Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: What's the most important Photography technique?
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
gogo2
For me, I might say Composition rank first. The third option of the poll deal with manual function of camera. If using Auto mode,
I think the output will be ok oredi and can use Photoshop to adjust things like metering etc. And about communication, I don't
think you can communicate with model on the walk way during cat walk.

So I think composition is the best. You must know which angle to shoot. And when to shoot (the best opportunity). Plus luck too.
calvin_gsc
Your choices look very narrow. There are way more techniques photographers use.
gogo2
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 22 2008, 12:26 PM)
Your choices look very narrow. There are way more techniques photographers use.

Then can share to us newbie? drool.gif
MR.Shiney
for me, its more important to talk / get to know who you're shooting.
its easier if they feel comfortable with us. secondly, composition
i always use the rule of third in my shots. but sometimes it gets a little
boring and tried something new, like point of attention. third, you need
to know how to react / predict whats the subject gonna do, visualize
and ready to shoot it. never let your guard down.

Added on February 22, 2008, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:23 PM)
And about communication, I don't
think you can communicate with model on the walk way during cat walk.

you can talk to them before you shoot, no?

my tips, i always listens to songs ( various genres, from jazz or anything classical or soothing )
it'll spark errr, an image. thus an instant idea how to compose ady tongue.gif , owh view alot of
references.
gogo2
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 22 2008, 12:28 PM)

Thanks. But as I wrote in my post, we can only communicate with those
who know us. I guess those models on the catwalk is already pro. So
they know what to do without communicating with us... hmm.gif
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:27 PM)
Then can share to us newbie?  drool.gif

I am still a newbie too.

I usually go for composition and right now amongst the settings I look to when snapping photo is first using Aperture/Shutter Priority Mode, the only time I use manual is when shooting the moon. Next, I'd go for ISO, metering and exposure compensation. I use auto WB all the time and when it comes to bokehness, I seldom do so unless for some of the macro shots I take. I have never done much portrait photos.

And I will never use Auto mode on a DSLR.

Added on February 22, 2008, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:31 PM)
they know what to do without communicating with us...  hmm.gif

Communicate only with models?

I shoot primarily nature/landscape photography.

It sounds like you're the type of photographer who goes for girls only. sweat.gif
mindkiller6610
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 22 2008, 12:31 PM)
I am still a newbie too.

I usually go for composition and right now amongst the settings I look to when snapping photo is first using Aperture/Shutter Priority Mode, the only time I use manual is when shooting the moon. Next, I'd go for ISO, metering and exposure compensation. I use auto WB all the time and when it comes to bokehness, I seldom do so unless for some of the macro shots I take. I have never done much portrait photos.

It sounds like you're the type of photographer who goes for girls only.  sweat.gif

exactly,

photography in not about shooting the hottest chick in town..

btw, i think u can communicate with the landscape / wildlife actually, just that it is not as easy and simple as the usual one..
ganz
that why it depend... but as for me... composition go first.. but then u can crop it later in photoshop ekkeke..

gogo2
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 22 2008, 12:28 PM)

Added on February 22, 2008, 12:31 pm

you can talk to them before you shoot, no?

my tips, i always listens to songs ( various genres, from jazz or anything classical or soothing )
it'll spark errr, an image. thus an instant idea how to compose ady tongue.gif , owh view alot of
references.

Thanks. Yeah, I think view a lot of reference is important for composition.

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 22 2008, 12:31 PM)
I am still a newbie too.

It sounds like you're the type of photographer who goes for girls only.  sweat.gif

Actually I just wonder since someone said communication seems like the most important stuff in photography instead of composition.
MR.Shiney
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:31 PM)
they know what to do without communicating with us...  hmm.gif

i dont get what type of situation you're talking about. sweat.gif
if i dont know the people, i try to talk with them lar. the most
important thing to be this kind of photographer is dont be shy,
people wont bang you punyalah.

or else find a sweet spot to shoot, dont just shoot what we normally see with
our eyes. try different angles or sumthing.
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:36 PM)
exactly,

btw, i think u can communicate with the landscape / wildlife actually, just that it is not as easy and simple as the usual one..

When it comes to landscape, i think the amount of communication would primarily come from the composition and the mood.

