Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: I wish to meet with young entrepreneurs
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Finance, Business and Investment House
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Nicholas Chan
Updated as at 14 May 2008

Thank you all who turned up at the last 2 meetup! The upcoming meetup will be held at:

Date/Time: 18 May, 5pm - 9pm (I and Emily will be there from 4.30pm)
Venue: Starbucks (New Wing), 1-Utama, Petaling Jaya

The proposed meeting agenda this time round is as follows:

1.) The formal establishment of a proper entrepreneur support group in KL (Project:Senso KL chapter) with the kind support of Carine and Emily, that regularly meets up to provide assistance to each other and to others (charities and social enterprises).

2.) General discussion on market opportunities within Malaysia.

3.) Exploration of possible Singapore-Malaysia joint ventures.

----------------------------------------------
As per my topic, I am going to be in KL on the 28th of February and returning to Singapore on 29th midnight to review some new Malaysian startups looking for investments in the morning, and giving a talk in MMU in the afternoon on student entrepreneurship and venture capital.

I would like to meet up over a drink on 29th February evening (after work hours for you guys and gals), either at Times Square or Twin Towers, of which I wish to meet up with budding young Malaysian entrepreneurs for the following reasons:

1.) I wish to understand the entrepreneurship culture and crowd in Malaysia a little better.
2.) I hope to know a few more good entrepreneur and private investor friends in Malaysia.
3.) I hope to find some good entrepreneurs and their businesses that have the potential to scale.

Having stated that, these are the people whom I do not wish to see:

1.) MLMers
2.) Ponzi-ers (such as Sunshine Empire)
3.) Clueless "I am going to make a million by doing some stupid stuff" people

I would like to know if anyone would be interested in meeting up with a small time serial entrepreneur turned venture capital investor from Singapore, so do reply in this thread if you would be keen.

For more information on me and what I am doing, here are 2 articles on Wikipedia about me and my firm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Azione_Capital
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicholas_Chan

Cheers and I look forward to meeting up with you all soon!
J-Slade
Wow... you have a wiki about yourself? shocking.gif

Btw, I'm interested to attend this meet up but I don't have any experience on entrepreneurship. Can I just attend to listen what you guys are going to discuss about?
Nicholas Chan
Hi J,

Sure by all means, I would be glad to know more budding Malaysian entrepreneurs.
kaybin
I'll be there wink.gif
Nadia_1510
hiya... im back 2 kuching already at that time lor... uwaaaa...!! but i want 2 join oso...
airline
I would be keen to meet u as well
Nicholas Chan
Good day everyone,

First off, some updates:

1.) I will be leaving on Friday night via 12 Midnight coach, Puduraya.
2.) Due to point 1, Bejaya Times Square Starbucks would be the meeting point, scheduled time at 7pm - 11pm.
3.) I don't have a Malaysian handphone number (yet) so I would be getting my Malaysian associate as a contact point.

Based on the responses so far, there should be 3 of you catching up with me for a coffee. Here is what you would be expecting to get:

1.) Chatting and sharing about the business situation in Malaysia.
2.) Discussions about areas of lack/problems (opportunities) within Malaysia.
3.) Explore on how to create a regular meetup group for budding entrepreneurs in Malaysia, that will encourage the entrepreneur spirit, be a proper platform for discussions and a "safe" (no MLMers or rubbish) gathering group.

Additionally, if it is relevant, we can discuss on the businesses you are already running and on how it can be made better. I look forward to seeing you all this Friday! Please PM me your handphone number as a point of contact, I will PM you back with my associate's handphone number so you can call him if there is any change of plans and vice versa.
cherasbabe
How bout online chatroom? I'm not in KL that time.
Gladys
29 march evening.. same with J, I don't have any experience on entrepreneurship. Can I just attend to listen ? :shy:
Nicholas Chan
Well if someone comes to the meeting and is kind enough to do a "live report" online, I guess it might be possible.

