Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Are you investing in crop lens or FF lens?
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2
gogo2
So are you ready for the future?
shinchan^^
Nikon D3 can use both types brows.gif
gogo2
I have premonition that in the future, all dSLR will be FF.... laugh.gif

Maybe in 5 years time.
soulfly
i don't know how to answer. currently i have 2 FF lenses and 1 APS-C lens.
gogo2
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 15 2008, 03:45 PM)

I believe using FF lens with your APS-C camera will have reduced distortion. That's why your picture
all come out not bad... smile.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 15 2008, 03:43 PM)

If not mistaken, 5D + 40D + 580EX II still cheaper than one D3...

2 cameras better than one.... laugh.gif
hellfire8888
lol go FF so wat..u can get award winning shot if u have one?
gogo2
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Feb 15 2008, 03:54 PM)

Better IQ. thumbup.gif
Can go Wider. thumbup.gif
Better noise control. thumbup.gif

Added on February 15, 2008, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 15 2008, 03:45 PM)

I believe your APS-C lens is kit lens. So when you invest, you actually bought FF lens smile.gif
soulfly

can go wider field of view or more bokeh (less DOF)

example.... let say u have APS-C with 1.5x crop (Nikon, Sony) with 10-20mm lens (Sigma). Actual viewing angle at the widest side is equal to 15mm. or a Canon APS-C with 1.6x crop with Canon 10-22 lens...actual viewing angle at the widest side is equal to 16mm.

when u have FF DSLR or a 35mm film SLR... u can use Sigma 12-24mm (which supports full frame) at the widest 12mm drool.gif

at the same distance and same exposure value, let say with f5.6, FF will have deep bokeh compare to crop sensor drool.gif
hellfire8888
the wider part interest me..
TheVoIP
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 15 2008, 03:59 PM)
can go wider field of view or more bokeh (less DOF)

example.... let say u have APS-C with 1.5x crop (Nikon, Sony) with 10-20mm lens (Sigma). Actual viewing angle at the widest side is equal to 15mm. or a Canon APS-C with 1.6x crop with Canon 10-22 lens...actual viewing angle at the widest side is equal to 16mm.

when u have FF DSLR or a 35mm film SLR... u can use Sigma 12-24mm (which supports full frame) at the widest 12mm drool.gif

at the same distance and same exposure value, let say with f5.6, FF will have deep bokeh compare to crop sensor drool.gif

You have your point here...

FF is wider with today solution.

Some more I found it is about 1.5 stops blurer background with the same lense and aperture. It is good thing to show off bokeh for female potrait... but on the other hand, a bit headache when you actually need DoF like group pictures... always need to stop 1.5 stops more down.... sweat.gif It is where I still love my EFS17-55 when I need the DoF, and not background blur... thumbup.gif
ganz
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 03:50 PM)
If not mistaken, 5D + 40D + 580EX II still cheaper than one D3...

2 cameras better than one....  laugh.gif

can add camera phone to make it three.. kekekekek

i still blur (not bokeh) about FF lense and the other..kekeke

u saying that using with FF DSLR the crop multiplier is 1.
so a 12mm lens will act as it is 12 mm lens

so it should be a benefit for 1.6 factor or 2x (4/3 system) if using the long tele lense.. 300mm can easily be 600mm m'i correct??

*i'm only familiar with 12x eqv to 420mm on 35mm.. rclxms.gif

TheVoIP
QUOTE(ganz @ Feb 15 2008, 04:30 PM)
can add camera phone to make it three.. kekekekek

i still blur (not bokeh) about FF lense and the other..kekeke

u saying that using with FF DSLR the crop multiplier is 1.
so a 12mm lens will act as it is  12 mm lens

so it should be a benefit for 1.6 factor or 2x (4/3 system) if using the long tele lense.. 300mm can easily be 600mm m'i correct??

*i'm only familiar with 12x eqv to 420mm on 35mm..  rclxms.gif

Yo... Basically you got it all right...

It is why I like the 100-400 IS on my 40D... Make the long lense even loooooonger... Anyone longer than mine? brows.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
yes. I think ppl should start consider to save more cash for FF lens just for the future. smile.gif

For me i bought the tokina 12-24 f4 as a start. And yes it does work on a FF camera once you set your zoom to 16mm(without filter) and 18mm with no vignetting at all. Next lens is gonna be the 24-70mm f2.8 by sigma biggrin.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Feb 15 2008, 04:32 PM)
yes. I think ppl should start consider to save more cash for FF lens just for the future. smile.gif

For me i bought the tokina 12-24 f4 as a start. And yes it does work on a FF camera once you set your zoom to 16mm(without filter) and 18mm with no vignetting at all. Next lens is gonna be the 24-70mm f2.8 by sigma biggrin.gif

