Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: How to make windows perfom faster?
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software
Pages: 1, 2
Shione
hi guys out there, i find out tis few week my windows getting slow n slow!!!
Did any pro here can help me n solve my problem, i also not sure
wat wrong wif it!!!
Hope u guy can help me!!

TQTQ!!!
yngwie
run full virus and spyware/malware scanning.
remove and unused application. make sure your hard drive has lots of free space require by windowa paging.
run disk cleanup and disk defragments too!
webbie
lately do u install any software tat need high requirement?n also u may download registry cleaner to clean ur registry.clean away ur junk thing~
Shione
QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 19 2008, 01:03 PM)
run full virus and spyware/malware scanning.
remove and unused application. make sure your hard drive has lots of free space require by windowa paging.
run disk cleanup and disk defragments too!

ok tq!!! but i oledi try it out but still no much change!!
coz my fren go so much porn site wen i not around!!
but now i knoe tat my hard disk only less few free space nia!

Added on February 19, 2008, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(webbie @ Feb 19 2008, 01:05 PM)
lately do u install any software tat need high requirement?n also u may download registry cleaner to clean ur registry.clean away ur junk thing~

no, if tat less hard disk space will give effect 4 speed of pc???
i still a newbie, soli!!
beyond_99
QUOTE(Shione @ Feb 19 2008, 03:21 PM)
ok tq!!! but i oledi try it out but still no much change!! 
coz my fren go so much porn site wen i not around!!
but now i knoe tat my hard disk only less few free space nia!

Have u clean the internet temporary file?
For me, i would format the whole computer.
Shione
QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Feb 19 2008, 03:29 PM)

ya, i clean up d!!!
scan so many time also, but not sure my av good o not.
using macfee.
ZGMF-X24S
Defragment ur HDD using Auslogics Disk Defrag...it's a freeware and it is very powerful
myownworld
You might want to use some other disk defragmenter to defragment your files because I think the built-in defragmenter is quite unreliable. To each of his own, however. If you're wondering what is defragmentation, read here.
beyond_99
QUOTE(Shione @ Feb 19 2008, 05:03 PM)
ya, i clean up d!!!
scan so many time also, but not sure my av good o not.
using macfee.

Try to check every folder which contain large file.
bombayspeed
try to defrag your "C:"and try"Registry Booster 2" to repair your com registry(reboot is require) after that defrag your registry again(reboot is require).but it is not a freeware....maybe u can try the trial version.
cyew86
defrag ur HDD with PerfectDisk 2008
then run TuneUp Utilities 2008
punkyswat
QUOTE(ZGMF-X24S @ Feb 19 2008, 06:27 PM)
Defragment ur HDD using Auslogics Disk Defrag...it's a freeware and it is very powerful

n dun 4get can't always defrag it.it will crash ur hardisk.
Radeon
QUOTE(punkyswat @ Feb 19 2008, 08:38 PM)

this is a myth
johnkor
Buy more ram and OC !
beyond_99
QUOTE(punkyswat @ Feb 19 2008, 08:38 PM)

My friend defrag his hd almost every week for a few years.The hd still in good condition.

QUOTE(johnkor @ Feb 20 2008, 08:38 AM)
Buy more ram and OC !

Even u add more RAm , upgrade procesor, computer will become slow after a few month.
porkchop
hmm.........................format and reinstall is the best la
amduser
QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Feb 20 2008, 03:14 PM)
Even u add more RAm , upgrade procesor, computer will become slow after a few month.

this is becoz ur personal thinking and requirement become higher that's y u think it is slow....

TS, check the paging file usage and make sure it has enough paging file for ur system, if u lazy to do all the things then format it, but i always put format as my last choice
Shione
ok guys, thaks a lot . i will try it out!!
littleman
Try CCleaner!
Clean unwanted registry and cache file.
And you might wanna defrag your HDD once in a while. nod.gif
QiQio
QUOTE(Radeon @ Feb 20 2008, 09:36 AM)
this is a myth

I second dis...
expertester
QUOTE(QiQio @ Feb 20 2008, 09:29 PM)
I second dis...

