Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: What lens to get
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Xannava
What lens should i get if i want to take sports/animal pictures with bokeh? Is the Canon 55-250IS a good choice? If not any recomendation?FF... AP-C.. aiyoyo...... pening.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 03:27 PM)
What lens should i get if i want to take sports/animal pictures with bokeh? Is the Canon 55-250IS a good choice? If not any recomendation?FF... AP-C.. aiyoyo...... pening.

Ops... I do not have any experinces nor touch the lense before.... I cannot afford... cry.gif Just spend money on new CF and now broke liao... cry.gif

Any Canon gurus here? biggrin.gif
Xannava
Oooo I hijacked a thread.. Sorry guys.
goldfries
you can always rename to whatever you deem fit. smile.gif
Xannava
Thats cool thanks, but no idea how to.

And since I've got a new thread, which is better sigma 70-300 or Canon ef 70-200.
soulfly
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 04:52 PM)
Thats cool thanks, but no idea how to.

And since I've got a new thread, which is better sigma 70-300 or Canon ef 70-200.

Hard to compare because the cheapest Canon 70-200 (F4L non-IS) is like a few times more expensive than Sigma 70-300 f4-5.6. It's an RM3000 lens vs RM600 lens.

But Sigma APO 70-300 does have more range and produce warm colour as far as I can tell.
Xannava
Ok, thanks. Does the sigma work well with the 400d and is the lack of OS a killer?

And that makes canon 70-200 out of budget like a lot.
goldfries
on the other hand, can consider the Tamron's 70-300.

Macro

Tele towards Waterfall / Human activity

Sports / Action

Fashion Show / Runway Models

Yup..... all done with the Tamron's 70-300 - the direct competitor to the Sigma APO 70-300.

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:09 pm
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 05:08 PM)
Ok, thanks. Does the sigma work well with the 400d and is the lack of OS a killer?

look at the links i gave you.

they're snapped with an equivalent of the Sigma 70-300.

no OS. smile.gif snapped all the pics with 350D.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 05:08 PM)
And that makes canon 70-200 out of budget like a lot.

The lense in white color right? I heard very expensive one.... sweat.gif

But usually see all those pro and media using them. Must be good la.... blush.gif
Xannava
Pro got sales to support... media.. well what can i say? Lolz. Me student. Have to work this hols to start earning money tongue.gif

Btw the Tamron how much? Price really matters to me...

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:18 pmNice pics goldfries... make me want to get my slr fast fast fast.....
soulfly
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 20 2008, 05:08 PM)
look at the links i gave you.

they're snapped with an equivalent of the Sigma 70-300.

no OS. smile.gif snapped all the pics with 350D.
i actually prefer the Tamron design over Sigma.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 05:16 PM)
Pro got sales to support... media.. well what can i say? Lolz. Me student. Have to work this hols to start earning money tongue.gif

Btw the Tamron how much? Price really matters to me...

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:18 pmNice pics goldfries... make me want to get my slr fast fast fast.....

Goldfries is a good photographer. cool2.gif

How about a used Canon 70-200 f4. I think if source around, RM1900 can get liao... I know still a bit expensive la... but the value is there and no worry on rugi later... rolleyes.gif

White color = Good stuff thumbup.gif
soulfly
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 20 2008, 05:23 PM)
Goldfries is a good photographer.  cool2.gif

How about a used Canon 70-200 f4. I think if source around, RM1900 can get liao... I know still a bit expensive la... but the value is there and no worry on rugi later...  rolleyes.gif

White color = Good stuff  thumbup.gif

but... white lens and black body look like taik cicak
if got white body then thumbup.gif
shinchan^^
The reason of having White colors for telephoto
so it does not absorb much heat during hot weather when taking sports
Xannava
Wellll.....400d does have silver...

Lolz Rm1900 would mean me fasting for a few years.... I've still got to buy the slr body... Oh my, photography is getting painful in the pocket.

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:29 pmAnd I havent really seen the Tamron yet... Any idea on the price?
soulfly
If spend on photography only still ok.

Like me... I have 3 different things to spend on - camera, cars, computer... that's 3C!!!
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 05:28 PM)
Wellll.....400d does have silver...

Lolz Rm1900 would mean me fasting for a few years.... I've still got to buy the slr body... Oh my, photography is getting painful in the pocket.

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:29 pmAnd I havent really seen the Tamron yet... Any idea on the price?