Sure boh... Do you mean if I have the rather cheap Tokina, I can sell off my almost-no-chance-use 17-40 f4 L?
R a D ! c 4 L
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 04:33 PM)
Sure boh... Do you mean if I have the rather cheap Tokina, I can sell off my almost-no-chance-use 17-40 f4 L?

just go google it and you shall know the answer smile.gif it really works.
here's a link http://photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00It2h
ganz
1. how do u know it is a FF or otherwise lense? it is started isn't?
2. u say 12-24 f4 is a FF lense.. so when u used on APC-s with 1.6x it going to to be 19.2 - 38.4 ..
3. but let say if i bought 12-24 f* but digital lense and used it with DSLR with 1.6x crop factor .. it will be 12-24 or on 19.2 - 38.4 .. .. that the confusion start.. biggrin.gif.. so what the different?
R a D ! c 4 L
QUOTE(ganz @ Feb 15 2008, 04:43 PM)
2. u say 12-24 f4 is a FF lense.. so when u used on APC-s with 1.6x it going to to be 19.2 - 38.4 ..
3. but let say if i bought 12-24 f* but digital lense and used it with DSLR with 1.6x crop factor .. it will be 12-24 or on 19.2 - 38.4 .. .. that the confusion start.. biggrin.gif.. so what the different?

1. I know because i went looking into the internet and found various proof that the tokkie 12-24 f4 works on a FF such as the 5D at 16mm - 18mm

2. Yeah you are right. And your point is? smile.gif

3. on a 1.6x crop factor it'll definitely be 19.2 smile.gif on a FF 12mm means 12mm, no crop factor. The reason why i say it works on 16mm onwards is because from 12mm - 15mm there's an obvious vignetting on your photo. That's why setting the zoom to 16-18mm will remove the vignetting.
soulfly
QUOTE(ganz @ Feb 15 2008, 04:43 PM)

1. Usually manufacturer will mention whether the lens is APS-C only or otherwise. Compatible lenses from the film SLR era are of course FF capable.

2. When used on APS-C with 1.6x, a 12-24m viewing angle is equal to 19.2-38.4mm ... but it still retains the same focal length.

3. Focal length remains the same, but field of view is equal to 19.2-38.4mm because image is cropped....not because it's 'zoomed in'.
ganz
k.. now a bit understand.. eps when go to the url.. vignette..

TheVoIP
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Feb 15 2008, 04:41 PM)
just go google it and you shall know the answer smile.gif it really works.
here's a link http://photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00It2h

Hmmm... Thanks for the links..

It is kind of mixed feeling after reading it... Well, because brother me already has one 17-40 L so cannot see the point for me to get that tokina liao... I mean no added advantages la...

But on second though, maybe those using 1D series can have wider solution than 17-40 L...
goldfries
what to future proof la? smile.gif cropped sensors have their advantage, the multiplication means longer tele.

even if you go FF body, I'm not surprised if you still keep a backup body which usually is a non-FF.
gogo2
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 15 2008, 04:56 PM)
what to future proof la? smile.gif cropped sensors have their advantage, the multiplication means longer tele.

even if you go FF body, I'm not surprised if you still keep a backup body which usually is a non-FF.

You can use FF lens with your backup body if its APS-C. Less distortion.

You can do cropping with FF sensor. So tele is not an issue.

Can you do wider with APS-C? Nope.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 15 2008, 04:56 PM)

Yo... Exactly...

Both got its pro and cons... So if you want both, get both system.

It is why I intended to get 5D replacement and use along with my 40D where I will have best of both worlds! icon_rolleyes.gif

I guess Nikon users can do the same with both D3 and D300? brows.gif
davidmak
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 05:02 PM)
Yo... Exactly...

Both got its pro and cons... So if you want both, get both system.

It is why I intended to get 5D replacement and use along with my 40D where I will have best of both worlds!  icon_rolleyes.gif

I guess Nikon users can do the same with both D3 and D300?  brows.gif

Oooh no wonder that is your plan lar. brows.gif Our friend should have waited a little longer than getting the 5D then.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(davidmak @ Feb 15 2008, 05:09 PM)
Oooh no wonder that is your plan lar.  brows.gif Our friend should have waited a little longer than getting the 5D then.

No problem for that either...

When the replacement 5D come, he can sell his 5D cheap cheap to me...