I third that smile.gif

weekly defrag is my routine. My 1999 Quantum Fireball LCT15 still survive till this date lol.
ongdandy
ask your friends stop searching porno website lor or else your computer getting slower and slower..try to use kaspersky to scan and anti spyware to scan also.
mamba
If always format its good for computer?any withdraw?
Lineage
if always format, ur hdd will spoil..
dont do it always..
ken811
Start Menu -> Run -> msconfig
untick all those you wouldnt need it in the startup menu...
1 of the option i did to make my comp work slightly faster...
weekly defrag, anti spyware scanning, anti virus scanning
formating HDD IMO is the last option...
mrpac_187
buy tune up utilities 2008 smile.gif
EnSky
the best way is buy a core 2 extreme
sure perform damn fast
LOL
endG
QUOTE(EnSky @ Feb 24 2008, 02:40 PM)
the best way is buy a core 2 extreme
sure perform damn fast
LOL

make sure it's a quad core oso.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
skymyxe
QUOTE(endG @ Feb 28 2008, 12:01 AM)
make sure it's a quad core oso.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Will hog too if you ain't tune up your system. Even a slower processor can run windows smoothly, but you've gotta tune it accordingly. Unable those unused applications, backgrounds and start-up items that hogs the system. Also as mentioned before always have protection for your system against spyware and viruses. icon_rolleyes.gif
punkyswat
QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Feb 19 2008, 03:29 PM)

dun because of small little prob like slow speed nd to format.do u noe format pc everytime will crash ur hardisk.
punkyswat
QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Feb 20 2008, 03:14 PM)
My friend defrag his hd almost every week for a few years.The hd still in good condition.

u can defrag but every month is recommended
cllim_99
Don Waste Time ...FORMAT IT !
campsol2k
Define 'slow'...
what department is actually slow? games? applications? whole computer?
slow or lagness maybe sometimes due
- improper overclocking
- install rubbish applications
- lack of maintenance - defrag, cleanup
- virus/malware/worms
- etc
Demonic Wrath
Defragment doesn't spoil HDD.

TS:-
1) Download CCleaner. Run it to clean up your junk.
2) Scan computer for virus.
3) Defrag computer.
Ryeeson
Install free antivirus. install ccleaner. run msconfig and disable any service that u don't need. after deleting or restructure your files (15% of ur hdd capacity), dont forget to defrag. Understand your pc, buy more ram (3Gb for win XP). Scan and dont forget update ur anti spyware, virus.
cyew86
QUOTE(cllim_99 @ Jun 9 2008, 05:04 PM)
Don Waste Time ...FORMAT IT !

if everyone listens to ur crappy advice, then all of us would have to format our system at least every month
thank u for ur useless spam, u may keep ur 0.02 if u have no other better suggestion
spartacvs
What do you mean by your computer system is getting slower and slower, as stated in the first post? Did you mean that the execution of any new program is relatively slower now as compare to before? Did you mean the time an application takes to compute the data you entered is relatively slower now as compare to before? Share with us what you mean by “my computer is getting slower and slower”, and possibly, we might be able to find the solution for it.

By the way, if you are referring to the start-up of the computer is slow, then I would suggest the steps elaborated by Ken811.

seiji_kun
i jus use advanced wndw care...u can see ur wndw will more faster than be4..
snorlax
Formatting is actually a very good idea. Quick formats don't really touch your hard disk much. If you have a ghosted fresh install image, it'd probably take you 20-30 mins to finish the format and re-ghost process. You'd require significant computer knowledge to be comfortable with that though.

Other than that, you can try several steps;
For the serious speed freak only

1) Run msconfig and kill ALL nonessential startups. By nonessential i mean if your program will work without that startup process, kill it.

2) Run services.msc and disable all the windows services you don't use. For example, if you run a single user computer, disable fast user switching. Themes can be killed, as Help too. Google up for what's essential and what isn't. You might end up with a few crashes on startup at the experimental stages.

3) Set your paging file to a fixed size on another physical partition, then tweak registry speed settings. There are plenty of miscellaneous settings in the registry which affect response time. For instance, the start menu has a 400ms default delay. Set all of them to 0 for very snappy results.

4) For very advanced users onlyMake sure your updates are configured properly and make sure you have a decent anti malware scanner installed, but not running by default. DO NOT install an antivirus program. These are among the biggest speed bumps for a highly tweaked system. Opening every file, every folder, accessing every site will make it run a scan, slowing down response time by a lot.

