Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Recommend me a Photo Editing Software
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software
mikazzz
Like the title saids, i would like the users of LYN to recommend me a photo editing software. I am using it mostly for web design purposes such as creat banner, buttons and so on. I prefer open source software and lightweight. I've tried photoshop cs2 before but it's not my type and it's too resource eating. I prefer something more user friendly. Thx
nanakopy87
there's alot of freeware out there like Paint.net,GIMP but i think i'll prefer PHOTOSHOP coz i've been using it since 4 yrs ago...
yngwie
adobe photoshop but the licensed software easily cost you over rm2k.
the cheaper solution is adobe photoshop element. license software cost underr rm500. cut down version of photoshop but we can always install the add on.

you may try google's own picasa which is available for free download,
mikazzz
How about GIMP? izit good?
skinnyman
Actually GIMP is the choice after A-Photoshop, but people only familiar with Photoshop. GIMP is a good and advance editing software, only they do not want to spend time to learn, just a bit different with adobe, I use it before.

If you interesting, try to exprience it. You won't regret!

Added on February 19, 2008, 2:49 pmActually GIMP is the choice after A-Photoshop, but people only familiar with Photoshop. GIMP is a good and advance editing software, only they do not want to spend time to learn, just a bit different with adobe, I use it before.

If you interesting, try to exprience it. You won't regret!
nanakopy87
GIMP is ok...just kinda different frm photoshop...need time to digest on how to use GIMP coz the shortcuts are different frm photoshop..

out topic : how to crop photos using GIMP???anyone can teach me???
mikazzz
thx alot..downloading GIMP now, actually i dun have photoshop to begin with, hence start from scratch isn't a problem for me..
jagadis
Does GIMP suppprt vista?
I have problem when i try to install it.
skinnyman
A little bit confuse every software on Vista support not only GIMP. We only can descripe like this "Gimp can be use under Vista but not fully support." :-P
psycho_aloha
i usually used cs2 because easy...we can edit everything from cs2
ken811
i personally prefer photoshop series (CS, CS2, etc) been using it since photoshop 5.0
bout the resources eating, its not so resources eating unless you open photoshop, illustrator and some software all together and doing on some kind of big banner project...
nitewish
Lol, yeah i've been using photoshop since 5.5
Those days only got 64mb of ram on my pIII 550mhz, still can run fairly well

Edit: recommends photoshop or gimp
cracksys
QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 19 2008, 01:11 PM)
adobe photoshop but the licensed software easily cost you over rm2k.
the cheaper solution is adobe photoshop element. license software cost underr rm500. cut down version of photoshop but we can always install the add on.

you may try google's own picasa which is available for free download,

IMHO picassa is a photo management software .. not editing (ya, it has function to crop and such but that's it)
QUOTE(ken811 @ Feb 22 2008, 09:41 PM)
i personally prefer photoshop series (CS, CS2, etc) been using it since photoshop 5.0
bout the resources eating, its not so resources eating unless you open photoshop, illustrator and some software all together and doing on some kind of big banner project...

yup .. photoshop is not a resource hogging software .. i think what TS meant is harddisk space (1gig) tongue.gif
nanakopy87
QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 24 2008, 08:32 PM)
IMHO picassa is a photo management software .. not editing (ya, it has function to crop and such but that's it)

yup .. photoshop is not a resource hogging software .. i think what TS meant is harddisk space (1gig)  tongue.gif

did TS mention about harddisk space??
i think he din mention about that.

anyway,i think the best freeware is still GIMP and its function is almost same as Adobe photoshop....
cracksys
QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:52 AM)
did TS mention about harddisk space??
i think he din mention about that.

anyway,i think the best freeware is still GIMP and its function is almost same as Adobe photoshop....

err .. resource doesnt mean ram. if that's what u assume u understand ..

and i didn said "yo, he meant harddisk space", i just said "i think ... bla2" cool2.gif
evefan1610
I think Adobe Photoshop (CS,CS2) most useful ~bcs i'm also using it too~ blush.gif
defaultname365
Since this is a photo editing thread question thingy, I want to ask, is there any software capable of sharpening my images? Of course its impossible to increase the quality of a low resolution image, but what about "bring out the clarity" of an image ?

JazzyJeff
In Photoshop, Filter > Sharpen.... BUT it is only for minor enhancement. You can also merely highlight a particular item you wish to "bring out the clarity" for enhancement. Sometimes if, as you said, quality of the resolution is too poor, then you are left few choices but to redo or recapture at a higher res if it is screen captured image.
saifulz
try Paint.Net.

http://www.getpaint.net/features.html
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.