As you can see, I am very helpful when it come to friendship... brows.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 15 2008, 05:01 PM)

ok you didn't get my point.

my point is that you can always get non-FF lens now and later on keep it for your backup body OR you could just sell them off later.

you can say all good things you want with FF cameras and being "future-proof" by getting FF lens but ultimately it depends on the photography and his / her area of photography.

and sometimes no choice also, let's say you using APS-C camera and like in Canon, the widest you can go is on the EF-S 10-22. so you really have no choice. sure you can future proof with stuff like Sigma's 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 EX DG if you're willing to settle with lesser width in view.

my POV - get the lens that suit your situation best. you'll find ways to deal with it when you don't need them anymore. biggrin.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 15 2008, 05:32 PM)
my point is that you can always get non-FF lens now and later on keep it for your backup body OR you could just sell them off later.

I think so far the only lense that worth what you mention is the Canon EFS17-55 f2.8 IS non-L.

I really feel damn hard to let this lense go.... There are just no alternative in full frame compare to what it does. thumbup.gif
Mavik
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 04:31 PM)
Yo... Basically you got it all right...

It is why I like the 100-400 IS on my 40D... Make the long lense even loooooonger... Anyone longer than mine?  brows.gif

Are you sure? Some say length but some say thickness is better wor brows.gif brows.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 05:37 PM)
I think so far the only lense that worth what you mention is the Canon EFS17-55 f2.8 IS non-L.

supposedly the "hidden L", no? biggrin.gif nice lens, i agree.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 15 2008, 05:37 PM)
Are you sure? Some say length but some say thickness is better wor  brows.gif  brows.gif

If want looooong, I got 100-400 to show..

If you want THICK... I got 85L to show... the lense is so thick and fat....

Yo... I have the best of both worlds... Looooong and Faaaaat... Yo... laugh.gif

Added on February 15, 2008, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 15 2008, 05:40 PM)
supposedly the "hidden L", no? biggrin.gif nice lens, i agree.

Yooo.... It is really "Hidden L" as outside completely no L looks... a bit cheap looks... cry.gif
Mavik
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 05:41 PM)
If want looooong, I got 100-400 to show..
If you want THICK... I got 85L to show... the lense is so thick and fat....
Yo... I have the best of both worlds... Looooong and Faaaaat... Yo...  laugh.gif

Is that why she is smiling in your avatar? brows.gif brows.gif

Added on February 15, 2008, 6:05 pm

I guess it varies with various situations. Some people who go birding and all would prefer to have a cropped sensor so that their long telephoto lenses have a longer reach as compared to FF cameras.
goldfries
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 15 2008, 03:55 PM)
Better IQ.  thumbup.gif
Can go Wider.  thumbup.gif
Better noise control.  thumbup.gif

gogo2, if every reply is going to be countered with advantages of FF then what's the point of debating?

see, there's are reasons why various lens are available. not everyone needs the advantage provided by FF.

not everyone needs the better IQ. not everyone needs the wide (if we argue based on how wide it can go, then obviously FF no contest. so why bother?) blablablablbala.......

your poll option is also rather funny.
- I've bought FF lens or will buy FF lens
- I've bought digital lens or will buy digital lens

i believe all of us have bought FF lens, have bought lens for digital and many would still be doing so unless they're already on FF body or unless they (FF owners) buy for their backup bodies. smile.gif

this i'd like you to explain. smile.gif thank you.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
I guess it varies with various situations. Some people who go birding and all would prefer to have a cropped sensor so that their long telephoto lenses have a longer reach as compared to FF cameras.

exactly my point Mavik. however gogo2 mentioned the above which I have no idea what he's talking about. if FF can be adjust to APS-C crop factor then you (Mavik) wouldn't be posting that. smile.gif and neither would many other places mention of the crop-factor advantage. smile.gif

while FF has advantage on wide, APS-C has advantage on tele.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
Is that why she is smiling in your avatar?  brows.gif  brows.gif

She was shocked at first... shocking.gif

I guess she never see so looooong and faaaat one flex.gif sweat.gif thumbup.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif
vincent_audio
the options provided are not clear

i'm not sure which category does the canon 17-40 F4 falls under smile.gif it is a digital lens, and can be used on FF

good point, end of day it's the end result, FF has it's advantages, but also disadvantages.
soulfly
apparently the only reason i bought FF lenses, in my case which are Minolta lenses, is that they're originally produced during the film SLR era - referring to my 50mm f1.7 and 70-210mm f3.5-4.5 Minolta biggrin.gif

...or in other means... coincidence lol
sakurakinomoto
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 15 2008, 04:43 PM)

That's why,

I bought it.

Wide view.

Isn't it sweeeeeeeeeeeet?