Sounds insane? My systems have been running without antivirus for at least 6-7 years now. Proper and timely patches ensure i don't get hit by worms. I don't open weird stuff downloaded from the net or sent by friends. I always use explorer.exe g: for pendrives. Doesn't hurt that i know how to remove most spyware/malware infestations manually too. nod.gif
yehlai
use Auslogics Disk Defrag and then run Auslogics BoostSpeed 4.

QUOTE(expertester @ Feb 20 2008, 10:34 PM)
I third that smile.gif

weekly defrag is my routine. My 1999 Quantum Fireball LCT15 still survive till this date lol.

thumbup.gif
cyew86
QUOTE(snorlax @ Jun 12 2008, 11:29 PM)
Formatting is actually a very good idea. Quick formats don't really touch your hard disk much. If you have a ghosted fresh install image, it'd probably take you 20-30 mins to finish the format and re-ghost process. You'd require significant computer knowledge to be comfortable with that though.

Other than that, you can try several steps;
For the serious speed freak only

1) Run msconfig and kill ALL nonessential startups. By nonessential i mean if your program will work without that startup process, kill it.

2) Run services.msc and disable all the windows services you don't use. For example, if you run a single user computer, disable fast user switching. Themes can be killed, as Help too. Google up for what's essential and what isn't. You might end up with a few crashes on startup at the experimental stages.

3) Set your paging file to a fixed size on another physical partition, then tweak registry speed settings. There are plenty of miscellaneous settings in the registry which affect response time. For instance, the start menu has a 400ms default delay. Set all of them to 0 for very snappy results.

4) For very advanced users onlyMake sure your updates are configured properly and make sure you have a decent anti malware scanner installed, but not running by default. DO NOT install an antivirus program. These are among the biggest speed bumps for a highly tweaked system. Opening every file, every folder, accessing every site will make it run a scan, slowing down response time by a lot. 

Sounds insane? My systems have been running without antivirus for at least 6-7 years now. Proper and timely patches ensure i don't get hit by worms. I don't open weird stuff downloaded from the net or sent by friends. I always use explorer.exe g: for pendrives. Doesn't hurt that i know how to remove most spyware/malware infestations manually too.  nod.gif

u have to understand that formatting shud be left as the last option, as most of the end-users are not tech savvy, and lets say they do not have secondary HDD/partition and have gigabytes of important files in the HDD, they would not want to reformat their HDD that frequent? and like everyone here says, after few months usage, the system start slowing down, r u going to reformat once every few months?
they key here is good maintenance of ur system, like running cleaning tools, checkdisk, virus scan and disk defragmenter occasionally, and avoid installing unnecessary programs that hog system resources
snorlax
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jun 15 2008, 11:18 PM)
u have to understand that formatting shud be left as the last option, as most of the end-users are not tech savvy, and lets say they do not have secondary HDD/partition and have gigabytes of important files in the HDD, they would not want to reformat their HDD that frequent? and like everyone here says, after few months usage, the system start slowing down, r u going to reformat once every few months?
they key here is good maintenance of ur system, like running cleaning tools, checkdisk, virus scan and disk defragmenter occasionally, and avoid installing unnecessary programs that hog system resources

And what's wrong with letting these end users learn more about their systems, and hopefully become advanced users in the process? They can burn their files to cd/dvd for backup if necessary. I don't advocate it as the main option, but neither do i keep it as the final solution. Sometimes it's just more hassle than it's worth to optimize a system full of junk/spyware. Tools can only help you so much.
DavidLMK
dont reformat your computer too much... will cause hard drive to spoil easily
cyew86
QUOTE(snorlax @ Jun 16 2008, 02:02 PM)
And what's wrong with letting these end users learn more about their systems, and hopefully become advanced users in the process? They can burn their files to cd/dvd for backup if necessary. I don't advocate it as the main option, but neither do i keep it as the final solution. Sometimes it's just more hassle than it's worth to optimize a system full of junk/spyware. Tools can only help you so much.