Good thing are a bit pricy one la... Just like the iPOD that come with white color, much more expensive than other brand... but good stuff!

White lenses also good match with your iPod cool2.gif

White Color = Good Stuff thumbup.gif
Xannava
Lolz yeah. Looks nice aso. But everytime I see white lens in the news, I'll think $$$. Haha, maybe when i start working fulltime, i can spill my cash out to buy whatever lens i want....

Btw, I'm into photographing animals and sports. Especially horses, so the 55-250IS is very tempting.... But then money... haihz. So now trying to find cheap replacement. Just a slight improvement over the Canon S5 is ok...
soulfly
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 20 2008, 05:31 PM)
Good thing are a bit pricy one la... Just like the iPOD that come with white color, much more expensive than other brand... but good stuff!

White lenses also good match with your iPod  cool2.gif

White Color = Good Stuff  thumbup.gif

ooo... can attach the white lenses to iPod? i see... that's new to me.
Xannava
Lolz. He meant that iPods come in white tongue.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 20 2008, 05:23 PM)
Goldfries is a good photographer.  cool2.gif

aiyoh. no la. blush.gif smile.gif i just do my best with what i have, still far from being good as you guys.

btw the 55-250IS should be good. comes with IS but it AFAIK it costs a little more than those 70-300 from Tammy / Siggy.

it has lesser range but seriously la, lenses like the Tammy 70-300 ah, it goes soft after 200. so i usually keep my shots within 200 +/- 10 to 20mm. even for my macro shots.

AFAIK the 55-250IS doesn't have macro mode.
Xannava
Hmm.. good point. But I think the canon would be out of the picture for now... budget constrain.. Now its the tammy or sigma. Budget and Comfort....

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:55 pmThis is stupid, but can i go to a shop and ask to try their lenses....AND their camera together?
lanun8

sample from 55-250 IS USM.. for new one can get as low as RM650.. but have to wait for da stock la..
vikingw2k
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 20 2008, 05:48 PM)

Added on February 20, 2008, 5:55 pmThis is stupid, but can i go to a shop and ask to try their lenses....AND their camera together?

Why not? That's your right as a smart consumer. I do go to shops to test and walk off, of course not doing it too frequent and making em thinking like you are just fooling around.
datto
now i'm considering whether to get canon 70-200 F4 L IS or 70-200 F4 non-IS. Both white with red stripe. damn freaking cool.
vikingw2k
QUOTE(datto @ Feb 20 2008, 08:26 PM)
now i'm considering whether to get canon 70-200 F4 L IS or 70-200 F4 non-IS. Both white with red stripe. damn freaking cool.

Get either 70-200mm f4, spend the extra bucks on other lens.

OR

Get 70-200mm f2.8 straight.
DiCalto
planning to get one mr 70 300 f4 L too. but anybody know the price for a new one. biggrin.gif if 2nd hand 2k suddenly rosak. my heart burst. laugh.gif
sherdil
Nice shots, you handled this lens well Goldfries

Cheers
goldfries
thanks. unfortunately this lens of mine died recently when i was at the Bird Park outing.

it is now in hospital (luckily die within warranty period), i'm waiting for it to come home.

ever since i bought my 18-200 OS, i rarely use this lens anymore. when it was gone only i realize how much i miss the macro mode.
spoil_
QUOTE(lanun8 @ Feb 20 2008, 08:02 PM)
sample from 55-250 IS USM.. for new one can get as low as RM650.. but have to wait for da stock la..

really? where can get that with that price? sweat.gif
datto
that price with that kinda range plus IS really makes me wanna get it end of this month. but i still prefer white with red stripe. lol
julchin_09
QUOTE(datto @ Feb 20 2008, 08:26 PM)

Get the 70-200 f/4 L IS. New IS Motor and a very sharp lens. And yes its freakin cool...

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 20 2008, 08:54 PM)
Get either 70-200mm f4, spend the extra bucks on other lens.

OR

Get 70-200mm f2.8 straight.

QUOTE(datto @ Feb 21 2008, 01:53 AM)
that price with that kinda range plus IS really makes me wanna get it end of this month. but i still prefer white with red stripe. lol

Many a photographer have told me this, and I have adopted this saying.