How's this?

gogo2
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:36 PM)
exactly,

LOL... actually I just want to take my friends picture. So not really that care about hottest chick in town.

QUOTE(ganz @ Feb 22 2008, 12:37 PM)
that why it depend... but as for me... composition go first.. but then u can crop it later in photoshop ekkeke..

You can crop composition for 4/3rd rule. But not angle. If you shoot from below, no way you can crop until it seems like
shoot from above right? tongue.gif
mindkiller6610
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 22 2008, 12:38 PM)
When it comes to landscape, i think the amount of communication would primarily come from the composition and the mood.

How's this?

have u tried different exposure on the same spot ?
if u can notice, nice sunset only lasted for few minutes, it will be gone very fast..

that's communication with the landscape loh in think..haha.. u have to observe the nature.

communication with animals will be like catching their attention and makes them look to ur camera when u shoot,
that's one of the way.

and @gogo2,

u can actually communicate with models on the catwalk, u body language such as the eye sights..
another way, if ur gear looks pro enough and looks like from the media, she will usually look on you.. smile.gif
dgrebel
talent + continuous burst mode = drool.gif

that's me at least.. ahahaha.. i'm thinking of going professional after this.
MR.Shiney
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Feb 22 2008, 01:10 PM)
talent + continuous burst mode =  drool.gif

that's me at least.. ahahaha.. i'm thinking of going professional after this.

define professional? i got no idea, seriously. sweat.gif
am i considered armature right?

i think this is a stupid question.
dgrebel
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 22 2008, 01:13 PM)
define professional? i got no idea, seriously.  sweat.gif

i'm looking forward to be a young travel photographer. as so far, i've been to many places.. all i need next is to fund for new equipments. maybe one day my name will be well-known throughout the globe, who knows.

professional = plays well with lighting, well-equipped, well-versed in photoshop, state of the art photofolio and go all out just to snap a photo.

at least for me la.. lol.
gogo2
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 22 2008, 01:13 PM)
define professional? i got no idea, seriously.  sweat.gif

i think this is a stupid question.

Nah, its not stupid question.

By the way, poll seems to point that composition takes up major photography skill. I agree too.

So let's start sharpening our composition skill with your equipment whether its PnS or newbie dSLR:P
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:47 PM)
have u tried different exposure on the same spot ?
if u can notice, nice sunset only lasted for few minutes, it will be gone very fast..

that's communication with the landscape loh in think..haha.. u have to observe the nature.

communication with animals will be like catching their attention and makes them look to ur camera when u shoot,
that's one of the way.

Erm, I dont have much space for composition cause I took it through the kitchen window in my dorm :-p
vincent_audio
where is strobe and post processing ? those are skill which alot of photographer uses.
TheVoIP
I have no technique nor I do photoshop....

I only know must have enought memory and battery.... tongue.gif

If pictures no good, blame the equiptment and upgrade here and there la.. drool.gif

So far it works for me... laugh.gif
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Feb 22 2008, 02:31 PM)
where is strobe and post processing ? those are skill which alot of photographer uses.

Yeah I agree. Now with digital photography, post processing is really important. This is one thing which I have yet to learn much about.
goldfries
seriously, this poll is just as narrow / pointless as the other one, ironically started by the same person. seriously flawed IMO and it's totally useless to be made into something useful.

there's no way to vote which one is more important because it really depends on what you're shooting!

QUOTE(ganz @ Feb 22 2008, 12:37 PM)

smile.gif composition is essential, regardless of what you're shooting.

communication is still important when you're dealing with humans.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 12:37 PM)
Actually I just wonder since someone said communication seems like the most important stuff in photography instead of composition.

whoever said that is not wrong.

if you're shooting humans, communication does make a difference in your shot.

observe how pro photographers like Gil Bensimon communicate with his models? even our local Louis Pang communicates with the subjects around for his composition.
timothyy
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 22 2008, 04:52 PM)
seriously, this poll is just as narrow / pointless as the other one, ironically started by the same person. seriously flawed IMO and it's totally useless to be made into something useful.

there's no way to vote which one is more important because it really depends on what you're shooting!
smile.gif composition is essential, regardless of what you're shooting.

communication is still important when you're dealing with humans.
whoever said that is not wrong.

if you're shooting humans, communication does make a difference in your shot.

observe how pro photographers like Gil Bensimon communicate with his models? even our local Louis Pang communicates with the subjects around for his composition.

sweat.gif sweat.gif
Luckily not me.