nothing wrong, i learnt everything by myself too, but there are those who are just not bothered with all those stuffs, dun talk abt LYN members who are mostly tech savvy, talk abt malaysian in general, how many of them actually know all those stuffs? i can tell u that most of my frens do not even know what a partition is nor do they know how to format their own HDD and just rely on their frens to do the job for them, without even bothering to learn (heck, i know people who do not know what is MSN too). and there are those who prefer not to lose all the information or data in the computer due to the hassles of reconfigurating them back on a clean system (e.g. system setting, desktop customization, etc). oh, i just have to add this, i am one of those who are not privileged enough to own a DVDRW drive to backup my data

formatting HDD is certainly one of the option but i would not consider that as a good solution to this kind of problem. users have to first be educated on how to take good care of their computers to prevent the system from being overloaded with junks and malware, and do routine maintenance to ensure that both the software and hardware are in tip top condition. tools can only help you so much, but at least it helps users from having to keep on reformatting their HDD everytime their system slow down.

i agree with u that if a system is badly infected with malware or become a junkyard which would create lotsa hassles in order to fix the problems, we might as well just format it. but just as u say, what's wrong with letting these end users learn more about their systems, and hopefully become advanced users in the process? first time do not know anything abt computing stuff, fine, format it, run on a clean system again, but please start to take care of the system to prevent unnecessary formatting in the future. just my 2 cent icon_rolleyes.gif
seiji_kun
is it true if always frmt cmptr will spoil the hdd..quite wrry cause i always frmt aso...
snorlax

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jun 16 2008, 06:43 PM)
nothing wrong, i learnt everything by myself too, but there are those who are just not bothered with all those stuffs, dun talk abt LYN members who are mostly tech savvy, talk abt malaysian in general, how many of them actually know all those stuffs? i can tell u that most of my frens do not even know what a partition is nor do they know how to format their own HDD and just rely on their frens to do the job for them, without even bothering to learn (heck, i know people who do not know what is MSN too). and there are those who prefer not to lose all the information or data in the computer due to the hassles of reconfigurating them back on a clean system (e.g. system setting, desktop customization, etc). oh, i just have to add this, i am one of those who are not privileged enough to own a DVDRW drive to backup my data

formatting HDD is certainly one of the option but i would not consider that as a good solution to this kind of problem. users have to first be educated on how to take good care of their computers to prevent the system from being overloaded with junks and malware, and do routine maintenance to ensure that both the software and hardware are in tip top condition. tools can only help you so much, but at least it helps users from having to keep on reformatting their HDD everytime their system slow down.

i agree with u that if a system is badly infected with malware or become a junkyard which would create lotsa hassles in order to fix the problems, we might as well just format it. but just as u say, what's wrong with letting these end users learn more about their systems, and hopefully become advanced users in the process? first time do not know anything abt computing stuff, fine, format it, run on a clean system again, but please start to take care of the system to prevent unnecessary formatting in the future. just my 2 cent icon_rolleyes.gif

Hehe...If they find it a hassle, sooner or later they're going to figure out themselves how to keep their computer clean. I've had my fill of dealing with people who just love downloading the latest in online toolbars/cursors and then come whining about their slow/malfunctioning system. Or those who click yes to every single online popup. Teaching them works to a certain point, where they come back with an even worse mess. I had somebody install something to password protect his files, then ask me later on how to remove it, as he had forgotten the password. Thus, my love of formatting. It's usually around 2 hours work, maybe less as a certain way to restore the system to a pristine state. rclxm9.gif

Not to say i don't support good computer maintenance, but it just doesn't work for some people. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(DavidLMK @ Jun 16 2008, 03:12 PM)
dont reformat your computer too much... will cause hard drive to spoil easily

QUOTE(seiji_kun @ Jun 16 2008, 09:03 PM)
is it true if always frmt cmptr will spoil the hdd..quite wrry cause i always frmt aso...

No.
http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?ar...4&pgno=1#myth-1
vektor_sigma
Try the WinASO Registry Optimizer 3, quite nice....
SilentE
Clean your registry, clean all your junk files, uninstall any useless softwares, try out some free antivirus, who knows it will detect hidden malware in your pc. Some freewares detect things that the paid ones doesn't.

azetect
let me spam first!!

1 year ago i was a computer noob only know play games and my computer getting slow every day and i 1st is look for 2007 best antivirus kaspersky install and take 6 hour to scan,more than a billion virus live in my pc after i clean most the virus then i used ccleaner,spyware cleaner,disk defragement(dont alwalse use it can make your pc become slow,not really needs it actually just need some space)also the useful software UNIBLUE SPEED UP MY PC after use same as i just bought my pc,interesting !!!
seiji_kun
quite intrstng...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.