QUOTE(cherasbabe @ Feb 24 2008, 08:49 PM)
How bout online chatroom? I'm not in KL that time.

Added on February 24, 2008, 9:32 pmSure, by all means. Bring your aspiring entrepreneur friends if you have any.

QUOTE(Gladys @ Feb 24 2008, 08:53 PM)
29 march evening.. same with J, I don't have any experience on entrepreneurship. Can I just attend to listen ? :shy:

am_eniey
how about we meet inside my shop?
ah_suknat
why need to met up....what's internet is for....?
Nicholas Chan
Well I would guess why would we need to drink water when we can have wine, or why do we eat rice when we can have steak.

Different mediums, different results. I am happy meeting up with friends and having a drink, perhaps you are happier being a nick behind a computer screen alone at home.

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Feb 24 2008, 11:41 PM)
why need to met up....what's internet is for....?

Added on February 25, 2008, 12:45 amAs mentioned, I have to be at Pudu for a midnight coach back to Singapore. Therefore the most convenient place for everyone to meet (both for parking and public transport) as well as for me to get to pudu fast, is at Times Square. Perhaps when I am back next month when I have my meetings with Cradle or the Malaysian startups under my care and have more time to stay, but for this visit I can only spare 2 days.

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 24 2008, 09:49 PM)
how about we meet inside my shop?

Rockster
Count me in alright?i want to go for the meeting too
SephirothX
I'm interested to join this session too. Again, I too don't have any experience also.
happy4ever
Doing online business here...

so its on 29th March at what time? 7pm? Its a saturday...so no one works on saturday other than those in F&B/entertainment/retail industry

BTW, do you have intention on investing in these startups?
ParaOpticaL
QUOTE(nicholaschan @ Feb 23 2008, 11:28 PM)
As per my topic, I am going to be in KL on the 28th of March until 29th March night (and returning to Singapore on 30th) to review some new Malaysian startups looking for investments in the morning, and giving a talk in MMU in the afternoon on student entrepreneurship and venture capital.

I would like to meet up over a drink on 29th March evening (after work hours for you guys and gals), either at Times Square or Twin Towers, of which I wish to meet up with budding young Malaysian entrepreneurs for the following reasons:

1.) I wish to understand the entrepreneurship culture and crowd in Malaysia a little better.
2.) I hope to know a few more good entrepreneur and private investor friends in Malaysia.
3.) I hope to find some good entrepreneurs and their businesses that have the potential to scale.

Cheers and I look forward to meeting up with you all soon!

hi nicholas,

can you please add me to the list thanks

so the date is 29th March 2008 @ 7.00pm to 11.00pm.

.:zaxiao:.
kyan_rev17@hotmail.com
i m going
mtsen
do we have session for those who like to meet Mon-Fri 10a-4p ?
happy4ever
QUOTE(mtsen @ Feb 25 2008, 10:55 AM)
do we have session for those who like to meet Mon-Fri 10a-4p ?

We can always meet up anywhere anytime for a specific purpose... also depends on where you are la....
Nicholas Chan
My bad, I just noticed my post wrongly stated MARCH when I meant FEBRUARY (thanks happy4ever); I am coming to KL this week itself. Please take note.

As per my post, please PM me your contact number so I can assemble the RSVP turnup list on who is coming. Giving me an email address makes no sense when I can't contact you in Malaysia.
ParaOpticaL
QUOTE(nicholaschan @ Feb 25 2008, 02:56 PM)
My bad, I just noticed my post wrongly stated MARCH when I meant FEBRUARY (thanks happy4ever); I am coming to KL this week itself. Please take note.

As per my post, please PM me your contact number so I can assemble the RSVP turnup list on who is coming. Giving me an email address makes no sense when I can't contact you in Malaysia.

oh no wonder. that's why i was confused with your wordings.

if you are coming this week then i cant make it. i will be outstation to Kuching.

would you be coming back to KL anytime soon ?
kiitii
I might be able to join in.
I will also bring over a friend of mine.

