his finger straight right up to your face and say whole bunch of "F" words to your face. LOL!

So at the first place, you have to be careful, dont MAKE sh!t out, and most important, please dont scope the sh!t up and hit by the fan, where everyone also will be affected.

All you need to do is do your part nice, and beautiful without dropping any sh!t out. Then slowly you will learn some other thing along the way.

About the guiding, the boss will give you hints, and point the road for you to walk, but he will not bring you all the way there. All these only can happen when you dont act "lansi lanyong" or you trying to be smart and think you can out smart your boss, then you made the biggest mistake in your life. 1st RULE: Never try to outsmart your boss or think you are smarter than your boss, boss is an old fox and he will try his best safe his department, for those dont follow will stand no chance to survive alone. After rule one, all you need to do is listen to your boss's instruction and do EXACTLY like what he say, at this point you are atleast safe from trouble. Let me tell you that sometimes, not the boss hate you because of personal reason or what, it is because of the trouble that you created, will affect him also. Then leave him no choice but to punish you by putting you into the fridge, freeze forever. Bosses also trying his best to live pass each day without trouble but achievement.

This is what i know from NS. It is a very good company and provide you a strong stepping stone of your career. After you manage to survive there, you can to make your way in anyway. Last thing to tell you about NS; fast-pace, extremely flexible, constant improvement, no room for error, and result base company they are.

Whoa, this mean War!! Better prepare ourselves with some combat skill.. flex.gif

later the boss will throw chair on us if we make mistake.. but with combat skill(+25% miss) so we can avoid the chair easily brows.gif brows.gif

Lolx.. joking..

Thank for the advice.. Very meaningful..

will follow ur advice..
YENC.blogspot
QUOTE(kahhuat86 @ Mar 5 2008, 01:43 AM)
Whoa, this mean War!! Better prepare ourselves with some combat skill.. flex.gif

later the boss will throw chair on us if we make mistake.. but with combat skill(+25% miss) so we can avoid the chair easily brows.gif  brows.gif

Lolx.. joking..

will follow ur advice..

LOL...don't worry la.. just do your best..
iDk
QUOTE(kahhuat86 @ Mar 5 2008, 01:43 AM)

later the boss will throw chair on us if we make mistake.. but with combat skill(+25% miss) so we can avoid the chair easily brows.gif  brows.gif

Lolx.. joking..

will follow ur advice..

avoid? The boss skill is multi cast of stans 20sec on you and give you multiple critical hits along with gensu. See how well your combat skill (+25% miss) can survive. LOL!
kahhuat86
QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 5 2008, 08:19 PM)
avoid? The boss skill is multi cast of stans 20sec on you and give you multiple critical hits along with gensu. See how well your combat skill (+25% miss) can survive. LOL!

LOL.. better get blink dagger of escape.. tongue.gif

later this tread kena relegate to kopi tiam.. thumbup.gif
kimochi
QUOTE(sycluap @ Mar 4 2008, 08:00 PM)
my offer is from Infineon Malacca, didn't apply for Infineon Kulim. However I got another offer from Silterra Kulim, just that it is a little bit far from my hometown.

Will be doing my medical check up for NS. Heard my friend say need to do blood test, seems very strict. Who knows I might fail medical check up biggrin.gif

Silterra... i wont go for silterra by any mean.. they are doin exactly the same thing as infineon kulim..but the pay..i heard differs a lot when..

QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 4 2008, 08:16 PM)
Kulim.... do you know where exactly is that? It is some where in the "hutan", very "ulu" place. If i, i rather stay at melaka.

Bro..kulim high tech park is pne of the nicest industrial park around. biggrin.gif
iDk
but it still at kulim.
kimochi
QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 9 2008, 03:20 AM)
but it still at kulim.

i get ur point... but still it is not as bad as u think.. biggrin.gif
of cos comparing to other big cities, it might not be very grand..
But "ULU" and "HUTAN" are too mean to describe it..
How did u make the judgement whether its ulu or hutan?
have you ever stayed there before? or just made a 1 day visit?
if you dont really know about it, its not good to give such a comment..
its harsh to the residents and misleading to certain ppl who has never been there before.

anyway... back to main topic of TS. this is off topic..