Took with Nikon D200
zzloo
all my lenses r FF lens..
scorgio
4 lenses. Only 1 is DX format.
Lestat
i guess what the TS want to see is how many has foreseen this crop sensor camera future. and it affect your next lens purchase. i feel u, brother, it's gonna die off nod.gif crop sensor is a vehicle camera manufacturer use to jump into digital world and still manage to keep the cost down. after the cost is low enough, dawn of mass FF arrives brows.gif

it could be harder to sell off a crop sensor lenses when mass FF era arrived..

clemong_888
some of my lenses are dx,some ff, personally i don't really care. the way i see it, i'm still gonna use a dx format cam for the next 10 years or so, and the format is goin to stay.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Feb 15 2008, 07:00 PM)
the options provided are not clear

i'm not sure which category does the canon 17-40 F4 falls under smile.gif it is a digital lens, and can be used on FF
good point, end of day it's the end result, FF has it's advantages, but also disadvantages.

EF17-40 f4 USM L is a FF lense la. I used that with a 5D and results seems ok... and more than acceptable la

QUOTE(zzloo @ Feb 15 2008, 07:37 PM)
all my lenses r FF lens..

All my lenses are also FF, except EFS17-55 f2.8 IS that I feel so hard to let go... because I just cannot find flaw with it... hmm.gif

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Feb 15 2008, 09:24 PM)
some of my lenses are dx,some ff, personally i don't really care. the way i see it, i'm still gonna use a dx format cam for the next 10 years or so, and the format is goin to stay.

Althought I am not a fortune teller, but I gurantee FF will rule in less than 10 years time. Canon EOS 5D already so cheap. I think within 5 years should have major changes and crop factor should dissapearing... Crop factor just have limitation in high ISO noise perfomance and megapixel count.

With either brand of FF, you can get real quality ISO3200 laio... thumbup.gif
clemong_888
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 15 2008, 10:04 PM)
EF17-40 f4 USM L is a FF lense la. I used that with a 5D and results seems ok... and more than acceptable la
All my lenses are also FF, except EFS17-55 f2.8 IS that I feel so hard to let go... because I just cannot find flaw with it... hmm.gif
Althought I am not a fortune teller, but I gurantee FF will rule in less than 10 years time. Canon EOS 5D already so cheap. I think within 5 years should have major changes and crop factor should dissapearing... Crop factor just have limitation in high ISO noise perfomance and megapixel count.

With either brand of FF, you can get real quality ISO3200 laio...  thumbup.gif

not really, the dx format has it's pros mainly the crop factor which would give birding and nature photographers a hell of an advantage. it's really hard to say how it'll be like in ten years.
Shoot@M3
sweat.gif
I never thot about this issue until now, better check all my future lens for future usability sweat.gif
ifer
i am planning to get the 24-70 2.8 rather than the 17-55 2.8
but this is not because of the FX or DX lens issue.
it is because of the 70 2.8 issue. 55mm is too short for my liking.

can consider i purchase FX lens for the future? though i am still using the AP-S format camera
TheVoIP
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Feb 16 2008, 08:48 AM)
not really, the dx format has it's pros mainly the crop factor which would give birding and nature photographers a hell of an advantage. it's really hard to say how it'll be like in ten years.

It is not hard to say. Just ask yourselve if FF is only between RM3k to RM4k, which one will you buy? Still insist on crop factor that is RM1k cheaper? brows.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 16 2008, 12:55 PM)
i am planning to get the 24-70 2.8 rather than the 17-55 2.8
but this is not because of the FX or DX lens issue.
it is because of the 70 2.8 issue. 55mm is too short for my liking.

I always believe 24-70 f2.8 is the smarter choice. It is always better to have lenses that work for all
soulfly
10-22 + 24-70 = nice combo brows.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 16 2008, 01:16 PM)
10-22 + 24-70 = nice combo brows.gif

Yes I agree. tongue.gif
andrewng88
hahha ! i want a ef 12mm-200mm f2.8L IS ! heheheh !
goldfries
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 16 2008, 01:13 PM)
It is not hard to say. Just ask yourselve if FF is only between RM3k to RM4k, which one will you buy? Still insist on crop factor that is RM1k cheaper?  brows.gif

of course it's no more hard to say la if we keep on bringing in "IF" situations where one keeps setting conditions in favor of FF la. aiyoh. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 16 2008, 01:13 PM)
I always believe 24-70 f2.8 is the smarter choice. It is always better to have lenses that work for all

it's a nice lens but on cropped sensors, 24mm comes to like what, 40mm already? arrghh. go ahead if anyone is fine with lacking the ability to go wider. smile.gif

from my POV, buy what suits your body + photography style best. IF or WHEN conditions come that you are going totally FF, surely there will be buyers for your digital lenses. in fact the price may even go up due to the lack of production.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.