Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: BABYLON AD (4/09/2008)
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > Movies & Music
Pages: 1, 2
rhoyo
New vin diesel movie coming out this 28th Feb 2008 - updates 4th post

The world has turned into shambles and chaos reigns supreme. Refugees are doing anything to escape the death and poverty of Europe and Asia. There's one man who isn't running. Toorop (Vin Diesel), a gun for hire with a simple rule: don't ask questions. His new assignment has him escorting a nun and a girl from a convent in Central Asia to New York City. When it becomes apparent there is more to these women than meets the eye, Toorop has to start asking some questions, rules of the trade be damned. It will take all of his mercenary skills to get his "package" through militarised zones, fight clubs, gang wars, and packs of religious zealots.

Klesk
me want moar Riddick!!! anyone feels the same way?
funnyTONE
Me, me!! Darn Riddick and pitch Black gave such a strong impression on me the last time. Before that, I thought triple X was Vin Diesel's strongest movie, but I thought wrong.

Nevermind he's going to be the stereotype hero in this new movie, I just still can't get enough of his badasses. tongue.gif
firedauz

Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babylon_A.D._(film)
Storyline: In the near future, Toorop (Vin Diesel) is a mercenary who takes the job of escorting a woman from Russia to Canada. While he thinks this is just an ordinary mission, he gradually finds out that his guest is carrying an organism that has the potential to become the next Messiah — and everybody wants to get their hands on it.

Trailer 1:

Trailer 2:

UPDATE NEWS: New Photos released!
More photos from sauce --> http://www.dvd-forum.at/1787/news_kino.htm

omnimech
~_~
When i saw babylon . I was like YeY, my sci - fi shit is back. lulz. oh well.

btw, dont u tink too many trailers reuse that music ~_~ .

Its so cliche. Mweh.
raindrops
omg, Van diesel!
i love that guy!

love his role in riddick
love his macho voice
love his buff body

wish i was him=.=
obefiend
Vinnie D looks rough.what happened to him honestly!
mukhlisz
Fuiyoh! this looks like an action-packed Children of Men!

if Vin D ends up like Clive O in the end, i guess it IS one.

rhoyo
lets refresh ! . babylon will be coming to malaysia on 4th SEPtember 2008

firedauz
New international poster biggrin.gif

+Newbie+
Threads merged.

Anyways, doesn't this sound a lil bit too much like The Transporter, with pseudo scifi stuff added on?
azbro
After seeing a few vin diesel movies.... thumbup.gif

Acquiesce
just came back from babylon premier.

review as below - beware spoiler

jehutyz
QUOTE(Acquiesce @ Aug 27 2008, 11:19 PM)
review as below - beware spoiler

Same goes to me.
Short movie... don't expect much.
mukhlisz
QUOTE(Acquiesce @ Aug 27 2008, 11:19 PM)

one word to describe the movie = huh! doh.gif

sorry for van deisel fans out there...this IS a disappointment.

same goes to michelle yeoh too.  doh.gif  doh.gif
after leaving the cinema...we are still at "huh" what just happenned.

so the lesson here is to ditch this B movie and go watch Children of Men again. biggrin.gif

but then again, there's always Death Race.. tongue.gif
ccm123
Can anyone enlighten me about this movie coz its really a big HUH at the end of the movie..

Must agree this is some what a disappointment.. sad.gif
AskarPerang
QUOTE(ccm123 @ Aug 28 2008, 05:50 PM)
Can anyone enlighten me about this movie coz its really a big HUH at the end of the movie..

Must agree this is some what a disappointment.. sad.gif

Have you watch the movie?
Tot not come out yet...4th SEPT
Goblinsk8er
Eh wtf. I thought this movie was something got to do with the Babylon sci-fi series
jason991
emm....today showing bro....
Tsj261
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 28 2008, 06:01 PM)
Have you watch the movie?
Tot not come out yet...4th SEPT

Is already out starting today @ GSC
Mage
Anyone noticed some of the posters have an extra michelle yeoh in it? yawn.gif
Acquiesce
QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Aug 28 2008, 06:22 PM)
Eh wtf. I thought this movie was something got to do with the Babylon sci-fi series

its based on a book called babylon babies. nothing to do with the sci-fi series yawn.gif
BelowAverage
is it that bad????????
so far all review in rotten are terrible
skylinegtr34rule4life
this movie will be great if the rating is R...most PG13 movies suck big time sleep.gif mass gorefest FTW sleep.gif
Siow
Wonderful movie...sadly i dun understand the ending..kinda confused...
typicalsite
this movie sux...badly... i even said to my frens when the story ends "macam kim*k je crite!" becoz they force me to watch...
jehutyz
Not that ask ppl not to support the movie.
But it is really end with a HUH?????
typicalsite
yeah... a big "HUH??" at the endings... go see for urself.
ccm123
Hmm I think the movie was kinda splendid, but ALL the "HUH" factor really pull down the entire grade for this movie.
typicalsite
and i didnt even regret goin to toilet when the movie still showing...
BelowAverage
i watch the movie.

4/5- 1/5 for the ending, so its a 3/5.

the movie started well with the music. so yeng.
the actions in the 1st half of the movie was awesome!!!
then after that the twist of sci fi in the second half of the movie was great too!

then came the WTF part.
Then can give it an epic ending with the whole army surrounding them commanded by the mother with missels and tanks and planes sorrounding her forcing her to float up to the air like storm and release her godlike power.