I didn't vote because I am no where to locate between the 3 choices. Actually, its because I don't understand all the 3 choices.
goldfries
QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 22 2008, 04:56 PM)
I didn't vote because I am no where to locate between the 3 choices. Actually, its because I don't understand all the 3 choices.

i didn't vote either. i understand what he's talking though but it's just so limited.

photography is more than just those 3 and it's not going to be helpful.

IMO it depends on what shots are you taking, and what you want out of the shots.
dark lenanza
i noticed something
i think the important think is breathing
the more ur breathing while snapping
more shacking ur hand aka parkinson
lol
TheVoIP
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Feb 22 2008, 05:41 PM)
i noticed something
i think the important think is breathing
the more ur breathing while snapping
more shacking ur hand aka parkinson
lol

Try to use 1/500 and above... You want to shake also hard... cool2.gif
dark lenanza
last time i kena
even used tripod also shacked
until my frenz came and knocked my head
saying
"samdol..kenapa tak pakai timer"
how come i know there is timer button
doh.gif tongue.gif
gogo2
so having fun guys. the no balls guy haven't delete you guys post yet? tongue.gif (really p*u*s*s*y with pistol laugh.gif

I think photography technique got a lot. But generally for newbie, I only know a few. I want to apologise for being a newbie posting newbie stuff.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 05:54 PM)
so having fun guys. the no balls guy haven't delete you guys post yet? tongue.gif (really p*u*s*s*y with pistol laugh.gif

I think photography technique got a lot. But generally for newbie, I only know a few. I want to apologise for being a newbie posting newbie stuff.

No problem... I also newbie here asking and talking nonsense a lot...

Btw, you should not feel so piffed with whoever delete your posts la... Mine got deleted too... But just relax... icon_rolleyes.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 05:54 PM)

gogo2,

i've seen the wedding photographer thread, looks like one of our mods invisibled those posts of yours (and TheVOIP, who so happen to be entertaining you).

i read through it and looks like your posts DO deserve to be invisibled (not deleted, but only hidden. a wise moderator that was. at least other mods have proof of what you posted). while these guys above are still within the confines of photography, your post went on to cars..........OPTRA to be specific. (edited : sorry, Camry was someone else within the same thread........hehe)

here's what you posted.....

I remember wendymelon selling car one. Still got Optra 1.8 for RM58k ar?

wah, got people who hate me in this forum. my post got deleted.

anyway, wendylemon, still got sell Optra 1.8?

I have a feeling that the person who want to delete my post is still lurking in this thread..... hope he won't delete again. I wonder who is the stupid fella who wanna delete my post la. a lot of people also out of topic sometimes. but he purposely wanna delete my thread. i guess that guy has no balls to confront me if he hates me...

couple that with your signature.

Some people have no balls to tell me what I'm doing wrong and advice me but instead doing things behind my back. This people are called coward. Or as Shoot Em Up movie said, "[P]U[S]SY with a gun! LOL!".

you spammed, totally WAY out of topic and now you got the cheek to go name-calling towards a person who's doing his / her job in cleaning up the mess.

and not only that, you carried it here and WITH your above post.

anyway - I'm going to give you a 10% warning + and 3 days weekend leave for your general lack of manners in forum, the lack of respect towards the forum R&R and the people who are taking care of it.

edited : guys, sorry for the disturbance in the post. thank you.
vikingw2k
Hopefully gogo2 will learn some basic manners and apply good ethics when he's back from his holidays. We don't need a joker who posts kopitiam kind of posts here. smile.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 22 2008, 06:27 PM)
Hopefully gogo2 will learn some basic manners and apply good ethics when he's back from his holidays. We don't need a joker who posts kopitiam kind of posts here. smile.gif

Felt like same warning is given to me... sad.gif

Sometime talk cock cannot? blush.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 22 2008, 06:31 PM)
Sometime talk cock cannot?  blush.gif

if sometimes cannot talk cock then you (and many others) would get quite a number of warns already.

i mentioned on quite a few post, keep the spam down. smile.gif note the words i used, just keep it down. meaning don't go overboard la. we're not THAT strict mah, right?

gogo2 had to gogo for a bit, spam was probably a teensy part of the reason. wink.gif anyway continue the jolly postings.

besides the sucky poll, i believe the thread about technique is worth discussing.

most important technique in photography? is there any? to me, importance is really dependant on what you're snapping and what result you want.
mindkiller6610
patience and humble in the learning and technique sharing process..
TheVoIP
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 22 2008, 06:42 PM)
patience and humble in the learning and technique sharing process..