Linus <linus@s-cube.com.my>
Dylan <dylan@infinent.com.my>

Do update us on the exact venue, time.

Linus Lai
012-2342876
Technopreneur
Nicholas Chan
Good day Linus,

As quoted from my previous post:

1.) I will be leaving on Friday night via 12 Midnight coach, Puduraya.
2.) Due to point 1, Bejaya Times Square Starbucks would be the meeting point, scheduled time at 7pm - 11pm. Date is 29 February 2008.
3.) I don't have a Malaysian handphone number (yet) so I would be getting my Malaysian associate as a contact point.

To date, I only received 2 private messages with their mobile numbers which I have passed to my associate to contact should there be any changes to the meetings.

QUOTE(kiitii @ Feb 25 2008, 06:20 PM)
I might be able to join in.
I will also bring over a friend of mine.

Linus <linus@s-cube.com.my>
Dylan <dylan@infinent.com.my>

Do update us on the exact venue, time.

Linus Lai
012-2342876
Technopreneur

gchowyh
Hi Nicholas,

I am interested in joining too. I hope close to the age of around 30 region is not too old an entrepeneur though.

I will PM you my details.

George
Nicholas Chan
Glad to have seen you today in MMU, I hope to see you tomorrow, cheers!

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Feb 23 2008, 11:45 PM)
Wow... you have a wiki about yourself?  shocking.gif
Btw, I'm interested to attend this meet up but I don't have any experience on entrepreneurship. Can I just attend to listen what you guys are going to discuss about?

ChAOoz
Highly interested to hear your talk , please post it up here if you happen to come penang for any talks / lectures
Nicholas Chan
Good day,

I don't really give talks, but if your school wishes to have me to give a talk on student entrepreneurship, venture capital, marketing or such business related matters, you may ask them to invite me over just as what MMU did. More importantly, I only give talks on the following conditions:

1.) The school should have an active interest in student entrepreneurship.
2.) The school should want to encourage students to startup, and that the students want to come to the talk, not a compulsory talk.
3.) The school should have entrepreneur club, if not, they should be willing to start up one under the guidance of Project:Senso, the non-profit entrepreneur volunteer organization.

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Feb 28 2008, 10:18 PM)
Highly interested to hear your talk , please post it up here if you happen to come penang for any talks / lectures

draggy
I guess next time, if can biggrin.gif

SephirothX
Sorry that I'm unable to make it today. So how does it go? Feel that I miss out alot, and regret that.
ah_suknat
so how's the discussion going? care to shed some light here?
Nicholas Chan
Here's a quick summary

There was 6 people who turned up from 7.45pm onwards due to the bad weather, namely:

Kaybin - IT (freelance, e-commerce package)
George - IT (freelance, general)
Jinn Jack - Credit card refinancing
Henrgy - Credit card refinancing
Linus - IT (enterprise grade email)
Ooi - Manufacturing (Cleanroom)

We talked on the following topics:

Opportunities in Malaysia
Introduction to Malaysia (for me)
Market opportunities outside Malaysia
How a VC operates
How to grow a firm
Introduction to Project:Senso, a non-profit entrepreneur volunteer organization

We wrapped up the evening at 10pm, and Kaybin stayed back to discuss more on other working opportunities and on how Project:Senso can help to better grow Malaysian entrepreneurs. Project:Senso is located at http://www.projectsenso.com

Hope this summary helps.
gchowyh
I propose that we have more frequent meetings to boost the spirit of entrepenurship and exchange ideas on how to do business more efficiently.
am_eniey
meet me at my outlet...my address is stated in my signature
Moonflown
I would love to join the next meeting.
SephirothX
QUOTE(am_eniey @ Mar 4 2008, 05:11 PM)
meet me at my outlet...my address is stated in my signature

Where's that? rclxub.gif
am_eniey
QUOTE(SephirothX @ Mar 4 2008, 07:25 PM)
Where's that? rclxub.gif

hmmm...how can i tell..go to my laundry thread and there's a map there
gchowyh
ok for starters, why not we compile a list of interested attendees first. Then we decide on a suitable place.