No.

then pick a WTF HUH ending.

Seriously, i dont get the movie!!!!
they can make a great ending with the way the movie progress but they give us this rubbish.

Im a big fan of vin diesel but this is nonsense.

Added on August 29, 2008, 4:49 pmp/s: near the ending part where she was lying on the bed, did u see her put vin diesel hand on her boobs? lucky guy biggrin.gif
(and if u notice, his palm was sort of open wide, so he was like groping) lol
Travel
Well...... I was actually hoping for a sci-fi movie. Damn

Ah well, movie gets a 5/10 from me. And i can say that i understand almost the whole thing.
mitodna
Great sci-fi movie, action is good, last two 2 minutes was like, like that,
Monya Meow Meow
QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Aug 29 2008, 04:47 PM)
i watch the movie.

4/5- 1/5 for the ending, so its a 3/5.

the movie started well with the music. so yeng.
the actions in the 1st half of the movie was awesome!!!
then after that the twist of sci fi in the second half of the movie was great too!

then came the WTF part.
Then can give it an epic ending with the whole army surrounding them commanded by the mother with missels and tanks and planes sorrounding her forcing her to float up to the air like storm and release her godlike power.

No.

then pick a WTF HUH ending.

Seriously, i dont get the movie!!!!
they can make a great ending with the way the movie progress but they give us this rubbish.

Im a big fan of vin diesel but this is nonsense.

Added on August 29, 2008, 4:49 pmp/s: near the ending part where she was lying on the bed, did u see her put vin diesel hand on her boobs? lucky guy biggrin.gif
(and if u notice, his palm was sort of open wide, so he was like groping) lol

Boobs meh ?
I thought it was her chest, near the neck there.
Anywayz, he got 2 daughters, 1 black 1 white laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
BelowAverage
QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Aug 29 2008, 10:36 PM)
Boobs meh ?
I thought it was her chest, near the neck there.
Anywayz, he got 2 daughters, 1 black 1 white  laugh.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif

REMOVE THAT, NO SPOILER vmad.gif
Mgsrulz
the director himself hates this movie.

not because he thinks he made a rubbish movie,but because of FOX who cut 70 minutes out of the film.

just awesome
Vinspire
This movie is sux tongue.gif
silencio87
hurm most comments are negative.not worth watching then.....tongue.gif
Azurues
I fall asleep watching this movie. Worst movie i ever watched.
azarimy
i'd have to say, the film is quite promising in the first 3/4 of the movie. it's when it came to the last 1/4 of the movie that it starts going awry. infact, after the explosion scene in new york, suddenly the film went in a different direction. heck, it's like they changed the director altogether.

so because of that ending, i'd have to give 4/10.
mitodna
What, 70 minutes gone? I think they didn't put some dark theme there, need to have director cut, I see IMDB France releases is 101minutes if I still remember correct, is here only 90minutes? It is rotten too.
BelowAverage
QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 30 2008, 04:42 AM)
i'd have to say, the film is quite promising in the first 3/4 of the movie. it's when it came to the last 1/4 of the movie that it starts going awry. infact, after the explosion scene in new york, suddenly the film went in a different direction. heck, it's like they changed the director altogether.

so because of that ending, i'd have to give 4/10.

ya, wtf with that vmad.gif

this show is heavily influence by religion(Im not stating what), so tis show prepare kena tembak kaukau by malaysian review
evad14
i thought going to watch... like that no need to watch dy... save money... time... petrol..
Suk
wanted to watch this movie today. but tak GsC website down
Flizzardo
its actually not that bad i give it 5.5/10

it was going well until the ending..
ImSIEBEL
juz watched and yea, the ending sux..
OcHaa
what a boring show ... crappy ..
the 1st half was good ... the 2nd half was like shit ..

boring piece of movie .

wasted rm 24 ( 2 tickes )

zzzz
Haruhi
This is right down there with 10,000bc as 2008's movie abomination.

You had Vin Diesel playing as a bulky anti-hero protagonist, special effects wizards slapping high-fives for a hollywood-sized budget, and a bimbo playing as a carrier for a mysterious package in a post-apocalyptic setting. However, the result - a bloated, rampant, and incoherent idiocy of a movie even Uwe Boll is allowed to laugh at. Wait, this is not even a movie, this could serve as an opener for any constipation victims having a hard time releasing their inner grief up the wazoo. Your very own shit might just diffuse out the epithelial tissue due to the fact that this horrible visual excrement was a rendition of facing your nose towards a fat man's anus and breathing in heavily.

Did I say it was a bad movie? No.

I say you could just feed the pigs with this movie once the blu-ray release is out and those poor creatures would just shit on it for the sake of our eyes and mankind's superior IQ.
acib
just watch diz evening.. suddenly the movie just end like that.. i said to my frenz, WHAT the hell was that????

i wonder if there is 2nd movie for diz one..

giv 5.5/10.. that is for some action in the film.. lot of thing missing, especially, the girl's mom, where is the end for her mom, y suddenly the girl need to die? damn.. such lousy movie
xiaoming0614
just finish watching the movie...the action is ok...but the end sux la...i give 6/10~
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.