or can anyone post how to overclock my s41?
i have ask ppl be4 this , he call me download ntune, then set core as 600mhz and memory as 900mhz.
is that call overclock?
thx
Computer's speed is determine by the frequency and those frequency is called clock speed. For example, if ur speed is 1000mhz, by using any method which allows ur speed exceed 1000mhz, let say to 1200mhz, means u oledi overclocked the speed. Anything that makes u exceed the manufacturer clock speed is called overclock.
how to oc ??
funny when john asked this question. I'm not sure how detail u asking but for laptop, we normally do softmod, means overclock by using software.
For GPU overclock, download and install the latest GPU driver (recommended 169.09) from laptop2go. Then download ntune and download ntune from nvidia.com. After installing ntune, go nvidia control panel, select performance and start tuning ur gpu core and memory clock speed. The best we tried is getting core speed from 500mhz to 600mhz, and memory speed from 700mhz to 900mhz. You should expect a significant difference in 3dmark.
For CPU overclock, download setfsb from
http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/ , Opening the program, at the Clock Generator part, select ICS9LPR363DGLF (s41 motherboard model, same as ASUS G1S/F3SV/F8SV), then press get fsb. Then drag the bar making ur fsb 200mhz to 220mhz. And press set fsb.
**Do you know?**
CPU clock speed is determine by FSB (Font Side Bus) according to the cpu multiplier, in this case s41 (First batch) default fsb and multiplier are 200mhz and 9x, therefore clock speed will be at 1800mhz. While s41 with T7250 has 200mhz fsb and 10x multiplier, there therefore it's 2000mhz clock speed. Pls do not ask me why s41 and many other notebook stated 800mhz fsb, the fsb shown in the fliers and brochures is telling we all that the motherboard supports ram speed that is 800mhz and below which is different story to the CPU FSB. However, bus speed determine how fast each component in the chipset able to transfer data among them. **Don't ask me to reference, it's my own general knowledge.
Continue wif CPU overclocking, by dragging the bar, we able to control the speed of fsb. For example, I told u guys to drag it from 200mhz to 220mhz, which makes the cpu fsb at 220mhz multiply by 9, which is around 1980mhz, somewhere near 2.0ghz. And you have overclocked ur CPU.
**Again, why 20mhz fsb and not more? In order to overclock s41 beyond 220mhz fsb, u need certain skill, knowledge and modification. Because you need to modify your RAM speed from 667mhz to 533mhz by using SPDTOOL. By changing the latency, 1.8ghz s41, able to clock at 2.5ghz. (However, i dunno how to use SPDTOOL and it's dangerous when u have no idea of wat u're doing)
Does Overclock makes diff? Yes and no. Yes to GPU OC, it's crucial for graphic demanding games like need for speed, bioshock but i dun c crysis will help. For CPU OC, for stable version only increases ur CPU speed around 200mhz. I dun c any diff if it's 200mhz.
So u guys have any question?