"ONE TIME PAIN"

Get it ASAP and join the L Fever..... rclxm9.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Feb 21 2008, 02:22 AM)
Get the 70-200 f/4 L IS. New IS Motor and a very sharp lens. And yes its freakin cool...

yeahh. this i be gets too!

ranks within Top 5 of my shopping list already.
julchin_09
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 21 2008, 02:29 AM)
yeahh. this i be gets too!

ranks within Top 5 of my shopping list already.

You won't be disappointed bro. One of the lightest L telephotos and produces excellent results. notworthy.gif
goldfries
said to be sharper than the 2.8s too. smile.gif
julchin_09
Yes. If Photozone and Fred & Miranda is to be believed..... smile.gif
spoil_
QUOTE(datto @ Feb 21 2008, 01:53 AM)

ya lor..
white lens with red stripe..
after that puasa setahun maa brows.gif
Xannava
If the Tammy 70-300 is kept at around 200mm only, is it better to get the canon 55-250 which is rm650? Or is the pictures for the max zoom also soft?
shinchan^^
zoom all i believe a lil soft
plus it is very shaky at 300 end without IS
goldfries
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 21 2008, 02:08 PM)
If the Tammy 70-300 is kept at around 200mm only, is it better to get the canon 55-250 which is rm650? Or is the pictures for the max zoom also soft?

well that doesn't mean you can't go full 300mm. smile.gif

the thing is the 70-300 has macro mode.
Xannava
Ok.. canon got IS , smaller zoom. Tammy got no OS but got bigger zoom.. advice please?
TheVoIP
Ok... One more comments to the Canon 70-200 f2.8 vs f4...

The f4 is very light compare to f2.8. As a result, it might also help you better handheld with less handshake. So the f4 really have advantage into slightly lower shutter speed to compensate the smaller aperture... And not surprice that if you can handheld better one stop with similar shutter compare to f2.8.

And if you only has 350D/400D/450D, I would suggest f4 version because of weight balancing issue.

Some might ask, how about 300D users? I would say sell off that camera because of lousy autofocusing sensors and upgrade. It might degrade the reputation on Canon excellent 70-200 series.

The only thing I do not like the f4 version is the lack of tripod collar... where you 'might' be needing for nite scene, long exposure kind of shots. But then again, as long as you buy solid tripod, should be ok screwing the camera to tripod with this lense. I think 24-70 L might be heavier and people also screw camera on tripod... Also on wat...

Any of this 4 lenses do rock... cannot be mistake... laugh.gif

And try to avoid the old magic pileline 80-200 f2.8 L. Optically fantastic, I used to have 2 copies, and manage to drop and kong 2 copies thumbup.gif The problem with this old lense is that no part are servicable... And I managed to confirm that with complete losses laugh.gif It mean if anything kong, you eat banana, just like me... cry.gif

Hope my sharing help abit here and there... cool2.gif
Xannava
Now its between the Canon 55-250IS and the Tammy70-300...... 400D how high can I boost the ISO without much noise.. cause if can boost reasonably high then the no OS will not be a problem... =.="
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 21 2008, 03:15 PM)
Now its between the Canon 55-250IS and the Tammy70-300...... 400D how high can I boost the ISO without much noise.. cause if can boost reasonably high then the no OS will not be a problem... =.="

400D can reach ISO1600 with acceptable noise without noise reduction.

But keep in mind that for indoor sport such as those horses of your interests, minimum is f2.8 lenses in order to get more than 1/200 shutter speed. Or else all subject blur blur... cool2.gif
Xannava
Hmmm i dont get the f2.8 part... can you elaborate please? Thanks.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 21 2008, 03:20 PM)
Hmmm i dont get the f2.8 part... can you elaborate please? Thanks.

Ok... In human words, f2.8 mean fatter lenses to have the hole where the light pass thought bigger dimension... also mean more lights can squeen in because hole bigger ma... It is needed to allow higher shutter speed, which is critical for indoor sport such as the hourse.

Can understand ar? cool2.gif
Xannava
Errr.... Think so. So that means no more shooting KL GP for me... sobs. Time to hunt for outdoor events.....

Added on February 21, 2008, 5:18 pmOh and thanks. tongue.gif

Added on February 21, 2008, 5:42 pmShould I reconsider the Canon EF-S 55-250IS? Because since its about the same price range, and tamron/sigma is soft towards the end of the zoom, and I heard that there is not much difference between 250 to 300mm. Plus it has got IS. Or should I stick with Sigma/Tamron?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.