My style is different... just shoot shoot shoot.. feel good? Then shoot? Thinking of some picture in mind, try it out immediately... It is like more like want to pangsai, then pangsai...

So far it works... brows.gif

Anyway, I feel kind of tension and also realise I had been given 10% warning... Hmmm.... suddenly feel no fun now... sad.gif

Better go to pangsai la... cool2.gif
goldfries
you need to learn how to have fun without spamming. biggrin.gif

anyway i think pangsai is a good analogy from inspiration. when it comes, you just have to do it. biggrin.gif but at least can hold back.

but then from what you mentioned, it looks more like your photography STYLE than a TECHNIQUE.

Definition.....
# The systematic procedure by which a complex or scientific task is accomplished.
# The way in which the fundamentals, as of an artistic work, are handled.
# Skill or command in handling such fundamentals. See synonyms at
timothyy
Well, each of us will have their own opinion and all others will always think admin or MOD very strict and they got no lives... tongue.gif

Donno why... anywhere we go... sure got same problem.
But having fun without spamming... I guess its sometimes kinda boring.
Ops... off topic already.
goldfries
hehe. which is why we understand that, which is why i said "keep it down". wink.gif get it.

k k back to topic.
modben
the most important technique in photography is getting your subject in focus!
if your subjects all out of focus, no amount of composing, pp'ing or communication of sorts will help you. tongue.gif hehehe

less you intentionally not focus on your subject. thats a different story all together.
Lestat
i think the most important for photog is how to "see" with the camera.

most people said they imagine it first, then try to capture it with their gears (here comes your skills with gears) or aerobatic/stunt/shameless maneuver (for composition).

i still missed a lot of opportunity coz i can't "see" ahead. sometimes when i reviewed my pics, it will cross me, why didn't i do this or that instead tongue.gif

some say u can learn it. some say it's talent.
gogo2
Lesson learned: Do not fight with the authority. You'll be at the losing end. Follow Forum's R&R and you'll be safe. smile.gif
fcbarcelona-my
best technique? well...i think its depend of what u wanna shoot. either macro...wedding...landscape etc. but...seems i prefer streetshoot as my style...so i'm always apply a tips by David Petersons as below... its just for my guidence..

davidmak
I think the most important thing is to know the basics first: EXPOSURE. Especially when shooting with a DSLR/SLR. Exposure is always the first and of greatest importance in my opinion. "Photography is about the art of drawing with light" (taken from a book), so a good pictures must first have a good exposure.

Of course, you can purposely and wrongly expose a frame and call it artistic, but that a different matter. You still need to understand exposure to be able to do it.

Composition and communication with subject is also important to be able to get it right to the people who are looking at your photographs. But that is based on creativity and social skills. Its all tied up though and all are important. Another important aspect is appreciation. If you are shooting nature and buildings, you must be able to appreciate your subjects to be able to capture the best composition. Things like weather, time of the day, the environment, etc all comes back to your exposure. Capturing different moments of life, motion, stills, etc all comes back to exposure. Exposure also relies to you to be 'exposed' to the environment (like street photography) to be able to capture the best and relevant details of the environment.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 26 2008, 08:25 AM)
Lesson learned: Do not fight with the authority. You'll be at the losing end. Follow Forum's R&R and you'll be safe. smile.gif

Wellcome back brother! cool2.gif
ifer
i think my most important photography technique is my ability to see.
can it be considered as a technique?
dannytzh
i believe your 'non-communicating' option means Candid?
If that's the case then I think composition is the most important aspect, cause composition can determine whether a photo taken is 'normal' or 'captivating'.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.