END
k_eyezax
bro... my brother now work in silterra la now...pay even better!!! working time also even more better!! plus got OT payment also....huhu... wish i could get job there...but my qualification was not gud enough...shitla..hahah.... my brother before this working in silterra after grad...lucky man..got internship with silterra US for almost 1 year... demm heaven the pay....after that..he change company to chartered semi in s'pore,bcoz want to upgrade the salary... but only can tahan not even 1 year..hihi...bcoz the lifestyle n traffic jamm are worst than terribble..cannot tahan la,after woking time,must fight almost 1-2hours in jamm to get back to house,coz his house is in JB...after that change company in melaka..this NS la...stressfull company,mayb my bro position as senior eng...they will give hard time for u,they want more than what u can produce everyday..OT also no payment...that y my brother can tahan only 5month...like taking internship..summore my bro said the machine is very oldfashion...hard to control... so finally he's working with silterra back this year,upgrade salary also..huhu..best2!! if u got opputinity to work with silterra,go for it... even far from u town...u working everyday,u will only go back town mayb once in a month or twice... so gudluck..
iDk
Usually OT is for non executive level, engineer is executive level. You are only can claim OT for non-executive level such as technician etc. So your bro work as technician there?
k_eyezax
no la bro...senior engineer of coz... that the advantages there.. executive level also can claim OT...
aLittleMisfit
a lot of freshie joins NS first... then jumps to infineon.. myself knows 4 people who done this
sycluap
everyone seems to have their own strong points about where to work. As the discussion goes longer, I am more unsure of where to choose. But without any problems, I think most likely I will be going for NS. Silterra is just a way too far from my hometown. I am fine with that, but my parents prefer me to be in Malacca rather than Kedah. Need to be a good boy some times, for had been 8 years not in my hometown already.

However, more points or opinions are most welcomed. Please share with me the experience of deciding which is the best company to start a career. TIA.
labtec
NS is more stressful and demanding than intel?
whirlwind
NS got better increment but if you landed on the wrong department its gonna be tough
lamely_named

wahhh, I feel like a small shrimp after reading you guy's reply.

I Only have a degree in computer science and 2 years experience as an IT executive, doing really low level 2 bucks worth tasks (hardware software maintenance, network maintenance and such).

I feel like jumping into sarawak river now. doh.gif
kimochi
QUOTE(k_eyezax @ Mar 10 2008, 03:11 PM)
no la bro...senior engineer of coz... that the advantages there.. executive level also can claim OT...

whos ur brother? Pm me if u dun mind.. biggrin.gif
speximent
QUOTE(k_eyezax @ Mar 10 2008, 01:12 AM)
bro... my brother now work in silterra la now...pay even better!!! working time also even more better!! plus got OT payment also....huhu... wish i could get job there...but my qualification was not gud enough...shitla..hahah.... my brother before this working in silterra after grad...lucky man..got internship with silterra US for almost 1 year... demm heaven the pay....after that..he change company to chartered semi in s'pore,bcoz want to upgrade the salary... but only can tahan not even 1 year..hihi...bcoz the lifestyle n traffic jamm are worst than terribble..cannot tahan la,after woking time,must fight almost 1-2hours in jamm to get back to house,coz his house is in JB...after that change company in melaka..this NS la...stressfull company,mayb my bro position as senior eng...they will give hard time for u,they want more than what u can produce everyday..OT also no payment...that y my brother can tahan only 5month...like taking internship..summore my bro said the machine is very oldfashion...hard to control... so finally he's working with silterra back this year,upgrade salary also..huhu..best2!! if u got opputinity to work with silterra,go for it... even far from u town...u working everyday,u will only go back  town mayb once in a month or twice... so gudluck..

hahaha...if u loooking for a good semicond company, welcome to penang hahahaha work with AMD is the most precious experience for me. this is US culture company, nobodies gonna pressure you as long as u keep a good works done.
and my target company now is Linear Semicond, this is a heaven and low profile comp on penang! u know y?
because most of the people who get in never want to resign due to their powerful benefit and US culture works....
but the prob is u need to know someone inside and it's hard to know about their vacancy when nobodies want to resign. damn!
iDk
There are a lot of good semicon company around. But for most, you guys leave out the big old giant company, TI.
k_eyezax
wahh..linear semicond very best ar? wanna work there also la..hikhik..
cutegurl
QUOTE(lamely_named @ Mar 10 2008, 07:54 PM)
wahhh, I feel like a small shrimp after reading you guy's reply.

I Only have a degree in computer science and 2 years experience as an IT executive, doing really low level 2 bucks worth tasks (hardware software maintenance, network maintenance and such).

I feel like jumping into sarawak river now. doh.gif

hey, u in infineon or NS? heard that infineon is recuiting IT people.... How was the environment there?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.