I believe there are many out there who wish to start some sort of business on their own as I have attended an introductory internet marketing seminar by Derek Gehl & the hall was packed with curious audience. So I hope we might be able to have some sort of similar discussion group too.
jcvstlys
I'm interested. Put me in the list.
Rockster
put me too
SephirothX
Put me three!!
map
yeah i'm interested too even though i hardly drive in KL whistling.gif
Nicholas Chan
Hey guys, George,

Glad to see that you are taking up the initiative in planning up this event. I will also post up a similar message on http://www.projectsenso.com the entrepreneur organization/forum that I am volunteering with to see if there would be enough interest from Singaporean entrepreneurs to come up to KL during my next trip for another gathering also.

I hope to see you all again soon!

PS. If you guys have any questions on entrepreneurship and wish to get proper answers, I and a whole bunch of entrepreneurs and investors are regularly on http://www.projectsenso.com so feel free to find us there.

PPS. It would be good if the posters in this thread would put their actual gender instead of "female", less of a surprise when we meet up at the event.
clsiluf
nicholas, if put gender as female, open thread or posting will get more reply 1 ... haha ... really ...
Nicholas Chan
Well when it comes to entrepreneurship, what matters is the objective at hand, not the gender in my opinion.

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Mar 6 2008, 10:03 PM)
nicholas, if put gender as female, open thread or posting will get more reply 1 ... haha ... really ...

vaseline
QUOTE(nicholaschan @ Mar 6 2008, 10:39 PM)
Well when it comes to entrepreneurship, what matters is the objective at hand, not the gender in my opinion.

Heh, then you should not be bothered by the gender tags here...unless you were hoping for some "fun" brows.gif
besides, there ain't no FEMALE in the internet... wink.gif
gchowyh
haha.. let us not divert our attention to some other 'business'..

Nicholas, when will you be in KL again?

If is still sometime more to go, perhaps we could have some sort of meetup first.

Nicholas Chan
I think you are missing the point. It is not for ME that the gender tags are there, it is for the basis of encouraging users who turn up to the event to be truthful, that is a much valued entrepreneurial trait, something venture capitalists like me value.

If you want to think otherwise, be my guest.

QUOTE(vaseline @ Mar 6 2008, 11:38 PM)
Heh, then you should not be bothered by the gender tags here...unless you were hoping for some "fun"  brows.gif
besides, there ain't no FEMALE in the internet...  wink.gif

Added on March 7, 2008, 12:09 amOne of my startups (she is a Malaysian btw) will be back in KL on 21 March, and she is the Chief Editor for Project:Senso http://www.projectsenso.com , the entrepreneur organization and forum. She will confirm on her availability probably here on the forum.

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Mar 6 2008, 11:42 PM)
haha.. let us not divert our attention to some other 'business'..

Nicholas, when will you be in KL again?

If is still sometime more to go, perhaps we could have some sort of meetup first.

princesse
Yes, I will be back in KL. Please reply here if interested to meet. My possible meeting time is 22 March, 3pm. Venue will be confirmed. I am looking for aspiring entrepreneurs in Malaysia who are interested to get funding for their start-ups or running businesses as well as volunteer their time to learn from an entrepreneur organization like Project:Senso. As I am the founder of a technology start-up under Nicholas, I am also looking for partners and programmers who are interested to join me build a company in Malaysia as well as Singapore.

George, Nicholas mentioned that you are interested to meet again. Hope I can touch base with you too.

QUOTE(nicholaschan @ Mar 7 2008, 12:06 AM)

Added on March 7, 2008, 12:09 amOne of my startups (she is a Malaysian btw) will be back in KL on 21 March, and she is the Chief Editor for Project:Senso http://www.projectsenso.com , the entrepreneur organization and forum. She will confirm on her availability probably here on the forum.

kaybin
I'm interested to join the meeting too again, I will be there wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.